Resort Reviews

Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan" (#5705)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/5705')"> Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan" (#5705)

Sunset Fishermen ocean front resort is located in the heart of a private world-class residential area in the blooming town of Playa del Carmen. The resort has a mandatory meal plan, which includes: full breakfast and your choice of lunch or dinner (buffet or a la carte); domestic and imported drinks; non-motorized water sports; bicycles; and transportation to Playa del Carmen's main street.
Average Member Rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
11 of 17(65%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Review 1 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerhouchinmullenix
LocationSt Louis, Mo
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1996
Love this place!
Date:July 18, 2013
Best things about resortIt is right on the beach and within walking distance to the Cozemul ferry.
ReviewMy husband and I went here alone the last week of August. The resort wasn't even half filled and it was awesome. The staff was so friendly and nice. The food was excellent I cannot wait to go back.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerhans911
LocationOrange County, CA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2005
Great staff and beach- could pass on meal plan
Date:June 27, 2013
Best things about resortThe beach, pools and location inside a private gated community is great. The staff also is very friendly and helpful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBeach is beautiful and pools are great located right at the beach, Xcaret park is a fun though pricey day trip.
ReviewMy family with 3 children under the age of 10 visited Sunset Fisherman for a week. We loved the pools and beach here. Also had fun using the kayaks and Hobie cat sailboat as well as some of the other activities poolside during the day.We were on the mandatory all inclusive meal plan. Even though the kids were free we felt the plan was not a good value for us. The breakfast buffet was good and always appreciated in the mornings but the lunch and dinner menus were limited to 3 entree choices usually a beef, chicken and fish choice. If this resort offered a non all inclusive plan we would love to return but the meal plan did not fit our bill. With a WalMart and other grocery choices and restaraunts in town the dining could be more interesting and varied without All Inclusive.
Overall, we loved the beach, pool and staff and had a fun time on vacation.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewer4travellers
LocationCanada
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2010
There were some bright spots, the beach was nice
Date:May 20, 2013
Best things about resortPablo at the steakhouse restaurant was honestly one of the best most hospitable people I have ever met. By far the best server at this resort hands down
ReviewThe room was nice, 2 bedroom not exactly the floor plan we were shown on the website but not bad.
The food was average to poor, not worth the all inclusive fee that's for sure
The bars close at 10 pm, you wait a while for drinks and they are never the same twice, rarely in the same glass twice.
Almost every night there was something going on outside the resort that kept the couple that came with us up, one early morning a delivery comes and the diesel truck is left running outside there window,
another night they are working on the plumbing all night, most nights the sound of a mechanical room is sooo loud even with the window closed they couldn't sleep.
We tried to use the bicycles advertised as an amenity by the resort, there was 4 of us and they tell us they only have 2 bicycles for the entire resort???? how can you advertise this as an amenity?
We asked when the next shuttle from the resort to town was, we were told only members of that resort can use it not RCI members... another amenity advertised we couldn't use.
We will never ever go back here, nor will we consider any of the other sunset resorts, be it in Cancun or wherever... Overall not a good vacation and not a very hospitable resort.... you can do better than this I'm sure of it!
How this is an RCI gold crown I will never know
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerSDL00
Locationflorida
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2000
Great location/disappointing property
Date:December 12, 2011
Best things about resortThere is nothing best about this resort except the BEACH
Best attractions or restaurants nearby5th street shops and restaurants in walking distance
ReviewDO NOT STAY HERE...Since the hurricanes have hit the Cancun area, most resorts have been updated.We have visited the area several times in the past 6 years. This place was old and run down. We chose this property b/c we were told they were updating the rooms and closing the property to do full renovation...When we got there nothing was done. It was such a disappointment. the beach is amazing...the staff was nice the food was VIAL...we ate chips and salsa all week. It truly is a shame..the property has such potential to be a place to come and chill and relax...its quaint and in a great location...but they have done nothing to to make this a place you would want to go back to....
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerKarenandTodd
LocationConnecticut (USA)
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1997
We loved Sunset Fisherman!
Date:July 18, 2011
Best things about resortBeach! Best beach front of all the hotels and resorts in the area. Smooth sand, clean, clear water; plenty of loungers. Also, excellent customer service!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe paid for a tour offered by the concierge desk to Chichen Itza - highly recommend for a full-day trip! Also recommond taking a taxi into Playa Del Carmen for dinner and shopping one evening...
ReviewWe travelled to Sunset Fisherman for a week's vacation in October 2010 with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Although oringally booked for a 2-bedroom unit via a trade of my father-in-law's timeshare, upon arrival at the resort, we found it rather empty and the staff willing to allow us to trade our 2-bedroom for 2 separate adjoining one-bedroom oceanview units to allow for more privacy with our friends. It was fabulous! The great customer service set our vacation off to the right start. While not a 5-star resort, the beach here more than makes up for it. It is wide and smooth and has plenty of loungers for guests. The beach was combed by a staffperson every morning at dawn and in the evening so it was clean and every lounger put back in order. Sunset Fisherman staff were so accommodating (Fernando and Carlos were favorites of ours!). We never wanted for a drink (they were all included on our meal plan). Bring your singles as a US $1 goes a long way and everyone works so hard for all their tips! It will be well worth it! The food, while not great in selection, was tasty and offered us just what we wanted/needed. If you're looking for an upscale, high-end vacation place, this might not be it. But if you're a lower-key, everyday traveller (couple or couple travelling with friends), looking for a relaxing atmosphere with a top-notch beach and above and beyond customer service at every level (from the time you check in to the bar staff to restaurant staff -- drinks brought to your loungers on the beach) this is the place for you! Again, bring your singles...you will get the royal treatment!!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerHappyCamper1
LocationCumberland, MD
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1991
Beautiful Resort!!
Date:May 10, 2010
Best things about resortThe view and beach and pool.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe ruins and shopping.
ReviewI just got back from "Fishermens" and would go back in a heart beat!! The staff is great, helpful and very nice. The pool couldn't be better. The beach is one step from the pool and a very nice size. If you are looking for the nite life and partying DON"T go here, but if you want peaceful and to relax run don't walk to this resort. The food was fairly good, seabass in La Treaza was great, the italitan food not so much. Overall this is a very nice resort.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewercrashcambra
LocationSan Jose
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2009
Happy in Paradise
Date:September 18, 2009
Best things about resortTHE SERVICE and the proximity to Playa
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyXplore, Xcaret, Tulum
ReviewThere are many large and fancy resorts in the Riviera Maya. If that is what you are looking for, then this is NOT the place for you. If what you are looking for is a quiet, peaceful place that feels like coming home to family, then this is the resort. I was here in both May and September of 09. When I came back in September, many of the employees remembered me (by name) and welcomed me back.
The rooms may not be perfect. The variety of the meals may not change much. However, the service is better than any resort I have ever been at. Your drink is never empty and I would say that I didn't go 10 minutes the whole week without someone asking me if I was okay or if I needed something.
The resort is right on the beach. The sandbags they have placed in the water to keep from losing the beach is not very attractive, but the beach is swimmable.
All in all. I would much rather stay at a resort like the Fisherman than any of the mega resorts. I'm going back in May and look forward to seeing all my good friends that work there.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewersweetiepie
Locationnovato
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1991
Horrible foord
Date:July 10, 2009
Best things about resortThe beach is very nice and the comples is samll
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDowntown and very easy to take the bus anywhere
ReviewWe have been members since 1991, would never buy here again, The food is horrible, my husband weighs 250 and he spit some of the food out as he was not sure what it was. Even when you get into the Italian restaurant the food is only fair. The beds are very very hard . After being there for two weeks we went to the Rui down the street, great food, great beds. At Fishermans tips are supposed to be included, they will not give you a thing if you don't tip. They know who tips big and who doesn't and you will not get a drink at the pool unless you tip them every time. At the Rui we tried to tip and everyone said no thanks its included. We ended up buying food at Walmart and wine in town. WE did love it here at one time, not now. I am trying to trade for anywhere else. Don't care if all inclusvie is only $58 per day, its not worth a dollar, I am a happy positive person, hard to believe but it was awful, do yourself a favor and find another resort.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjsterne
LocationOntario, Canada
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1999
Love This Place
Date:May 12, 2009
Best things about resortThis resort is not a five star but it is absolutely lovely. You can't get any closer to the beach. It is a small, initmate complex of 62 units where you can really get to know people if you want. Staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. Yes, food is not great but what do you want for $58/day all inclusive. Not a party resort, just relaxing and wonderful!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyFive minute walk to Playa del Carmen and ferry to Cozumel. Lots of wonderful restaurants in Playa. Lots of activities in the Riveria Maya area.
ReviewHave been going to this resort for at least six years and it is my favourite of all the resorts I have been to and I have been to many, many resorts.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewercaligirl
Locationsan diego, ca
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1995
Nice, small resort on beach but don't do meal plan
Date:December 1, 2008
Best things about resortBeach was beautiful; the rooms were right on the beach; walking distance to town; close to other fun activities and great restaurants in town.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWithin walking distance to town. Hidden World is about a 30 minute drive and other fun attractions closeby. If you have a car, there's a lot to do.
ReviewThis resort was small, quiet and right on the beach. We started at Tres Rios, but the beach was not ready, they put us in the wrong room and only 2 restaurants were open and nothing for kids to do there yet. it was definitely not ready for guests so they moved us here. The room was fine - nothing great - not at all what we had in mind for our vacation. However, we were right on the beach and just stepped out onto the sand. This was great for the kids. If you plan on staying connected while away, the only internet service was in the lobby. So every morning and night we had to take our computer to the lobby and sit there to check email, etc. Do not pay for the meal plan - the food was terrible. It was the same thing every day. We tried to get into the Italian restaurant a couple evenings, but they said it was full. We looked over there and they had tables available - not sure what that was about. The food in town was great and lots and lots of choices. The drinks tasted like they were made of all artificial syrups - no real fruit. If they would improve the food and drink quality and variety, this would be a nice place to stay. We did use their kayaks a couple of times and paddled around in the ocean which was fun. Nothing to see snorkeling here either. There wasn't much for kids to do other than swim. If you want a relaxing - lay by the beach and do nothing vacation, this would be a nice place to stay.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerstasiar
LocationCharlotte, NC
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1996
Nice smaller Resort with a few problems
Date:October 9, 2008
Best things about resortProximity to Playa del Carmen, Oceanfront rooms, spa
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAwesome restaurants in Playa del Carmen. Dolphin Discovery in Puerto Aventuras, Akumal
ReviewI traveled with my parents, my husband and my 5 year old son. My folks are partially handicapped, but this did not present a problem as there are only a couple of steps and they put us in 2 adjoining studio units on the bottom floor with a beautiful ocean view and beach access.
Best Things about the hotel—we liked the proximity to Playa del Carmen (PDC) as well as Akumal and Puerto Adventuras. The walk into PDC was quite lengthy, but we rented a mini-van and drove wherever we needed to get to. The hotel also provides one-way shuttle service into town. Not sure why they don’t provide service coming back???
The studio rooms we had were beautiful with tile and marble. There was daily maid service about 3 times a day. Always cleaning the room, bringing new towels, and providing turndown service. There was a small refrigerator, small cooktop, microwave and coffee pot as well as a beautiful ocean view. The room was as nice as any of the better hotels I have stayed in.
The pool area was beautiful. There were ample chairs. The pool and the grounds as well as the beach were always clean and well maintained. Probably the hardest working people in the resort are the grounds crew and the cleaning people.
The spa was wonderful. Both my husband and I had massages on numerous occasions and I had a facial. The service was great. Very nice facility. I would highly recommend the spa.
Worst Things about the hotel—Check-in was a nightmare. They hold you hostage without giving you your room key until you have had a chance to speak to an activity director. However, the woman was so busy we had waited for over an hour. We had asked several times for the key to our room and they said we needed to speak with Shakira. Finally we noticed our room keys on a table with our documentation and just took it.
Then since we had booked an extra vacation through RCI we had their meal plan. This was another negative. Had to wear a plastic wrist band the whole week to show which meal plan you were on (if any). The wrist band was only for breakfast. Then you get meal tickets for the other meals which can be used for lunch, dinner or at the snack bar. The staff was never sure what was included and what wasn’t. At the bar they kept trying to charge us (even coming to our room to sign for drinks) even though drinks were included in the price.
The buffet was just okay. Most things were over-cooked. But you could usually find something. The Italian restaurant was very good, but the selection was limited. After a while we were very bored with the food at the hotel. It was always the same thing day after day.
The service was not very good either. We were a party of 5 and they only had square tables and the staff did not want to bother to put 2 tables together, so we would end up at a table for 4 with an extra chair on the corner. The people who did not get the meal plan got the best service as I guess they felt they would get tipped better?
Some things that were just plain annoying—no glasses allowed by the pool area. It wouldn’t be bad if the cups provided were at least plastic, but they were Styrofoam. The water pressure from the shower head was so strong it actually hurt. Usually I would say good water pressure is a good thing, but in this case it was actually painful. The wristband and the meal tickets were just ridiculous. Staff couldn’t keep track if you gave them a meal ticket or not and then would ask for another one. There was no service at the pool as far as I could tell.
We had stayed last year at the Azul Hotel and Beach Club in Puerto Morelos. Everything there was superb, but it was 3 times the price of the Sunset Fishermen. You can view my review for that hotel.
Some things you might want to consider doing is going to the town of Akumal. You can rent snorkeling equipment for $10 and watch the sea turtles and other fish. Just as nice as Xel Ha without the big price tag. There is also a nice restaurant there where we had lunch. We also went to Puerto Aventuras which is a beautiful town with a Marina, shopping and that is where the Dolphin Discovery place is which is only 20 minutes from PDC.
All in all we had a nice time, and tried not to let the little things bother us. However, I would not recommend the meal plan. If you’re looking for a Gold Crown Resort with superb food and superb service, this is not it.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerGlobetrekker
LocationPennsylvania
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2000
Could Be A Lot Nicer
Date:October 8, 2008
Best things about resortThe location was great. Plya del Carmen has grown, and there is a lot to do in the area. This resort is small, so you get to know the guests. The great thing about this resort is that you are near other great resorts.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPlaya del Carmen is nearby. They say just a about a 10 min walk, but in the sun and with the humidy it is a looong walk. There are lots of very nice restaurants in the area. And the aother cultural attrations are within easydriving distance. Signs are cleary marked and easily understood. Except for Chichen Itza (that's an all day experience-but worth a visit at least once). You must visit the Blue Lobster on 5th Ave near 12th at least twice.
ReviewThis resort is not at all what it portrays. And don't go by the pictures. From the beach-which is ony a few feet, and the sand bags take away from the beauty. I went here with my grown son and daughter. I exchanged to a two bedroom unit with two double beds in the second bedroom, but got a second bedroom with one bed an a pull out sofa bed in the livingroom. A lot of things in the unit did not work, and was in need of repair. I thought they gave me the oldest unit in the resort, due to the decription of other reviewers saying they had 3 bathroms and flat screen TVs. Our TVs were in need of repair, and was replaced once, and each one received a different set of channels. The volume could not be adjusted on the one I had, so I struggled to hear it over the loud air-conditioner; That would not have had to use if the ceiling fan hd been working. The meal plan is totally not worth it. The food was mediocre to poor. After trying to accept it, I asked for my money back for the remaining coupons we had. It was easier to go to town to eat. The one thing that kept me from being profoundly dissappointed in the overall resort was the staff, who were very friendly and helpful in every way. I will probably never come back to this resort, unless I KNEW WITHOUT A DOUBT that all the units were upgraded/updated and that the meal plan was optional and more flexible (meaning you could buy it on a daily basis.
Review 13 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewertahoeguy
LocationPlacerville CA
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1998
Fishermen's Sunset NICE!
Date:September 15, 2008
Best things about resortlocation, location, location!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyFerry to Cozumel, close to Tulum, Xel Ha, Xcaret
ReviewLocated in the Playacar residential section of Playa Del Carmen, this resort is small, intimate, and located right on the beach. All rooms are ocean view but some are partially blocked by palm trees. The room we had had was 2 bedrooms and 3 baths, with 2 decks over-looking the ocean. The roooms were beautiful but the furniture was a little dated. So if you are a princess this may detract a bit. It didn't bother us Tahoe people in the least. The rooms really are quite nice, roomy, and have daily maid service which was topnotch! I would guess our room was in excess of 1200 sq. ft. and on two levels. Our master was by itself on the 3rd floor with a large bathroom flat screen t.v. and a beautiful deck with an outside jacuzzi tub. The other master was one the 1st level with a private bath, flat screen, and mini kitchen. There are free safe(s) in each unit to protect your valuables. The pool is small but never crowded with a swim up bar, infinity edge, and really very nice. We were on the all-inclusive plan and with the taxes added it was $61.60 per day, per person, and it was not optional with the exchange we did into the resort. If you have the option, don't do it as there is excellent dining all over Playa Del Carmen. The food was o.k., breakfast is good each morning with lots of choices. The nightly dinner buffet is hit and miss. Don't count on the Wednesday Thai buffet (we looked forward to it, as one of the staff said it was excellent, and we love Thai cuisine). It is was really Chinese and not very good. Your best bet is to make a reservation at the sit down restuarant. Service is excellent (the surf literally runs right up to the the open air tables, and some of the food was very good. The salmon was the best bet. Lobster at an extra $12 was good but not real large (you must request a day in advance). This is all inclusive but only 2 meals daily. Again make a reso each night you will be staying at the resort, and eat at the sit down. The salad, appeitizers, and soups were very good. You can see Cozumel from anywhere at the resort, and the lights at night from the island are very inviting. It is about a 1 mile walk down to the ferry ($22 roundtrip per person) to catch the 40 minute ride out to Cozumel. The tourist bargains for gifts are on Cozumel....about 1/2 of what you would pay in Cancun or Playa. The highlight of the trip for us was Tulum and Cozumel. Even though the ruins (at Tulum) are small the beauty of the beach in this area is awesome. It costs to park and to get into Tulum. We paid to park and then at one the vendor statiions signed up to take a snorkeling cruise and didn't even enter the runis from there. We were driven a few miles south for a boat snorkeling excursion which cost us $20 per person. This is the way to see Tulum. From the water! The boat was old but there was just the three of us and the snorkeling was very nice. We were taken to a reef which had a couple of old Spanish cannons laying on the bottom. When on Cozumel, we took a catarmaran out for a snorkeling trip. It was called the Fury, and it was o.k. I would look for a different snorkeling cruise. I am sure there is a better cat cruise than the Fury. So if you are going to Playa and the Sunset Fishermen's Spa here are some tips. Given the walk into town and 5th Ave, the distance to Tulum or back to Cancun, and the high humidity, we rented a car and would highly recommend it to anyone going to this area. Chichen Itza is a long drive I would go on a chartered bus tour. Lastly, this area is a jungle, mosquito's are everywhere. Buy some repellent and use it, you will thank me. Cenote diving is very cool, but, get in the water fast before the mosquito's eat you alive. For the most part, you are safe from mosquito's during the day on the beaches, but, at night beware. This is a little gem of a resort, if I go again, I probably won't leave much, just hang out and go up to 5th Ave for some excellent dining. The beach has sandbags put in from a previous hurricane, however, you can swim around them, and they provide a break if there is large surf as there was from IKE duirng our stay.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerSWTSRT
LocationHarrisburg, PA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2007
Very Nice, Little Resort
Date:August 5, 2008
Best things about resortThe service and the people working at the resort were absolutely fantastic.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyEverything about Playa and the Mayan Riviera are wonderful.
ReviewWe stayed at the Fisherman from June 28 - July 6 2008. There were 4 of us; myself, my wife, and our niece and nephew (ages 10 and 12). We stayed in a studio room with a very nice view of the Caribbean. There was a small patio with chairs and a little hot tub.
I hated to give the stay a 4! It was a nice, clean, cozy, quiet place with fantastic service. When I say fantastic service from all of the workers there I mean it. The activities people, front desk, wait staff, maids, management, and maintenance were all fantastic! Even though they all speak at least a little English (if you speak English), if you try to speak to them in Spanish, their eyes light up and they really enjoy talking to you. We became acquainted with many of the staff in no time. I took a small course in Spanish before the trip, and it was fun to talk with them in their language.
The location of the resort was great, and it was only a 10 minute walk into Playa del Carmen. The beach was small because of erosion. There were a lot of sand bags, but there was enough room to swim in the ocean and lounge on the beach.
The pool was small but nice and clean. There was a big hot tub for adults in between the main pool and the baby pool. Check-in and check-out were very smooth. The drinks were good too!
They had some daily activities for adults and children.
Here is the only reason that this resort is a 4 instead of a 5 to us: The food selection and quality was fair at best. Breakfast was good, but other than that the food quality and selection was fair and sometimes even poor. Their meal plan is mandatory for anyone who is not an owner there. It was $61/day for adults and $ 31/day for kids under 12. The plan covered all breakfasts, and either a lunch or a dinner every day.
Things around the resort shut down around 9:30 PM, which was fine for us. This is a great family place or romantic getaway. It is not a place for nightlife, but you can find nightlife downtown. We would certainly recommend this resort, but just keep in mind what was written about the food.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerDallasgogirl
LocationDallas,Ft Worth
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2000
Disappointment at the Fisherman
Date:June 19, 2008
Best things about resortThe wait staff- maids, bartenders, waiters - work very hard. The spa is nice. Being an RCI member got us $30 dollars off a day. Nice ocean view room for a couple massage at the spa, and a nice work out area.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyStarbucks and several fast food places in Playa which was good because the 1 restaurant and 1 buffet the "resort" has didn't serve anything my 2 teens really liked. The Beer Bucket has Wi-Fi and good happy hour. Walmart is good for getting snacks/drinks for room.
ReviewThe pictures shown on the RCI site are of a 1 bedroom studio. If you are coming to this resort expecting that in a 2 Bedroom it doesn't look like that. It will be an older unit that hasn't been redone in a long time. No wi-fi in room.Only in lobby. RCI members are given no option except to buy the "meal plan "which is $61 a day which is very high for the quality. The beach doesn't look like the pic.You can only walk a few yards.Slippery sand bags are everywhere still from the last hurricane.Very small pool, small beach.The breakfast buffet serves alot of bread and yogurt and fruit that sits out all morning. You then have a coupon for lunch or dinner. The menu in the 1 restaurant never changes and is not kid-appealling.Very so-so food.This is a very small hotel w/ virtually no activities. Not even music by the pool.Had to go to Playa ($5 dollars each way by cab) to get food my teens would eat. We had ALOT of those meal tickets left over. There is really nothing here for kids or teens to do.You cannot walk down to the parasailing, sailboats or jetskis because the beach is so messed up. We will stick to the larger resorts from now on.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerSunup
LocationUpstate NY
Member Since1992
Excellent small and quiet resort
Date:October 2, 2007
Best things about resortExcellent food and service. We loved the partial all inclusive. Daily maid service and linen change. The beach suffered from hurricanes but that just made the sea closer to us. The sand was white and soft and the sea water gorgeous and blue. Units air conditioned and all have balconies that face the sea. Room service available too.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAt least 50 great restaurants in town which is close. If we chose not to leave the resort we could buy our lunch at the snack bar and it could be delivered to our pool side chairs. We left the resort one day to snorkle and it was beautiful. The ferry to Cozomel about 20 blocks away.
ReviewThe four ladies in our party give this resort an A+ review.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort "Meal Plan"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewermommatravel
LocationRaleigh, NC
Member Since2000
Pefect Family Vacation
Date:September 17, 2007
Best things about resortrelaxing, beautiful, family friendly, but nice too
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyclose to everything
ReviewI would go here again, although I do wonder how much beach is left after the past 2 seasons of hurricanes. The 2 meals/day meal plan is perfect as it leaves one meal per day to go out and explore the area and not feel like you are wasting money already spent at the property.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.