Resort Reviews

Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and (#7866)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/7866')"> Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and (#7866)

Set on Burgeaux Bay Beach, the resort offers an irresistible blend of elegance, excitement, and natural island beauty. Wind surf and scuba dive at the beach, or relax and sun by the swimming pool. The on-site restaurant offers a selection of flavorful cuisine, and live entertainment lights up the night.
Average Member Rating:
2.706 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
7
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
7
18 of 34(53%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Review 21 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerPetsqueen
LocationNew Jersey
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1992
Be wary
Date:May 11, 2012
Best things about resortLocation, Location, Location. It's near everything you could want. We always rent a car and frequently visit friends on the French side.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyHaven't found a bad place to eat .. really. And there are all kinds of places to eat, from your standard American fast foods, to ultra top notch fine dining.
ReviewMy biggest problem with this resort is the owner. He is an arrogant and very rude individual.
We own a unit here...and we owned a unit in the old place before it was destroyed for new construction. We've been RCI members for 10 years. And we loved the old resort and we love St. Martin.
When the resort decided to upgrade, and rebuild, we weren't given many options. They would have refunded only 50% of what we paid, or we HAD to upgrade.
The first year we thought we would stay there, we found out the resort wasn't ready due to hurricanes. OK, I understand that. A letter arrived stating we were being put up elsewhere.
We showed up with two other friends to this other resort and found that there was no reservation for us, and no rooms available. The staff at the Point de Plaisance were extremely nice and helpful and got us two studios at the Atrium, who was able to accommodate us for one night, and then we returned to the other resort.
I complained about the arrangements, etc. to the folks at the Caravanseri and at the time there were different people in the sales dept. I was given a letter stating that a FREE week would be given to me because of the inconvenience. I learned it was offered to others as well.
We showed up for our free week the following year (where we attached it to our standard week) and we were told they would not honor the free week .. despite the NUMEROUS emails that were traded back and forth .. NOT ONCE was there the courtesy on behalf of the owner or reservation staff to inform me of this. And there is no excuse for truly bad customer service. And no excuse for not telling me that the "Free week" was not being honored. I just don't get that at all. When I questioned the owner as to why I wasn't informed, he said it was too bad. And offered no apology.
I was able to argue with the owner for about 20 minutes. We agreed that I would pay half the annual maintenance fee ($350) and that was the only way he'd let us stay for the week. If I didn't have other friends joining us, I would have been happy to get on a plane headed home.
Then because of the construction issues, our RCI account was placed on "hold" for the following year, so we couldn't use our RCI membership to book anywhere else...and in March 2012 we were FORCED to stay at this resort.
We had the same unit as the last year .. the unit on our contract. It is supposed to be a one bedroom TWO bathroom unit...that's what we purchased...instead it's a one bedroom 1.5 bath. (No shower or tub). We specifically purchased a unit with two FULL baths....
So I've been ripped off by them in more than one way.
I suggest you purchase elsewhere and just stop by one day for a visit.
There are live wires with no light fixture in the closet .. two years now. The sink in the main bathroom clogs; the trash can (which looks like stainless steel) is corroded and has "stuff" growing on it. The sliders do not lock, and our door hardware is different from all the other units.
When our friend joined us last year, the futon was most uncomfortable. We wanted to drag in a mattress from one of the unoccupied, unfinished rooms, but they wouldn't let us, and instead gave us a very cheap metal cot with an extremely thin mattress. And then they couldn't find us an extra set of sheets.
The staff is very nice, but powerless to do anything. The pool is also very nice. There are two places to each on the property .. one is French and pretty expensive but has the best goat cheese salad on the island. The other place is this new Mexican place .. the food was ok .. but the drinks are really cheap and the entertainment was, well, .. entertaining...but where else can you get a shot of Patron for $5.00?
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerBeldar
LocationOntario
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2006
Great potenial, big problems
Date:May 6, 2012
Best things about resortGreat location on tip of island. Walking distance to shopping, entertainment, restaurants
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySunset Bar has great burgers. Maho market has good selection and prices for groceries
ReviewWhat to say about Caravanaserai? Well on one hand it is in an excellent location. It is sited on a point with a spectacular view of the ocean and sunsets. You can walk to just about anything you may need - a beach, shopping, restaurants and entertainment and even the airport. From an architectural standpoint, the buildings and rooms are well thought out and very pleasing to the eye. The staff is friendly and helpful and not pushy with activities and sales.
Unfortunately, there is another side that overshadows much of its great potential. And that would mostly revolve around the way it is managed. There are actually multiple problems.
The first is that their booking system has some serious deficiencies. Reservations are lost, over booking is common and the thing that amazes me most, is that they seem to have a poor handle on knowing which rooms are even occupied. And they are quick to blame RCI and other travel companies for the mixups. My recommendation is to make sure you bring a hardcopy of any reservation or correspondence and expect a possibility of getting downgraded or shuffled around during your stay.
The second problem is that while the buildings look impressive, there are lacking in the little details. You would expect, in a nearly new luxury resort condo, that everything would be just about perfect. Instead you have odd little quirks like rusty hinges on the shower door, loose faucets that jiggle in the sink, ill fitting kitchen drawers, cheap door locks, etc. None of these things are show stoppers, but the overall impression is that the finishing was done in a cut rate or amateur fashion.
And the final issue is a problem to anyone who has bought into the place. Despite a sign out front that says construction to be completed in 2008, barely half the resort is ready. Building C appears to have some rooms still unfinished and one elevator is nothing more than a boarded up shaft. Buildings D and E are empty concrete shells. We had first seen the resort last year on our first visit to the island. We booked a stay there expecting it to be mostly complete by 2012 and were shocked to see how little progress was made.
So while the place has the potential to be an awesome first rate resort, at this point in time it has some serious problems that make it an iffy proposition.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerspeedo
LocationPortland
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1996
new resort
Date:March 9, 2012
Best things about resortthe pool is great- fresh water which is unusual but great the bar run by Marty was great. We also loved the swinning chair to sit and watch the ocean at night. No beach but it is not far to walk to Maho but expect crowds when ships are in Watching the airplanes land is always fun
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNeed a car to leave the area to get to best beaches shopping in the area is limited but a grocery is near by. We like to go to simpson bay for restaurants.
ReviewThe check in is slow. Two days latter they gave us notice we needed to move they did make an effort to clean the rooms the night before so we could move then. The first room had many mosquitos -but the move to a higher floor was a much nicer room -funishings better and ooverall cleaner. They had the bottom floor damaged during the last storm so that may be why so many bugs. We have been looking to stay here they always say they are ready but we think they are now ready and it was nice and would return. The noise from bar was only one week end and not to bad but it is till 4;00 in the morning. No restaurant but several small places near to eat. the pool was great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAnonymous
LocationDuck, NC
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1991
It is not over the top, but we had a great time.
Date:February 24, 2012
Best things about resortRooms are nice with no complaints. The two pools were wonderful. Great outdoor bar and the bartender (Marty) is a hoot! Beautiful views and you get to watch all the planes come in to the airport. Walking distance to grocery store, nice restaurants, a great bar (Sunset Grill) and a nice beach by the airport. Rooms were clean, fresh linens at mid weeks, two flat screens and new furniture. This is a new resort under construction, so be prepared as such.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySunsets every night! The Sunset Grill is a must visit if you partake in alcohol libations. When the cruise ships are in port this place is packed with 100's of people. Watching the jets arrive and take off is a great way to pass the time and everyone claps when the sun sets. If you want a seat at Sunset Grill you must get there no later than 1PM. Casino is just out the front door. Walking distance to Maho.
ReviewIf you are interested in the lap of luxury, this is not the place for you. If you like a nice clean place where you have everything you need, including an oven, stove, sink and refrigerator, than this the a great place to spend a week. The staff was very nice, but you could tell that this is a new place.
The staff said that RCI over booked the resort and they were forced to put people in the hotel side of the resort. It was my understanding that the staff had no idea that they were overbooked and had no contingency plan place to put people.WeI felt so bad for the couples who had their vacations ruined.
There are a few things you need to know when you arrive. Check in time is 4PM and I mean 4PM. If you arrive early, have your pool or beach stuff easily available and just go and relax and come back at 4PM. The only other negative I can think of was that the wall and floors were not sound proof. There were lots of noise from the other rooms. It did not make a difference to us, but it might make a difference to you.
We loved the island and would strongly suggest you rent a car, if not for the entire week, at least for a few days. The island is an easy drive and there are lots of places to explore. Make sure you go to Grand Case on Tuesday after 4PM, they have a wonderful festival, with lots of local food and crafts and artists. There are quite a few upscale restaurants as well. We were there on Valentines Night and we had a very expensive, but wonderful meal ( I can't remember the name, but is was Italian and started with an N)
You must go to Lee's Roadside Grill (Simpson Bay, just over the bridge on the left) for the best seafood, ribs. and chicken. Lee is a fisherman and what he catches that day, he sells at his restaurant. The red snapper was the best we have every had and we cook fish 3 times a week at home. Take a cab for $10 for 2 people or take the bus for $2 for two, but to get the bus you must walk to Maho (a 5 minute walk) and tell the bus driver "Lee's Roadside Grill" and you will love it!
If you like to gamble, the casino in right out the from door of the resort. We did not go in, but from the outside it looked great.
Walking distance to a med size grocery store, prepare for higher prices. There are several other larger grocery stores, but you have to drive several miles to get there.
All in all we would go back. Note again, that this resort is not like Divi Golf in Aruba or Mayan Palace in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, or Mayan Palace in Mayan Riveria, Cancun, Mexico. But we had a wonderful time bu we didn't need over the top accommodations.
We loved the island, there was lots of photo opportunities at almost every hilltop, while driving around the island. We loved the French side better than the Dutch side, but both are very nice and friendly and have their own upsides. You have go to buy some of the fresh french bread, it is to die for!
We only say that there was Bingo scheduled one day. We did not go, we were too busy going all over the island exploring. We only spend two days, sunning by the pool, but we watched every sunset, every night. We found a bench swing near the water. We took out drinks and our tablets, with Google Sky loaded on the tablets and were able to hold the tablet up to the sky and point out which stars we were seeing. This is a very quiet and romantic place to spend the evening hours, reminiscing about the days events.
One last note, bring mosquito bug spray if you come in February. Spray it on several time during the day and most of all, spray on your legs when you go to sleep. The bites will itch for days!
We had a blast, but we don't need much. Come, have fun and explore. Take a side trip to Anguilla or St. Barts, you won't be disappointed!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerLTTT
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2006
Vorst possible experience
Date:February 19, 2012
ReviewAfter a five hour flight we were really looking forward to check in to our unit.
There was a line in front of us and a very unhelpful personnel at the front desk at the resort.
We were patiently waiting our turn. We saw two other couples that presented RCI confirmations and were told there was no confirmation for them. We started to get worried but we were hopping missing confirmations was only a unlucky event.
We presented our confirmation and identification and the lady at the front desk did not even aknoldge our existence for quite some time.
We still patiently were waiting our fate. After a quick look at the reservation we were told there was no reservation for us at this resort.
We asked how do we resolve this miscommunication and we were told to go somewhere else to find another place....someone will take us....we could not believe what we heard...
After questions after questions we had the front desk confirm they gave away units we had booked to other ....they got double pay for those units ....one of the couples with the missing reservation was asked to go in a private room to call RCI.....after a while they come out of the room smiling....I asked if they called RCI....I was told...no RCI is closed now, but go to this room and this man here from the front desk will take care of you guys...
We continued to fight for our accommodation...finally we were told they will move us in a hotel room temporarily and on Monday we will be moved to our unit....
The room was facing the airport and the disco...was very loud and unpleasant. The furniture was very cheap...the next day we learned from the front desk there were some available units and we will be moved in one of them.... after a few hours we were told there is no unit for us....we have been feeling very unhappy and humiliated.... when we come to our room in the evening the door of our room was left wide open....we felt very unsafe....we slept there only two nights and we left.....after spending thousands of dollars for our trip ....our vacation was ruined.....this is our experience ...decide for yourself ......
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewer38rodder
LocationBuffalo NY
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2000
Nice location lacking amenities
Date:February 11, 2012
Best things about resortThe location is close to the airport and nightlife in Maho, especially if you do not have a car. You can get to a beach.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMany restaurants you can walk to and a few small beaches nearby if you do not have a car. There is entertainment and a casino in Maho.
ReviewThis resort is well taken care of and has a very nice pool. It is right by Maho for restaurants, shopping and entertainment. But don't be misled as there is no beach at the resort. Amenities within the resort are severely lacking.
No mini market for daily needs.
No ice machine at the resort. One empty cracked ice tray in the fridge!
Ugly furniture which is totally uncomfortable. Also six chairs with the same seat height, 4 for the table (too high) and 2 for the bar (too low).
Can you believe no dvd or cd player at a resort?
No restaurant.
Mosquitoes a problem. Bring a bug zapper.
It has potential if they could just address the amenities people expect at a resort.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMaestro
LocationFlorida
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1987
Great time-wonderful place
Date:February 4, 2012
Best things about resortBeautiful room with wonderful view. Walking distance to Maho and Mullet Beaches (we also walked to Cupecoy Beach but some may feel that is a push) great restaurants, grocery shopping and to the public bus run which can get you almost anywhere.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMaho and Mullet Beaches. Taco Macho, Cheries, and Sopranos restaurants. Public bus can get you easily, safely and cheaply to Phillipsburg, Margot or Grand case. Never waited more than three minutes and never paid more than $1.50. Great way to go and meet the wonderful locals.
ReviewThis is a work in progress, Very good on it's way to being excellent. Very clean beautiful room (needs help on decorating) very friendly staff and great location. Mosquitos..yes...but that's St. Martin. We even walked to the airport as we left. I would not hesitate for a moment to recommend this to my best friends or anyone else for that matter. We have exchanged all over the world for 25 years. Go, enjoy!
Review 28 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerFunones
LocationIN, USA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1996
Has so much potential
Date:January 3, 2012
Best things about resortLiked the location (the noise from the club wasn't a problem when we were there), peaceful ocean view (besides the planes, which were actually part of the entertainment watching people get blasted with sand on the beach)
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTaco Macho, Cheri's, Sunset, casino wasn't grand but fun,
ReviewOverall, i was pretty satisfied with our stay. If you are an owner, you will probably not be satisfied with their progress and/or total quality, but if you expect more of a standard hotel rather than upscale, you should be alright.
Upon first impression, the resort looks good with a nice pool area with swim up bar and a beautiful view of the water. Our room (303 studio-connected with 1 bedroom) was decent, nice granite ish counters in the kitchen and bathroom, but noticeable shortcuts (kitchen sink had nice faucet, bathroom sink faucet looked recycled; bathtub shower curtain was hung poorly and was dirty; white floor tile always felt dirty; our ceiling had large areas of brown spots; and the room had a smell to it). So walking in to that room and then having no water when we returned home the first night got us started on the wrong foot. Fortunately, i still ended up leaving with a decent impression of the place and hope for its future. Also, no wireless internet was annoying, luckily you can go over to Sunset for some wireless access.
A few of the staff members were friendly (the guard up front and one of the cleaning people), the rest didn’t seem too concerned if you were satisfied. I really liked the location. Right near the airport with several things right outside the resort. Dunes Casino was open right next door (give you $10 to play with just for signing up for a card...we were hesitant, but ended up with $40 on the house). Taco Macho is in the casino parking lot and I didn't even know it until midweek. Great happy hour specials and probably the best burrito i've had in years. There is also a Chinese restaurant/store, Sunset Beach Bar and Le Spot (appeared to be opening soon...waiting on inspector we were told). You could get by without a rental, just be careful walking the narrow street
There is a little private beach right behind where Le Spot is that is very small, but nice when you're the only ones there. We snorkeled there and had a good time. The other beach next to Sunset is good too, just don't get comfortable in the blast zone! Down the street are a number of restaurants and casinos. Cheri's was a lot of fun.
If they can just smooth a few things out, it will be a great place.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewernanri
LocationCoventry, RI
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2000
Has potential to be a lovely resort
Date:January 1, 2012
Best things about resortThe units are beautiful and location is great - within walking distance of Maho Village with nice shops and restaurants. Staff very helpful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMaho Village with market, shops and restaurants, all within walking distance
ReviewWhile this is a lovely resort I will never go back for 2 reasons: #1 MOSQUITOS. Even our unit was full of them and they swarmed in the lobby. For some reason they are failing to spray. Someone off-site suggested that the health dept. should be notified. I ended up with more than 23 bites (that I could see) and eventually had an allergic reaction. Reason #2: Bliss Disco on the property with booming music that goes on every night until after 4am. Impossible to have a good nights sleep.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewertravelalot59
Locationalbuquerque, nm
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1985
VERY VERY LOUD,
Date:June 16, 2011
Best things about resortGood location. Walking distance to Maho. On the ocean, but no beach.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMaho and Mullet Bay beach. Shopping and restaurants in Maho are great.
ReviewStill under construction in November 2010. Rooms nice. Great views of ocean. Very clean. Studios are very minimally stocked with kitchen equipment. Don't plan on cooking. Ok for breakfast.
BLISS DISCO IS ON PROPERTY. BOOMING IN THE ROOM MAKES IT IMPOSSIBLE TO SLEEP UNTIL 4:00 AM. THIS GOES ON 5 DAYS A WEEK!! Resort owns the property of the disco but will do nothing.
Casino is supposed to be done. Doubt it ever will.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerretiredvacationer
LocationSt. Cloud, WI
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2005
STILL not done
Date:January 6, 2011
Best things about resortThe parts that are finished are beautiful. Our unit wasn't finished when we arrived but workers scrambled to finish it, one bathroom didn't work and the shower in the master bathroom didn't work. The pool was still a hole in the ground.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe airport beach restaurant and bar was great, excellent staff and food. Other restaurants are in walking distance and have excellent food. We love St.Maarten!
ReviewAgain, if this place ever gets finished it will be wonderful. We bought this timeshare in 2005 and finally could stay in it in 2010 with lots of problems. No phones, little hot water, only one working shower, one bathroom was out of order. They also like to tell lies about it being finished in a few months, but we've heard this for years. I would recommend going somewhere else and buying a different St.Maarten timeshare.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerlovemyvacations
LocationLorraine, Qc.
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1994
Beautiful Resort
Date:May 12, 2010
Best things about resortBrand new, & so close to down town.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWalking distance to Sunset beach bar & Cheri's Café.
ReviewO-K, the old Caravanserai was nothing to write home about but this brand new resort is gorgeous. We bought a 2br, 2 bath a few years ago, before it was built and figured if we didn't like it we would just exchange for other resorts around the world. WELL, I think I will return here as often as possible. Note the resort isn't quite finished yet but the construction didn't bother us any. The unit is beautiful with all brand new stainless steel appliances in the full kitchen, small washer & dryer, really nice modern furniture (no Florida whicker here).
Some decorating still to be done. The corner balcony was great for breakfasts and for some suppers, with a stunning view. The pool & pool bar are out of a magasine. The elevator wasn't in yet. There is no beach at the resort but many are not too far away.
Once all finished this resort will be a great mid size 5* resort.
I will post pictures on trip advisor for all to enjoy.
Don't be afraid of exchanging here. You will be pleasently surprised by the class of this resort.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerRatso
LocationChicago, IL
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2007
Not completed.
Date:February 3, 2010
Best things about resortOnce complete, it will be nice.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySunset Beach
ReviewThis resort is still under construction. We went there as scheduled. No one at the Resort or RCi told us that the resort was still under construction. It is still at least 6-8 months away from being complete.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Grand Suites at the Caravanserai Beach Resort and
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerBandB
LocationMassachusetts
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1984
Stay Away
Date:May 3, 2008
Best things about resortThe resort described is not completed and appears to be at least a year away from opening. The units that are available are old and a disgrace. My wife refused to stay, rusty refrige, windows filty, dust and dirt from the new construction everywhere.
ReviewStay Away from this resort at all costs. It is in all ways a disaster and in my mind should be removed from the RCI list until the new building is completed. The nearby casino is closed and the area is a mess.
187 of 187 people found this review helpful.
21-34 of 34