Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

Shanty Creek Lodges (#5021)

Each unit at Shanty Creek Lodges is air- conditioned and has a fireplace and a television. Some units also have a whirlpool tub. 1BR units OCC: Max 4/Pri 4 have 1 bath, 1 king bed and 1 sleep sofa. 1BR units witha loft OCC: Max 8/Pri 6 have 2 baths, 1 king bed, 2 double beds and 1 sleep sofa. 2BR units OCC: Max 6/Pri 4 or 2BR OCC: Max6/Pri 6 have 1 3/4 baths, 1 queen bed, 1 king bed and a sleep sofa. Pets are not allowed. Snow skis can be rented through the resort. To enjoy the area fully, a car is recommended although a shuttle service is availble from the lodge.Resort has 3 levels and no elevator. Please contact the resort for current prices of special seasonal amenities packages. Laundry facilities are availableon-site during the summer months only. Although on-site, the beach is 3 miles from other resort amenities and most units. A shuttle is available from the lodge. For more area information contact the office Mon.-Sat. at Ext. 3650.
Average Member Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 16(88%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Shanty Creek Lodges
Review 1 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerTraveller31
LocationDetroit MI
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2010
Great Skiing, Average Lodging
Date:January 5, 2011
Best things about resortSchuss Mountain skiing, grocery store nearby. Signs everywhere, easy access
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyIvan's @ Schuss for casual dining. Schuss mountain for skiing
ReviewShanty Creek has 2 mountains, Summit and Schuss. Summit's hills are not family-friendly, but Schuss is a wonderful place for skiiers of all levels. Lifts are easily accessable from parking lot if you drive, or shuttle drops you off right at the base of the mountain.
No complaints about the activities at all.
The condos are outdated and could use some renovations. The fireplace is a nice additive with a woodpile outside at your disposal. Carpet is old, appliances are new. Resort told us it was Ski-in and out, but this was not the case. One bedroom units are quite large and have a galley kitchen with a bar and stools, as well as a table and chairs. Building has 3 levels of units. Ours was a lower unit and was dangerous @ night because of lack of light on the 3 levels of deck. Not good if you are arriving at night and trying to unpack. One nice thing about these units is that they are rather secluded, and it was very quiet at night. No partiers around. VIews are beautiful. Nice grounds for walking, but be cautious of icy conditions.
Unit did not have a hair dryer, nor a pair of scissors ( which would have been handy to take off the lift tickets for the next day), so bring your own!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerCristiana
LocationMichigan
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1995
Beautiful resort in a serene location
Date:June 14, 2009
Best things about resortThe food and service at the restaurant. Also the location and easy access to trails and beach.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe newly renovated restaurant and hotel on site.
ReviewWe are returning for the third time to this resort, it is one of our favorite vacation destinations, although we do not own a unit. We had a one bedroom apartment which has a living room with balcony overlooking the golf course and pool area. The resort is very nice, clean, well maintained and they leave plenty of linens on hand. The first few days it was raining but this did not bother us as we had to do some work anyway. We spent quite some time in the hotel lounge, which has high speed internet connection, nice atmosphere and very comfortable sitting. The staff at the hotel and restaurant was extremely friendly and helpful.
We ate almost every day at the restaurant, fantastic food and reasonable priced for the quality. The brunch on Sundays offers many delicious selections. We are having a hard time readjusting to the regular food.
Traverse City area is very nice and with plenty of activities. We did not have time to rent a boat but we'll plan this for the next visit. We visited Sleeping Bear Dunes, make sure you stop at Site #9, it has the best view. We also hiked on trails at ths Schuss mountain nearby. We had a great time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerTOSKIING
LocationToronto, Ontario
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2007
Pleased with our Stay at Shanty
Date:March 26, 2009
Best things about resortThe staff was helpful and friendly around the whole resort. The skiing was amazing and they had some great ski deals when we were there for Canadian March Break.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTraverse City is about 45 minutes away for shopping. Bellaire is a cute little town but not much to do. Glen's Grocery Store in town had everything you needed.
ReviewWe stayed with our two young children, age 5 and 7 at Shanty for the Canadian March Break. The resort had three different locations so you should know that you need to go to the SUMMIT resort to check in. We had no problems checking in or not. Service was fast and there was no extra charges or fees. We were in a 1 Bedroom Unit which was a good size and had a beautiful sunset view. The units are outdated but comfortable. Could have been a bit cleaner too, the furiture was a bit dusty. The gym is small but had enough equipment to do a workout. The indoor pools were just like hotel pools, nothing special but the outdoor heated year round pool was fun to swim in March! Our kids did the ski school and had a great instructor and really ejoyed their first time on skiis. The Lodge had Summit has some nice affortable food with a nice view. We went there a couple times in the evening to hang out in the lounge. Ivans at Schuss was decent, just bar type food.
Overall, we were pleased with our trip to Shanty and look forward to returing again one day.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerflygrl
LocationChicago IL
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2006
Beautiful Scenery, Nice Resort
Date:October 14, 2008
Best things about resortShanty Creek Lodges is centrally located in one of the most scenic parts of the Midwest. There are great sunset views of Lake Bellaire. It is a quiet and peaceful place, perfect for relaxation. I'm not a golfer but golf courses abound.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOf course, head into Traverse City for activities but the best part of the area is the Leelanau Peninsula with it's great wineries and scenery. Also worth a look is the Old Mission Peninsula with many other wineries, including the excellent Brys Estate Winery. You are about 2 hours from Mackinac Island which is a must see with it's beautiful Victorian buildings like the Grand Hotel .Only bikes, horse and buggy are allowed to travel the island roads.
ReviewOur trip to Shanty Creek was in mid September and while the trees were just starting to change colors the weather was warm and beautiful. We took our bikes and did lots of cycling on the Leelanau and Old Mission Peninsulas and also on Mackinac Island. The cycling was great but beware that at the resort the terrain is very hilly(after all it is a ski resort in winter) so if you're not into burning lungs and legs head for the roads around Lake Bellaire, Torch Lake and the Peninsulas.
The condo was clean, comfortable and adequate for our stay. They are slightly dated but fine. The Lakeview Restaurant at the resort is a must for a sunset dinner or drinks. Expect to do lots of driving because the resort is 45 minutes from Traverse City. Bellaire itself is cute and small. Try Short's Brewing Company in Bellaire for good beer and live music. Also good dining is to be had at Riverwalk Grille in Elk Rapids and the Bluebird in Leland. There is a good grocery store available near the resort.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerwheniwasyoung
LocationGo Blue
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2006
Member Since2000
Cozy & Comfortable
Date:January 18, 2008
Best things about resortTorch Lake Tavern. Michigan's wine region. Two beautiful lakes
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyClose to Bellaire Lake with private beach. With-in 1 hour of all the best of Northern Michigan.
ReviewOne Bedroom unit was very small for what we are used to. Clean but could use a little update. Views from our unit and staff really made the week. Met some very nice people that we hung out with several times. Bellaire Lake was perfect and the private beach was very impressive. Staff was very friendly at the resort but at the beach they were kind of rude, Just a bunch of kids so no big deal. Our neighbor brought his boat and that really made the trip. You can spend hours between Bellaire Lake and Torch Lake and never get tired of it. Torch Lake is so beautiful that is was ranked one of the ten most beautiful lakes in the world by National Geographic’s. Michigan's wine region is only a short drive away and makes a great day trip. The Legend Golf Course Designed by Arnold Palmer was a little pricey for the condition of the couse but played well. Clubhouse offered very nice meals. Try to get a two bedroom but you will enjoy the one bedroom if only two people are traveling.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerCaptainJudge
LocationToronto, Ontario
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2010
Beautiful Location
Date:March 28, 2011
Best things about resortthe location. Nestled in the hills and the views are lovely. Very peaceful. The staff are excellent. It was quiet and serene.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBellaire is a quaint little town. Travel into Traverse for more choices. We liked the Bellaire town, and MOKA cafe for a fabulous espresso.
ReviewWe stayed in the Crosswinds Unit 927. It was a very spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom, with jacuzzi tub and fireplace. There were 6 logs left for us to burn. The unit was clean and there were plenty of dishes/pots. We did have to call the front desk to ask for a hairdryer, as we thought it was included. No problem with the resort sending it out ASAP. There were no scissors, so our swiss army knife came in handy! The ski lifts had just closed the day we arrived, and although there was snow, Shanty did not open. We headed north to Boyne Mountain to ski.
The resort was very peaceful. We headed to Schuss Mountain to see the Truck Climb the mountain, which was very interesting to watch...if only they could start up those ski lifts as well!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerBommer
LocationColumbus, OH
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1993
Nice Resort. Good Location. Beautiful Area.
Date:September 21, 2010
Best things about resortThe Units were large and had a nice balcony with great view of Lake Bellaire and the Wood burning Fireplace was nice to have. Firewood was also supplied. Near stores, gas and restaurants.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMOKA was a great little spot for any casaul meal, snack or desert. LuLu's was more upscale and had wonderful food. Toonies was friendly and had good homecooking. Nearby town of Alden was nice to walk around in also. Nice boutique there...45th Parallel.
ReviewShanty Creek is in a nice location and it is easy to get to other towns. We didn't golf so we took day trips each and got back in time for dinner in Bellaire early each evening.
Must see: Charlevoix. Petosky. Glen Arbor. Sleeping Bear Dunes Scenic Drive and Traverse City and beyond to Northpoint. I would skip Cheboygan and Mackinaw City next time. And we did go over the bridge to Mackinaw Island but found the town disappointing, Tshirts and fudge everywhere. The hotel is beautiful and the old fort and the woods there are interesting.
You have to see Lake Michigan to believe the color. It was very sad to see so many "For Sale" signs on so many homes though. Many wonderful lakes and cabins in the entire NW area. Will go back again.
Review 8 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewermart
Locationpinestead reef, traverse city, MI
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1986
Grungy
Date:July 31, 2011
Best things about resortBeautiful location, many outdoor activities, championship golf on site, many places to visit, northern michigan is beautiful
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBellaire, Alden, Traverse City, this is a great place for golf, at the resort and nearby. great water sports, boating, etc.
ReviewThis should have been a great place, the location, although a bit remote, and the street signs in the area are horrible... the place it a pretty location.
the unit we were in had 20-30 year old furniture that reeked of sweat and stale smell. i couldn't sit on the couch or chair until covered with a bedspread. yuk, we stayed only two nights and moved because i could not stand the oder. really the furniture was disgusting. i have been all over the world, even the middle east didn't smell this bad. if you have lived in a flop house in ann arbor or east lansing with a old rained on couch on your porch, and like it, you will feel at home. never again!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjsmona
LocationMichigan
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Family ski vacation
Date:April 7, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review1 bedroom with loft/2 bathroom unit was located in the Ridgewalk section of Summit Village. Unit had kitchen, living area, master bedroom and bathroom on first floor with a second bedroom, loft area, and bathroom on the second floor. Unit was close to the Summit Hotel which had a restaurant, spa, pool, and the smaller of the 2 ski mountains. Schuss Mountain was a 5-10 minute drive but shuttles were also available. Spa service was wonderful. Unit was clean and a good size for a family. Nice balcony with views of Lake Bellaire. Fireplace with wood provided. Will definitely return for a winter or summer vacation!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerPaPa6880
LocationBrooklyn, MI
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1990
Be cautious of the season
Date:April 11, 2010
Best things about resortVery clean and large rooms
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe on site shops were closed for the season (spring break) Petosky and Charlevois had nice shops and walkways alo9ng the lake.
ReviewBe cautious! We took the grandkids becase of the advertised indoor/outdoor pool. Ski season is over. Upon arrival we found the pool was closed for the week for maintenance and cleaning. No ativities for the kids was offered. Only a list of pools in other locations off the premises that we could pay for. We wasted a week from the bank. We ended up drining a few hours for the kids to see other parts of the state. I would NOT recommend this facility for a spring break with the kids.
Review 11 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerhavafitz
LocationMuskegon, MI
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Nice View
Date:March 7, 2008
Best things about resortNice view of the lake. Excellent snow tube run!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyExcellent snow tube run. Excellent hot wings at Ivans.
ReviewThe resort is spred out over a large area. The desk staff do not seem to know much about RCI reservations. Since the resort is spread out you need to drive or shuttle. A lot of activities are limited during the week. No night skiiing or use of outdoor pool. Excellent snow tube run! Overall it is a nice resort. I would recommend it.
Review 12 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerYoBaby
LocationHilton Head
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Best Michigan Vacation
Date:September 25, 2008
Best things about resortBeach and view and restaurant and service was the best - check-in was so painless!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGo to the jerky place in downtown Bellaire. Toony's was very good place to eat.
ReviewI almost don't want to write a review and have more people find out about this place. The Summit Private beach was amazing, all the amenities were great at the condo and the beach, clean and comfortable and the view was fantastic. The main restaurant was awesome as well. A great place to go with the family.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerrhetorCopenhagen
LocationMichigan
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1988
Beautiful view of Lake Bellaire and fall colors
Date:December 28, 2007
Best things about resortCozy (but not small) and comfy with a king bed in the large bedroom and a pullout sofa in front of a wood-burning fireplace in the living room. The views from the unit are spectacular and there is an indoor pool and dining and entertainment at the Summit Lodge which is within walking distance.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTraverse City is about twenty-five minutes away and you'll pass a casino along the way. The quaint town of Bellaire is a few miles away and we enjoyed the Towne Pub and Short's Brewing Co. The Dockside on the shore of Torch Lake (about 15 minutes away) is a favorite casual restaurant. Pearl's in Elk Rapids is worth the 25 minute drive if you like Cajun food. Finally, T-Bones on M-88 is a great place for steaks.
ReviewThis a a great spot for a relaxing or romantic getaway. It offers the best of Northern Michigan. Fine dining, great gold, swimming, boating and great scenery. This resort is attractive and well maintained.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerlouiseann
LocationCalifornia
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2005
Beautiful Location
Date:September 9, 2013
Best things about resortCentral location to Michigan attractions. The grounds and views from our condo were beautiful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe restaurant at the hotel was great. Shorts Brewery in Bellaire has a great selection of beers and good sandwiches. Both Torch Lake and Bellaire Lake are beautiful. Also Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes and the Mackinaw Bridge. Traverse City is also worth a visit.
ReviewWe really enjoyed our stay. We had a one bedroom, two bathroom condo with a loft that was very clean and comfortable. Took day trips to the dunes and the bridge. We will definitely be back.
Review 15 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewertroymi
LocationTroy, Mi
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1988
Great Views
Date:September 21, 2010
Best things about resortThe view from the unit goes on for miles and miles. This gives great sunsets, stary night skys and the chance to see white tail deer or wild turkeys. We don't play golf or ski but there are plenty of opportunities for both either on-site or nearby off-site.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThis is a laid back area of Michigan that can't help but relax you. Try Mrs. Pete’s or Toonies in Bellaire for breakfast. Poppycock’s in Traverse City for lunch. Lots of antique shops around Traverse City Charlevoix and Petoskey. See Lake Michigan from the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park or the State Park beach in Traverse City or the beach in Petoskey.
ReviewWell maintained units with some stairs outside leading to the units. Plenty of parking. Indoor pool in another building. No internet in the units.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shanty Creek Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMICandTOAJ
LocationChicago, IL
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2005
Clean air and scenic drives
Date:November 13, 2007
Best things about resortThe cabin we stayed in was immaculate. Outside our back door was a picture perfect forest. We went in the fall and the colors were impressive to say the least.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe drove another hour to Macnaw Island
Reviewlarge, clean, well maintained cabins. One of the nicest timeshares we have stayed at in the US.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.