Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

The Marlin at Taino Beach (#A200)

Vacation fun, from beachcombing to gambling, is waiting for you at the Ritz 3 Beach Resort. The resort offers several activities during your week, including excursions to Port Lucaya, champagne cruises, and live entertainment on site. You may also visit the Rand Memorial Nature Center and the International Bazaar. After the sun sets, head out for a night of dining, dancing, and challenging your luck at the casinos.|A200,Freeport,,Bahamas
Average Member Rating:
3.722 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
27 of 36(75%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Review 1 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerSH3227
LocationMount Dora, FL
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2014
Member Since1995
Nice Quiet Resort
Date:April 7, 2014
Best things about resortThis resort was not filled with college kids. It had a variety of families, retirees, and a few college kids. This resort was quiet and had a nice beach.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPort Lucaya is the best attraction with restaurants and shopping. The fish and chips at the on site restaurant was the best we have ever had. That was all we had at that location.
ReviewThis resort has a very nice beach and pool area. I was expecting to go windsurfing, but they did not have any windsurfing on site or anywhere nearby. The room was fine, but only had silverware and bowls, glasses, etc. for 3. They did not have a dishwasher in the Studio that we stayed in, so we had to wash the dishes much more than at other resorts that we have stayed at. Overall the resort itself was very nice, but not top notch. For the points that were charged for the resort, I would say that it was a very good deal.
Review 2 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewermurseshark
Locationmerritt island,fl
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2005
AMAZING KID FRIENDLY RESORT
Date:June 14, 2013
Best things about resortThe pool steals the show. The water slide that is in the center of the pool with a lazy river that surrounds it is very relaxing. Not to mention the very hot tube which is very calming. The beach has sand whiter than snow and the water is clear like a pool.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPort Lucaya Marketplace is a fun visit. I recommended eating at Zorba's, Pieces, and the Irish Pub. Zorba's is your best value.
ReviewIf you’re going to the Bahamas and want a family resort, give the Taino Beach Resort a try. Also stay in the Marlin, it’s the newest and the one and two bedroom face the pool and the studio face the parking lot.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerJimAmy
LocationSaint Louis
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2011
Great view of pool and gardens
Date:May 24, 2013
Best things about resortGreat beach with lounge chairs, nice landscaping, comfy beds
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTaino by the Sea, Lucayan National Park - see Gold Rock Beach at low tide
ReviewWe got a 2 bedroom lockout in the Marlin building. One unit had a Bahama room and a balcony that overlooked the pool, the other unit had a jacuzzi tub and overlooked the parking lot. Eating breakfast on the balcony was great as well as sipping drinks in the evening - so relaxing and peaceful. We didn't do any swimming in the pool while there - the water was way too cold. The hot tub was laid out nice though way too heavy on the chlorine, it made our eyes burn.
Check in was extremely slow especially since we were the only ones checking in at that hour. I say it took at least 30 minutes to get keys to our rooms. Fortunately they had some free rum punch to sip on while waiting.
If you love great unspoiled beaches do rent a car and go to Lucayan National Park. Here you will find Gold Rock Beach (featured in Pirates of the Caribbean II & III). We loved it so much we went twice. Definitely more than worth the $5 per person admission. Plus the ocean water was warm enough to swim in for January though sometimes chilly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerFunJeff
LocationConnecticut
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2007
Relaxing
Date:April 12, 2013
Best things about resortLots of great things at this resort - first, the waterslide, second, the swim up bar under the waterslide, third, the view, forth, the beach about 50 ft from the building.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGreat places to eat over at Port Lucia - just a quick ferry ride over, people are friendly, place is great to relax at.
ReviewI think in the past 5 years, this was the most relaxing spot I have been to. The room was clean, staff was great, pool was excellent, and activities were fun. We had egg in spoon races on the beach, kayak races, and drinking contests - and the prize was a bottle of rum! The bonfire on the beach party at the end of the week rocked. Thumbs up to this resort for providing a really great time.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewergummato2
LocationPembroke, MA
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2006
Relaxing vacation
Date:March 17, 2013
Best things about resortThe unit was as described. Very comfortable and nice furnishings. The beach area is so beautiful, There are plenty of activities at the resort.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe loved walking on the beach. Ate at Molly Malones in Port Lucaya and it was a fantastic meal with outstanding service.
ReviewThe unit was a 1 bedroom. It was comfortable for 2 people , but it would not be private for 4 .The onsite restaurant food is fair, Ask lots of questions because they are not forthcoming with information. Never told there is a wifi code to use in our unit. The staff could use a refresher in friendliness . They need to be reminded that we are their GUESTS.We would definitely return, felt very refreshed after this vacation!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerdeafguest
LocationLondon, England
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1991
dark studio
Date:February 27, 2013
Best things about resortFun pool but not serious swimming pool. shallow throughout max 4foot. Great fun for children . Nice beach which needs cleaning of seaweed. The run to the supermarket is essential and worked well but there is no shopping nearby - we have never met that before. Usually there is a tiny shop on site with milk and bread - there is one across the road but out of 4 calls it was only open once.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe on site restaurant is good. The service mixed. Welcoming one night but the second time I felt the waitress did not want us at 8pm. Ferry fun to Lucaya but only hourly so tricky for timing with a meal. Zorba's restaurant and the Med were good.
ReviewVery depressing stay. The studio had no natural light - we had to use electric lights all the time. I complained serveral times but nothing was done to move us. and the place did not appear to be full. No balcony nor patio. No outlook at all, one could not tell whether the sun was shining or it was raining.
I dare say that had we had a room with a balcony (ie one bedroomed) it would have been fine.
Cooking smells came through from the one bed room that backed ours - there is an adjoining door. Everyone had to roll their suitcases along the passage by our front door it was a general thoroughfare.
The room jacuzzi was dangerous to use. One could not reach the plug from the floor and there were no hand rails. However there was a separate shower in the bathroom. I don't know whether rubber bathmats were available but the tiled floor was quite slippery - be aware older guests.
Our whole stay was marred by the terrible room. We would probably have been content otherwise but getting ones own breakfast in a dingey room is not acceptable.
The pool in February was bracing while the hot tub was too hot.
Fortunately, unlike Fortuna Beach, this resort did not have constant loud music. There was some music from time to time but it was not intrusive.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerCALLIKOO
LocationNJ
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2010
FREINDLY STAFF, LOTS OF SMILES
Date:October 9, 2012
Best things about resortQUIET AT THE TIME WE WENT THERE. NICE CLEAN ROOMS. LARGE POOL.
ReviewNICE RESORT. DISAPPOINTED IN SNORKLING OFF RESORT BEACH & AT PARADISE COVE. ALOT OF WALKING FOR DISABLED PERSONS. FERRY CAPTAINS NOT VERY FRIENDLY. DIDN'T THINK MOST GROCERIES WERE MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE THAN HERE IN NJ. VENDERS IN LACAYA CAN GET A LITTLE PUSHY TO GET YOU TO BUY.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerRobinLovesTravel
LocationColumbus, Ohio
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2012
Loved it for the most part
Date:October 4, 2012
Best things about resortThe pool is the best thing!! I love that it isn't deep, so my kids can enjoy it and I can too, without worrying about them getting too deep in water, the deepest point is 4 1/2 ft.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyI loved to go on the beach, which is right behind the resort and going to Port Lucaya for shopping.
ReviewOverall, we had a great time at the resort. The only suggestions that it would be nice to have actual comforters for the bed instead of thin flannel blankets. I wish that the unit had a stove to cook in( there is a cooktop and you can get a grill from the front desk---not sure if they charge you for it) and one of our bed feet were broken and they never came to fix it, so we had to be gentle with the bed. Lastly whoever made the shower floors did not take into consideration gravity for the water to drain....so we had to sweep water into the drain after taking showers to prevent water from standing. The things that I mentioned were minor compared to the pros that the resort had. We will be back with our children.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerLegaldivalv
LocationLas Vegas, Nevada
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2010
Good Resort
Date:August 20, 2012
Best things about resortWe were at the Marlin the room was nice but more attention to detail was needed. The sheets were a little rough, the bed a little hard but overall the room was clean and nice. Make sure you are booked into the Marlin the rooms are newer
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Port of Lucaya has alot of attractions and nice restaurants but the upstairs restaurant at the Bell Channel Inn was the best food we had bar none also if your a Diver book with Carribean Divers best prices and service! Great Dives
ReviewThe rooms in the Marlin section were nice but we heard from others on other sections were not as nice. Could use a little more attention to detail but overall we had a great experience and more importantly would come back with our kids.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerlismom
LocationWalker,MI
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2007
Run down resort that cheats people
Date:June 11, 2012
Best things about resortI am not in a position to say anything good about this resort.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCity of Freeport Port Lucaya The Flamingo Hotel Zorba's
ReviewThe town of Freeport is a lovely place with VERY friendly people. I wish I could say that about Taino Beach. This is a run down resort with VERY limited activities and they cheated me out of $100. When you check in, they will ask for $150, $50 of which is for "electrical charges" The other $100 is "just because" and they promise it will be refunded at check-out. Don't count on this happening!!! They will ignore you once you're gone! I have written several letters to them concerning this matter. If you don't want bad memories of your vacation in the Bahamas.....DON'T go to Taino Beach
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerjoshuncc
LocationWinston-Salem, NC
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2003
Broken A/C made uncomfortable stay at good resort
Date:July 17, 2011
Best things about resortBeautiful white-sand beaches with canopies & beach-chairs. Pool was large & comfortable.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGold Rock Beach Paturo's Pepper Pot (native restaurant frequented by locals, not tourists)
ReviewOverall we had a lovely stay at this resort. The Marlin is a newer unit in the complex. Our unit (#5108) had flat-surface cooktop, stainless-steel appliances, full-sized fridge & dishwasher, granite counters, & a flat-screen TV in the living room. It even featured a custom walk-in shower. Overall, the unit was nice.
ISSUES:
When we arrived, the unit was 76-degrees. I thought this was because we had just arrived, but it never got cooler overnight (we sleep well when it is cool at night). The next day I reported this to the front-desk clerk, as well as the rep who comes by to check on you (a.k.a. the person who signs you up for a tour to sell you another timeshare). Both individuals said they would send by an "engineer". When the "engineer" never showed up, I approached one the following day in the walkway who said he'd stop by in a minute. He never showed-up either. Since our room got hotter the longer we stayed in it, it was 79-degrees the day we left.
We had a broken blender when we arrived, but this was easily exchanged for a brand-new one once I reported it to the front desk.
RECOMMENDATIONS:
If you are comfortable with mostly staying at the resort & rarely venturing out, take the $25 cab from the airport to the resort. You'll find that taxis can take you just about anywhere (for a fee), including the highest-priced grocery store on the island (City Market).
However, if you have a desire to get out of the tourist areas & REALLY see Grand Bahama Island, rent a car. I recommend BRADS car rental. For about $250, you can get a comfortable car for the week. Note: you'll have to master driving on the left-hand side of the road with a vehicle made for right-side-road driving. Ask the employees of BRADS Car Rental for tips on places to visit & eat. They are full of great information.
If you rent a car, there are lots more grocery options to choose from. We tried them all, but preferred Sawyer's for all-around price (milk around $4, vs $7 elsewhere). Solomon's was bigger, but a little pricier ($6-$7 for chips, etc).
By renting a car, you also travel in an air-conditioned automobile... not always a guarantee when traveling by taxi.
Be sure to visit Gold Rock Beach at low tide. There is a $3 fee per person (it's a national park), but it's worth it. Take a towel & enjoy the flat swimming area. There are underwater tunnels across the street to look at also.
Paradise Cove has cheap snorkeling, but it's all from the shore, and they aren't too friendly here (I wanted to walk out on the beach to see if we wanted to do land snorkeling, and a worker there insisted we pay $3 a person just to walk out there).
If you want to see an off-shore reef, just utilize the resort snorkeling, or the $35 snorkeling offered at Port Lacaya. There is a place adjacent to the resort (Taino Beach) which advertises $19 snorkeling, but good luck at ever finding a day when they actually take a tour out for that price (I personally think it's a racket to get people to their facility). The fish-fry at Taino Beach is interesting... just a fried piece of fish -- no batter or anything. It wasn't bad though (if you don't mind your food looking at you!).
SKIP:
Skip out on the $50 per person bonfire the resort offers... it is not worth it, unless you can drink 2 liters of alcohol. It is an all-you-can-eat bonfire event, but when you go back for seconds, you get evil stares from the food staff. The actual bonfire at the "bonfire event" is an afterthought... they light a fire outside of the area everyone is hanging out, but it has nothing to do with anything... there just happens to be a fire burning there. The whole bonfire just seemed way overrated and under-planned.
Our resort offered some other socials that were included, such as a pastry social where you get desert and cheap wine. It was kinda fun. We missed out on other socials because we were out driving around, so I can't comment on those.
RECOMMEND: We definitely recommend checking out the local native eateries. One in particular that we frequented: Paturo's Pepper Pot. They don't take credit card, so have some cash available and order "Chicken In Da' Bag" -- it's a tasty friend-chicken with french fries. The place is open 24-hours, and you'd be hard-pressed to find another tourist in there. We ate at Simply Native on the day we departed -- it's a slightly nicer restaurant with delicious "Stewed Fish", which isn't what you think it is at all. They do take credit card, and it will cost you about $30 for two people to each there. If you eat at the local restaurant (and know about the Chicken In Da Bag), the Bahamians will consider you one of the locals!
DON'T FORGET:
Bring cash. Some places take credit card, but lots of places do not. We managed on the $200 we brought, but it would have been much easier if we had taken $300-$400, especially if you visit the straw market or Port LaCaya for souvenirs.
Overall we had a WONDERFUL trip, and we'd rate this place 8, on a scale from 1-10. My wife and I celebrated our 10-year wedding anniversary here (as a surprise trip for her), and she totally LOVED it.
PS - OTHER THOUGHTS:
This resort needs to do some serious updates on the other units (Ocean & Coral). We had some friends staying in one of those units, & they had nasty green algae-filled "pools" on their balconies (which had enough space in the railing a child could easily fall through), and the furnishings were very outdated. One is MUCH BETTER OFF to stay a little farther back from the beach in the Marlin.
Also, the photo slideshow pictures a mariachi band playing music at the pool. I never saw this at all.
Lastly, the resort lobby has wireless internet, but it goes out a few times a day and requires that someone unplug the router for a few seconds to "reset" it. They also serve a "Rum Punch" beverage, but it quickly runs dry (or they run out of cups), and it doesn't seem to be offered everyday (not sure what the deal was with that).
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerchickyandjack
LocationSan Diego California and New Orleans Louisiana
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2001
Beautiful Beaches, bring food, rent a car
Date:July 15, 2011
Best things about resortThe room was very clean, but you have to clean it yourself all week which was not big deal for us. Just walk out to pool or beach which was great. Easy access to shopping but you have to take a ferry or organized bus so book ahead, which was no big deal. Resort is remote, no sales on the beach, good place for R & R, good TV, cooking quite easy, nice shower and tub, dim lighting but not that bad, we brought our own light bulbs for more light, but didn't need them after all. Read my full review which is super honest and current. If you are a stern Christian or Muslin family, you might want to know that there is a good place to go, but beware of the fact that some bathers like to take off their tops (not around the kids) and although this is fine with us, I could see some fundamentalists getting a bit annoyed and letting this ruin their vacation. Not a big deal, but and FYI for those who might wish to isolate themselves from a topless view. The resort does not condone this practice, but they were not monitoring it either. For us it was a nice change and we felt we were in a very safe area. The beach is however very secure.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe beach and a Wednesday Night Fish Fry within a a mile walk. Shopping not that easy as you had to take a ferry, but not that big of deal unless you had a big group and then it gets expensive. Pool was excellent. Wish it was deeper however. Swim up bar was refreshing. Happy hour was fun for those who like to swim and drink.
ReviewHere are some helpful suggestions:
Bring your own queen size sheets and pillow(s) and cases. Bring a lot of your own food, especially snack food which is very expensive and sandwich bags and ziplock bags and disposable everything if possible. Liquor is cheap so don't bother, but juices are expensive. Duty free liquor all over the island and no sales tax. Crystal Lite is a must and a plastic pitcher. Wine is a bit expensive. Bring your own large beach blanket, large beach umbrella(s) with UV protection, bug repellent for large beach flies which leave itchy nasty bites,beach rafts that are easy to pack, Cortizone cream and Benadryl, lots of Q-tips, paper plates, cups, picnic ware for sure, spices and condiments, snorkeling equipment, shirt for snorkeling so you won't get a sun burn, aloe for sunburn, underwater camera with a flash, a few old towels for your room on the floor for sandy feet, a cheap plastic bucket to rinse off feet sand just inside your room, so worth it, trust me, a Swiffer if your room feels grimy as you cannot see the dirt because of the pink marble floors, ear plugs. Bring an ice chest and carry it with you to the beach. We packed meat to cook and sandwich makings for the beach and saved so much money. Bring books if you like to read. I read two books and could have read three. Room has a radio to drown out noisy neighbors. A plastic container for shells that you find on the beach, especially sand dollars.
We rented a car the last four days of our trip and we didn't mind spending the extra money that we saved on food. Seriously, we only ate out twice and we made excellent meals in the room and lunches to pack.
Drive to Paradise Cove. It's $3 PP but worth it all the way. It's about a 30 min drive from the resort. Beautiful snorkeling. Check them out on the internet before you go. They offer a lot to rent.
Drive to the Lucayan National Park and see the caves, then go to the beach. It was the most beautiful beach we found. Snorkel out to the rock and see the most beautiful coral reef and fish. It was incredible and at low tide you can stand up around the rock but be careful to not touch the coral as it is so vulnerable and delicate. It's a long swim, but worth the effort.
Those would be the two places I would go and say renting a car made it worth the trip by far.Try to rent from Brads as they were negotiable and the cheapest. We didn't plan and paid $63/day at Hertz. No tax and check with your insurance in advance to see if they cover you. Driving is tricky as it is on the other side of the road so assign a navigator as a back up for maps and for making sure you are on the LEFT side of the road when driving. A lot of places were sold out of cheap cars. Think ahead. Brads will come pick you up and to get the car. Not far from the resort.
There is NO special snorkeling around the resort. We took the morning tip to the reef by boat which was worth it, so if you don't want to rent a cat, you can do that trip, but it is short.
I loved Paradise Cove a lot. We forgot our wallet and so we could not stay but came back the next day, I didn't want to leave.
So, here are a few things that will surprise you. The local people are super friendly, polite and extremely helpful. Not what one would expect. We have two timeshares with RCI so we declined the sales pitch with that very reason and they left us alone, however to be on the safe side, unplug the phone if you don't want to be bothered because they will call to ask you and it's was annoying to be woken up the first few mornings.
I liked our room because it was close to the office, however, it was noisy. Try to get a second floor studio if you can so you don't have to be concerned about people walking by your room each day. It was annoying for a light sleeper, but we toughed it out. They would be wise to remind people walking by that there are people sleeping close to those windows and to keep their voices down, especially screaming kids who were excited to go to the beach! We were in room 5101 and it only noisy when people where walking to the office. On the other end I would imagine it would be noisy with people going to the beach. Best to get a second floor if you want some privacy.
The studio was perfect for two people, but no views and you could not keep your shutters open because people can see right in.
The worst part are the thin walls between rooms. We have big voices and high-pitched yackers as neighbors. I would not say they were being overly loud, but they happened to like to come in late and stay up late and they had no concept of the fact that other people were trying to sleep so they talked over one another and were clearly having a good time. I decided to call the desk but no one answers after 11PM. So I was left with the choice of finding security or knocking on their door which I decided was not a good idea. They seemed like the type of people who didn't care one way or the other. The last night I called the desk early and asked them to call the neighbors and let them know that they were being too loud late at night. I requested that they tell them to keep their voices down after midnight. Well, as I predicted, they were offended and just after midnight, they started to party louder than ever. I layed there annoyed and finally fell asleep. I got up early and decided to pay them back, so I moved the radio, put on some terrible music and put the radio right next to the adjoining door. Then I turned up the TV and went out for a walk. When I came back, I made as much noise as possible near their door. IN truth, I didn't know if it made a difference, but it was very early leaving them with only a few restful hours of sleep and it make me feel a lot better.
Other than that, I would like to return to Grand Bahama because the people were super nice, it didn't cost us an arm and a leg, I know what to expect, the island is simple and not full of nasty people, the roads were easy to drive on and the snorkeling was fantastic. I am sure there are more places, but this was good for me. The resort was not first class but I was prepared because we read good reviews in advance and kept our expenses way down. It was a quick trip from New Orleans and we had plenty of the day both ways so we didn't feel everything was wrapped up in travel for two days. Miami airport is nice as was out 29 minute commute to Grand Bahama.
We kept it low-key and next time will spend more time out at Paradise Cove and the park beaches as well as drive around to more interesting places.
Our ice chest, drink coolers, extra beach towels, beach blanket, sheets, snacks and food and UV umbrella helped make this trip a huge plus for us.
Good luck. We didn't bring kids but all the kids looked like they are having a super good time and putting in some good family time. It was VERY SAFE and you didn't have to watch them every second as the water was shallow and they played in the water a lot. I would take kids to this resort for sure, but take less clothes and more food and that should make your stay a lot more affordable. Bring some board games, cards, dice or TWISTER for the beach. A few suggestions is that each kid bring a back pack to carry their own snacks and towel and clothing otherwise the parents are going to turn into back packs. Bring something for the kids to drink to the beach that they can carry themselves. Bring a trash bag with you where ever you go. Take beach balls they can blow up and so on. Have them help carry the load because they can and they should help and it slows them down a bit when you are in need of an extra hand. Teach them about not taking anything that is alive from the water and to be careful of the vulnerable coral reef. Have them pick up some trash on their way in to help the environment. Bring a lot of sunscreen for them and reapply all day.
I wish my parents had taken us to a place like this when I was young.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerBlueberry
LocationPhiladelphia, PA
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2009
Great resort and Great Location
Date:May 29, 2011
Best things about resortThe location on the beach and the pool. It sits right on a beautiful secluded private beach so you don't have to worry about anyone bothering you or feeling crowded at all.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyYou need to do the local Fish Fry which is excellent. Catch a cab, drive or even walk.
ReviewThe Marlin is in good shape. We met some people that stayed in the other two buildings and those were quite dated. The resort has a lot to offer and a fabulous pool with a swim-up bar, however you can't charge your drinks to your room. You have to carry cash or a credit card which is a bit difficult in a bathing suit.
The resort is very quiet, which my husband and I really enjoyed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerNandDinME
LocationHiram, ME
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2001
Good resort on a good beach
Date:April 22, 2011
Best things about resortThe sand on the beach is very nice; gentle slope into the water; lots of length for walks. The pool has a gentle walk-in and shallow end for small children, and enough room for guests in the whole pool.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe resort provides a ferry ($5 round trip/person) to Port Lucaya Marketplace which has good restaurants, various shops, access to a cheap bus to a grocery store, and late afternoon entertaiinment at the bandstand.
ReviewThe reader should note the Taino Beach Resort has, at this writing, three sections that are connected side by side: The "Ocean" begins closest to the beach. Next to it is the "Coral", and furthest from the beach is the "Marlin". Go to the Taino Beach resort website and explore it to see their descriptions and the resort map. The map is a bit misleading as it shows the three sections (left side of the map) as somewhat separated. Note that they do have big plans for future development. We had a 1st floor studio unit in the "Marlin". The unit space and facilities were quite adequate for the two of us. Marlin studio units are on the west side (parking lot side) of the building with windows only on the west side, and we felt the unit was dark and had to have the lights on for most times we went back to the unit. Marlin 1-bedroom units have their entry on the west side as well (a short hall leads to the door along side the studio units), but they have more floor space, have larger windows on the pool (east) side, and are somewhat brighter inside. The 1-bedroom units do not have a jacuzzi-type tub. Click on the "View Floorplan" on the resort web pages to get a better idea.
The houskeeping staff was responsive to our requests for items that were "missing" when we reviewed the inventory list for items that were supposed to be in the unit. The maintenance staff (they called it "engineering" did not appear to be responsive - though we only made our requests for "fixes" to the front desk - several times. The central air conditioning unit in our unit, the 1-bedroom unit adjacent to ours (through the lock-out doors), and in one other studio unit we visited all had the same problem: they mad a big "bang" at the end of the cooling cycle when the room temperature lowered to the set point. The bang woke us up at night - several times each night until we decided to turn the air conditioning off when we turned out the lights for the night. Our room was also missing a smoke detector (a mounting bracket was on a wall) and had a burned-out light bulb, and despite requests for "fixes" there was no "fix" for either of these during our 1-week stay.
The beach is beautiful, but they ought to purchase a few more beach chair/lounges. During a more busy period, despite lots of beach room, many people would have to go without one.
We found the staff to be quite friendly and cheerful - as was true of other residents of the island.
We rented a car from one of the airport vendors for several days so we could explore the island and recommend that others do so as well. A good map is available at the resort and many other places; navigation is easy, but be sure to have someone continually remind the driver to "keep left". It can be lots of fun.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerwayneswurld
LocationOntario, Canada
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2000
Not for everyone
Date:December 4, 2010
Best things about resortGreat beach, large pool, lush flowering shrubs and palm trees. Well equipped and comfortable room with large balcony. A reasonable resort for families with children, or for those wishing only to lay by the pool/beach and read - because there's not much else to do on-site.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPort Lucaya is a 5 minute ferry ride away from the resort with a number of reasonable restaurants, duty-free shops and ocean outfitters for scuba, snorkeling, fishing, etc.
ReviewThis resort seems barely up to Silver Crown standards. Limited, low quality on-site amenities, poorly maintained restaurant/patio with worn-out rustic furnishings, mediocre food at inflated prices (even for locally available in-season seafood), sparsely stocked and over-priced convenience store. Port Lucaya offers the only nearby restaurant/recreation alternative, but can get boring after 3-4 visits there. Would be nice if the standard of food at the resort matched reasonable restaurants like Zorba's and Agave at Port Lucaya. Be ready for a $177 tax charge at check-in to the resort. Suggest bringing your own DVDs, snacks, and as much of whatever food you're allowed to bring into the Bahamas. Bear in mind that total population of the island is less than 50,000 people so don't expect a lot in terms of attractions and things to do or see - aside from the usual ocean sports.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerPAboy
LocationVero Beach , FL
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2009
Nice Friendly Resort
Date:November 16, 2010
Best things about resortFriendly helpful staff
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLucaya market and attractions are just a short boat ride across the bay
ReviewWe were greeted by a helpful and friendly staff member who showed us around the facilities. We were able to walk the uncrowded beach on the property. The resort also has a nice pool with a lazy river.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjriver
LocationOntario, Canada
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2004
Very relaxing quiet resort
Date:October 29, 2010
Best things about resortThe staff is extremely friendly, the ease and efficiency of the ferry to Port Lucaya was great and always on time.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe on site restaurant had fantastic food, the quality and quantity of the food was priced well. Pool on site was maintained well and won't disappoint...good for all age groups (the caves were lacking in air circualtion making them have a stale smell) Port Lucaya - La Med restaurant was superb...early bird up to 630pm well worth the $$
ReviewStudio suites - beautiful room, loved the jacuzzi tub...but having no balcony/ sitting area outside made it difficult to enjoy the weather unless you went to the poolside. The one bedroom suites have the balcony but no tub...
The resort had activities planned for you if you wanted to participate, (only a few a day) most were poolside and got people involved.
Highly recommend the wine and cheese cruise, even though we had a bit of windy weather and missed the sunset due to waves, we had a great time.
The members party was fun, got to have a taste of local dishes and a lot of Bahama mama drinks....
The Island tour by bus was more of a targetted shopping trip, with a brief showing of millionaires row of houses and some history of the island. Stopped at the gardens and did a tour through there for an hour. The International bazaar has not been rebuilt since the hurricane so very little was there...except the Perfume factory :) The rum factory has been relocated to Nassau however there is quite a few 'duty free shops' for alcohol - which you should use as the pool bar drinks are quite pricey and independant of the resort.
The grocery run is a great benefit to use, but I recommend that you put some dry food such as noodles and cereal in your suitcase as the cost is quite high on the island to buy these things.
Taxis run high on cost, public buses are about 1.50 and will take you to downtown from Port Lucaya. The buses are not allowed in the 'tourist' areas as to make money for the taxi drivers, but the bus stand is just past the police station about a 3-5 minute walk out of the port on the main road.
When we visited it was the slow season, so the resort was very quiet and most of the shops in the port closed early so we can't really tell you about the night life...
Review 18 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTRUEBLONDIE
LocationSaint Joseph, MO
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2005
Great Resort, Pool & Staff on a Secluded Beach!
Date:October 2, 2010
Best things about resortMarlin units are very modern with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances, nice furniture and very clean. Huge pool and waterslide was wonderful! The beach was secluded with many lounge chairs and umbrellas. The staff was friendly, attentive & helpful!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe resort was the best with nearby attractions like: Riding the ferry to Port Lucaya, Zorba's Restaurant, Smith's Fish Fry, Gold Rock Beach and The Perfume Factory.
ReviewThis was a great resort for our family vacation but we would also recommend it for couples. There were 11 members of our family that enjoyed the resort: 4 month old, 3 yr old, seven young adults 23-30, and my husband and I who are 50. We had 2, two bedroom units in the Marlin. Great Modern Units! Everything we needed was there. The grounds around the resort are lush and groomed well. The pool area is huge with a great waterslide and caves. The pool was so big that we were never crowded and chairs were always available. The beach was beautiful and secluded. Lots of chairs and umbrellas.
The staff was warm and welcoming. They provided our every need with a smile. There is no daily or by-weekly housekeeping services, but we actually clean up after ourselves quite well and enjoy our privacy. We exchanged our towels for clean ones every few days. The staff treated us as members of the resort when we were actually in the exchange program for RCI. Great Staff!
We also rented a van and it was quite an experience driving on the left side of the road. However, we got to see much more of the island! Port Lucaya was very nice with live music at night, great restaurants, and stores that you can bargain with. The ferry to Port Lucaya was nice too, $5 round trip. We would strongly recommend going to Gold Rock Beach and Smith Fish Fry too.
The entire time we were at the resort, we only had one complaint: one of the units smelled a little like mildew and the central air unit leaked. Housekeeping came right up and mopped the unit, however Maintenence took a little longer to fix the central air unit.
Overall, we had a fabulous time and would strongly recommend the Marlin Units at Taino Beach Resort to anyone.
(I think the Ocean and Coral Units may be a little older than the Marlin and we didn't see the inside of them.)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerJessicaP
LocationMassachusetts
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1990
A pleasant beach vacation
Date:July 27, 2010
Best things about resortBest things about this resort: 1) The resort is located right on the beach which is really beautiful, quiet and secluded. The beach was groomed each morning and clean. 2) The pool was great. It has a lazy river that surrounds the pool, little side “caves” to escape the sun and a swim-up bar in the middle called the "Grotto Bar" 3) Convenient water taxi to Port Lucaya
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBest attractions or restaurants nearby: Port Lucaya had a great restaurant called Agave – great food, drinks and staff; also try the Conch Fritter guy in a small stand near the straw market/center stage area; Zorbas was pretty good as well. AND for the coffee lovers out there – a little shop called Island Java across from the casino; the coffee was great and the staff here were fun people and always smiling. You must do the UNEXSO swimming with dolphins in the open ocean - what an amazing experience and great staff!
ReviewStayed at the Marlin at Taino Beach Resorts in a studio unit:
The pros to staying at The Marlin:
- The resort is located right on the beach which is really beautiful, quiet and secluded. The beach was groomed each morning and clean. Beach chairs and thatched umbrellas with tables were available on the beach as well with a picnic table here and there too.
- We stayed in a studio which was nice. The room had marble floors and counter tops, a small basic kitchen equipped with a few pots and pans, mixing bowls, cutting boards, kettle, dishes, cutlery etc... there should have been a coffee maker too but was missing from our unit. The room was on the smaller side, just large enough only for two adults. The bed was in the center, against a Jacuzzi tub for two, and we had a three seater sofa and small dining table with two chairs. The bathroom was clean, with a marble shower with glass enclosure – good water pressure for those who look for that! Our room was on the third floor, mostly quiet outside the occasional slammed door. The location was convenient and within an easy walking distance to the pool, beach and front desk where you caught a taxi or purchased your Ferry tickets. The Ferry was about a 5 minute walk from the front desk. I think you can say that for all the rooms at the Marlin, one of three “sections” of the resort.
- The A/C in the room was great, and added ceiling fan.
- The pool was great. It has a lazy river that surrounds the pool, little side “caves” to escape the sun and a swim-up bar in the middle called the "Grotto Bar", which looks like a big cave under two waterfalls on each end. It also has a large slide over top of the Grotto Bar for the kids (yes we tried it and it was even fun for adults!). Most of the mixed drinks were between $7 and $8 and between 4pm and 6pm they offer a Happy Hour menu with drinks 2 for $7. A must try is their “Pirate Juice," which was about 5 different rums and fruit juice in a plastic bucket at $12 each (or 3 for $30). They do have a kick so be prepared! Kevin was a great bartender and very attentive. I also appreciated the resort put many rafts/tubes in the pool for people to use.
- They offer a restaurant on the resort grounds, called "Taino at the Sea". This is convenient if you do not want to cook, go far from the resort, or are at the beach then you can walk right up to their porch and the bar to grab drinks or a bite to eat.
- The resort offers various water sport activities – we had a great time on the jet skis though on the pricey side at $70 for 30 mins for a single.
- Resort is convenient to the Ferry which takes you to Port Lucaya, a 10 minute slow ride across the canal; cheaper and quicker than a cab. It leaves every hour on the hour from 8am-11pm and is $5 a person round trip and return trips are quarter after the hour.
- Check in/out was very easy, but be prepared to pay $150 or more in taxes/fees once you check in and a $25 cab ride from and to the airport.
- A grocery store shuttle is offered by the resort for $3 per couple round trip, opposed to a $15 per person cab ride.
- Port Lucaya had a great restaurant called Agave – great food, drinks and staff; also try the Conch Fritter guy in a small stand near the straw market/center stage area; Zorbas was pretty good as well. AND for the coffee lovers out there – no Starbucks or D&Ds folks but you can find as close to real coffee as you can find here at a little shop called Island Java across from the casino; the staff here were fun people and always smiling.
The cons:
- Although it is nice to have a secluded beach, there really isn't much to do other than go to the beach or the pool. Be prepared to make lots of trips to Port Lucaya and/or bring several books!
- No room service. No drink service at pool. No in-room internet. No daily housekeeping. No fitness center.
- Though the pool was nice, it being so large I guess it is hard to keep “neat”. Often found empty cups and popped rafts scattered about, the water had many leaves and bugs floating around and appeared a little cloudy by the end of the day.
- The lighting in our room was very dim… from the bathroom to main area. With all the lights on, even the overhead microwave light it never seemed bright enough. Especially if you like to leave your blinds closed all the time for privacy.
- The restaurant at the resort was overall terrible. The food was below average and in addition to it being over priced (i.e. breakfast buffet at $30 for two), the staff could honestly careless if you are enjoying yourself and often disappeared. The waitresses we had were unfriendly and very unattentive for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Where 15% gratuity is already included on your total bill, they appear not to be too concerned with your enjoyment or if you need anything. I will say we did luck out and have better service when we dined inside the restaurant for dinner. I would avoid the restaurant and spend your money at one of the Port Lucaya restaurants.
- There is a difference between "island time" and just unfriendly. All staff applies to one, some apply to both terms. The front desk clerks were not overly friendly/helpful and gave an attitude when “too many” questions were asked.
- Taxi to go back to the airport. Will cost $25 per couple, but the con here is be prepared to share a van with other people at the resort AND other resort’s visitors. When I reserved a taxi, I was not told that it would be a shared taxi and would “wait for everyone to show-up” before it left for the airport but it got better, we then stopped at other resorts too on the way before we were all dropped at the airport - so plan accordingly! Do not expect a discount for the shared service or multiple stops either, they even charged one gentlemen traveling alone $20.
- Bring a watch for the pool and around the resort! You will not find any around outside your room. With that said though, they do not kid when they say everything is on “Island Time”; we found nothing to ever be on time. If you have a grocery run for 3pm, you may see the driver by 3:30 or 3:45pm. The ferry back to the resort says 15 past the hour, but they typically left earlier.
- Port Lucaya, once you’ve seen the straw market, you’ve seen it. The vendors have pretty much the same items. The shops close at 6pm so if planning to head over to shop and do dinner – do shopping first! Do not be afraid to haggle prices at the stands and in the shops.
- Overall there is really very little to do outside paid for “tours” or “excursions” in the area in general. If you want to go to the Bahamas, you may want to consider Nassau or other islands as this area is not really 'Caribbean' at Taino.
Enjoyed the trip, it was still a pleasant beach vacation. No glaring issues, but no resort rave reviews either. Have fun, and do not let the small things like a poor resort restaurant or rudeness spoil your hard earned vacation!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Marlin at Taino Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLibfamily
Locationdix hills, ny
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1993
beautiful resort, beautiful beach
Date:July 9, 2010
Best things about resortpool was beautiful, water temperature perfect, quiet, fun, safe, pretty area
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPort Lucaya, Pisces restaurant had excellent pizza.
ReviewThis resort was much better than I thought it was going to be from reading some of the other reviews. We stayed at The Marlin, the newer area, and 1 bedroom was perfect for 5 of us. It had 2 pull out couches in large living area. A seperate bedroom was small but big enough for the two of us. Beautiful balcony with tables and chairs overlooking the pool, which was picture perfect and I witnessed them cleaning it each morning. Restaurant on the beach is very nice. prices average and food good. Wasn't thrilled with the calamari but fish and chips were very good. Prices of drinks at pool bar are a little high I thought. Could have more specials to keep it fun. Pool slide is great for all but would open and close sporadically. Overall it was a fabulous vacation. Completely relaxing and picturesque.
We took the glass bottom boat out of the marina across the street and we were the only ones on the tour. Very nice and saw reef sharks down below and many pretty fish. Then took the Robinson Crusoe Beach Party trip. It was fun, Bahama Mamas flowing, food was good, ribs, chicken,corn.snorkeling included.
We have 3 boys, 13,13, 10, They had tons of fun, with plenty to do. Oh yeah and you get Nickelodeon and wpix too. We even caught the mets on t.v..
Oh and bring some food with you, kitchen is pretty well stocked, but no oven. Have to cook on stovetop. We brought some rice a roni, mac and cheese, instant mashed potatoes, etc. Should have brought more. They have a grocery run 3 times, which is great, but food is very expensive, gal milk is 6.79. Edys ice cream 9.95. We ate in 3 times and all breakfasts. hope this all helps