Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

Worldmark Solvang (#8736)

Velkommen to Solvang, the Danish Capital of America. Located in the breathtaking Santa Ynez Valley of California, Solvang is a quaint village of flower-lined streets featuring old world architecture highlighted by thatch, copper and tile roofs. Find a treasured keepsake at one of Solvangs many unique shops, which offer an assortment of imported European wares, including porcelain, collectibles and handicrafts. Savor fine authentic Danish cuisine and make sure to save room for some baked goods. The Santa Ynez Valley also is known for producing some of the finest wines in the world.|8736,Solvang,CA,USA
Average Member Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Worldmark Solvang
Review 1 for Worldmark Solvang
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewertaxaxe13
LocationVacaville, CA
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2011
Nice change of pace
Date:November 25, 2013
Best things about resortClean modern condition, located within walking distance to everything, unit was well-equipped.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyElverhoj Museum, Mission Santa Ines, Ingeborg's Handmade Chocolates
ReviewSolvang is a quaint town in the heart of Santa Barbara wine country that has maintained its Danish heritage through tourism. Solvang enjoys sunshine even when its foggy on the coast. Everything is within walking distance of the resort. I highly recommend the Elverhoj Museum and Mission Santa Ines, both of which are only a few blocks away. We had chocolates or ice cream from Ingeborg’s 3 days in a row! Take time to admire the architecture of the old Danish shops, which is free to enjoy and usually more interesting than the merchandise they contain. If you like wind chimes and fountains, there’s great yard art at Woeste’s in the neighboring town of Los Olivos. The Worldmark resort was clean, modern, and well equipped. The staff was friendly and efficient. The mattress was very comfortable, but bring your own pillow. The walls were not well sound-proofed, so hopefully you’ll have quiet neighbors. There’s a great selection of DVD’s in the game room, including lots of family-friendly movies.
Review 2 for Worldmark Solvang
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAnonymous
LocationSan Diego, Cal
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1994
Always a nice place.
Date:March 3, 2013
Best things about resortAll Staff always had a smile and hello, very inviting place and the decor of the room was nice and clean.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAll stores and the beautiful country side and mountians.
ReviewWorldMark a wonderful place to stay and so close to the
stores and restaurants, a nice walk to all the inviting stores.
Easy drive to the country side and wineries.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Worldmark Solvang
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerWolverine1974
LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1987
Worth the visit.
Date:June 18, 2012
Best things about resortThe best things about the resort are: its location to Solvang, the size of the units, the pleasant personnel, and the balcony.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBest nearby attractions include: Solvang, horseback riding at Circle Bar B Ranch, the wineries and tasting rooms, and Paula's Pancakes restaurant.
ReviewThe Worldmark Solvang resort is conveniently located and only a short walk to downtown Solvang. The front desk personnel were very cheerful and helpful. We did not like is being told when we checked in that we had to prepay a bed tax of $62.00. That was a very unpleasant surprise. It should have been included in the RCI confirmation. Our two-bedroom unit was very roomy and had a large balcony. The beds, however, were very hard and the furniture had a musty smell. The pool area was nice, but there should have been more resort activities. There are many things to do nearby like visiting wineries, horeseback riding, and kayaking. We recomment this resort.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Worldmark Solvang
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerdbreit
LocationChino Hills, CA
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1995
Velkommen to Solvang, Great Resort, Great Location
Date:November 27, 2011
Best things about resortOur family enjoyed the pool table and ping pong daily. The movie selection was also very good. Walking distance to the village of Solvang. Shops, wine tasting, bakeries, and restaurants all nearby.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe loved The "Red Barn" in Santa Ynez, great food. Also Avant wine and tapas bar in Bulleton, great atomsphere. Beer tasting at Figueroa Mtn. Brewing Co and Firestone Walker in Bulleton. Wine tasting at Sunstone and Gainey in Santa Ynez and Evan's Ranch in Los Olivos.
ReviewThis lovely Gold Crown Resort property is in an ideal location in the middle of central California wine country. The Santa Rita hills are ideal for magnificent Pinot Noir and Chardonay. Surprisingly the Merlots were amazing. Our family would highly recommend this resort. The resort and village of Solvang are family friendly.
Review 5 for Worldmark Solvang
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerSprtwidow5
LocationEl Paso, TX
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1989
Great Location
Date:July 5, 2010
Best things about resortLocation, location, location. Close to Santa Barbara, Pismo Beach and Wine Country for day trips.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPaula's Pancake House and the Red Viking Restauant. Many little wineries had tasting rooms in town.
ReviewNot much to do at the resort except pool and rec room. Ususally had a manager's reception that local businesses come in and talk with guests. The Manager was not at resort the week we were there so no reception. Very friendly staff. Coffee every morning down stairs by the front desk.
The only complaint I had was that you had to ask for shampoo, no body lotion provided and towels were felt thin and cheap. If they could just do those upgrades they would be perfect.
You are at the resort for the day trips, not the resort activities.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Worldmark Solvang
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerQueenoftheroad
LocationStockton, CA
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1992
Quiet, Relaxing Vacation
Date:December 21, 2009
Best things about resortLOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyRestaurants we enjoyed during our stay. Paula's, Solvang Restaurant, Hitchin Post (Buellton) and the buffet at Chumash Casino.
ReviewGreat location for relaxing; peace and quiet; no street noise. Lovely walking area just in back of the resort. Short walk to downtown and most of the stores and restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Wednesday afternoon local farmer's market; amazing produce! The locations of the spa just outside our unit was a nice treat. Unfortunately, we did have extremely noisy upstairs neighbors who woke early, stomped and had a crying child. They were also unbelievingly inconsiderate when on the stairs outside our room. If we delete this situation we had a relaxing wonderful time enjoying the sunshine. We even came home with winnings from the Chumash Casino. Lots to see and do; depending on your own likes and dislikes.
Review 7 for Worldmark Solvang
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer2Britts
LocationMontrose, CO
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2005
Great Place to Stay
Date:August 27, 2009
Best things about resortLocation, Location, Location. This resort is about 2 blocks from the main area of town, yet out just enough so that you don't have the traffic. You have the view of the mountains to the south and the area surrounding the town to the north.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLots of shops nearby to enjoy and restaurants everywhere. We enjoyed the Belguim Cafe for breakfast. Vineyards and wine tasting very close by. For the beach lovers you are within a short distance to many of the beaches. Hearst Castle is 2 hrs. up the road.
ReviewI would stay here again anytime. The unit was clean and well equipped for whatever you use them for. Laundry in suite too. Only dislike, is the town closes down early!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Worldmark Solvang
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerSandyEggoLiving
LocationSan Diego
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1999
Walking distance into town
Date:February 8, 2008
Best things about resortWalking distance to the town, clean units
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWine Tasting, window shopping in Solvang, Dutch bakeries a walk away
ReviewWe stayed here for a mini vacation over Presidents Day. It was convenient being close to the town as most WMs are not walking distance from things to do. The units are new so they were well furnished. We stayed in a first floor 3B with some relatives that we had invited. While the living area was a little smaller that what we are used to, it was large enough for 6 adults and two small children to socialize. The table seated 6 so did not accommodate all eight of us but the two kids could sit comfortably at the kitchen island on the bar stools. The view was good and overlooked a vacant grassy lot, being on a corner unit (though it may be developed in the future). Our lone complaint is the lack of parking. We had a 3B and only one parking space. Our invited guests had to park on the street, and while they could find a spot it was an inconvenience.
The weather was good for February. Warm enough during the days and a slight chill in the evenings. We had a little rain one night and the resort grounds handled the water well without a lot of mud. We did take a dip in the pool and found it a little chilly. The town is a great place to window shop and have a meal. The one deli shop that we did visit for lunch was out of bread though. Great wines in the area and it is the place you would like to stay for exploring the Santa Ynez valley. The staff did not have a lot of info on this though and I would recommend that you do your research before arriving.
34 of 34 people found this review helpful.