Resort Reviews

Wyndham Ocean Walk (#5998)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/5998')"> Wyndham Ocean Walk (#5998)

Boasting amenities galore, the Wyndham Ocean Walk offers you a marketplace, food court, lobby bar, putting green, exercise room, arcade, gift shop, and activities center without ever leaving the resort. A choice of pools (indoor and outdoor), a lazy river, waterfalls and waterslide, and Jacuzzi invite even more water fun for the entire family. There's also an on site restaurant, poolside bar and grill, and health club, and kids will love the planned activities and game room.
Average Member Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
35
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
7
82 of 108(76%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Review 81 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLoves2Travel51
LocationDes Moines IA
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2007
Would recommend 2 bedroom
Date:February 27, 2009
Best things about resortOn the beach, great service, clean.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe beach
ReviewOur first time using our points. We are Wyndham owners and were treated very well. I don't know if that made a difference according to other reviews.
We had a split reservation going midweek to midweek. We stayed in a 2 BR oceanfront first and were extremely happy with the space. However when we moved to a 3 BR we were extremely disappointed. The 2 br had a double bacony with sliders from livingroom and master br. 3BR only single balcony. Downside was no windows opened when we would have liked to have the fresh air. Also 2 of the 3 br had windows to the hallway so people could see right in if blinds were open and light was a problem from the hall at night. Seemed like an odd set up. Living space was very cramped in the 3 br, but very spacious in 2 br. Beds and couch were somewhat uncomfortable.
Overall happy and would recommend to others. Place was clean, had no problems with elevators like other reviews have mentioned.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerlovesthesun
LocationWaterloo, ON
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2000
BEAUTIFUL!! Would go again and again!!
Date:February 12, 2009
Best things about resortThis resort has many great things about it, it has a great location right in the center of the action in Daytona Beach! The lagoon water park is right across the street, shopping on Atlantic, a movie theater in the ocean walk, night life is right up the street on Seabreeze and there are a few mini put courses along Atlantic!!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe disney parks & great shopping are only about an hour away in Orlando.
ReviewThis was one of the best vacations I have ever been on! I would recommend this resort to anyone. It is family friendly and still provides lots of amenities for older guests as well as the spring break age crowd. I was there on vacation with three friends for our year end University trip, we had a blast! The pool is beautiful and well maintained, the beach is steps away and at night on Seabreeze the clubs are a great time!
Our room was very clean and comfortable! We had four staying in the one bedroom (with a pull out). We only had one bathroom but had no problems with four girls getting ready at the same time - lots of space!! We made our meals each day/night in the room and had all of the utensils (pots, pans, etc) that we needed! When we ran out of towels the staff was quick to bring us fresh ones!
I would go back to the Ocean Walk again and recommend it as a great vacation getaway!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerLovetoExchange
LocationWinston Salem, NC
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1991
Nice Resort -- Needs refurbishing
Date:January 27, 2009
Best things about resortOn the beach, Movie Theatre next door, Pier within walking distance.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAunt Catfish's was great - good food and lots of it for the money. Golf at Halifax Plantation was excellent. Good 15 minute ride, but worth it.
ReviewIt is the little things that make or break a great time at a resort. We exchange all over the U.S. and have stayed in some great places. The location is great and during warm weather I'm sure the beach and pools are what people concentrate on. However, during the winter months the resorts need to step it up a notch to keep exchangers happy.
Parking and loading/unloading is a hassel. Not enough luggage carts to accomodate the few people that were in the resort in January. Only one car is allowed in the parking decks per condo. All others must park in a deck that is really 2 streets back. With less than 1/2 of the resort filled, this seemed a little harsh. The Wyndham personal need to take that into consideration and relax their rules.
January is very, very slow. There was a cold snap for a few days, but we found entertainment nearby. No beach chairs were available for rental. Which would have been nice for the few warm days. The pool area was sunny in the morning but completely shaded by noon in January. So staying by the pool in the afternoon was rather chilly.
I second the comments in the other review about being an RCI exchanger. We were originally assigned to Unit 715 but moved to Unit 1613 while in transit to 715. We were not allowed to see 715, but told it was undergoing repairs. When we got to 1613 we had 2 chairs for the balcony for a 2 bdrm unit and 6 people. The kitchen accomodations were sparse, but ok. The couch in the living room was torn and needed recovering, chairs in the living room and bedroom were badly stained as was the carpet. I felt that we were moved from a nicer unit to a unit that was not as well maintained, but can't prove it. But I can attest to the mold that was present around the complete shower floor and wall. Cleaning of our unit prior to check in was not one of the resorts strong points. However, some Lysol and Tilex fixed us right up.
During our stay, 2 of us moved to a 1 bedroom unit by outright renting it. The price for Jan was ridiculous but we needed the space - so paid the price. The 1 bedroom was on the 16th floor and much nicer. No stains, better stocked kitchen, and 4 chairs and table for the balcony. Figure that out.
Upon check in we had 3 remotes in the condo, only one had batteries and it only worked the VCR. Took 2 calls to get remotes that worked. Due to cold snap we need heat -- it didn't work, 1 call and 15 minutes later HVAC guy showed up and fixed us up in less than 30 minutes.
The Ocean Walk Shoppes had 3 shops that were actually open, maybe because it is Jan. The spa at the resort has been closed. Very disappointing because I needed a massage, pedicure and manicure -- went elsewhere.
Planned activities are sparse, but fun. Video/DVD rental selection is old and out dated, plus expensive for the choices.
We also signed up for the 90 minute Timeshare tour because we were interested in buying at Daytona. We planned our day around our 1pm appointment only to show up and be told they had no one to talk to us and we needed to reschedule. No way -- very unprofessional and we were not compensated in any way for our inconvenience.
Because of the location and the beach, I would stay here again, but will check out our room before settling in on future visits.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerDaveJ
LocationHarwich, Ma
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1998
Very Nice Place to Stay-Great Beach
Date:January 16, 2009
Best things about resortRight on the beach, attached to 3-story open air shops with movie theatre. Lots for teenagers to do. Short drive to supermarket.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGreat local restaurants. Aunt Catfish is a must. About an hour drive to Orlando or St. Augustine.
ReviewWe have stayed here two years in a row. Very nice facility, pools and beach. Very crowded during school vacation weeks. A little hectic this past year with the remodeling. Over all a decent place to stay.
Review 85 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerCrazyOB
LocationSussex, UK
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2007
Great Resort and location but wrong time to visit
Date:December 13, 2008
Best things about resortVariety of pools. Location, right on the beach and next to many of the areas attractions
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOceap walk Shops. The Chart House Restaurant
ReviewThis was our first exchange with RCI, and though we have nothing negative to say about the resort, we would like to point out that the Daytona Beach area is extreamly quiet in the first week of December. This may be appealing to some visitors, but to us it left the place lacking in atmosphere and character.
The beach was pleasant, though quiet again. Beach loungers were available to hire on the warmest days. I would have hoped that the hotel would provide these free of charge for guests, but the hire charge was only $8 per day.
There is a large range of restaurants near by...you will need a car to get to them. The best dining experience we had was at the Chart House (10 minute drive from hotel). The views of the Halifax river were ok, but the food was outstanding and if you make a resevation through the Hotel you get a complementary dessert. Do not go to 'Fresh' the hotels second choice, the food was below standard.
Overall a great place to stay.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewermnsinco
LocationDenver, CO
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1993
Horrible Service, Rude Staff
Date:November 18, 2008
Best things about resortNice Location, Nice Amenities
ReviewLike judging a book by it's cover, this resort appears to be a top choice. The quality of the buildings, suites and amenities are all very nice. It's location is very good, directly on the beach but beware of what lurks inside... a tremendously rude staff who offer nothing but horrible service. This was perhaps our 8th RCI exchange and we witnessed something we never thought of before: RCI descrimination. For virtually every reasonable service request we were told that it was not for "RCI" (exchangees). You're used to at least one housekeeping visit per week? NOT AT THIS RESORT, unless your a Wyndham owner - NOT RCI.
Our family was treated like second class citizens throughout our stay. Do yourself a favor, DO NOT EXCHANGE to this resort, unless you enjoy being treated rudely on a daily basis.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerjanisr
LocationChattanooga, Tn
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1998
Beautiful Resort in Fabulous Location
Date:June 30, 2008
Best things about resortFrom the moment you enter the door, everything in sight is beautifully decorated. Despite other reviews -everything we saw was well taken care of and in good working order. Much better than many other resorts we've stayed at over the years
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNext door to a movie complex,. Great little water park only a block away with race cars, climbing wall, paint ball, etc that my teenagers enjoyed. I recommend the Luau at the Hawiian Inn down the street, live band & audience participation. 10 Min from Volusia Mall ; Aprox an hour and 20 minutes from Orlando with Millenna Mall, also a gigantic outlet, and of course, the amusement parks!!!!
ReviewExcellent vacation! Arrived minutes before the lift off of a space shuttle, and watched from the beach. Took four teenagers, and had very adequate room in a two bedroom. Everything was splashed with bright beach colors and felt warm and inviting. Kitchen was well stocked, but could have used a cookie sheet! Washer and dryer was very convenient. There is a parking deck, which houses one car per unit, but extra cars can stay right across the street for $8 a day. The only complaint I had was a towel delivery at 2:30 AM the night we arrived. Overall a fabulous vaca!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerTheToothFairy
LocationPleasant Prairie, WI
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2002
Would not visit this resort again.
Date:April 12, 2008
Best things about resortThe pool and beach.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBlue Spring State Park where we swam with manatee.
ReviewI was disappointed with this resort. It was not the typical gold Crown Resort that we have visited. The unit was in ill repair, with broken lamps, damaged dressers, and a dripping shower faucet. My main complaint was the night time noise level. Every night we were awakened by live music from the bar next door. When asked to change rooms, we were told no and that we were lucky to have the room we had. I was told the RCI exchangers usually got the less desirable rooms. Other concerns were the long waits for elevators and shortage of pool deck chairs.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewervacation123
LocationGeorgian Mannor, ON
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2004
Good resort for family vacation
Date:April 8, 2008
Best things about resortBeach on site - very clean, no cars allowed. Resort activities for kids.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe beach, the board walk.
ReviewWe came to this resort in April 2008. Good location, lots of shops around. The only negative thing in this resort - long check-in and long wait for elevator. The staff was friendly and mostly helpfull, however I did not get a wake up call I requested on my last day, so make sure you set your alarm clock if you need to wake up early. Other then that our stay was very pleasant. Resort has a lot of activities for kids ages 6 and up, it also has a play room for toddlers. It has gates and security. One bedroom unit is big enough to accomodate 4 people.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjayandannasmom
LocationCleveland.Ga
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2000
Wonderful Vacation
Date:March 26, 2008
Best things about resortGreat Location, Clean room, wonderful pools and lots of activities
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyRight beside ocean walk shops and restaurants.
ReviewWe really enjoyed our vacation at Wyndham Ocean Walk. It was just my mom, and my four year old daughter and myself. We had a great time. The staff is really helpful. I had a situation where i needed to fax some really important papers. The staff faxed them for me and could not have been more helpful. The security at each gate to and from the beach was nice. The breakfast buffet is okay, but a little pricey. Check in took a while. They absolutely do not let you check in until the exact time. Over all a really fun vacation and a nice resort. My daughter and my Mom had a blast too! Lazy river and water slide were fun. Pool side bar is great too. Try this resort out, you'll love it!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerHomace
LocationLatham, NY
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1997
Not a Gold Crown Resort
Date:March 23, 2008
Best things about resortThe Beach
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe large variety of restaurants as well as things to do.
ReviewThis is a resort we will not visit again. From the time we checked in there were problems with the unit - toilet stopped up, broken shower door with shower curtain to cover, appliances not working properly, lights out, etc. The noise from the bars next door kept us up until 4 AM. We asked to switch units. We were told NO, that RCI exchanges get the least quality rooms. They finally did move us and this unit was better. However, the shower still didn't work and the fire alarm went off at 4 AM two separate days. This is not a Gold Crown Resort.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerKyTravelers
LocationGreenville, Ky
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2007
Great Beach Side Vacation
Date:January 9, 2008
Best things about resortLocated on the beach, great pool area, great walking areas, and plenty to do. The staff were super helpful and cheerful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCity pier within walking distance. Movie theater, and resturants next door. Great activity center across the street for kids. Both resturants recommended by the staff were excellent.
ReviewWe are retired ( in our late 50"s) This was our first Gold Crown and we were pleased. We exchanged our week and was placed on the 13th floor, beach side with a balcony, even though we were told not to expect it. We had some small kitchen problems and they fixed them the same day we reported them.
The informational meeting and breakfast they hold is important to go to. They have coupons and discounts and a lot of information on what to do in the area. They give away some neat stuff also. Some of the attractions are about an hours drive. We did the boat tour of the estuary down the coast. We Ballroom danced with the local club on Saturday night. I fished from the pier down the beach and the one about 5 miles away. You can rent tackle and buy bait at both. Walking on the beach is great because no cars are allowed in front of the resort area. Life guards were on duty all day. An excellent grocery is 10 minutes away. Pizza, ice cream, etc are right by the resort. We did not eat in the resort resturant. A large parking garage is attached.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerNitaworm
LocationMaryland
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2007
On the Beach! Lots to do! Great room! Walk 2 sites
Date:December 3, 2007
Best things about resortLots of amenities and on the beach! Walking distance to a lot of stuff..
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMall, food places and of course the beach
ReviewWe came here to rest from our Orlando trip, and was pleasantly surprised. The weather was gorgeous, we saw the old time car show from our balcony, we were right on the beach. They have tons of amenities and an onsite restaurant we had breakfast at. Needless to say we hardly left the resort and didn't get any rest...because the kids wanted to swim, play and stay!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerPapermaker
LocationWoodstock, GA
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1992
Close to Beach!
Date:November 29, 2007
Best things about resortOnce we parked our car, we never needed to move it. Restaurants, shopping, and beach are all within easy walking distance.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe especially enjoyed the Mai Tai Bar and Grill and Bubba Gump Shrimp. The nearby amphitheater had a free concert on Saturday night that was very enjoyable. The fireworks display from a local pier was viewable from our balcony.
ReviewThis was a very nice resort with a wonderful indoor & outdoor pool area, spa, cabana & lobby bars, and restaurant. The resort is attached to the shopping and restaurant boardwalk by a covered walkway that was very convenient during the frequent afternoon showers prevalent in Florida. Our three bedroom condo was very nice and clean. The master bedroom was spaceous and very comfortable. The other two rooms were nice but faced the hallway with poor shades to keep out the light at night making it difficult for anyone requiring darkness to sleep well. Elevator service tended to be very slow during prime times. The staff was very friendly and the check in and out was efficient although somewhat congested. We will certainly return to this resort in the future.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerbabylon99
LocationNew Zealand
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1999
Not recommended to RCI Week & Point owners!
Date:November 2, 2007
Best things about resortN/A
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOcean Walk Market
ReviewI PAID for a non-smoking, no-pet one bedroom unit.
The purchase was approved by RCI Australia with confirmation letter of non-smoking and no-pet. I was placed into a smoking unit! They call it voluntary smoking unit. I was told by resort manager in charge that RCI members go to smoking units and their own resort owners go to non-smoking units! We called RCI USA and no resolution... Watch this out!
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerBlondie
LocationOntario
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2007
Fair Vacation
Date:October 29, 2007
Best things about resortThe pool (during the week) and our ocean view.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySt. Augustine was wonderful. We went there twice. Other than that we found the area to be boring!
ReviewFrom the minute we checked in there were problems. The parking was terrible. There were not enough luggage carts. You felt like a vulture waiting for someone to leave theirs. Our unit had burned out light bulbs. No towels, face cloths or tea towels, not enough cultery, not enough pots to cook a decent meal, and the list goes on. Then our toilet plugged up and the maintenance man came to the door and HANDED my husband the plunger!!! It took 24 hours for someone to come and clean the toilet. Our air conditioner made so much noise we had to call maintenance to fix that as well. The teenagers came in droves on the weekend and you could hardly walk around the pool without falling over coolers. The kids were drinking in the pool out of jugs!! Ocean Walk next door had a bar that had live music that started at 9 PM and went until until the early hours of the morning. The noise was deafeing and sleep was hard to come by. We will not be back and this resort should not be rated a Gold Ccrown.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerTweetyBird
LocationPittsburgh
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1980
Nice Resort
Date:October 26, 2007
Best things about resortOn the Beach, Pool Slide, Kids area
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOcean Walk Shops, Disney 1 1/2 hrs away
ReviewWent the week of May 5. Had a 2 Bedroom unit, clean, with an oceanview. Check in was painfully long, just trying to get into the parking lot was a struggle. Not enough luggage carts available. Lots of kiddie activites if raining. The pool was nice, not as crowded as I expected after reading some reviews, though we hit the pool in the afternoon after the beach. The kids pool area is nice and convienent. The beach was ok for the first part of the trip but hard, no soft white sand here. The latter part of the week Tropical storm Andrea convienently was 150 miles off shore so the beach was non existent then. High tides were at the sea wall. We fortunately headed South and by the time we got to Cocoa Beach we had sunshine. Had a good time anyway.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerhappyhrt
LocationNew Jersey
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1997
Nice resort in a good location
Date:October 15, 2007
Best things about resortThe convenience to the beach
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere are a couple of good local restaurants, Boondocks and Down the Hatch. Boondocks doesn't look like much, but the food was good.
ReviewWe just spent a week at this resort and were a bit disappointed with the unit. As we found out when we checked in, they reserve the rooms on the farthest end of the hotel or the units on the interior of the hotel (with no windows) for the "exchanges". Good luck getting an ocean view if you are not an owner at this resort.
Overall the units need to be upgraded.
Although our room had a fresh clean smell when we arrived, the furniture in the room was dusty. Also, for some reason, there were no housekeeping services available the entire week. You could of course call and request any additional items that you needed, or you could request housekeeping services for a nominal fee.
I would recommend the welcoming meeting, but skip the timeshare pitch unless you are interested in purchasing. The welcoming meeting was informative and presented us with many options for activites outside of the resort.
If you consider the casino cruise as an activity, be aware that one of the cruises departs from cape canaveral, which is about 1 1/2 hrs away from the resort. Since the cruise returns to port at midnight, you do not get back to the hotel until sometime between 1:30 - 2:00AM.
Aside from the use of the pool and beach, we did not utilize any of the other resort amenities. However, there were alot of families at this resort, which led me to believe it is family friendly.
There are chair and umbrella rentals on the beach provided the tide is cooperating. Pool towels are also available through the resort for no charge.
Overall, this wasn't a terrible place to stay.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewersue820
LocationMarietta, Ga
Member Since2005
Very nice units, most with some ocean view
Date:October 9, 2007
Best things about resortOcean views; a lot to do in Daytona; very nice, modern furnishings; movie theatre and restaurants next door; very family friendly; several nice pools and lazy river; great place to have a family reunion
Best attractions or restaurants nearbymovie theatre, Kennedy Space Center, dog racing(fun to do once), nice state parks, live music on weekends(maybe a little too close), Bubba Gumps restaurant, several pizza places that deliver
ReviewThis was a great place to have a family reunion, as there was a lot to do, and everyone could choose how much time we spent together. Our family usually prefers quieter beaches with more wildlife, but this was perfect for the reunion. If you know you don't want to do the tour, tell them at the outset. Otherwise, they'll hound you mercilessly. LOTS of calls from outside salespeople to the rooms-got to where we never answered the room phone.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Wyndham Ocean Walk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerSailor
LocationWoodstock, GA
Member Since2005
Excellent beach location
Date:October 1, 2007
Best things about resortRignt on a nice beach, close to shoping and restaurants.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLoved Ponce Inlet and the Inlet Harbor Marina and Restaurant - try their sunset specials. Great pizza across the street at Naapoly Pizza. We went to Woody's BBQ and we were disapointed with the service and food.
ReviewWe had a smooth check in and check out. The 1 bed room unit was comfortable and well equiped. The whole complex is well maintained and the staff are helpful and friendly.
We had a broken drawer that they never did replace or fix. That is the reason we downgrade to 3 star on service.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.