Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

The Marlin at Taino Beach (#A200)

Vacation fun, from beachcombing to gambling, is waiting for you at the Ritz 3 Beach Resort. The resort offers several activities during your week, including excursions to Port Lucaya, champagne cruises, and live entertainment on site. You may also visit the Rand Memorial Nature Center and the International Bazaar. After the sun sets, head out for a night of dining, dancing, and challenging your luck at the casinos.|A200,Freeport,,Bahamas
Average Member Rating:
3.722 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
27 of 36(75%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Review 1 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewermurseshark
Locationmerritt island,fl
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2005
AMAZING KID FRIENDLY RESORT
Date:June 14, 2013
Best things about resortThe pool steals the show. The water slide that is in the center of the pool with a lazy river that surrounds it is very relaxing. Not to mention the very hot tube which is very calming. The beach has sand whiter than snow and the water is clear like a pool.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPort Lucaya Marketplace is a fun visit. I recommended eating at Zorba's, Pieces, and the Irish Pub. Zorba's is your best value.
ReviewIf you’re going to the Bahamas and want a family resort, give the Taino Beach Resort a try. Also stay in the Marlin, it’s the newest and the one and two bedroom face the pool and the studio face the parking lot.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewergrandpa
LocationActon, Massachusetts
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2001
Beautiful and Relaxing
Date:February 3, 2009
Best things about resortThe long beach and the pool! The landscaping around the huge pool was a botanical garden with interesting garden "rooms". Tthe pool had lanes for lap swimming and a huge section for wading. Also a water slide and in-water tanning beds with tables and a grotto bar accessable from water or land. And the entire pool formed a lazy river complete with islands. The facades of the buildings were a visual treat, too; no boring boxes. The beach had abundant lounge chairs and palm "umbrellas" for shade. And lots of room to walk. The restaurant (with indoor and outdoor seating) at the edge of the beach was a treat at all times of the day and evening. Food was good, too.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe market and restaurants at Port Lucaya. Taking the water taxi to and from. The fish fry at the local places just down the beach a bit.
ReviewWe had a fabulous time here and are recommending it to several of our relatives. We were confused about the different names associated with this resort, but learned that Marlin is one of the buildings at the ocean side of the road, adjacent to the pool. The Marlin seems to be the newest buiklding and is rated gold crown. The Coral and Ocean are other buildings at the same location (and are separate resorts in RCI, but not gold crown). The Flamingo Bay is a hotel style facility in the same complex, but it is across the street, on the bay, where you get the water taxi to Lucaya. The Ritz seems to be an old name that does not apply to anything now. We enjoyed seeing a white egret at the side of the pool. The resort took us by bus to the grocery store to shop, and we took a taxi to the fish fry. We did not need a car.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerCapricorn7697
LocationOakville, Ontario
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2009
Excellent place to relax and enjoy
Date:August 31, 2009
Best things about resortThe best thing about this resort was that it was not over crowded. There were plenty of chairs at the pool and at the beach. The pool was incredible! The slide was fun for children and adults and the bar...well...who doesn't like a swim up bar? The staff here were also fantastic! Very eager to help and always had a smile for you :)
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe onsite restaurant was great. The prices were reasonable and the food was good too. We also went into Port Lucaya. There are many restaurants there. They are a bit more expensive, but you get a larger selection. We also went to the Fish Fry on Wednesday night. It was absolutely fantastic! You pay for what you eat and the food is excellent! After you eat there is dancing until all hours of the night.
ReviewWhen I booked my vacation all I wanted to do was sit back and relax. That is exactly what I got to do.
On Sunday we went into Port Lucaya (a $5 water taxi ride that takes about 5 minutes and is located directly across the street from the resort) and had lunch. We walked around and bought a few things to nibble on. **Warming: There is no grocery store in the Port. Take advantage of the grocery run given by the resort 3 times a week. Bring as much dry goods as you can from home because some items can be quite expensive.
We did the grocery run on the Monday and also went to the wine and spirits store. The alcohol is a pretty good price at the resort - please try the Pirate Juice and the Bahama Mamas..mmm...- but if you want to make drinks at home (there is a blender in the unit) then be sure to buy your alcohol at the airport because itis cheaper there.
We went to the Fish Fry on the Wednesday night. It was a $3 cab ride there and the food was fantastic! There are little huts set up and you go to which ever one you want. After dinner there is dancing. They close the resort restaurant early that night because most people go to the Fish Fry. A great night had by all!
We went back to Port Lucaya on the Thursday to pick up souvenirs. Be aware that the shops close by 5pm everyday. The restauranst and bars stay open later.
Our unit was fantastic. It was in great shape and very clean. The bed was very comfortable! We had a ground floor unit which was nice because it was a few steps to the pool. We never locked our door to the patio and no ever came in our unit. The little lizards did make an appearance inside a few nights.... but only the very tiny ones were able to slip in between the doors. They do not climb the walls and the little ones do not jump. They didn't bug me at all. If they bug you, you may want a unit on the 2nd floor. As for the unit, the one thing that would have been nice to have would have been an oven. There was a stovetop, microwave, toaster, blender, dishwasher (bring your own soap) - but no oven. We had to microwave our pizza. But we survived. There was also a DVD player in the room that we didn't know about. If we had, we would have brought movies with us. If you forget, not to worry, there is enough on TV every night.
This was a fantastic trip and I look forward to going back again. The staff are friendly and we met some very nice people. One of the resort workers even got some fresh cocnuts for us from the trees as we were relaxing by the pool. I have to say that after reading some of the reviews that I was a bit nervous. But we had no pushy sales pitches for activities nor to buy timeshare. We were even upgraded from one building to this one with no hassel. Also, the pool does NOT close at 6pm like some people said. The slide closes at 5 or 6 and the bar closes at 7pm or when the crowd is gone, but the pool is open 24 hours. I would go back in a heart beat. When you get to the airport - ask for Tim the cab driver. He gives the best rates and he'll sing for you :)
Remember this: Peas and Rice are the side dish for everything, the good stuff at the grocery store will cost you $8 and there will always be scattered thunder storms with a 30% chance of rain (but it only lasts for about 5 minutes).
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerJessicaP
LocationMassachusetts
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1990
A pleasant beach vacation
Date:July 27, 2010
Best things about resortBest things about this resort: 1) The resort is located right on the beach which is really beautiful, quiet and secluded. The beach was groomed each morning and clean. 2) The pool was great. It has a lazy river that surrounds the pool, little side “caves” to escape the sun and a swim-up bar in the middle called the "Grotto Bar" 3) Convenient water taxi to Port Lucaya
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBest attractions or restaurants nearby: Port Lucaya had a great restaurant called Agave – great food, drinks and staff; also try the Conch Fritter guy in a small stand near the straw market/center stage area; Zorbas was pretty good as well. AND for the coffee lovers out there – a little shop called Island Java across from the casino; the coffee was great and the staff here were fun people and always smiling. You must do the UNEXSO swimming with dolphins in the open ocean - what an amazing experience and great staff!
ReviewStayed at the Marlin at Taino Beach Resorts in a studio unit:
The pros to staying at The Marlin:
- The resort is located right on the beach which is really beautiful, quiet and secluded. The beach was groomed each morning and clean. Beach chairs and thatched umbrellas with tables were available on the beach as well with a picnic table here and there too.
- We stayed in a studio which was nice. The room had marble floors and counter tops, a small basic kitchen equipped with a few pots and pans, mixing bowls, cutting boards, kettle, dishes, cutlery etc... there should have been a coffee maker too but was missing from our unit. The room was on the smaller side, just large enough only for two adults. The bed was in the center, against a Jacuzzi tub for two, and we had a three seater sofa and small dining table with two chairs. The bathroom was clean, with a marble shower with glass enclosure – good water pressure for those who look for that! Our room was on the third floor, mostly quiet outside the occasional slammed door. The location was convenient and within an easy walking distance to the pool, beach and front desk where you caught a taxi or purchased your Ferry tickets. The Ferry was about a 5 minute walk from the front desk. I think you can say that for all the rooms at the Marlin, one of three “sections” of the resort.
- The A/C in the room was great, and added ceiling fan.
- The pool was great. It has a lazy river that surrounds the pool, little side “caves” to escape the sun and a swim-up bar in the middle called the "Grotto Bar", which looks like a big cave under two waterfalls on each end. It also has a large slide over top of the Grotto Bar for the kids (yes we tried it and it was even fun for adults!). Most of the mixed drinks were between $7 and $8 and between 4pm and 6pm they offer a Happy Hour menu with drinks 2 for $7. A must try is their “Pirate Juice," which was about 5 different rums and fruit juice in a plastic bucket at $12 each (or 3 for $30). They do have a kick so be prepared! Kevin was a great bartender and very attentive. I also appreciated the resort put many rafts/tubes in the pool for people to use.
- They offer a restaurant on the resort grounds, called "Taino at the Sea". This is convenient if you do not want to cook, go far from the resort, or are at the beach then you can walk right up to their porch and the bar to grab drinks or a bite to eat.
- The resort offers various water sport activities – we had a great time on the jet skis though on the pricey side at $70 for 30 mins for a single.
- Resort is convenient to the Ferry which takes you to Port Lucaya, a 10 minute slow ride across the canal; cheaper and quicker than a cab. It leaves every hour on the hour from 8am-11pm and is $5 a person round trip and return trips are quarter after the hour.
- Check in/out was very easy, but be prepared to pay $150 or more in taxes/fees once you check in and a $25 cab ride from and to the airport.
- A grocery store shuttle is offered by the resort for $3 per couple round trip, opposed to a $15 per person cab ride.
- Port Lucaya had a great restaurant called Agave – great food, drinks and staff; also try the Conch Fritter guy in a small stand near the straw market/center stage area; Zorbas was pretty good as well. AND for the coffee lovers out there – no Starbucks or D&Ds folks but you can find as close to real coffee as you can find here at a little shop called Island Java across from the casino; the staff here were fun people and always smiling.
The cons:
- Although it is nice to have a secluded beach, there really isn't much to do other than go to the beach or the pool. Be prepared to make lots of trips to Port Lucaya and/or bring several books!
- No room service. No drink service at pool. No in-room internet. No daily housekeeping. No fitness center.
- Though the pool was nice, it being so large I guess it is hard to keep “neat”. Often found empty cups and popped rafts scattered about, the water had many leaves and bugs floating around and appeared a little cloudy by the end of the day.
- The lighting in our room was very dim… from the bathroom to main area. With all the lights on, even the overhead microwave light it never seemed bright enough. Especially if you like to leave your blinds closed all the time for privacy.
- The restaurant at the resort was overall terrible. The food was below average and in addition to it being over priced (i.e. breakfast buffet at $30 for two), the staff could honestly careless if you are enjoying yourself and often disappeared. The waitresses we had were unfriendly and very unattentive for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Where 15% gratuity is already included on your total bill, they appear not to be too concerned with your enjoyment or if you need anything. I will say we did luck out and have better service when we dined inside the restaurant for dinner. I would avoid the restaurant and spend your money at one of the Port Lucaya restaurants.
- There is a difference between "island time" and just unfriendly. All staff applies to one, some apply to both terms. The front desk clerks were not overly friendly/helpful and gave an attitude when “too many” questions were asked.
- Taxi to go back to the airport. Will cost $25 per couple, but the con here is be prepared to share a van with other people at the resort AND other resort’s visitors. When I reserved a taxi, I was not told that it would be a shared taxi and would “wait for everyone to show-up” before it left for the airport but it got better, we then stopped at other resorts too on the way before we were all dropped at the airport - so plan accordingly! Do not expect a discount for the shared service or multiple stops either, they even charged one gentlemen traveling alone $20.
- Bring a watch for the pool and around the resort! You will not find any around outside your room. With that said though, they do not kid when they say everything is on “Island Time”; we found nothing to ever be on time. If you have a grocery run for 3pm, you may see the driver by 3:30 or 3:45pm. The ferry back to the resort says 15 past the hour, but they typically left earlier.
- Port Lucaya, once you’ve seen the straw market, you’ve seen it. The vendors have pretty much the same items. The shops close at 6pm so if planning to head over to shop and do dinner – do shopping first! Do not be afraid to haggle prices at the stands and in the shops.
- Overall there is really very little to do outside paid for “tours” or “excursions” in the area in general. If you want to go to the Bahamas, you may want to consider Nassau or other islands as this area is not really 'Caribbean' at Taino.
Enjoyed the trip, it was still a pleasant beach vacation. No glaring issues, but no resort rave reviews either. Have fun, and do not let the small things like a poor resort restaurant or rudeness spoil your hard earned vacation!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerFunJeff
LocationConnecticut
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2007
Relaxing
Date:April 12, 2013
Best things about resortLots of great things at this resort - first, the waterslide, second, the swim up bar under the waterslide, third, the view, forth, the beach about 50 ft from the building.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGreat places to eat over at Port Lucia - just a quick ferry ride over, people are friendly, place is great to relax at.
ReviewI think in the past 5 years, this was the most relaxing spot I have been to. The room was clean, staff was great, pool was excellent, and activities were fun. We had egg in spoon races on the beach, kayak races, and drinking contests - and the prize was a bottle of rum! The bonfire on the beach party at the end of the week rocked. Thumbs up to this resort for providing a really great time.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerStacy
LocationTucson, AZ
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2000
Nice quiet place
Date:January 9, 2010
Best things about resortGood pools/spa Good beach
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLucaya Nat'l Park (caves) Port Lucaya Zorbas Le Med (good early bird specials)
ReviewOverall we were happy with our 1br unit. We were disappointed that the resort had no workout room and there was no maid service, although we could trade out towels as needed. We were surprised by the $168 energy surcharge, especially since we were there in a week when they had record cold so we never used the AC and there are no heaters in the unit (and due to missed plane connections missing our first night there). Before we were allowed to go to our unit they made us go to the tour desk to buy tours available at a "discount" only then. We bought a package of 4 items,
the first being the bonfire dinner/show. It was greatly overrated as the show was the customers being led in various dances by a DJ. We were told the dinner was anytime after 5, so we went at 6:45 and the buffet food had already all been taken away. But they did bring us out some plates of food from the kitchen. Then we did the island tour, which started an hour late. The tour consisted of taking us to a nice botanical garden where we got a 30 minute tour, then 30 minutes in their gift shops. The next 3 stops on the tour were all just stops at tourist shopping areas, including a liquor store that they had said was going to be a rum factory. We did not feel we saw the isalnd on this tour and so we later rented a car for the day and did it ourselves which is how we discovered the Lucaya National Park. The admission was only $3 each and they had two sea caves to climb down into and a short hike to Gold Rock Beach which was very scenic. The wine/cheese sunset cruise we had purchased was cancelled due to the cold. We did enjoy the glass bottom boat tour out to the reef. We saw lots of colorful fish in very clear water, then they took us out deeper to see lots of sharks.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewergummato2
LocationPembroke, MA
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2006
Relaxing vacation
Date:March 17, 2013
Best things about resortThe unit was as described. Very comfortable and nice furnishings. The beach area is so beautiful, There are plenty of activities at the resort.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe loved walking on the beach. Ate at Molly Malones in Port Lucaya and it was a fantastic meal with outstanding service.
ReviewThe unit was a 1 bedroom. It was comfortable for 2 people , but it would not be private for 4 .The onsite restaurant food is fair, Ask lots of questions because they are not forthcoming with information. Never told there is a wifi code to use in our unit. The staff could use a refresher in friendliness . They need to be reminded that we are their GUESTS.We would definitely return, felt very refreshed after this vacation!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerNandDinME
LocationHiram, ME
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2001
Good resort on a good beach
Date:April 22, 2011
Best things about resortThe sand on the beach is very nice; gentle slope into the water; lots of length for walks. The pool has a gentle walk-in and shallow end for small children, and enough room for guests in the whole pool.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe resort provides a ferry ($5 round trip/person) to Port Lucaya Marketplace which has good restaurants, various shops, access to a cheap bus to a grocery store, and late afternoon entertaiinment at the bandstand.
ReviewThe reader should note the Taino Beach Resort has, at this writing, three sections that are connected side by side: The "Ocean" begins closest to the beach. Next to it is the "Coral", and furthest from the beach is the "Marlin". Go to the Taino Beach resort website and explore it to see their descriptions and the resort map. The map is a bit misleading as it shows the three sections (left side of the map) as somewhat separated. Note that they do have big plans for future development. We had a 1st floor studio unit in the "Marlin". The unit space and facilities were quite adequate for the two of us. Marlin studio units are on the west side (parking lot side) of the building with windows only on the west side, and we felt the unit was dark and had to have the lights on for most times we went back to the unit. Marlin 1-bedroom units have their entry on the west side as well (a short hall leads to the door along side the studio units), but they have more floor space, have larger windows on the pool (east) side, and are somewhat brighter inside. The 1-bedroom units do not have a jacuzzi-type tub. Click on the "View Floorplan" on the resort web pages to get a better idea.
The houskeeping staff was responsive to our requests for items that were "missing" when we reviewed the inventory list for items that were supposed to be in the unit. The maintenance staff (they called it "engineering" did not appear to be responsive - though we only made our requests for "fixes" to the front desk - several times. The central air conditioning unit in our unit, the 1-bedroom unit adjacent to ours (through the lock-out doors), and in one other studio unit we visited all had the same problem: they mad a big "bang" at the end of the cooling cycle when the room temperature lowered to the set point. The bang woke us up at night - several times each night until we decided to turn the air conditioning off when we turned out the lights for the night. Our room was also missing a smoke detector (a mounting bracket was on a wall) and had a burned-out light bulb, and despite requests for "fixes" there was no "fix" for either of these during our 1-week stay.
The beach is beautiful, but they ought to purchase a few more beach chair/lounges. During a more busy period, despite lots of beach room, many people would have to go without one.
We found the staff to be quite friendly and cheerful - as was true of other residents of the island.
We rented a car from one of the airport vendors for several days so we could explore the island and recommend that others do so as well. A good map is available at the resort and many other places; navigation is easy, but be sure to have someone continually remind the driver to "keep left". It can be lots of fun.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerBaldo
LocationTacoma
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2002
Not a Gold Crown
Date:February 28, 2010
Best things about resortFriendly Help
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLucaya Natl. Park
ReviewAfter staying in several true Gold Crown Resorts, this resort was not quite comparable. First impressions are important and when you first arrive you notice the work yard area up front which looks more like a junk yard. Like others, we arrived around 1:00 pm and could not check in until 4:00 pm. Not really anythihng much to do when you arent in beach apparel but after getting to our room we found it be very clean and acceptable. Do not plan to sleep in if you are staying in the Marlin as the cleaning staff goes to work at 8:00 AM pushing carts that sound like skateboarders outside of your room and only seem to be able to communicate by yelling. Pool is very cold and there is no pool service - bar is ok, but very expensive. Beach is very nice, but I'm not used to cigarette butts and paper being underneath your chaise lounge -appears big garbage is picked up, but not the smaller things.Every afternoon a boat tour group is dropped off and for the reaminder of the afternoon the beach is quite busy. Weather was quite cold while we were there and this made it difficult to participate in many activities, but we did do the Lucaya Natl.Park tour and it was very nice. Resturants in Port Lucaya were decent and the people were all friendly and nice to deal with. I would not like to have taken small children with me as this resort really does nothing specifically for children like we are used to at most of the nicer Mexican resorts we've been to. OK if you just want to sit at a very quite pool and sun (we could'nt brave the cold water to actaully swim and saw virtually no one in the pool lfor over 30 seconds) or sit on the beach-but the resort does not measure up to Gold Crown Status in my opionion-we would refer to it more as a mid level hotel. I would'nt recomend the fish fry that is "just down the road"-it's actually a fairly long walk for older people and very, very "rustic".
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKKBR
LocationAtlanta, GA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2009
AWESOME FOR YOUNG ADULTS AND FAMILIES
Date:June 8, 2009
Best things about resortThe best thing about the resort was the room and the pool. The beach was nice as well. The restaurant was reasonable and the food was good.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWent to East a sushi restaurant, anything on Port Lucaya is good to eat. It really a place to relax and have fun.
ReviewI loved it. It was 4 of us that traveled we are 25-27. It was so nice and everyone was so nice to us. Food was good, weather was great, everything was great. If I could I would go back every year.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerfrequentflyer1995
LocationSan Leandro, CA
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1997
Lay back kick-it and enjoy the scene
Date:August 3, 2008
Best things about resortBeach, Close to the Pier for water taxi and tours. Small resort but very close to the Marina (across the street) to get water taxis R take some fun boat tours.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBoat tours, fish frys but go early the lines get long!
ReviewRooms look just like the photos! 1 bedroom is kind of small, perfect for 2, U can get away w/2 adults&2 small kids. I looked@the 2 bedroom w/hot tub on the balcony; I didn't like the gloomy look of it&the hot tub was dingy&cold (keep in mind I only looked at one so there may be better ones).
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerCALLIKOO
LocationNJ
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2010
FREINDLY STAFF, LOTS OF SMILES
Date:October 9, 2012
Best things about resortQUIET AT THE TIME WE WENT THERE. NICE CLEAN ROOMS. LARGE POOL.
ReviewNICE RESORT. DISAPPOINTED IN SNORKLING OFF RESORT BEACH & AT PARADISE COVE. ALOT OF WALKING FOR DISABLED PERSONS. FERRY CAPTAINS NOT VERY FRIENDLY. DIDN'T THINK MOST GROCERIES WERE MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE THAN HERE IN NJ. VENDERS IN LACAYA CAN GET A LITTLE PUSHY TO GET YOU TO BUY.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerRobinLovesTravel
LocationColumbus, Ohio
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2012
Loved it for the most part
Date:October 4, 2012
Best things about resortThe pool is the best thing!! I love that it isn't deep, so my kids can enjoy it and I can too, without worrying about them getting too deep in water, the deepest point is 4 1/2 ft.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyI loved to go on the beach, which is right behind the resort and going to Port Lucaya for shopping.
ReviewOverall, we had a great time at the resort. The only suggestions that it would be nice to have actual comforters for the bed instead of thin flannel blankets. I wish that the unit had a stove to cook in( there is a cooktop and you can get a grill from the front desk---not sure if they charge you for it) and one of our bed feet were broken and they never came to fix it, so we had to be gentle with the bed. Lastly whoever made the shower floors did not take into consideration gravity for the water to drain....so we had to sweep water into the drain after taking showers to prevent water from standing. The things that I mentioned were minor compared to the pros that the resort had. We will be back with our children.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerBlueberry
LocationPhiladelphia, PA
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2009
Great resort and Great Location
Date:May 29, 2011
Best things about resortThe location on the beach and the pool. It sits right on a beautiful secluded private beach so you don't have to worry about anyone bothering you or feeling crowded at all.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyYou need to do the local Fish Fry which is excellent. Catch a cab, drive or even walk.
ReviewThe Marlin is in good shape. We met some people that stayed in the other two buildings and those were quite dated. The resort has a lot to offer and a fabulous pool with a swim-up bar, however you can't charge your drinks to your room. You have to carry cash or a credit card which is a bit difficult in a bathing suit.
The resort is very quiet, which my husband and I really enjoyed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerPAboy
LocationVero Beach , FL
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2009
Nice Friendly Resort
Date:November 16, 2010
Best things about resortFriendly helpful staff
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLucaya market and attractions are just a short boat ride across the bay
ReviewWe were greeted by a helpful and friendly staff member who showed us around the facilities. We were able to walk the uncrowded beach on the property. The resort also has a nice pool with a lazy river.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTRUEBLONDIE
LocationSaint Joseph, MO
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2005
Great Resort, Pool & Staff on a Secluded Beach!
Date:October 2, 2010
Best things about resortMarlin units are very modern with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances, nice furniture and very clean. Huge pool and waterslide was wonderful! The beach was secluded with many lounge chairs and umbrellas. The staff was friendly, attentive & helpful!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe resort was the best with nearby attractions like: Riding the ferry to Port Lucaya, Zorba's Restaurant, Smith's Fish Fry, Gold Rock Beach and The Perfume Factory.
ReviewThis was a great resort for our family vacation but we would also recommend it for couples. There were 11 members of our family that enjoyed the resort: 4 month old, 3 yr old, seven young adults 23-30, and my husband and I who are 50. We had 2, two bedroom units in the Marlin. Great Modern Units! Everything we needed was there. The grounds around the resort are lush and groomed well. The pool area is huge with a great waterslide and caves. The pool was so big that we were never crowded and chairs were always available. The beach was beautiful and secluded. Lots of chairs and umbrellas.
The staff was warm and welcoming. They provided our every need with a smile. There is no daily or by-weekly housekeeping services, but we actually clean up after ourselves quite well and enjoy our privacy. We exchanged our towels for clean ones every few days. The staff treated us as members of the resort when we were actually in the exchange program for RCI. Great Staff!
We also rented a van and it was quite an experience driving on the left side of the road. However, we got to see much more of the island! Port Lucaya was very nice with live music at night, great restaurants, and stores that you can bargain with. The ferry to Port Lucaya was nice too, $5 round trip. We would strongly recommend going to Gold Rock Beach and Smith Fish Fry too.
The entire time we were at the resort, we only had one complaint: one of the units smelled a little like mildew and the central air unit leaked. Housekeeping came right up and mopped the unit, however Maintenence took a little longer to fix the central air unit.
Overall, we had a fabulous time and would strongly recommend the Marlin Units at Taino Beach Resort to anyone.
(I think the Ocean and Coral Units may be a little older than the Marlin and we didn't see the inside of them.)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerrhinolette1
LocationHouston,TX
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2007
Nice enough..watch out for critters
Date:May 31, 2010
Best things about resortThe close proximity to the beach and large pool
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTaino Beach is nearby which can be easily accessed by walking or a short taxi ride. Take advantage of the restaurants on the beach, their prices are affordable and the food was superb.
ReviewWe enjoyed our time until the room became infested with roaches!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerTwoTs
LocationCentral PA
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1994
Dissapointing
Date:February 21, 2010
Best things about resortNice Beach Good Restaurant
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPort Lucaya
ReviewOverall, the resort is nice, very quiet. A good place for families with children. Our room was fine for a studio, the walls were a little thin, you could hear conversation in the adjoining unit as well as smell what they were cooking. The beach is nice, plenty of space to sit. The pool looked great but was not heated. If a resort carries a red rating for 365 days, the pool should be heated so that it can be used 365 days. We were there the beginning of February and the weather was cooler than we anticipated. That can’t be helped. But all activities seem to be weather controlled and nothing we wanted to do was happening. The tour books do not indicate that weather permitting includes wind and cool weather. Nothing is close by, so be prepared to spend lots on taxis ($25 for a ride from the airport to the resort). Driving on the left side of the road can be intimidating, but if you’re planning to rent a car, do your homework and do so before you leave home. The resort will take you to the airport to get a car anyway and you can get better deals on-line than at the resort ($60 for 24 hours). The restaurant on site is good, not overly expensive. The local fish fry was a good experience, would recommend trying that. The ferry to Port Lucaya was reasonable and there are good places to eat in the marketplace. But shopping was spotty, recession has hit the Bahamas too, many empty shops and not much entertainment in the marketplace square. The surcharge for electricity took us by surprise, this is the first time we’ve ever had a charge like that anywhere. Overall, this was not the place for us. We like to be able to walk to things and experience the local culture and sites. If you soley want to sit and relax, then this is the place for you. If we decide to visit the Bahamas again, we will wait till later in February or March and go further south to a more cosmopolitan area, possibly Nassau.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMrsMD
LocationHarrisburg, PA
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2007
Very Nice Resort
Date:November 23, 2009
Best things about resortThe swimming pool, proximity to the beach and the quietness of the resort.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe shops and restaurants in the port.
ReviewIf you are looking for some R & R, this is the place to be. A group of 3 old college friends decided it was time to slow down, get together and catch up and get some much R & R, and our mission accomplished! If you are looking for a lot of activity, this is the not resort of choice. The bonfire on Sunday night was nice, but honestly, didn't feel it was worth $50. The food served at the bonfire was excellent, but the drinks weren't the best. We ate at the restaurant at the resort a number of times and the food was always excellent and really quite reasonably priced. The beach was very nice and quiet. There were always plenty of chairs available at the beach and pool, so don't feel you have to get up early to save one. We took the water taxi ($5 roundtrip) to the port several evenings for dinner. There are some awesome places to eat at the port and the restaurants are open late. If you want to shop at the port, the hours for most places were from 9 until approximately 5 pm. There are some places open later. We packed snacks and some dry goods in our luggage and it was enough to last the week. Highly recommend you do that because there isn't any place close by to get something. There is a convenience store in the hotel across the street, but it has a very limited selection of items. We did not take advantage of the grocery run because we decided we would eat lunch and dinner out. You can order your lunch to go at the bar and it will be ready in about 10 minutes. There is an option to have professional massage services done at your room or by the pool. Lorine was excellent and so professional and really, reasonably priced. Highly recommend her. One thing that was a big surprise was the levy tax (energy surcharge). We were aware of it, but didn't realize it would be $168. If you decide you want adult beverages, you may want to purchase them at the airport. You will save alot of money by doing that. The drinks are quite expensive at the resort. The staff was so accomodating and we found all of the Bahamians to be a real joy to converse with. They are beautiful people. Like I said, if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax, you won't be disappointed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerCavalieri
LocationDanvers Ma.
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2003
Good Time
Date:June 6, 2009
Best things about resortBeach is really nice with plenty of chairs and umbrellas for shade. Pool is large with a garden around it, very pretty. The staff was very friendly and nice
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPort Lucaya >> China Beach restaurant had really good food and the service was very good. The Agave restaurant had great food and the best Mojitos on the island.
ReviewWe had a great time not much to do at the resort but the beach and pool are nice. The rooms at the building we stayed at were very nice and clean. It was the newer building (Gold Crown, the others I don't think are rated, not sure). They have a Cave Bar under the water side that was cool. We were not real happy with the restaurant at the resort, food was ok but it did not feel like the cleanest place to eat.
You need to take the ferry or a taxi to get to Port Lucaya, the casino or anything else, which can cost a bit of time and money. Renting a car may have been cheaper for us, we went back and forth to Port Lucaya a bit.
Would recommend Parasailing and the Wave runner tour. Our guide on the tour was really nice and funny.
If you plan on drinking try the "Pirates Juice" it is a great Rum drink and it packs a punch. (It was myself my wife and a friend so we did some drinking as you can tell)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.