Resort Reviews

Panama City Resort & Club (#5056)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/5056')"> Panama City Resort & Club (#5056)

If you want to go on a great beach vacation, what can be better than walking 40 feet from your unit to a beautiful, sugar white sandy beach and the emerald green waters of the Gulf of Mexico? The pier is just a three-minute walk along the beach. The Gulf provides opportunities for a vast array of vacation activities, like scuba diving and deep sea fishing. Tennis is available 1.5 miles from the resort and golfers only have to travel four miles before they can tee off.
Average Member Rating:
3.154 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
8 of 13(62%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Panama City Resort & Club
Review 1 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerGo4Red
LocationFL
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2007
location close to good dining places
Date:November 10, 2007
ReviewWhile the location is good, we will not want to stay there again. The resort really needs lots of facelift, upgrade the kitchen & bathroom. The ceiling was flaky, nosiy faucets in kitchen and bath.
Good dining place near the resort is Boar's Head. Little pricey, but worth it.
28 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerbinwinbinwin
LocationCanada
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2007
Great beachfront location
Date:November 27, 2007
Best things about resortLocation right on the beach, outdoor pool overlooking Gulf of Mexico
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGulfworld, Ripley's museum, Ebro greyhound racing, Shipwreck waterpark, Florida State parks, Zooworld
ReviewLocation, location, location. The resort has the sugar white sandy beach right outside its door. The emerald green waters of the Gulf of Mexico are just 40 feet from your room. The pier is just a 3-minute walk along the beach. There's not much at the resort in terms of amenities, other than its outdoor pool and hot tub, which overlook the Gulf. But our family really didn't need on-site amenties, since we spent most of our time at the beach, shopping or checking out the nearby attractions. Restaurants, stores and Winn-Dixie supermarket are across the street. Resort staff members are extremely helpful and friendly. This resort is good for couples, seniors or families. It's a nice, small, quaint resort surrounded by skyscraper resorts right next door. Panama City beach is undergoing a huge economic boom with new airport, new condo, and Pier Park shopping mall construction (Target, Old Navy, Starbucks, Ron Jon). Panama City Resort & Club, with the beach right at its doorstep, is an oasis of tranquility.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerauntnoonie1
LocationPhenix City, AL
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2001
Location, location, location
Date:March 19, 2008
Best things about resortLocation. Office personnel are best I've ever dealt with. Near Pier Park complex, everything you could want is right on Front Beach Road along with the resort but many thru streets to Middle and Back Beach Roads to avoid the traffic. Pool and hottub overlooking the Gulf is wonderful. Views of sunset, moon and stars are wonderful. Clean, comfortable. Books on loan to read in the office and free wi-fi or those who can't do without their computer.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPanama City isn't that big a place so everything is nearby. Super-Wal-Mart right on Front Beach Road and with all the new building has every kind of eating place, clubs galore, and entertainment.
Review4 floors, one down from parking lot to the beach and pool and some rooms, and 2 up to other floors but NO ELEVATOR which is a problem getting luggage, groceries, etc to the rooms. Accomodations facing beach are nice but don't take units facing parking lot, there are 4, and the 2 I've been in smell musty and moldy and tortured my allergies even with my air purifier; no view except the parking lot and no balcony or any area to be outside attached to the units. Washer and dryer on site but not in units. Kitchens are adequate. 1 TV in studio, 2 in 1BR units. No activities planned by resort but who cares since more than enough to do. Area restaurants are plentiful and have great food.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerilovevacation
Locationromulus, mi
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1998
Beautiful beach - quiet location
Date:April 18, 2008
Best things about resortQuiet, even during spring break season. We had families with small children and older couples here.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGulf world, Zoo world, & Captian Andersons - fishing & restaurant.
ReviewWe had a studio with a walk out at the beach level on the back side, very quiet. Very clean studio with a beautiful view. Dolphins greated us upon arrival, playing in the surf just a short way out. The sun set was great. A very welcome site after our long drive. We had called for a late arrival due to traffic, Steve was just leaving at 5:05 when we arrived & opened for us to check in, he was very helpful & courteous. We also met Patrick, the maintenance man for the resort, while he was fishing down the beach a short way. He was also helpful in suggesting a few places to eat. I mentiond the misquitoes outside our unit & lack of a fly swatter, he dilivered us a fly swatter the next day he worked. Peir park (huge mall area) is opening slowly & was half open when we were there. Parking will definately be a problem there, with only half of the stores open there weren't any parking places the night we went, had to drive around looking for one. Zoo world & gulf world are both well worth the price, we visit zoos every where we go & they have some animals we'd not seen before. Went fishing with Capt Anderson for half day, very affordable. Even encountered dolphins on our way back in, the best we'd seen even on dolphin cruises we paid for!! I'm all for 2 for the price of 1!! Capt Anderson restaurant at the marina is awsome!
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerMinicooper1
LocationWisconsin
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2006
Small but cozy even in a Studio
Date:October 1, 2009
Best things about resortQuit even during Spring Break, close to shopping and places to eat. Right on the beach all units faced the beach.We had a studio and it was big enough for 2 even tho we wanted a bigger unit it was ok. Supplied well.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGulf World, Parks, alot of good places to eat
ReviewThis resort was very nice for a smaller condo complex. The pool and hot tub were nice even tho we did not to use them because of the cold weather when we were there. Its an older complex but everything we needed was supplied. The staff was very friendly and there was a room to use if we wanted to use a computer. Parking was right out front of complex. Even during Spring Break it was very quiet as the college kids didn't come down that far on the beach. All units faced the Gulf and we had a balcony to sit on or stand on to look out. There is nothing like a sunset over the Gulf. Could use some updating but still nice.
Review 6 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerBrookster
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2005
Never again
Date:April 14, 2010
ReviewThe unit smelled musty. Sand throughout the unit including the bed and sofa to the extent we didn't feel like we could sit or sleep on anything. The carpet was also stained. The refrigerator was missing a shelf and also carried a smell. The sheets on the bed had stains. No water pressure. Management was rude and harassing. I would never stay at this dump again.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerraye
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2001
Robbed
Date:January 22, 2012
Best things about resortLove the access to grocery store, shopping and dining
ReviewBeach was hard to walk on as it slopes so much. Worse thing that happened we were robbed. Did not miss the money until we were up the road the next day and went to get it out to buy fruit and it was gone--$200.00. Credit cards there and small bills but the tucked away money where you do not look everyday ---gone. Tried to report and not even a follow up phone call. Love to go back BUT
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerHarryfromBoston
LocationMA
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1981
Wonderful Resort
Date:April 2, 2012
Best things about resortThe beach and easy access to shopping. Grocery store was very close, and did I mention the beach?
ReviewI have been an RCI member for over 25 years and have stayed in a few converted motels from St. George, Utah to Ormond Beach, Florida. None has been particularly satisfactory. However, Panama City Beach Resort is the exception! The studio unit was clean, new, bright, well appointed and has a great view. The size is adequate for two people but would be a tight with four on a rainy week. The amenities are fine, but keep in mind the main attraction is the beach, which is gorgeous. If you are not beach people than you might want to go somewhere else. The pool is heated and not small like some resorts. The hot tub and the pool overlook the ocean. There are new washer and dryers on each floor and they cost nothing to use, the front desk does sell detergent.
The linens and bedding were spotless. We found the bed to be comfortable.
The check in was painless. However, if your name is not on the reservation/exchange you will not be allowed to check in without a guest certificate from RCI. The resort is very rigid, and rightfully so, about this requirement.
The front desk seems adverse to making recommendations for places to eat or area attractions. They usually answer with a non-committal “I’ve not heard anything about the dolphin watch, or I’ve never eaten at that restaurant”. However, the locals are much more forth coming with recommendations. A trip to the visitor center is well worth the effort. It is located south one half mile from the resort. Within a half mile north of the resort is the “pier” which has many small, local shops and chain restaurants. There is a full-scale shopping center behind the local shops and all are within walking distance of the resort.
Previous reviews about how bad the resort is are way out of date. They have almost finished a complete renovation. All studio units face the ocean. Some one-bedroom units face the ocean while others face the parking lot. One-bedroom units have a dishwasher and the studio units do not. How many dishes do you use on a vacation?
Our week here was fabulous and we would recommend this resort. We plan to return.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerconzuks
LocationSpringfield, MA
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2008
This is basically a dumpy motel
Date:April 25, 2012
Best things about resortGood location is about the only good thing I can say about this so called "resort"
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPier and shopping mall are nearby, Also the Gulf World Aquarium.
ReviewThis building is old and not up to the standards of other RCI properties. The balconies are filthy, dingy, and unsightly with rusty hooks that no one would want to hang anything on. The furniture in this unit was ugly and low quality. Again not up to the standards I expect from a RCI property. This was the smallest pool area and hot tub I have ever seen in any resort. The hot tub, small and uninviting did not have a flat bottom on which to rest your feet. The beach area also small taken up by a huge pipe in the ground. In all of Pamama City Beach this was the ugliest beach to sit on because of that drain pipe. The lawn and BBQ area should be replaced with more pool decking area. This property should be removed from the RCI directory. If I knew that my points would be traded for this kind of place I would have never joined RCI. Worst place I ever stayed at.
Review 10 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerSteve03222
LocationNew Hampshire
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2002
Great resort, Awesome location
Date:April 28, 2012
Best things about resortRight on the beach, Updated units, very well kept up
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe beach, the beach, the beach. Also everything is so close by.
ReviewClosest resort to the beach. Small friendly resort. They were always working around the grounds keeping everything in great shape. Units appear to have been recently updated. Fantastic view of the gulf and the sunsets. Quiet resort, yet there are many places to shop and eat very close by, less than 1/2 mile away.
Would visit again.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewersursum1
LocationHuntsville, Al
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2002
Friendly and Cozy Resort
Date:December 18, 2012
Best things about resortThe location is perfect and the beach is beautiful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNear Pier Park which is a great outdoor mall with local shops and chains as well as a movie theater, food court, and chain restaurants. Enjoyed Sandbar (good food, reasonable prices, not fancy) and Dusty's (food great but it is a bar).
ReviewWe have stayed here before and will do so again. It is a small very friendly resort. No activities but we don't want to do anything but go to the beach, pool, and restaurants anyway. Our unit was scheduled for rennovation next month so it was old and outdated (large studio). Looked at some of the rennovated units and they look nice and large for one bedroom units. Beach is beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. The pool is heated and was nice in December. Gail (in the office) is very nice. They have a Saturday morning breakfast where you can meet others and learn about the restaurants and attractions. They do not try to sell you anything unless you ask about units for sell. We hung out at the pool and visited with the folks we had met at the breakfast and discussed where to eat. I really hate to give such a good review because it is hard to get a week here as it is and good reviews make it harder! However, there are some bad reviews on this listing and I wanted people to know that it is a very comfortable place to stay but it is not fancy and not much for kids to do but my husband and I enjoy staying here.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerdonnanwill
LocationWake Forest, NC
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1983
On the beach, can't be beat!
Date:January 28, 2013
Best things about resortParking 50 feet from our door! In location that allowed short walk to a range of restaurants & 15 minute walk to a huge Mall Complex with about a hundred businesses.
Best attractions or restaurants nearby15 minute walk to at least 25 restaurants & less than 200 yards to a McDonalds & THai & Sushi & BBQ.
ReviewWe loved the central location on a smaller place that was so close to everything, plus right on the powder sand beach. Also a 15 minute walk to the Fishing Pier which was across the street from the huge MALL with a wide variety of restaurants & shops of all kinds, including Dillards, Target as examples. Was nice and quiet with a good sized gathering room at the office, with coffee in the mornings & a planned Saturday morning Breakfast get together to meet other visitors & trade area info.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panama City Resort & Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewergrammadidi
Locationmaine
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2009
"minor" constrution
Date:March 3, 2013
Best things about resortEasy beach location. We were on the first floor which is actually on the beach. Leave your shoes on the patio and hit the beach. It was too cold for us to use the pool, but some kids looked to be having a good time all day!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe mall is fascinating. Easy to get to. Easily within walking distance. There was such a large variety of restaurants. There were movie theatres and an IMAX theatre. And there was even a church service there, although unfortunately I did not see it advertised anywhere.
ReviewWhen you think you might chance a resort with possible "minor" construction--think twice. The "minor" construction at this resort involved nail gun/air hose, power saw, and heavy banging starting at 8 AM on Monday and scheduled to last the whole week! We chose to leave after a couple of hours on Monday rather than to change units as, since this is a small resort, it would never have been quiet. I have learned my lesson--go to another resort when ANY construction is suggested. Our first 2 days there, however, were quite nice although the weather was less than ideal.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.