Resort Reviews

The Villas of Hickory Hill (#5065)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/5065')"> The Villas of Hickory Hill (#5065)

Your many vacation opportunities at The Villas of Hickory Hill include swimming in the Gulf of Mexico, fishing in the nearby river, and exploring historic sites in the area. At the resort, you can take a swim in the outdoor swimming pool or relax your muscles in the jacuzzi. Play a game of golf at the resort’s own 18-hole golf course or grab a racket and play some tennis. Take the kids to the playground or play miniature golf.
Average Member Rating:
2.303 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
14 of 33(42%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Review 21 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerBBG0812
LocationWinston Salem, NC
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1998
Poorly maintained
Date:September 29, 2013
Best things about resortThe pool was clean. There is a golf course next door but don't know if you can use it. It is a very quiet place to stay.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Shed restaurant. Biloxi (casinos and coast) only 15 minutes away.
ReviewThe outlets in the bathrooms didn't work. There was no phone in the unit. The bedroom sliding door did not lock. The bulbs on front porch and balcony needed replacing. I was told this unit was refurbished. Furnishings, appliances, and flooring in living area all good.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewercajuns
LocationJennings, La
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2009
in an isolated area
Date:June 29, 2013
Best things about resortThe unit was clean, and although outdated, comfortable furniture, plenty of beds. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe nearest town was 25 mildes away, there was a resturant down the road, but we did not try it. The beach i;n Biloxi was o.k., we enjoyed Beauvior, Jefferson Davis' last home.
ReviewThis is a very old resort, and although we were told that our unit was a "refirb", it was still outdated, the dishwasher did not work properly, the faucets in the upstairs bath were broken/stripped, making it difficult to adjust water temp, and as the hot water was too hot, a scalding hazard. I was glad that there was no spiral staircase, as advertised, but the staircase was very steep, and there were no handicapped spaces. The pool was the best thing about the resort, but the hot tub was lukewarm.If we were golfers, which we are not, I guess the golf course right out the back door would have been a plus, I did not like people hitting a ball that close. If you like someplace isolated, in the piney woods, I guess this would be the place for you. We will not be going back, would not recommend it to friends.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerkdt5512
LocationFort Pierce, FL
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2009
Clean, spacious, good location
Date:April 27, 2012
Best things about resortGood location for everything we wanted to see - Mobile, Biloxi, New Orleans. Roomy and comfortable.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCountry Gentleman - good family food. Mary Mahoney's in Biloxi - a bit pricey but Very Nice! The Shed BBQ - not exactly what you would call a restaurant but unique - good food! Casino Buffets.
ReviewHonestly after reading the reviews I was a bit hesitant about booking here, but it was the only place available in the area we wanted to go since we booked a bit late. I was pleasantly surprised at the accomodations. Everything was clean, comfortable and in working order. No it's not a 5 star resort but that was ok since we only used it as a home base to visit the area. Some of the other commenters must have gotten a bad unit or ours had been upgraded. I agree there is not much to do at the resort unless you golf which we don't. The children's playground seemed to be well maintained and we saw some families using it. The putt-putt golf looked like it hadn't been used in years. There were also shuffleboard and tennis courts and a pool with a hot tub which we didn't use. The laundry facilities were by the pool with 4 pay for use machines, one of which was broken. There were 10 stairs up to our unit and then 3 more inside to the living area. The bedrooms were downstairs with one bathroom downstairs and one upstairs. We would have preferred a private bath but since it was just the two of us it didn't really matter. It appeared that some units had the bedrooms upstairs. We noticed a major temperature difference - the downstairs was about 5 - 10 degrees cooler. You might keep this in mind if you visit during the summer months as there was no ceiling fans in the bedrooms. We enjoyed our stay!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewerfasteddie
Locationolathe, KS
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1987
Whatta dump --- makes Motel 6 a five-star place...
Date:January 31, 2010
Best things about resortNothing to speak of ---- if I had to say something good, it was in a quite, secluded area and was on a golf course.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCountry Gentleman restaurant was close by and good; MacElroy's - about 10 miles away - had a great Sunday breakfast.
ReviewWe survived three days, mostly because we could not find acceptable accomodations over the weekend. On Monday, we went to New Orleans (Wyndham's La Belle Maison - a wonderful downtown resort); stayed there two days then drove back to Destin, FL and spent our last two nights at another beautiful Wyndham resort (the Majestic Sun). Thank goodness, Wyndham saved our vacation.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTomS
LocationBoston, MA
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1991
Challenging yet affordable golf, very nice units!!
Date:March 26, 2008
Best things about resortGreart condo layout. Very roomy ! Mississipi National Golf Course designed for those who want a challenging course at a reasonable price and convenience...you won't be disappointed except for your score! Lots of very interesting holes...not your typical "resort" course ! Casinos 20 highway minutes away. Beautiful setting!!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySize and amenities of unit. Casinos in Biloxi. Biloxi is oyster and shrimp capital of the world.... delicious and most affordable. Try the Isle of Capri luncheon buffet for $7. or diner buffet for $11. - shrimp, crab legs, prime rib, etc. endless choices and delicious sugar-free desserts for diabetics/weight conscious.
ReviewVery spacious, well-equipped units. Two-bedroom units are larger, better equipped and more comfortable than most 2 BR RCI units I have stayed in around the world.
Nice sense of "being at home" yet with great golf during winter months.
108 of 111 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewergsreed
LocationIndiana
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2003
Minimal resort
Date:July 22, 2010
Best things about resortLocation on gulf coast
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMobile, Biloxi, Gulfport, New Orleans
ReviewAt first glance Hickory Hills Resort seems nice. All the units (each a little different on the exterior to avoid a cookie cutter look) are newly sided, with brickwork and green metal roofing. Inside the units seem large with a combo kitchen/dining/living area and shower bath and a patio on the first floor. On the second, 2 bedrooms - the master bedroom is large and both bedrooms share a large deck overlooking the golf course. The main bath is VERY SMALL.
As you settle in, the cheap materials, lack of maintenance and general upkeep show up. The cabinetry is cheap and, in places, rotting away due to years of humidity, and most of the hardware is loose. The handle on the fridge was cracked and broken, the dishwasher rusted out and very old. The furniture was all OK - those heavy iron barstools, dinette, and end tables take lots of wear and tear well. The walls were painted over wallpaper and many seams were visible. The towels were old, threadbare, and rough.
The 'amenities' at the resort aren't many. The hot tub was broken and unusable, only 2 washers for the entire resort and one was broken, the front office is small with no commons area for guests. WiFi available only at the office, and the office hours are not always user friendly (not on Sundays, or after 5, or Saturday afternoon). You could sit in the car in the parking lot and connect - maybe.
Several buildings had pieces of siding and trim loose and flapping, but no one came to repair them. The pool was nice, but the fence around it was rusted away in places and wobbly. The one trash dumpster is near the entrance to the resort. There is a cleaning fee if you leave the unit dirty, but there is no vacuum in the room - you can get one at the office if you want one. The office staff was OK, but not outgoing or welcoming. They did the job, and laughed at us when we couldn't pronounce Gautier correctly. (It's Go shay, FYI)
This resort needs lots of maintenance. If all you want is a place to sleep and spend the day sightseeing and you're not real particular, this place is OK - the beds were comfortable.
This is the second Crown Resort we've stayed at...and they seem about the same. We'll not use Crown again.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewerluv2vacationwithrci
Locationgeorgia
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Wouldn't recommend
Date:December 11, 2008
Best things about resortMyth of the Singing River. The resort (if you want to call it that) is located on a historical river with a wonderful story attached to it that my children greatly enjoyed.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAbsolutely none
ReviewThe resort (if you want to call it that) is located in the most unlikely place for a resort to be. It took us forever to find it. Its literally in the back of community neighborhoods and apartments--didn't seem like we were on vacation at all. The complex and rooms (although spacious) are very outdated. They have attempted to make some upgrades in the kitchen and bathrooms but the furniture, bedding, carpet, etc. need a complete overhaul. If your intention is only to golf (then this may be the resort for you). However for families with children--stay away--absolutely nothing to do. In addition we had some kind of rodent trapped in our vents. When I first reported it--it literally took hours for someone to respond and even then it did not resolve the problem. However, much praise to RCI for accommodating us with another vacation at no charge--to make up for this awful experience. My family and I are very active rci members and honestly all of our other experiences have been great to say the least. This experience fell short of our expectations by a long shot.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerPatrciar
LocationSt louis, Mo
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2007
Would Not Recommend for Family with young children
Date:July 28, 2008
Best things about resortCouldn't find anything, I guess if you golf...
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCouldn't find one, we followed the directions of the office attendant to the nearest town. Drove around for over an hour and the only thing we found was fast food.
ReviewWe just returned from a fabulous time in Orlando, Fl. Our original reservation had been sched for Hickory Hills. We are a family of 5 with 2 small children 7 & 5, we drove from Southern IL, near St. Louis for 12 hours. Upon arrival at the resort the local information given was very minimal. By looking at the pics on line....these are definitely the nicest you could find.
We were scheduled to be in 2 bedroom, the bedrooms are located upstairs with a Queen bed for the master which was hard as a rock, and 2 twin beds in the 2nd bedroom. What a huge disappointment after driving 12 hours.
Cudos to RCI....we called and re located to the Sheraton Vistana in Orlando Fl....It was beautiful...spacious with many activities for the whole family.
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerlynnc7738
LocationTennessee
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1982
Older resort, needs updating
Date:June 30, 2012
Best things about resortfriendly manager, quick check in, located on golf course, easy check out, easy to find
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNone within 20 minutes, not even a McDonalds. Bayview in Ocean Springs very good!, Aunt Jenny's very good
ReviewAC was terrible, freezing downstairs, warm upstairs. Unit looked somewhat older, carpet and cabinets from 70's Tv's didn't work well, one was the old type
Review 30 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjel1
Locationnew orleans
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1983
nice resort to escape to
Date:June 28, 2012
Best things about resortgood resort near home, quiet, close to lots of action. Enjoyed the nature and scenery. Unit was nice, liked that all rooms had TV and access to private balconies.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Shed.... The casinos.....Keesler.... The shipyards.
ReviewThanks for a great escape. We will definitely consider a return when we want to escape the city for a week but want to stay close to home. As an older couple, the quietness was ideal.
Review 31 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerET4U
LocationSW Mississippi
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1998
Peace and quiet
Date:April 3, 2012
Best things about resortClean resort with lots of space. Quiet and family friendly. This resort is perfect for a family outing. The pool is small, but you can have a great time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Peaceful place to visit!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCountry Gentleman is a great family resturant to visit.
ReviewMy family and I enjoy going to The Villas. It's a 20 minute drive to Biloxi, but worth the comfort of being home away from home. This resort is a very comfortable resort. Two bedrooms and two bathroom. Plenty of space for everyone.Both bedrooms have a television and a nice flat screen in the living room I really like the upgrades that are being made. There is not a lot of activities going on, but there is a playground area for smaller children. A basketball court and chaffleboard court on the grounds. The resort is in a circular drive which is great for taking a morning walk or you can sit out on the deck and watch the squirrels and birds. This is not a 5-star resort, but it is clean and comfortable. Centrally located between New Orleans and Mobile, AL if you want to take a day trip. This is our base resort and we visit it at least once a year, sometimes more. We enjoy coming to The Villas every year.
Review 32 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerTennessee2010
LocationCookeville, TN
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1987
Not up to my expectation of an RCI resort
Date:July 17, 2010
Best things about resortThis resort was a nice resort when it was built but it needs a lot of upgrades and maintenance. Living room furniture was dirty. Dishwasher was old and had tape holding the front on. No patio furniture to be able to sit outside.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyResort was conveniently located to area attractions and the staff was very friendly and helpful
ReviewWe didn't stay at the resort much and spent most of the time sightseeing. If you planned to stay at the resort most of the time, there wasn't a lot to do.
Review 33 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerpapa
LocationSlidell, LA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1990
Average Resort
Date:September 5, 2008
Best things about resortNice pool. Well maintained grounds on golf course. Good for rest and relaxation.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbynone
ReviewThis resort is in the process of renovations. It is more like townhouse condominiums. It has very small bathrooms and no free laundry facility. We also had to bring our towels and linens to the laundry area for exchange. This was not what we expected. Most resorts pick up at the unit and replenish accordingly. No amenities!
21-33 of 33