Resort Reviews

Woodstone at Massanutten (#5711)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/5711')"> Woodstone at Massanutten (#5711)

Massanutten Resort is the Mid-Atlantic's premier four season resort destination. If you enjoy skiing, golfing, swimming, hiking or just relaxing, Massanutten Resort is the perfect family vacation spot. The resort offers a wide variety of amenities including the new indoor WaterPark, which is open year-round. The WaterPark has a surfing pool, water cannons, water falls, rapid rides and much more. The resort also has two golf courses, Mountain Greens and Woodstone Meadows. Woodstone Meadows has become a PGA Family Golf Course in which all family members can play regardless of skill level.
Average Member Rating:
4.358 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (366 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
107
3 stars
29
2 stars
10
1 star
10
331 of 366(90%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Woodstone at Massanutten
Review 101 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerLegoDad
LocationManassas. VA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2008
Nice, but Expensive Resort
Date:August 24, 2012
Best things about resortThe resort has a large number of activities that are very family friendly.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWaterPark, family Adventure Center, GoKarts, Miniature Golf, Woodhouse Deli
ReviewWe stayed at Woodstone Meadows and were a little disappointed that we were basically in an urban, apartment complex with lots of noise. We had the windows open much of the time as the weather was cooler than usual. The only problem is the people below us liked to use their balcony to smoke and the smoke permeated our unit at times. The resort has a voluntary no smoking policy but they supply ash trays in the units. We tried the nearbu outdoor pool one afternoon and decided never to go back. Parents were able to let their kids do anything, run around the pool area, and use foul language (not good for our seven year old to hear). There is no lifeguard or resort staff on hand to help keep it safe and family friendly. Many parents had beer and alcohol with them and seemed more interested in that that what their kids were doing. If you stay at the resort please be prepared to drive everywhere as the resort is very spread out and walking to activities is not possible. The activities are extensive but very, very expensive. The activity card is available but seems to be focused on the golfers and not to family activities. The Waterpark was great. My advice is get there early as it gets more and more crowded as the day goes on. They also ban any outside food and drinks so plan to spend a large amount on lunch! We shopped at the Krogers about 10 miles from the resort for food as we like to prepare some of our meals ourselves. We did the sales pitch on Sunday morning mostly to get the free Waterpark passes they offered. Not really high pressure, but they do try to make multiple offers and it took most of the morning, closer to 3 hours vice the 2 hours advertised. A good resort for those who golf and don't mind paying for everything. I would recommend staying in The Summits or Eagle Trace and not Woodstone Meadows.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerPiywack
LocationSpringfield, MA.
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2012
Fantastic Resort Great Location
Date:August 21, 2012
Best things about resortLots of activities for children. Great indoor Water Park. Would recomend to only pay by the day becaouse there is so many other things to do. Teens would enjoy water park by the day though. Everything is in the resort. Need to go from one site to another but well worth it.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWater Park, Sky Lift and walk up the Peek. View was fantastic. The Romano's Italian Bistro on Islad Ford Road is a good bet. The prices are reasonable and the portions are great.
ReviewThere were 6 of us. Myself, Hysband, Son, Daughter-in-law and 2 Grandaughters. Check in was normal. We opted to take advantage of 2 free activity passes. We did early breakfest and a tour of the place on Wednesday.
The Activities for the week were endless. The kids took advantage the endless activities on the grounds. Painting Umbrellas, kite flying, kids zip lining, swimming just too many to say. They enjoyed everything. and wanted more.
I must say they all had a great week and will be looking to go back in the near future (to do More Great Activities).
Review 103 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerdrdavedmin
LocationOrlando, FL
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1995
Resort With Lots of Variety
Date:August 20, 2012
Best things about resortWide variety of tours, activities, and amenities on site
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBlue Ridge Mts, LuRay Caverns, Washington D.C.; cons: very large resort, felt like staff is stretched a little thin.
ReviewThis is a widely scattered complex with several different resort areas. We traded for Woodstone Meadows (we thought) and were actually assigned a unit in another and older resort. It felt like a bait and switch. However it was a good unit with comparable, if older furnishings. Massanutten's best features are its many on site and nearby opportunities. We took two teenage grandkids, and did such varied activities as caricature drawing class, go Karts, mini golf, water park, and swimming. We also took an excellent all day Washington D.C. tour, and visited LuRay Caverns. This is a ski area, and we had a nice ski lift ride to the top of the mountains and a beautiful scenic overlook. Overall, Massanutten is a fine place to go.
Review 104 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerphoebe2
Locationnew york
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2012
Great location. Beautiful resort
Date:August 19, 2012
Best things about resortThew views, activities, amenities, The room which has everything, friendly people, beautiful views, chairlift ride in summer
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLurray caves. we did not leave the resort much. everything was at the resort
ReviewThis is the nicest resort i have been to. We had a 1 bedroom with kitchen and it could easily fit 4 with room for more. The view is breathtaking. The resort is literally in a mountain basin and it is expansive. There are so much activities you can join. Horseback riding, ski lift rise, ice cream party, hiking, fishing. To name is a few. The staff was outstanding. You will need a car not only to get out of the resort but to actually be in the resort and get to all the activities and food places.
Review 105 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewercarsn
LocationDallas, PA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2009
Great Resort in a Convenient Location
Date:August 14, 2012
Best things about resortGolf, driving range, Go Karts, mini golf, chairlift ride in summer, water park, pools, activities, scenery, Fareways restaurant (so many things that I probably forgot many). I went to the Overlook and enjoyed a great hike on the path. It was beautiful and relaxing.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThunderbird Cafe, Hank's Smokehouse, Fareways, Piney Mountain Bears. We visited Luray Caverns and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
ReviewOur family consisted of five adults and a three-year old who loves golf. The golf courses,driving range and playgrounds were big hits with him. We were able to have him participate in several activities. Our family enjoyed the unit we were assigned. It had a full kitchen, two bedrooms and baths, and enough space for our grandchild to play. The walking paths provided safe and convenient methods to see the scenery and go from one activity to another. I would highly recommend this resort to others.
Review 106 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerCat53
LocationSC
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1991
Large Resort in Beautiful Mountains
Date:August 13, 2012
Best things about resortLocation is beautiful, Spa excellent. There are many activities to choose from, so you can really make your stay personalized to what you want out of a vacation week.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySkyline Cafe--we ate there twice Luray Caverns--good day trip
ReviewWe were slated to stay at Shendoah Villas, and I asked for upgrade at check-in because we are an RCI premier account. Had to pay $50 extra for the upgrade (in addition to the fee for Premier--so not sure if it was worth it) From reading on site, I knew some of the villa units were older than others. We were given a unit in Woodstone which is a newer area. Very nice 2B unit with a kitchen they call partial because it did not have a stove/oven. My main advice is to look at map of resort and become familiar with the areas that make-up the condo choices. There is a wide range of distances to amenities depending on what Condo Group you are staying in. Secondly, you must be prepared to drive everywhere. And to drive drive on very steep, mountain roads. If you are in a group with different interests and have only 1 car, there will be some time-schedule decisions to make. Download resort list of things to do before you go and get an idea of what you want to do and when. I wished more than once there was an option for a shuttle or bus to take us places instead of driving. Loved the Spa, ski lift chair ride up to the top, magic show and health/wellness classes. Luray Caverns a good day trip--go downtown Luray and eat lunch at the Gathering. Lovely downtown area. Food Lion grocery real close in Elkton and there is even a mall not far in Harrisonville.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerMoseleyLiving
LocationRichmond, VA
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1985
Surprisingly great!
Date:August 8, 2012
Best things about resortWe took 3 small pre-school children with us and there was plenty for them to do. Great pool and playground. Horse back riding down the street. Petting farm. Fishing. Golf. Spa. WATER PARK next door.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyHorse back riding and petting farm. Never made it to the water park but looked like a Great Wolf Lodge.
ReviewEverything is great about this place except variety of places to eat. They definitely could use another 2-3 options either on-site or nearby. You are up in the mountains so make sure you bring what you need as there is only a general store nearby. Nothing is close. Lots to do within 10 miles of the resort but restaurants were not one of them. Great pool, units and grounds. Child care/watch available if your kids are potty trained. Wide open golf course. Great place for a family vacation.
Review 108 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerGolfone
LocationMD
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2002
Outstanding Resort/Activities for all ages
Date:August 7, 2012
Best things about resortLocation. This resort is located in the Shanando Valley and has a breathtaking view. It is exceptionally well maintained and still growing.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere are numerous things to do at this resort. Golf, fishing, hiking ski lift rideS, water park activities with activities for all ages.
ReviewI would give this resort a two thumbs up and rate it as one of the best that my family have visited since we have been RCI members. We would like to visit again to see the beautiful fall foliage.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerlove2travelmommy
LocationHuntsville, ON
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Great Resort if you're a Golfer
Date:August 5, 2012
Best things about resortThe size of the 2 bedroom at Woodstone is great. BBQ on the deck...terrirfic for cooking on hot summer nights. The chair lift to the top of the mountain was awesome. It allowed easy access to trails and fabulous views.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Civil War history in the area keeps you going all week!
ReviewThe downside to this resort is that everything costs money. They try to get you to buy an "activity card" but unless you are a golfer or plan on doing ALL activiites it is a waste of money. They do not have enough pools so the pools were packed (and slimy from sunscreen). There is LOTS to do at the resort but very little to do for free, EVERYTHING costs money unless you are hiking or swimming in the pool (which closed at 7:00!!!)
The Waterpark was a disappointment as it was small, crowded and expensive. You could not get a chair outside unless you were there the second it opened as people went and "saved" them and left.
There is a lot of civil war history in the area and my husband loved that...he did the civil war tour ($60) but said it was well worth it.
The check-in process is long & hot and you have to check out by 10:00 am.
If you are using this as a homebase it is a great resort. If you are looking to do a lot at the resort be prepared to spend a lot of money.
Review 110 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerRance
LocationMilford, NH
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1994
Resort in very Nice
Date:July 23, 2012
Best things about resortThe two bedroom was spacious. Kids each had their own beds.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbythe Shanondouah River Canoe/Kayak Trip was a a great time.
ReviewOverall verygood place. For a large two-bedroom it should have had a full kitchen with more cooking materials.
Review 111 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLachajurosie
LocationLorraine,Qc
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2004
We loved that place!
Date:July 19, 2012
Best things about resortLocation....location...location! Very well situated, not to far from the 81. Gorgeous views with the golfs and the mountains. Very well maintain inside and outside the resort.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere is a lot to do on place but you have to pay for attending many activities. We played the mini-golf and we use one of many pools on site. We are not restaurant people so we find the Food Lion convinient and close. We went to Harrisonburg for visiting and shoping. All the stores you need are there even a Costco. We visited Lurray Cavern and the cars museum on site. It was a pleasant day. We also travel on the skyline drive to look at the scenery which is beautiful.
ReviewEven if we had an efficienci with no stove we manage well to cook because there was an electric pan and a microwave with the pans to cook in. Outside there are BBQ to use but no ustensiles so the next time we will bring ours.
There is so much to do on site and aroud to visit that we will return in spring to walk the trails and visit somewhere else.
Review 112 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerobxbeachfan
LocationTexas
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2006
Book it NOW! Super place to visit!
Date:July 18, 2012
Best things about resortThis was a lovely resort with so much to do on site and in the surrounding area. We had a partial kitchen which only meant we did not have a cook top or oven, but we used the grill on the deck a lot and there was a hot plate and toaster oven. This was a great size kitchen, so I don't know why they did not just put and oven in? There were so many activities and we wanted to do them all but sometimes you had to make a choice because of their scheduling. A car is a MUST! I was driving my kids up and down the mountain all day, but they were occupied and having fun so it was fine. The activity card is a must also if you want to do many activites because there is a charge for almost everything. But the classes are quality and professional. Some of our favorites were: tye-dye; basket-making; zumba; fleece pillow; and magic show.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere is a Food Lion grocery store less than 5 miles away in Elkton. It is basic but has most of what you need, except good deli meats. Luray Caverns were awesome (free with activity card). Monticello was great - do the family friendly tour; it was really good. While you are in Charlottesville eat at Dragon Lady - very good chinese restaurant. Waterpark at Massanutten was fun, but if your kids are used to Great Wolf Lodge it is a little disappointing, but is 1/2 price with activity card, so worth it for a partial day. Go on a day where you can come back for evening entertainment.
ReviewJust really a nice place and nice staff. I have been very disappointed with some gold crown places recently, but this was no disappointment. Would go back. My husband was not with me but he would love the golf. Activities great but definitely bring money and buy the activity card because nothing is cheap. Outdoor pools close way to early - that was really the only disappointment the whole trip! Had a problem with grill and maintenance was there practically before I hung up the phone.
Review 113 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLEzell
LocationVirginia Beach, VA
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1989
great vacation spot for families or couples
Date:July 15, 2012
Best things about resortArea has plenty to do, both at the resort or a short drive away. While many of the resort activities have a fee, one can find plenty to do for free such as the Shenandoah and Dayton farmer's markets, the Green Valley Book Fair if it's in session, and touring small towns like Newmarket.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLuray Caverns (a pass to the caverns is included with the Massanutten activity card), just driving in the countryside, ziplining at the resort, golf at several courses. Roosters in Elkton has family fare for reasonable prices, but just down 33 towards Harrisonburg is a great Italian restaurant, Romano's.
ReviewNice resort, the third we've stayed in at Massanutten. Our family had 2 units, one was a bit larger and newer than the other and was right on the golf course. Both units had nice AC unit (very welcomed as we were there during an unusual heat wave) and more than adequate kitchen supply as we generally cook in. Gas grills located with each building unit. The activity pass for $99 gives you free or reduced prices on activities, figure out what you want to do to see if it's worth your while. For al the golfers it was a no brainer as it paid for unlimited golf and reduced cart fees. For me, it was cheaper to pay as I went. While the requisite timeshare tours were buzzing around every morning (the show models happened to be in our building), all were friendly. I finally chose to answer the phone on Tuesday and explained I just wasn't interested. After two more pleasant entreaties to take the tour, the caller politely let me go and we were not hassled any more. Ziplining was great fun and worth the price. Free wifi throughout the resort. Nice place to be as busy or as quiet as you want to be. Had trouble with the key to one unit and maintenance was responsive and helpful.
Review 114 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerdmartin173
LocationEdgewater, MD
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1998
Great 4 seasons resort
Date:July 9, 2012
Best things about resortLots to do, lots of activities to choose from. Kayaking, mountain tubing, the water park, flowrider, arts and crafts, volleyball, hiking, the chair lift, golf, etc. etc. etc.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe water park is a blast. Had a great time kayaking down the Shenandoah River. Played the golf course by Woodstone, well manicured, great course. Luray Caverns is nearby for a nice day trip.
ReviewThis is a great place for a couple or for families. Be sure and pick up the Massanutten entertainment guide at the front desk so you can read the scheduler in the back of it to plan your week. Take advantage of the activities card, you can buy it for $99 or get them for free just by taking a tour of one of their units plus you can get free breakfast of lunch. The activities card gives you discounts and gets you in free to Luray Caverns as well as other free perks. So much to do, so little time, can't wait to go back
Review 115 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMollieGirl1
LocationNew Jersey
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1989
Year Round Resort inbetween Mountain Ranges
Date:July 9, 2012
Best things about resortWater fun- pools, tubing, kayaking, canoeing, & Water Park. Close to Shenandoah and Blue Ridge Mtns and Historical sites. Large selection of caverns.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLuray Caverns, Historic Harrisonburg, Civil War sites, Skyline Drive, JamFest 7/3 at resort and fireworks in Harrisonburg were fantastic.
ReviewRed Lion 3 miles in Elkton, Department stores, restaurants and fast food-12 miles in Harrisonburg. Lots to do and see.
Activity Card great if you play golf. Make sure you plan in advance to get your money's worth.
Review 116 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerDaniRW
LocationChester, MD
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2007
Great Resort for Kids!
Date:July 8, 2012
Best things about resortWe loved this resort for the activities they offered for children and also adults! Yoga, Tai Chi, Energy healing classes, water aerobics, Zumba, tie dye classes, crafts, jewelry making, basket making, fireside stories, entertainment, water park, gem mining, go karts, skiiing and more! Too many to mention. You will not be bored! I took the yoga class twice. It was a little crowded but the instructor, Brittany was very good and friendly. She did a soft yoga which fit the group. I liked her style and her demeanor/ professionalism was perfect.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Massanutten water park is great fun, was very clean and well kept. It exceeded our expectations. The inside slides were amazing and for the daring! The lifeguards were sincerely on duty with emergency workers on site for any slip and fall . We saw it only once. We did not buy the multi day pass for the water park and regretted it because we had so much fun the first day, we did return another day. My son loved the ropes course, he is 5. The slides were perfect for him in much of the park.My husband was intimidated by the slide that was dark and said it was pretty scary. There was a restaurant that overlooked the water park with very nice arcade. The best arcade games updated I have ever seen and clean too. Prizes for the tickets like Chuckie Cheese . The restaurant had draft beer and spaghetti dinners or burgers, pretty good but not top notch. We could look out over the whole water park up there and it was worth the view. The restaurant located at the golf course was good, nice service and our son was entertained by a waiter who could spin his tray around . Captivating! We cooked most of the time while we were there. We found a grocery store just a few miles away and a great produce stand with amazing tomatoes! A day at Luray Caverns was just a 30 minute drive and even swang through Shannandoah National park for a short tour of the mountains. A lot of deer.
ReviewWe had a nice quiet stay in our unit. Only occassionally did we hear the kids in the unit above, but I slept alot arriving with the flu, it gave me a great nights sleep with a wonderful King size bed to catch up on sleep. The curtains were so insultated we slept later than we wanted on several mornings because they let no light in when closed!
The AC, dishwasher, washer dryer worked great and as well as the spa tub which we did use and it was amazing.
The unit was very clean, well kept, a little out dated, but really not bad. We would have liked more comfortable patio furniture , there were plastic chairs and no table, but we enjoyed the rest of the furniture. All the tvs were flat screen and played DVD's. They were top notch and great cable!
We had plenty of towels and we washed clothes several times that week. We only washed our towels we brought and thankful we did because there were no beach towels at the pool. The pools were large but were crowded at tiems since we were here during the heat of the summer.
My only complaint was that all the classes had a fee and without purchasing a $99 activity pass you had to pay for these classes. If you golfed just twice the pass was well worth it though.
I would also have liked grills near our building. The resort is spread out over a valley and some of the newer buildings we noticed had grills and picnic tables, we did not.
Review 117 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revieweremsmulti
LocationChapleau, Ontario
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1991
Nice Resort with so much to do
Date:July 6, 2012
Best things about resortThere are so many activities offered at the resort that you would not even need to leave it but the area is beautiful and you will want to visit the Shenandoah Park as well as the breweries and wineries in the area.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyShenandoah Park, the wineries, the breweries, Washington D.C. a couple of hours away. (they give a whole day tour from the resort) We chose to go see the Smithsonian for the day.
ReviewLoved this resort other than it could have been cleaner. I have to say that I called about a big stain on the rug and they sent someone over to clean the rugs the next day. Service was excellent, they just need to find new cleaning staff. There was popcorn and stuff under the couch from previous people and I wound up cleaning the floor myself when I got there because I did not want to go barefoot on it. I know I am picky, but it is the first time I feel I need to clean it myself. Not usually something I want to do on my holidays. I also want to mention that the beds in the guest room are very small. My son is 6 foot and it was just funny to see him dangling from the bed. We got him and my daughter in law the unit upstairs from us so they could have a decent size bed.
Review 118 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerHappyPaPa
LocationLake Mary, FL
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1999
Outstanding family experience!!!
Date:June 17, 2012
Best things about resortUnit was comfortable and large enough for our family (ranging from 8 months to 67 years). Variety of activities for all interests and ages. Abundance of wildlife on the resort grounds. Friendly & helpful staff.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMontpelier, Monticello, Ash Lawn, Wilson Presidential Library, Luray & other Caverns, UVA Rotunda (free), Washington DC, Battlegrounds, Parkway - and many others, all within driving distance. Plus everything on the resort.
ReviewWe took our daughter & son-in-law and their family for 1 week in a 2 BR unit at Woodstone. We had a marvelous time that was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone. We had a small issue with the unit when we first arrived, but a call to maintenance got things resolved within just a few minutes. We decided to take the bus tour to Washington DC. It was a little pricy, but we all felt it was well worth the expense. Mike did an OUTSTANDING jobpreparing us for every stop, with the result that at the end of the day, while exhausted, we didn't feel like we missed a thing. All in all, a wonderful experience that we heartily recommend.
Review 119 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerlillybear
Locationbarberton oh
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1988
Great resort
Date:June 17, 2012
Best things about resortThe setting and the numerous activities for all ages.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLuray Caverns were spectacular and enjoyed shopping in Harrisonburg. All restaurants we tried were very good.
ReviewLooking forward to going back. The unit was spacious and beds were very comfortable.
Review 120 for Woodstone at Massanutten
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKYLady
LocationKentucky
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
great for families
Date:June 16, 2012
Best things about resortactivities for everyone, something to do all the time only trouble was trying to work in all the activities
Best attractions or restaurants nearbythe buffet at the water park was a good value for the price and really enjoyed the Mystery Dinner Theater
Reviewmy 17 year old liked this better than Disney, great place for families or sports activities, we went to the local Court Square Theater and enjoyed the play there. the unit was spacious and clean, our biggest problem was bsath linens were provided were one washchoth and one towel per person for a week and the worked at the Massanutten Adventures Tours did not give acurate information, we took the Presidents Tour and perticipants were told 3 or different information about the lunch at the tavern, the lunch in not included in the cost and is $18 extra, the lunch was okay but not worth the money