Resort Reviews

The Villas of Hickory Hill (#5065)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/5065')"> The Villas of Hickory Hill (#5065)

Your many vacation opportunities at The Villas of Hickory Hill include swimming in the Gulf of Mexico, fishing in the nearby river, and exploring historic sites in the area. At the resort, you can take a swim in the outdoor swimming pool or relax your muscles in the jacuzzi. Play a game of golf at the resort’s own 18-hole golf course or grab a racket and play some tennis. Take the kids to the playground or play miniature golf.
Average Member Rating:
2.303 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
14 of 33(42%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Review 21 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerEmptyNester
LocationUpstate, NY
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1989
Has Potential
Date:March 11, 2010
Best things about resortLarge rooms, lots of space. Quiet pretty setting.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe resort is convenient to cities along the Gulf.
ReviewThis was probably a great resort when built, BUT. It has not been up dated or maintained. The work that has been done was done cheaply and shabbily. Old TVs, musty smell, no art on the walls. There was a note in the kitchen saying that if we needed more household supplies, soap, toilet paper, we could buy them in the office. There were 4 rolls of toilet paper in a unit designed for 6 people to last a week. You have to carry your trash to a dumpster which is about a 5 minute walk from the unit. Other than check in and out, never saw staff.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewerfasteddie
Locationolathe, KS
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1987
Whatta dump --- makes Motel 6 a five-star place...
Date:January 31, 2010
Best things about resortNothing to speak of ---- if I had to say something good, it was in a quite, secluded area and was on a golf course.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCountry Gentleman restaurant was close by and good; MacElroy's - about 10 miles away - had a great Sunday breakfast.
ReviewWe survived three days, mostly because we could not find acceptable accomodations over the weekend. On Monday, we went to New Orleans (Wyndham's La Belle Maison - a wonderful downtown resort); stayed there two days then drove back to Destin, FL and spent our last two nights at another beautiful Wyndham resort (the Majestic Sun). Thank goodness, Wyndham saved our vacation.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerShortyandUs
LocationMathews, LA
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Nice Resort
Date:October 18, 2009
Best things about resortThe resort is far from new, but is very well maintained and clean. If you like golf, you're right on a great course and there are numerous courses within a short drive. Shell Landing and Dogwood Hills were very reasonable. Casinos are within 1/2 hour drive as is the beach.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Country Gentlemen restaurant in Gauthier is very good. But you can't miss going to The Shed. It is a BBQ restaurant, but I use the term "reataurant" lightly. It is a real experience that shouldn't be missed.
ReviewWe were four couples staying in two seperate two bedroom units. One had the bedrooms downstairs and one had them upstairs. Get one with the bedrooms downstairs if the weather is hot. The upstairs bedrooms were very hard to keep cool.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerCotton
LocationHonea Path, SC
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1987
Worst RCI Resort We've Seen
Date:May 20, 2009
Best things about resortEasy check in
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNone
ReviewFurniture upholstery was torn, refrigerator rusty and leaked, a/c didn't work when we arrived and was the next day before they would send anyone out. Nasty looking, worn out bathroom fixtures. Plastic patio furniture collapsed when brother in law sat in it. Internet access didn't work. Every time we asked, we were told the technician would be there tomorrow to fix it. We have been RCI members for 20+ years and this was the worst experience we have ever had. Unless you are a golfer, you probably want to look elsewhere.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewermoosebites
Locationmilwaukee, wi
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2004
Nice place to visit
Date:April 19, 2009
Best things about resortOur room had new furniture and carpeting. Cabinets were a little outdated. The resort has minature golf, tennis and basketball courts and shuffleboard.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGolf course on site was beautiful. Biloxi had numerous beaches and casinos.
ReviewOur stay was very nice their. They did not have a computer for visitors to use, but they gladly let me use theirs. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewerluv2vacationwithrci
Locationgeorgia
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Wouldn't recommend
Date:December 11, 2008
Best things about resortMyth of the Singing River. The resort (if you want to call it that) is located on a historical river with a wonderful story attached to it that my children greatly enjoyed.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAbsolutely none
ReviewThe resort (if you want to call it that) is located in the most unlikely place for a resort to be. It took us forever to find it. Its literally in the back of community neighborhoods and apartments--didn't seem like we were on vacation at all. The complex and rooms (although spacious) are very outdated. They have attempted to make some upgrades in the kitchen and bathrooms but the furniture, bedding, carpet, etc. need a complete overhaul. If your intention is only to golf (then this may be the resort for you). However for families with children--stay away--absolutely nothing to do. In addition we had some kind of rodent trapped in our vents. When I first reported it--it literally took hours for someone to respond and even then it did not resolve the problem. However, much praise to RCI for accommodating us with another vacation at no charge--to make up for this awful experience. My family and I are very active rci members and honestly all of our other experiences have been great to say the least. This experience fell short of our expectations by a long shot.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerSlotGirl2
LocationOrlando
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2005
Fun, Food, Fantastic Golf!
Date:November 17, 2008
Best things about resortGolf course, casino's nearby, beach nearby, great food nearby. Family friendly atmosphere.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCasinos, beaches, resturants (ask a local for the best ones) day trips to N.O. Gulf Shores, Dauphin Island, Mobile.
ReviewVery quiet, cozy and closeby all the excitement you need at the casinos. We have been 4 times since April 2008. We LOVE it!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerGoldwing
LocationSauk Rapids, Mn.
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2008
Nice Place
Date:September 25, 2008
Best things about resortThe resort was vert quiet with a warm feeling about it.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe enjoyed the casinos nearby in Biloxi as they have wonderful buffets. We also took the time to drive over to New Orleans to see the D-Day Museum. The staff at the resort helped find us the best directions.
ReviewWe had a problem with the television in the living room. We reported it the first day we arrived. We also reported it everyday after that through Wednesday. Finally on Thursday another set was delivered to the unit. The unit was clean. Although in both bedrooms the dry wall was coming off the ceiling in a few places and was in need of repair. Furnishings were excellent and in good shape. The grounds were well maintained and clean. Staff were very freindly and helpful except for the television problem. WE would recommend this resport o others and would return.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerOldtraveler
LocationRochester, NH
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1989
Down But Definately Not Out
Date:September 23, 2008
Best things about resortPeople were very friendly and the golf course was superb.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe casino action and the coastal atmosphere.
ReviewWe arrived at this resort not knowing what condition Katrina had left it in. To our pleasant surprise, it was in great shape. Sadly, much of the surrounding area in Gulf-Port and Biloxi were not that lucky. We were greeted by a very friendly and family orientated staff. Our unit was well equipped and right on the golf course. Unfortunately, our stay had to be cut short because of an uninvited guest, hurricane Gustav. Our hearts went out to the staff and local people who made the evacuation process simple and orderly. We ended up driving to the Orlando area for the duration of our vacation but hope to get the chance to visit the nice people of Hickory Hill again. I probably wouldn't recommend this resort for young children but the many casinos make it a viable alternative to the glitz of LV. I phoned this resort after the hurricane, just to see how they all made out and was happy to hear they came through it with only minor scratches.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerbaseballmomtx
LocationDallas, TX
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2005
Depends on what you're looking for....
Date:September 9, 2008
Best things about resortThis is a quiet resort on a very nice golf course. The rooms are spacious. It worked very well for our vacation as we just used it as home base for a gulf coast adventure. It is not a "destination" resort, unless you golf.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCountry Gentlemen restaurant has great catfish. Go to Gulfport and take the ferry out to Ship Island. Dolphins surfed in our wake, and the water was amazingly clear. Alabama is 30 minutes away, and we took the family to the USS Alabama in Mobile. All the kids (ages 8, 12, and 14) and the the adults loved it!
ReviewWe traveled here with the intention of visiting beaches along the gulf coast. For that, it was wonderful! We managed to go to Ship Island, MS, Dauphin Island, AL, Gulf Shores, AL and Perdido Key, FL on day trips. All were fabulous! If you golf (we don't), this is a great getaway. There is a small mini golf course, shuffleboard, basketball, tennis, and a nice pool. There were no scheduled activities. The towel/linen exchange was no big deal. I liked being about to get fresh towels as often as I wanted rather than wait for a scheduled day. The beds were too hard for our personal tastes. The resort was really mangled by Hurricane Katrina, and they are still trying to get everything back together.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerpapa
LocationSlidell, LA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1990
Average Resort
Date:September 5, 2008
Best things about resortNice pool. Well maintained grounds on golf course. Good for rest and relaxation.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbynone
ReviewThis resort is in the process of renovations. It is more like townhouse condominiums. It has very small bathrooms and no free laundry facility. We also had to bring our towels and linens to the laundry area for exchange. This was not what we expected. Most resorts pick up at the unit and replenish accordingly. No amenities!
Review 32 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerPatrciar
LocationSt louis, Mo
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2007
Would Not Recommend for Family with young children
Date:July 28, 2008
Best things about resortCouldn't find anything, I guess if you golf...
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCouldn't find one, we followed the directions of the office attendant to the nearest town. Drove around for over an hour and the only thing we found was fast food.
ReviewWe just returned from a fabulous time in Orlando, Fl. Our original reservation had been sched for Hickory Hills. We are a family of 5 with 2 small children 7 & 5, we drove from Southern IL, near St. Louis for 12 hours. Upon arrival at the resort the local information given was very minimal. By looking at the pics on line....these are definitely the nicest you could find.
We were scheduled to be in 2 bedroom, the bedrooms are located upstairs with a Queen bed for the master which was hard as a rock, and 2 twin beds in the 2nd bedroom. What a huge disappointment after driving 12 hours.
Cudos to RCI....we called and re located to the Sheraton Vistana in Orlando Fl....It was beautiful...spacious with many activities for the whole family.
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for The Villas of Hickory Hill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTomS
LocationBoston, MA
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1991
Challenging yet affordable golf, very nice units!!
Date:March 26, 2008
Best things about resortGreart condo layout. Very roomy ! Mississipi National Golf Course designed for those who want a challenging course at a reasonable price and convenience...you won't be disappointed except for your score! Lots of very interesting holes...not your typical "resort" course ! Casinos 20 highway minutes away. Beautiful setting!!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySize and amenities of unit. Casinos in Biloxi. Biloxi is oyster and shrimp capital of the world.... delicious and most affordable. Try the Isle of Capri luncheon buffet for $7. or diner buffet for $11. - shrimp, crab legs, prime rib, etc. endless choices and delicious sugar-free desserts for diabetics/weight conscious.
ReviewVery spacious, well-equipped units. Two-bedroom units are larger, better equipped and more comfortable than most 2 BR RCI units I have stayed in around the world.
Nice sense of "being at home" yet with great golf during winter months.
108 of 111 people found this review helpful.
21-33 of 33