Resort Reviews

Vacation Village at Weston (#5773)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/5773')"> Vacation Village at Weston (#5773)

Vacation Village at Weston is located approximately half a mile from Markham Park and 18 miles from the center of Fort Lauderdale. At the resort, you can relax by the waterfall, take a swim in the outdoor pool and soak in the hot tub. Work out in the fitness center or enjoy a spa treatment. Play a game of tennis or go horseback riding. The resort has a wide range of activities the whole family can enjoy such as the children's playground, Aqua Fitness, Poolside Bingo, Latin Dance and Movie Night.
Average Member Rating:
3.835 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (267 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
93
3 stars
32
2 stars
30
1 star
16
199 of 267(75%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Vacation Village at Weston
Review 41 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerButts
LocationOntario, Canada
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2008
Average Resort
Date:April 21, 2013
Best things about resortThe pool was nice, however, you need to be there early in order to get a chair. We did notice some people left belongings on chairs to "reserve" which is not supposed to be allowed. No one from the resort monitors that.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe resort is very close to the highway, which is good for travelling to other areas. But, it is so loud that you really can't sit out and enjoy your balcony. We did drive to the beach a couple of days and to Miami and Hollywood.We found the gigantic outlet mall disappointing.
ReviewWe found this resort satisfactory. The unit was clean, however, the bed was very uncomfortable. A few more items in the kitchen would have been nice - like a frying pan. There were a few minor problems that needed attention in the unit, such as the shower door was difficult to close and one of the kitchen cupboard doors was off the hinges. We let the front desk know that these items should be addressed. The water pressure in the shower was very poor.
We were not impressed by the way the staff pressured you to come to their "Breakfast" . The "friendly" staff certainly changed once they realized that we were NOT going to attend. She became very rude. They also set up a table inside the lobby area of your building right at the doorway. You cannot get past them to go to the pool unless you talk to them. Again, once he realized we would not attend, his attitude changed.
We used the resort as a home base most of the week. We went to Miami for a day, and to Hollywood beach a couple of days. We also drove down to Key West and stayed one night there in the middle of our week. We did enjoy our down time at the resort, relaxing around the swimming pool.
I would recommend this resort to friends, depending on the kind of vacation they were wanting.
Review 42 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerAruba161
LocationAruba
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1976
Very disappointed.
Date:April 8, 2013
Best things about resortWe had a larger A unit and it had a nice layout and the cleaning/maintenance staff was very accommodating.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyJust really didn't find much. We played golf and the course was quite nice. There were no close restaurants and the signage at some of the strip malls was so poor you had to drive through the mall to see if you could find the store.
ReviewWe had several things planned but the traffic was so terrible and the drivers so rude we decided to pretty much stay on site. The pool was beautiful but there were no chairs available so gave up on that until after 4:30 pm. We could not keep the slider open for fresh air in our room because of terrible noise. We thought it was a garbage compactor but it was a car wash starting up, washing and shutting off several times a day. The furniture in the room was pretty uncomfortable so sat on the bed and read. The bed was a nice king but one of the lumpiest we have ever had. I tried to find a theater and the one in the area did not have stadium seating, just all at the same level. There was another huge one a few miles away but they were breaking into cars while you were in the theater, even on Sunday afternoons, so gave up on that idea. We got pulled into a 9:00 am Timeshare presentation and had to pay $10 each for a skimpy breakfast. They delivered us back to the room at 12:30 and we said had said no we were not interested in purchasing from 9:30 to 12:30. There were three sales people on our case and the unit that they were showing had the carpet coming up and unraveling already. And last but not least, there were about six luggage carts for our entire building. People would fill them with their picnic items and keep them for hours at the picnic area. There were none when we arrived but they appeared during the week. When the weekend and checkout days arrived, they all disappeared again and we and everyone else we saw, lugged everything out to the parking lot. I thought maybe six people just took them to their rooms the day before and kept them until they checked out. My husband thought they were taken to another building. They were just non existent when anyone needed them. Very poor management in many areas.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewersirenone
LocationSiren, Wi
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1985
Spring Break-NOT
Date:April 6, 2013
Best things about resortNothing in my opinion, if I had to say anything the beach was great but nothing to do with the resort.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBeach again and there are good restaurants in area
ReviewCheck in was not what I expect from a Gold Crown we arrived early they would not give keys out until 4:00 which is there check-in time but I have not been to a resort that won't let you check in when room is ready, they would not. They also have no baggage check and the only thing they offered us for a changing room was a bathroom. We had two exchanges one for us one for our traveling companions, they checked our friends into a room that was supposedly already given to a honeymoon couple. They made them move after we asked why I didn't receive two of the same rooms for our exchanges, this was after they were unpacked and settled into the room. The room they moved them into was right next door to the one they were in and was terrible no doors on kitchen sink and only a sink in bathroom no vanity for toiletries they drug an end table into set there stuff on. Two days later when they moved us into A rooms for our trouble the original room they were checked into still had no one in it and as they were just finishing the move an elderly man was moving into it, so they obviously lied about the honeymoon couple.
Another lie we found was the fact that they advertise 6 pools what they don't say is that the pools are spread out many blocks apart at some of the other resorts they own in the area and you have to pack up and drive to them. The main resort has 2300 rooms and a pool area that has a 100 person limit, it is a fight every morning to secure a chair which they do not open the pools until 8:00am so you are standing in a line waiting to get in and then a mad rush to get to the preferred locations, which lead to people fighting over these spots. This is not the vacationers fault but is the resorts for not providing adequate facilities for the size of the resort, they must seem to think that everyone leaves during the day to sight see or something. There is nothing at the resort for restaurants or shopping if you want to ride the resort shuttle it leaves on the hour but makes a large loop which takes about an hour to do so if you are going to the last stop you have an hour ride on the bus to get there. Likewise if you are at one of the first stops on the way back you will be taking a long ride. You have to drive or take the shuttle as there is nothing within walking distance of the resort.
On our checkout day we had a late flight so I asked if we could get a late checkout the checkout is 10:00am they said at first we could have one until 11:00am then came back and told us they had none available, I said fine and was never so happy that our stay was over. This is absolutely not a gold crown resort and my confidence in the RCI rating system has been changed forever.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerMortfamily
LocationDefiance, OH
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2010
Spring Break with a family of 8 :)
Date:April 3, 2013
Best things about resortthe pool location to many great places in the area safe location
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMiami Zoo, Sawgrass Mill Mall, Hard Rock Casino, Fort Lauderdale beaches
ReviewWe recently visited this resort for our spring break vacation. There were 3 generations together and we rented both the A and B units. Overall, we were pleased with our choice to stay at this resort.
The pool was perfect---only disappointment is finding a place to sit as it is a popular place to be. We enjoyed the water volleyball and Bingo at the pool on a couple of the days.
The condo unit was a good size for our family as we had both the A and B rented. There were some things missing from the kitchen and would be nice to have an option to borrow things that are needed from the front desk, especially utensils for the grills.
After reading many of the reviews we were a little nervous about staying here. But would confidently say we would stay here again. It is in a perfect location to the airport and many different destinations around Weston. We rented a car and felt very comfortable seeing the sights around the resort from the zoo to the outlet mall.
The only problem we had was with the time share meeting for Vacation Village. We felt they were a little rude with their presentation---never pushy as no money was ever discussed. Just seemed to go on way too long and then just cut us off completely once we said no. This was the biggest negative of our week away.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMagnoliaPointer
LocationGreen Cove Springs,FL
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1988
Spring Training Baseball Trip
Date:March 25, 2013
Best things about resortResort is a 1 hour drive on Florida Turnpike from Jupiter, FL where St Louis Cardinals and Miami Marlins share a training site. Very convenient to get onto highway. Town of Weston is a delight. Lots of shaded sidewalks and beautiful landscaping.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAllies was great for breakfast. The everglades airboat ride was only minutes away and very interesting. We went back a second time to see what a different airboat captain might have to offer.
ReviewWe love vacationing in Weston. The town is so beautiful and the resort is so clean and nice. Miami is accesible, we love going to Jupiter for baseball and Ft Lauderdale is a wonderful beach city. This time we visited the historic Stranahan house in Ft Lauderdale and it was very well done. The resort is first class. The tennis facility is enormous and right on the resort grounds. Several nice dinner choices if you like sports bars ( Flanagins, Carolina and Uncle Al's) with lots of TV's.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerSheril
LocationOttawa, Ontario, Canad
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1981
Lovely resort with accomodating staff
Date:March 22, 2013
Best things about resort- spotless and well laid-out unit - nice view overlooking the golf course (across the road) from our balcony - Touch Angel spa on site
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe condo is well situated, with a small mall (Publix, CVS, family restaurant etc) about 5 minutes drive. Sawgrass Mills is about 10 minutes away - anyone looking for major retail therapy would be rewarded here (largest outlet mall in North America). The Everglades are at your doorstep for a nature visit. South Beach Art Deco area is a 30 minute drive away and worth the detour.
ReviewI have just completed a two-week stay at this resort - as an owner for over 30 years, I found this resort to be an excellent destination. The unit was spotless and well laid-out. Our unit was well maintained and had most everything we needed. We were able to obtain the adjoining mini-suite for a guest - many thanks to the staff for helping us! We had a nice view overlooking the golf course (across the road) from our balcony. The Touch Angel spa had professional staff, good services and excellent pricing - I recommend it to others!
The condo is well situated, with a small mall (Publix, CVS, family restaurant etc) about 5 minutes drive. Sawgrass Mills is about 10 minutes away - anyone looking for major retail therapy would be rewarded here (largest outlet mall in North America). The Everglades are at your doorstep for a nature visit. We enjoyed walking around the golf course every day and found travelling to Miami and the airport very easy.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerMeridian
LocationBoise, TD
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1985
Big disappointment
Date:March 14, 2013
Best things about resortFairly good location. Near Miami and Fort Lauderdale with easy access to the ocean although it is not what could be considered nearby.
ReviewI think this was the most disappointing RCI resort we have stayed in during our long history. We have stayed in resorts in England, Scotland, Italy and Moorea.
Your could hear toilets flushing all through the night. There were not even the amenities one would expect at Holiday Inn. There was no shampoo, conditioner, or facial tissues. Yes, there was soap in the bathroom. The location is near enough to get out and do a few things since it is so close to Miami.
I can't even say that the staff was nice. You are rushed through registration so fast your head is spinning. Maybe that is because there are so many people waiting to check in.
This place does not merit a Gold Crown rating.
Would I stay there again? Not on you life!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerbowlin01
LocationPlainfield, IL
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2008
Hoping for Better but Disappointed
Date:March 10, 2013
Best things about resortWeston is a great location but the resort is a "Holiday Inn", at best....
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGreat restaurants in area and easy to get to Ft. Lauderdale and anywhere else you would want to travel.
ReviewWell, after reading all the reviews, we were keeping our fingers crossed for a good stay. The room was "OK" and had a refrigerator but, of course, the hotplate for cooking. Next to impossible to try and cook breakfast on that! Also, room had a musty smell all week that would never go away no matter how hard we tried with the door open, A/C running, etc. Also, one day of cleaning is hardly enough and not right to charge for extra. The 1990's TVs are a bit ridiculous. With the price of flat screens now, can they really not upgrade? Also, the only food on-site is a deli and small store that closes at 6 PM so if you want anything after that, you have to go or order out. Silly that nothing is available at all. Forget about charging to your room, either, or drinks available at the pool. Not the normal amenities you would expect at a resort. I find it hard to believe that this is a Gold Crown Resort, especially with all the negative reviews. Who makes these decisions? We would happily go back to the Weston area but definitely not to Vacation Villages.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerLamplyter
LocationVictoria, BC
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1998
Nice resort in a good, quiet location
Date:March 4, 2013
Best things about resortThe resort was well laid out and speacious with good pool and hot tub. However, the pool area was normally very busy with no pool control. People would secure chairs and lounges with towels or personal items early in the morning and leave them there all day even if not being used.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere was good access to local attractions and to interstate and turnpike if visiting other areas. You are within 15-20 minutes of the airport and the cruise terminal and central to the Keys, Orlando and Tampa for day tripping.
ReviewWe have two beefs with the resort. First, upon leaving for a cruise after an initial 4 night stay, we requested that the four units we had booked for our family be situated in the same building and on the same floor if possible when we returned from our cruise. We were assured that would be t he case. However, when we returned, we were spread throughout the resort. One elder couple with mobility issues was placed in the furthest suite from the elevator on an upper floor. Secondly, we stayed for two periods of 4 days. On each ocassion, we were charged for cleaning upon check-out. Had we stayed for a full 7 days, we would have been provided with two cleanings, one at mid-week and one at check-out for no additional charge. Since the resort only had to do one cleaning instead of two, it excapes us as to the rationale for the additional charge in our case. It looks very much like an unfair cash grab on the part of the resort. Be aware.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerBobKC
LocationKansas City, MO.
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1999
Not a bad resort BUT the need pool control.
Date:March 4, 2013
Best things about resortFairly quite resort, good location, easy to get to.
ReviewThe pool is to small for the # a people the resort holds. There is not suppose to be reserving of pool chairs but by 9:00 AM all pool chairs are reserved and many have no one sitting in them for hours later.
Review 51 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerDobcross
LocationSaddleworth, UK
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1989
Good base, poor resort,main site not a Gold Crown
Date:February 24, 2013
Best things about resortA good place to travel from. Weston area is a quiet pleasant area to walk in. Other sites for same resort
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGolf Club offers 20% discount on meals. Shops a few minutes drive. Cheese Shop/Cafe in Weston.
ReviewThe town of Weston is a quiet mainly residential area with 2 or 3 shopping centres, wide roads, lots of ponds with turtle and bird activity, golf and good flat walking/jogging. There are a number of different timeshare properties.
This one is a large capacity resort comprising of 3 seven storey blocks with a minimum of 20 apartments per floor. Blocks named Osprey, Ibis and Crane are centred round the main reception building with a small shop, café and a pool with a capacity of 34. We were told, by a Timeshare rep, that it is these 3 blocks that are used for RCI exchanges. There are 4 other similar buildings well over half a mile away with their own smaller pool facilities in much quieter surroundings. Fortunately these pools are open to all guests.
We were able to go through the check in process early at 2pm, in an already busy reception, but room keys were not given out until 4pm. Consequently by then the queue had grown out of the door. The car park pass was issued separately by staff whose main job was to persuade you to attend the time share presentation. For a cash deposit of 20 $ you are offered breakfast or lunch in exchange for 3 to 4 hours of your time. At the end of the session you are given a prepaid credit card worth 75 $. Fortunately we escaped the “presentation” fairly quickly having made it clear that we weren’t interested in buying. We enjoyed our breakfast in a local Golf Club, a brief tour of Weston and the Mizner resort and later managed to spend all but one dollar on the card. The show apartment is in Mizner which is listed separately by RCI. Mizner resort was much smaller than the main complex as were the apartments though of the same design. It is positioned right next to the town centre.
We were initially given an apartment on the 6th floor of Ibis very close to both the busy Alligator Alley and the petrol station with its roof top air conditioning units. The excessive noise from both these sources forced us to ask for an alternative apartment. In our previous 20 years of exchanges we have never felt the need to ask for a move. This was offered immediately and finally we settled in a ground floor apartment in Crane, a quieter position. One bedroom apartments were well furnished, clean, with adequate lounge and dining seating for 4 people. The kitchen was minimally stocked with utensils and no complimentary tea, coffee, etc., were supplied. There was dishwasher soap but laundry soap, washers and driers all had to be individually purchased. The spa bath was in the bedroom with a separate large bathroom with 2 basins, wc and shower. The wardrobe space was barely enough for 2 people. This consisted of two broom cupboards. The one in the bedroom housed the room safe, shoe shelving, laundry basket and a very short clothes rail. The 2nd cupboard in the lounge housed the ironing board, iron and short rail. Travelling from the UK and being used to more generous US facilities we found the hanging space quite cramped, not even as much as most motels
The view from most aspects of the 3 main blocks was of the very extensive car parks. These were well kept, lined with trees and flowering shrubs. Other than sitting on your own balcony looking at cars there was nowhere else outside pleasant to sit. The main pool area was always busy with seating occupied for most of the day. While there was a well-advertised policy of ‘no towels left on seats for more than 45 minutes’ this was not strictly enforced. Most of the guests seemed to fit into the category of snowbirds spending all their time by the pool, playing card games or joining in the afternoon bingo sessions. Not our scene. We used the resort as a base from which to explore the greater Miami area and coast. We spent a limited time on site and found it necessary to drive/walk to one of the other resort pools in order to find somewhere to relax in the sun. It is not a resort which we would re-visit. Having experienced RCI exchanges in over 20 US states, the main site buildings and facilities do not meet our expectation and experience of Gold Crown standards
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerwe2lovetenn
Locationillinois
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2008
Not a gold crown
Date:February 22, 2013
Best things about resortNot too much. Overcrowded, noisy, right beside I-75so could hear traffic all night
Best attractions or restaurants nearbydidn't eat out. cooked our own meals, went to saw grass mills and everglades on our own. went to beach but everywhere you have too pay to park, even in South beach. The tours they had were too expensive.
ReviewWhen we arrived for check in they were lined outside the entrance. Then you have to get the dreaded parking pass. We said no but they called and we didnt answer. The our building was 1/2 block away, and no parking, Found a space went to get a cart and none, only 2 elevators and all the people trying to get in plus cleaning & maint. we waited 45 minutes for a cart, Time from check in to room was 2 1/2 hours. They must put all Saturday checkins in 1 bldg. Sunday morning noticed ice maker not working and refrigertor door would not stay closed. Also ants were crawling on kitchen counter and bathroom. Called and said would fix refrigerator and will call exterminator and to go on and will be taken care of when we get back. Got back and items were fixed but no exterminator, called front desk and said it would be Monday. So we packed up stuff to keep ants out of it. Monday came and while we were gone the exterminator was there and left calling card on table. It had PHD behind his name. Thought fine, taken care of. 2 days later more ants, we didn't call just took care of it ourselves. Noisy unit as you can hear people upstairs and dragging chairs across floor and smell from next door neighbor cooking so put towels under door to keep smell out. No carpet under table in living room so had to wear socks but black ones as foors and bedroom carpet were dirty and would get white socks black. A bad stay and not worth the travel to South Florida
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerMousse
LocationToronto, Ontario
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1988
Very nice pool
Date:February 22, 2013
Best things about resortThe pool behind the registration building is very good, it's big and that's where all the activities take place.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe golf at Flamingo Lakes was our favorite at $35.00/person with cart and the shopping at Sawgrass mills is very convenient, all the stores are there and the prices are good, Another great bargain place is the Swap Shop on Sunrise blvd. worth a visit to this large flea market. Best restaurant by far is Tarantella Weston located 1755 Bell tower lane in the Weston town center, service, food, atmosphere are top notch.
ReviewEven though we had problems with our unit, I would still recommend this resort for the overall amenities, the pool and location alone are worth it.
We had to call maintenance to fix several problems with our unit, but they did come and fix them, try to get into the IBIS building if you arrive on Sunday.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerdougfam
LocationMassillon, Ohio
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1999
Great Resort for Snow Birds!
Date:February 20, 2013
Best things about resortWe really liked the location of this resort in South Florida, between Fort Lauderdale and the Everglades. It is a short drive to Miami -- or you could even drive to Naples in a few hours. The resort has a really good spa with wonderful, staff --especially Mark, a terrific massotherapist.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe always love Catfish Dewey's in Fort Lauderdale. They have the best stone crabs at the best prices! We enjoyed touring the Royal Palm area of the Everglades, hiking the Anhinga Trail & stopping at Robert Is Here for fresh produce and wonderful tropical fruit milkshakes! We loved the cruise into Florida Bay and the 10,000 Islands area!
ReviewMy husband and I stayed in a one bedroom "B" unit in the Osprey Building. Our unit was immaculately clean, and we were provided with a thorough complimentary midweek cleaning as well. We were disappointed that our partial kitchen did not contain a stove. We only had a microwave and a two-burner hot plate :-( . The pools are nice, but in February, were very crowded. At times it is hard to find a lounge chair, unless you are an early bird. My husband was not thrilled to have to pay the $25 WiFi fee. However, other than that we had no complaints. Every one on staff was wonderful.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerRisingTide
LocationDuxbury, Massachusetts
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2002
Not Perfect
Date:February 18, 2013
Best things about resortThe activities we took part in were fun (aquafit and power walk). The huge hot tub is a plus. Our partial kitchen was pretty well supplied with pans and utensils, an electric fry pan, and a blender, etc.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWeston is pretty weak on shopping (except grocery stores and upscale jewelry) but we enjoyed JG McGuiness, a pub-style restaurant, and the Italian restaurant that provides sandwiches at the pool has a full-service restaurant off-site that we liked.
ReviewI'm surprised to read two other reviewers' comments about the dirty windows since that was my main complaint also! I thought maybe it was just our location on the first floor since maybe the garden dirt or lawn debris had fouled our windows. We asked to get them cleaned, understood that they would, then nothing was done. Otherwise the unit was very clean and pleasant.
We took two side-trips to Miami and to Ft. Lauderdale. I guess it's a trade off to be fairly close to the cities, and to the Everglades, but Weston is really not very close to anything.
We were not happy with the surprise $25 user-fee. I am a tea drinker, so free coffee each morning didn't help me. Having wifi in the room was nice, but is getting to be expected at your overnight stay, not an add-on.
We had our car and had brought two folding chairs, so this helped with getting seating at the pool!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerMAXINE08
LocationCT
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2001
Regrets
Date:February 14, 2013
Best things about resortSpacious room but outdated furniture. Huge crowded pool with not enough lounge chairs
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyHard rock Casino, Ft.Lauderdale, shopping mall, POC buffet
ReviewI called a few times to request a 7th floor room with a view of the pool. When I arrived, the girl processed the check in and handed me the card keys. I asked her if I was staying on the 7th floor, she said no, you will be on the first floor. I told her to look in the computer to see my request. She said "Unfortunately, we are completely booked and the room that we reserved for you on the 7th floor is "out of order". I was not happy and told her that I own here and I made a few phone calls to put in the request a month ago before the travel date. She called her supervisor and he looked in the computer for about 15 minutes. He temporarily put me on the IBIS building on the 5th floor and the next day I transfered into the Crane building on the 7th floor. They could have fixed the room ahead of time knowing that a guest would occupy that room. I ended up staying in that room anyway.
Another thing that upset me was before she can check me in, I had to pay a $25 fee. I wasn't aware of the fee. She explained to me that it was mandatory and was in effect last November. The fee was for WIFI, pool use, shuttle and use of the safe deposit box in the room. I told her I had a car, internet on my phone and don't need to use the safe deposit box. She wouldn't check me in unless I paid the fee. A young man next to her, named RYAN was so rude to me. He wasn't even involved in the check in process or room search and he said that if I don't want to pay the fee I should look somewhere else to stay. At this point, I was fuming. I've been an owner here for 12 years and never had a problem checking in or anyone being so rude to me. They should make the fee optional and train their staff to be more polite to their guests. I regret coming here, I should have exchanged to go somewhere else.
The hallway on the 7th floor had a funky smell and the carpeting was stained badly. The windows in the living room were nasty and moldy. The curtain in the bedroom could be darker. The flat screen TV was good but overall, this resort does not deserve a gold crown rating.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerbdbcj5
LocationSt. Peter, MN
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1994
Nice resort, but not a great location
Date:February 11, 2013
Best things about resortOur room was nice. It was clean and nicely appointed. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub in the evenings when we returned from our day trips.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe used this as a "home base" for our vacation and did trips to the west coast, Key West, Miami and Ft. Lauderdale. We didn't go to anyplace close to the resort, except Publix and the gas station.
ReviewThis is a nice resort, but not the most convenient to get to after a day of touring. It is probably fine for the older crowd who don't choose to leave daily, which appeared to be most of the guests.
The VERY noisy freeway was right next to our room (it seems to be a speedway for motorcycles at night). Being from "up north", we would have liked to have our window open at night but it was too noisy.
The $25 resort fee also seemed unnecessary, as the "free wi-fi" was so slow (512mb) that it wasn't worth using and I didn't drink $25 worth of "free coffee". It may have been more valuable if we spent more of our day at the resort, but would be nice if it was optional.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerNYsnowbird
LocationUpstate NY
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1983
Keep the curtains closed
Date:January 22, 2013
Best things about resortPool with waterfall and huge hot tub. Smoothie bar by the pool was a nice touch.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyHard Rock Cafe in Hollywood FL wasn't too far. During the afternoon it wasn't too crowded/smokey but that changed around 5.
ReviewThe resort appearance was really nice and we would have loved to view it more but the window in the living area was so disgustingly NASTY with MOLDY looking stuff on the outside we had to keep the curtains pulled all week to avoid seeing it. We asked to have it cleaned the first day and nothing was done all week!
If you enjoy cooking, even while on vacation, bring your own supplies. This resort had the worst equipped kitchen that we've EVER experienced--we've had partial kitchens with better! No serving utensils, no tea kettle (making tea in a coffee pot just doesn't taste good), only spatula and shallow spoon for cooking utensils, no tongs, no mixing bowls, no mixer, no, no, no--only the barest of basics.
The pool with waterfall was really nice and the hot tub was huge. Smoothie bar beside the pool was a plus. For the size of the resort and pool, there was very limited seating suitable for larger size guests.
Bingo by the pool was a real hit.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer55fox
LocationNashvlle, TN
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1999
Top quality service & facility
Date:January 19, 2013
Best things about resortThe friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the buildings and grounds
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBagelmania for breakfast and Stevie B's for delicious BBQ.
ReviewWe refused the "free breakfast brunch" and sales pitch thereby making this one of the most enjoyable 2-week trips we have had. You DO HAVE the RIGHT to say NO.
The scheduled tours to Miami and the sunset tour to Key West were very enjoyable and we would gladly do them again. Good value for "leaving the driving" to them.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Vacation Village at Weston
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerCatgirl2013
LocationPeterborough, UK
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2000
Not a Gold Crown Resort
Date:January 16, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Best things about resortWe visited in Jan 2013. The parking facilities were good. The weather was good. Some of the excursions (provided by third parties) offered by the resort are excellent. Some of the staff were helpful within prescribed limits. The resort is very close to the freeway for a quick getaway.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyFort Lauderdale, Miami and the Everglades should all be visited. The resort offers good excursions. The Ecotour to the everglades is excellent.
ReviewI have stayed in many RCI properties around the world and this was by far the worst. I am amazed it is a gold crown resort.
We had a one bedroom B unit. It was tiny and very poorly equipped. The double bed was just that - a standard double, which by american standards is tiny. We would usually expect a queen or king bed.
The partial kitchen was astonishingly poor. We had two electric rings in a steel unit that you had to plug into the socket, and then put back in the cupbord afterwards (see photo). It felt like camping. We didn't use it as it just looked electrically dangerous and the whole thing including the metal case just got very hot and we were scared of burning ourselves.There were only two saucepans and everything else was in short supply. If you had used the electric rings to cook on you couldn't do anything else as the kitchen surfaces were so limited. Only one person could be in the kitchen area at a time.No electric kettle was available despite our asking.
I was assured all the B units were equipped with these mobile hot plate devices.
The bathroom door opened directly into the kitchen. YUK!!
The wifi was incredibly slow and temperimental. I spent an hour on the phone with technical support to get the issue resolved with no luck. The resort were not interested when I complained.
We had a maid service once during our week's stay. But the maid does not change bedsheets. If you want new bedsheets you have to strip the bed yourself and walk halfway across the resort to get new ones, and then make the bed yourself.
The TV's were of the old style box unit type and had fuzzy pictures and very small screens. A DVD player was supplied, but the resort had no DVD library to borrow from so we didn't use it. We did find a portable CD player/radio in the wardrobe (very old). The reason it was in the wardrobe is that there was nowhere else to put it in the unit!.
Our dining table occupied a small space between the kitchen and lounge area and so if you wanted to eat, you had to sit facing the wall. It felkt like being in a cell.
The whole resort is right next to the freeway (so that was our "view") and so is very noisy. And the noise is compounded by the gardeners going around with incredibly noisy leaf blowers at 7.30 am every day so forget sleeping in - you can't.
We did complain about our unit but the staff become very defensive and aggressive very quickly. I think they are used to people complaining.
We were badgered throughout our stay to attend an RCI selling session but we steadfastly refused.
Weston itself is basically a large sprawling suburbia with no redeeming featiures.
I will never set foot in this resort again and would strongly advise others not to either. If you want to visit this area I suggest you use the RCI resorts in Fort Lauderdale or Miami.
The coastal area and the Everglades are really interestingand beautiful and worth a visit.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.