Resort Reviews

The Houses at Summer Bay Resort (#6884)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/6884')"> The Houses at Summer Bay Resort (#6884)

This vacation destination is located on the grounds of beautiful Summer Bay Resort, just minutes from Walt Disney World(R) and Universal Studios. The resort offers heated pools; beach with water-sports activities including Jet Skis; an interactive water feature; Tiki Bar; miniature golf; on-site Disney ticket sales; exercise rooms; horseshoes; shuffleboard; volleyball, basketball, and tennis courts; and children and family activity programs. Free transportation is provided to the Disney and Universal theme parks. Exciting developments are currently underway at Summer Bay Resort in Orlando, Florida. An Adventure Park is set to open in June of this year. Also underway and set to open in the fall are 2 new houses and opening by spring of 2015 are a new 10,000 square foot Activities Center and a new 6-story, 46-unit condo building. All resort amenities will remain open during this time of expansion. All swimming pools, all pool bars, eateries, sports courts, and daily activities
Average Member Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
42 of 44(95%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Review 1 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerYomama2
LocationMilwaukee WI
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1992
Wonderful house and pool
Date:February 8, 2014
Best things about resortGated community, about 30 minutes from Disney and other attractions. Our 3 bedroom house had it's own screened in pool.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyYou definitely need a car if you intend to leave the property, although for a price they have shuttle to Disney. But there are so many shopping and restaurants in area that you can find one whatever direction you head
ReviewThe unit was gorgeous, just as described with two huge and well-appointed master suites, each off the enclosed pool, with the large living room in between. Ask for the garage door opener if they forget to give it to you. Also ask for a place where the pool has southern light, or you will be in shadow all day, No chair service at the big pools and just one that has a sort of walk-up grill place, very limited menu. The back of our unit faced the small lake, nice to sit in the lawn chairs here in the evening and watch the sunsets.
Review 2 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerparmbe
LocationCanandaigua,NY
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2000
Houses at Summer Bay
Date:November 8, 2013
Best things about resortBeautiful grounds, well maintained units, friendly staff, peaceful setting.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney, Buffalo Wild Wings, Sweet Tomatos Too many to list
ReviewThe Houses at Summer Bay are wonderful! Open floor plan. Well furnished. The heated pool. Great place for a family reunion. Can't say enough about this place. Did not want to leave. The resort did a nice job for Halloween for the kids. My 3 yr old grandson had a wonderful time (and we did too). So nice to come "home" to the heated pool after a day in the theme parks.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLaretal
LocationCamberley, UK
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1987
Superb Accommodation in Orlando
Date:October 23, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Best things about resortThe standard of accommodation in the house is wonderful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCelebration is well worth a visit if you tire of the theme parks. We also liked the Harry Leu house and gardens.
ReviewThis will cost you a lot of points but it is top class. The unit was the best we have ever had in 25 years of RCI exchanges. It was very well equipped with 3 large bedrooms each with its own bathroom. The patio and private pool are a delight. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerturkey
Locationalpharetta, GA
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2002
BEST ONE!
Date:July 2, 2013
Best things about resortPrivate Pool, Luxurious house. Best resort we have ever been.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney. But do NOT come to Disney on New Years eve. You can't move.
ReviewWe have stayed yearly in all kinds of resorts since 2001. Houses at Summer Bay is the BEST! We love the luxurious stay with private pool. The house is well laid out. Furniture is great, bedding clean and comfortable.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerDaveandJess
LocationJamestown, NY
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2007
Awesome Resort
Date:May 13, 2013
Best things about resortGood location and private pool! Grocery store is very close.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney, Universal Studios, and Medevil Times dinner show.
ReviewWe had a 3 bedroom house with a private pool. The only thing bad I have to say, the garage is very small (My Tahoe didn't come close to fitting and it bearly fit in the driveway.)
Review 6 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMamaD
LocationLas Vegas, NV
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2007
Beautiful Resort in Great Location
Date:April 16, 2013
Best things about resortThis resort was truly like Home Away From Home. We had a 3 bedroom house with private pool. It was spacious, comfortable, clean, friendly and beautiful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney World is minutes away. Universal Studios just a short drive. We also took a day to explore Daytona Beach and Kennedy Space Center.
ReviewThis resort has been by FAR my families favorite. My family came with my sister and her family for Thanksgiving. We stayed in 3 bedroom house for 7 days. When my sister and her family left my family moved to 2 bedroom apartment for 3 additional days. Both house and apartment units were spacious, comfortable and beautiful. The common grounds are well maintained. The staff was more then accommodating with activities on and off resort grounds and when we asked if there was a room we could move into for additional days they found us a unit right away. I would stay in the resort again. And again. And again.
Review 7 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAunttryna
LocationNew Era Mi.
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2010
Private Resort, Great Location
Date:February 13, 2013
Best things about resortI loved the privacy, and closeness to everything Disney! The grocery is literally across the street, and very convenient. We stayed in a 3 bedroom house and had so much room, it was quite delightful.
ReviewThe resort is very well located and the grounds are well manicured. It was easy to walk around and we felt very safe, because it's gated. The pool areas were clean, but the lounge chairs and pool towels were very tired and old looking, they could use replacing. The front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating if we had questions. ie. printing travel documents. WE had a few maintenance issues, and they came right away to solve the problem.The only complaint I would have is the sales staff on the first check-in day were like a pack of ravenous dogs! They literally chased me outside and down the sidewalk, more than once. I was quite offended to have one guy actually whistle to try to gain my attention, as I was walking away. Then the numerous phone calls to our house to get me to come to the 'free breakfast'. I was traveling without my husband, so I had friends with me, and I wouldn't allow them to be subjected to the assault. I found it very upsetting and would warn anyone that plans on visiting.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMadrePadre
LocationSandy, Utah
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1995
Great Resort in a Theme Park Location
Date:January 22, 2013
Best things about resortHaving your own three bedroom house with it's own screened in pool, accessibility to restaurants and theme parks, comfortable beds, and very friendly and helpful staff.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney World, Sea World, and Epcot Center and myriads of restaurants within just a few miles.
ReviewThis is definitely a very high calibre, high quality resort. We would definitely return in the future if we wished to visit this area. The previous reviews are generally quite accurate. The only negatives were that the furniture in the living room is quite hard and not extremely comfortable which was a problem for my wife with her bad back. Also, she noticed her feet were getting quite dirty and found the tile floor surfaces yielded quite a bit of grime when she mopped them. A small number of other revieweres panned the resort because of bugs. I noticed one small cockroach inside one time, which for Florida is no big deal.
The beds are very comfortable and bathroom, shower facilities very nice. They don't offer WIFi in the rooms without charge, but you can get it over in the clubhouse for free. There are numerous restaurants within about a five mile drive and the resort is quite close to the theme parks. It is nice having a gated community with its own security which affords you a high degree of security.
Review 9 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerUnionman1973
LocationHope, KS
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2006
Great Disney Family Vacation
Date:September 26, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Best things about resortHaving a huge 3 bedroom house with its own screened in pool and a lake view was fantastic!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAbout 12 minutes from the Disney complex, adjacent Publix supermarket, PaPa John's, and Denny's. Lots of restaurants and shops on 192 within minutes of the resort.
ReviewThis was our 2nd visit to the Houses at Summer Bay, and we were not disappointed. Initially, we were assigned to a house without a lake view, but Rafael in guest services quickly accommodated our request to be moved. We were politely asked if we would like to take the sales tour which we declined--no high pressure. Our daughter and her family of 6 arrived later in the evening from Houston to begin our Disney Family Vacation. Everything in the 3 bedroom house (#308) was clean and in order from furnishings to appliances to kitchen utensils to decor to the marvelous screened in pool. Four flat screen TV's and the pool helped keep the grandchildren busy when we were not at Disney. We had complete and total privacy during our stay and were given extra towels and bedding when needed. The entire staff from security to front desk to maintenance were friendly, professional, and responsive to our needs. When the air conditioner went out on the last day of our stay, major repairs were made in a short amount of time. The only negative I found was that the resort charged for wi-fi and for computer use in the business center. The overall experience at Summer Bay was exceptional and helped make our 2012 Disney Family Vacation a huge success!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerVACATIONHAPPYFAMILY
LocationSan Diego, CA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2009
Perfect House! Great Location!
Date:June 29, 2012
Best things about resortPrivacy! Location to Disney and Quick 20 min drive to Universal/Sea World/ Gatorland Parks Near Restaurants/Shopping/Freeways Clean Pools/Parks/Grounds Friendly Customer Service and Every employee we came across!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe went with a party of 6; 1 grandma, 2 adults and 3 tweens 11-14 year olds. Main event was Disney, but we added universal and gatorland and of course the outlet mall! Try Giordano's Pizza It was GOOOD!!!!!!
ReviewI was weary of all the mixed reviews about bugs and cleanliness and "dated" furniture. I was lucky to have an updated unit #319! It was right next to the clubhouse which was very convenient. Our house faced the "empty pond" but had a spa and pool that were the same temperature. The spa jets didn't work but it didn't matter because it was about 89-98 degrees outside the entire time we were there!
We arrived at the resort exhausted from our 6 hour trip. Our room was ready and the A/C was already running! The kids jumped in the pool and I went to get groceries at 11pm! My mother in law requires scalding baths and was very upset when the tub only filled about 3 inches and then the rest was COLD water. No problem the next morning they came in and fixed it and all we were able to have hot water in all the rooms the rest of the week. Note: 2 water heaters (smart)
The rooms were perfect! The "twin beds" were really narrow but the 14 yr olds managed and liked having their own space. All the rooms were away from each other so no one got in the way and no one was bothered by snoring! The two king beds were super ultra comfy. My mother in law wants to buy one! I have a king at home and it was just as comfy as home:) The kitchen was updated, clean, and had all the amenities I needed. Only on side of the 4 slot toaster was working and they came and supplied me with a new one! I even accidently broke 2 plates and it was not a problem. I felt so bad!
Having our own pool was really convenient and the clubhouse pool was open 24hrs so that was nice as it was a salt water pool and much colder than ours. We basically went night swimming everyday in our pool and their pool to cool off!
We ate at the resort's Denny’s at midnight and it really hit the spot. You can't expect much from Denny’s but was close and open. The Publix was useless to us as it closed at 9pm each day and we bought groceries at the super Wal-Mart which was a disaster because on a Saturday night at 11pm their shelves were empty! I mean NO EGGS! No milk!! There is a super target the opposite direction which I BET had more food options!The resort has a mini mart next to the clubhouse and they have a lot of amenities for things you forget to buy at the grocery store.
We didn’t have time to do any of the resort activities but everything looked fun.
A Car is definitely needed to get around town at this resort. It was close to a toll freeway that we didn't use to get to Disney b/c the map said to go another route, well on our last day we used it to get to Disney and it shaved off 20 mins of stop lights!!! Our rental came with a fast trak so we didn't have to stop to pay for the tolls.
People in Florida ask why are we there if we have everything in southern California and it’s just a "getaway" I say but I do love our Disneyland here but Florida has a 1 up on universal studios! Islands of adventure is FUN for the adults as well!
We did have 2 water bugs in the house but those were taken care of and no other pest problems other than the millions of frogs in front of the house at night!
We didn't have any "visitors" in our pool area but the grounds men said they did have a gator in the pond the week before!
Overall I would LOVE to go back to Florida I think next time for Universal and Busch Gardens and to SHOP more!!! Their outlets were open til 11pm!!!!!!! I would LOVE to sleep in at least one time during the “vacation” so next time we will spread it out and really enjoy the city! It did rain a few times so going in through the garage was “key”
Enjoy!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewermeasytoes
LocationSC
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1982
Beautiful Resort
Date:February 28, 2012
Best things about resortResort is very clean, has easy reqestration, and having just coming off of a week @ Westgate down the street I am truly happy I gave the Kissimmee area one more try!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyI used the pools mainly and walked around the beautiful beach area. The grounds are well maintained.
ReviewI believe that this resort is the best in the area. There are alot of activities going on daily. Very family friendly. And because of location, convient to all the attractions of Orlando!
Review 12 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewermayan
LocationElgin, IL
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2004
Need to update technology and offer free wi-fi.
Date:December 27, 2011
Best things about resortPools at resort are well maintained. Houses have private pool which is great. The landscaping throughout the resort is beautifully maintained and makes for a lovely setting.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLots of restaurants close by, and of course, Disney.
ReviewWe have stayed here before and like this resort very much, but have been waiting for them to offer free wi-fi before we would consider buying here. Instead, it got worse this time--we pay Verizon for 3G hotspot service, and Summer Bay blocked us getting our own subscription service! We talked to another guest the week we were there who experienced the same thing, so we called the techinical help line for Summer Bay Internet and they basically admitted that they block the signal so you cannot even use your own Internet provider, but need to pay $9.95 a day to buy theirs. This needs to change!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTray
LocationMaryland
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2009
Nice Resort in a Good Location
Date:September 2, 2011
Best things about resortPlenty of space; wide-open living area; washer/dryer;private pool; garage;quiet neighborhood; clean groundskeeping; friendly staff
Best attractions or restaurants nearby10 minutes from DisneyWorld; easy resort location from highway
ReviewStayed for one week. Highly recommend 'Houses' for parties of 4 or more; also room on the floor (w/mattress or cushion) if necessary. The beds/pillows are 'unbelievably soft'. Garage is truly 'one-car', but we used it daily - never entered through the front door! The neighbors parked on the street.. The 'cranes' were everywhere!!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerneenee
LocationDuck, NC
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1999
Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Date:March 14, 2011
Best things about resortResort was very nice, lots of heated pools that stayed open all night. Grounds were well kept.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney stuff very close, lots of restarants and shopping near by.
ReviewWe loved our house, Private attached garage with opener was nice. The open floor plan was great and it looked out over our private lanai with heated pool and hot tub. The doors slide open so you have an open wall out to the pool.
The unit was very clean and had everything we needed. The staff was very helpful. The one downside is they charge for internet hookup which we thought strange since most places have free wifi now.
Review 15 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMichaelTX
LocationTexas
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2010
A 3BR House with Garage and Private Pool!
Date:October 10, 2010
Best things about resortA huge house with two master suites (and a third bedroom), a garage and a screened in pool.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOn 192 between Summer Bay and Disney: Giordanos, Houlihans, and a plethera of other restaurants! Disney parks are 20-30 minutes away.
ReviewWe had several maintenance issues, but this was such an incredible experience that even with the few problems I still feel like it deserves a 10.
The unit was huge. I read that it's 2800 sqft. It didn't feel quite that big, but close. Perhaps they include the garage or patio/pool area. It was very spacious, though.
There are two master King suites and a smaller bedroom with two twin beds. (I'm not sure I would recommend the smaller room for anyone but kids.) At first glance, the master suites are almost identical, but there are some differences. One has a double vanity, a large walk-in closet and a large shower. One has a single vanity, a smaller corner closet and a smaller shower. The two-person jacuzzi tub and shower are open to the master suite.
The private pool area was screened in. The living room has large windows and sliding doors along the back, facing the pool/patio. The pool is small, but sufficient. Eight of the twenty houses (including the one we stayed in) have hot tubs with the pool. That's not as big of a benefit as it sounds, though. The pool and hot tub are plumbed together, so you can't have the pool at a regular temperature and the hot tub at a hot temperature. You either have to have everything hot or everything normal. There are shrubs around the pool so you have a fair amount of privacy (when you're in the pool or hot tub, anyway).
The garage is a bit tight for larger vehicles. We happened to get upgraded from a mid-size car to a Suburban, and it was a challenge to get it into the garage. I had to fold down the mirrors and turn it slightly to get it in, and only had about six inches of clearance. After doing that once, we parked in the driveway the rest of the week. A normal car would fit fine, and there's a bit of extra space on the sides so there's no problem getting out. We did use the garage door (and provided opener) to get in and out each day - it was more convenient than the front door!
The amenities around the resort were nice. There is a kid's water park that the kids loved playing in. There was a big list of activities, many of them free and the rest of them very reasonable.
The resort is about 6 miles from the edge of the Disney property and 20-30 minutes from the four Disney parks. You have to go east on 192 to get to Disney, but there's no left turn there, so you have to turn right then make a U-turn. It's not as convenient to Disney as most of the other Orlando area resorts, but it's not too bad. There are TONS of great places to eat along 192.
Okay, now for the negatives. If we would have experienced these in a smaller, poorly maintained, inconveniently located timeshare, I probably would have taken 2-3 points off for them. But with the unique experience of staying in a house with a private pool, that more than offset these minor issues.
1) The water heater wasn't working when we arrived. Maintenance came out quickly and the problem was that the circuit breaker had tripped. We had no more problem with it.
2) The towel rack in one of the master bathrooms fell off the wall the first time we took a towel off of it. There were plenty of other places for towels, so we just set it aside and let them know about it when we checked out.
3) The air conditioner quit working the second day we were there. Maintenance came out quickly and found the problem (the capacitor was failing intermittently). We had no more problems after they replaced the capacitor.
4) The hot and cold controls on one of the master tubs were switched. At first, I thought the circuit breaker had tripped again, but the water was hot in the sink. When I turned off the "hot" water and turned on the "cold", hot water came out.
5) In the hot tub, the drains had screws missing, one of the drain covers was busted, and there was sand in the drain.
6) The ceiling fan in one room was off balance.
7) The clock in one room was plugged into an outlet that was controlled by a light switch, so it kept getting reset to 12:00.
8) The patio doors leading to the pool have an alarm on them, but one of the controls for the alarm was broken.
There were also a few design issues that I hope they address on future refurbishments:
1) The pool / hot tub temperature control issue I mentioned above.
2) Several basic cooking items weren't included in the kitchen. There was no cookie sheet, cake pan, or anything to bake stuff in.
3) The bed felt cheap and worn, and really out of place in such a nice place.
4) There is almost no counter space in the bedrooms. The nightstands are small and almost all of the space is taken by the lamps, phone and clock.
5) There are three doors for the small bedroom and bathroom. Great concept, so you can use the bathroom as a public bathroom and give the bedroom privacy or close the outer door and have it as a private bathroom for the bedroom. But poor implementation. The doors open into each other and it's a real mess.
6) There is a side light (tall narrow window) next to the front door, with no window covering. This gives no privacy anywhere in the living room. From the road or the front door, you can see the whole living room.
7) The water heater is too small. The hot water turns cold before the big double jacuzzi tubs in the master suites are even 1/3 full.
I'm an owner at Summer Bay Resort (not the Houses), and exchanged in here through RCI.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerPeggyi
LocationMaine
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1986
One of the Best Resorts in Florida
Date:July 8, 2010
Best things about resortLocation is great for all attractions. Many amenities. The houses are very spacious and have private pools.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWalt Disney World, Universal Studios. Thousands of excellent restaurants in Orlando area.
ReviewThe Houses at Summer Bay are always clean and well maintained. The garage with automatic door opener is a huge plus. We love the screened in pool for relaxing any time of the day. We have been timeshare owners for many years and this by far is the best resort we have been owners at. We highly recommend visiting Summer Bay Resort.
Review 17 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerlensteluv
LocationMiami Springs, FL
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1995
Great Home Away From Home
Date:May 16, 2010
Best things about resortHow well the houses are laid out. Very spacious and comfortable for everyone staying. We had another couple come visit us and we weren't in each other's way at all.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe didn't go for the Disney attractions. We went to Tarpon Springs, Mt. Dora and Winter Park, but it's close to everything. We saw the last space shuttle go off. We were in College Park which we ran into by mistake. By the way, it's a beautiful town.
ReviewWe had a 3 bedroom, 3 bath house with its own private pool and hot tub outside and 2 large hot tubs inside. Our pool area overlooked a pond. We arrived too late for a lake view which we would have liked, but the house was so great it didn't make that much difference.
We were missing a cookie sheet and hand mixer and they were brought to us right away. Same applied when we needed a plunger, but we had already found one in the unit.
While we were there, they put up new gutters on our house and re-planted the flowers in front of the house without any bother to us at all.
Fresh towels were brought on Wednesday. They don't really have mid-week clean up service from what I can tell unless you pay for it, but all we wanted were the towels anyway.
We really loved this place. We have a 3/3 at Grand Beach which is nice, but this is better. I'm only sorry we can only go 1 in 4.
Furniture was in decent condition for a rental. Kitchen table had a few dings and the leather couch and chair had a couple of small slits but it was all very clean and smelled nice when we walked in.
The only negative thing I can say about this place is the water pressure in our shower was low. They have water saver shower heads and we're used to full force, so it takes some getting used to while washing your hair. It didn't bother my friends, but I hate their shower heads too.
We have only been to 1 other place in Hilton Head that we liked as much as this one.
I would highly recommend these houses.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerDizzy
LocationNorthumberland, UK
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2007
Wonderful Place
Date:April 20, 2010
Best things about resortCleanliness, service, atmosphere. Private pool.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney, Universal Studios
ReviewThis is how holiday's should be! We spent our mornings lying around the private pool before catching the free transport to Disney World.
The house was lovely, very clean and had everything we could possibly have needed.
It is close enough to travel easily to the parks yet far enough away to feel restful.
I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone looking for a base for touring Florida.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revieweri2e10toes
Locationbend OR
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2001
Wonderful base camp for your Florida experience
Date:January 7, 2010
Best things about resortLovely resort, well cared for, 24 hour pools etc.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTheme parks galore, saw the space shuttle take off from Canaveral, visited St. Augustine and Blue Spring State Park. Mini golf heaven
ReviewOur house backed up to the lake. The house was nicely situated, all of the bedrooms separate from each other, and the pool and spa were larger than I had imagined and screened in. We were also very close to the 24-hour pool at the clubhouse (which had a bar). We had several visits from the local wildlife (sandhill cranes and raccoons) A good time was had by all. I would love to go back and stay in the same house we had this visit. It was a wonderful experience!
Review 20 for The Houses at Summer Bay Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerDMAC
LocationRichmond, Kentucky
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1990
SIMPLY AMAZING!
Date:December 3, 2009
Best things about resortPrivate pool and jacuzzi
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney, dinner shows
ReviewThis is by far the most amazing resort we have visited. I have never seen houses available through RCI, and the layout of these houses is fantastic. The lanai encloses a private pool and jacuzzi, our house was lakefront, and the houses are located right next to the beach and pool. The furnishings were very nice, and the layout was fantastic. There are two master suites, both with sliding doors to access the pool area. There is also a large living area that is very convenient for socializing and relaxing, and the third bedroom and bath are separated from the master suites for privacy. Our family of five and my parents had plenty of room and plenty of privacy. The full kitchen and dining area are just the right size and fully functional. My wife wants this layout for her retirement home. Did I mention there is a private garage? The resort is only minutes from Disney, and there is easy access to Publix, Super Target, and Super WalMart. We have already exchanged for a week here next summer, and feel very fortunate to be able to exchange for a house at Summer Bay. The units are great for relaing after a day at Disney, and the only downside is you won't want to leave the house to visit the theme parks. If you could only own at one resort, you would want a house at Summer Bay!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.