Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

Ka'anapali Beach Club (#4985)

Your air-conditioned unit features a spacious lanai, an entertainment center with a large screen TV, stereo, VCP, in addition to a 20" TV in the master bed- room. Each unit has a partial-kitchen which consists of a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and a microwave. 1BR units OCC: Max 4/Pri 4 have 1 bath, a king bed and sleep sofa or a double bed and sleep sofa. A car is recommended to fully enjoy the area. The resort provides one mid-week cleaning. Additional maid service is available for a fee. TIMESHARE UNITS ARE NOT OCEAN VIEW. Fees are as follows: -US$10.00 per night parking fee and this fee will increase to US$12.00 1/1/2006. -US$200 credit card imprint or cash deposit required at check-in. -US$.85 per local call from unit. -Approximately US$30 per unit STATE MANDATED TRANSIENT ACCOMMODATIONS TAX. -Effective 11/1/2005, US$12.00 daily charge per adult (13 years and over) US$6.00 daily charge per child (6 yrs to 12 years) Complimentary (5 years and younger) For more detail call the resort. Resort Website: www.mauiembassy.com
Average Member Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 39(92%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Review 21 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAlohaBobby
LocationNew York, NY
Member Since1974
Formerly Embassy Suites Maui
Date:October 11, 2007
Best things about resortWell-maintained Gold Crown, location is in a quiet area, north of Kahana. Have not seen the waterfalls operate or cascade down on sides of bldg since it was called the Embassy Suites - Maui and painted all pink. Structure is nice, similar to a pyramid shape.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyEnjoyed walking to the strip mall across the street. After dark, wear mosquito repellent, as they do bite! Location is great!
ReviewWe stayed in the one-bdrm on the 3rd fl, had a sideways view of the ocean & beach off the balcony. Only wished this resort had a washer/dryer in each unit. There is a W/D on every other floor that is coin-op. The parking fee $12 a day is steep. Maid service once a wk is sufficient. Really felt high-pressured when attended the time-share sales presentation. Probably would have purchased if there was a much-appreciated w/d in each unit itself. Nice large kitchen & marble/granite in bathroom. The closet door separated the bdrm & bathroom; had a slider as a walk-thru, like a dual access to retrieve or hang your clothes. Liked the Beach, great to get Hawaiian suntans! Pretty tropical outdoor lobby w/parrots to see; Alex the Amazon parrot talks! Highly recommended. Aloha!
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMarried30Years
LocationCameron Park, CA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1996
No regrets!
Date:August 10, 2010
Best things about resortGreat views of the ocean, nice pool for both adults and kids, and very large and well appointed rooms. There is a great pizza place and full grocery store across the street.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyHula Grill is a must for visual people like me, and for those on a budget that don't mind eating with paper plates and plastic forks...go to Aloha Mixed Plate. Take the Hula Girl sailing vessel just up the beach from the hotel. Summit to Seas Biking trip at dawn was unforgettable, but bring Dramamine for those with car sickness, as it's a long ride.
ReviewThe Good: The hotel, its surroundings and all amenities were well beyond my expectations. I know I can be very picky, so for me to give such positive feedback is huge! It was our first trip to Hawaii and we thought we might be too critical of this place, but much to our surprise, we were not. Do not bulk up on Costco unless your feeding a very large family. With the grocery store across the street, you will not be far should you choose to cook. PS. They have skillets in every room, so a quick breakfast of eggs, bacon and french toast is very easy. Also, blenders are also under the sink, so pick up your favorite mix.
The Bad: Food and Drinks are very pricey at the hotel, but there is a burger hut at the pool area which is reasonably priced. Another bad: The place is Pepto Bismol Pink. UGH!
Aloha!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerRJWoo
LocationSpring Branch, TX
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2006
Great Location right on the beach!
Date:September 5, 2012
Best things about resortThe rooms were very nice. We had an Oceanview newly renovated room on the 10th floor. The view from balcony was breathtaking. Huge bathroom, 2 sinks, sunken garden tub, and large shower. Furniture was nice and also newly renovated with 50 inch flat screen tv. We rented movies near lobby in machine. Kitchen was nice. We cooked breakfast on hot plate, used toaster, there was a blender for making drinks, and we ate out for dinner usually on strip right outside resort or in Lahaina. Also large refrigerator. Restaurants at resort were ok, but pricey for what was being served. Get out and enjoy the scenery and eat out on town.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAlex Air Helicopter Ride, Sunset Dinner Cruise, Maui Ocean Center Aquarium, Drums of the Pacific Luau at Hyatt Hotel, Sightseeing along Front Street and just walking along side walks near resort. Lots to see and buy along the walk. There's a Subway across street along with ice cream parlor, pizza shop, and grocery store called Times. Be sure to get few groceries there to have in room for snack time.
ReviewMaui was absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend that you book all of your attractions with the Concierge at the resort right after you check in. They will book all of your events for you and give you an itinerary so that you know what you're doing each day. You pay at that time and just take receipts when you go to attraction. Check out the 90 min. timeshare presentation, you don't have to buy anything, but will drastically cut costs on other attractions. Be sure to leave some time for yourself to enjoy the resort, pool, hot tub, mini golf, and beach. Oh and Rent a Car! Much easier to get around without paying outrageous taxi fees. There is underground parking at resort and you just pull up and let them valet park you. We only used a tank of gas and filled it up on way back to airport for check-in.
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerLadnek
LocationOttawa, Ontario
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2007
Great location, good value
Date:February 12, 2013
Best things about resortLarge rooms, mostly ocean view rooms, very friendly professional staff, great beach, lots of lounge chairs
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyFront St, Whalers Village, Dukes restaurant, boardwalk along the beach
ReviewThis hard to miss flamingo coloured resort is quite large. It has an abundance of open areas both inside and out so crowding is pretty much non-existant. Even poolside / beachside there seems to be more real estate and lounge chairs than guests. The staff is very polite, accomodating and professional. The 1 bdrm suites are quite big (I estimate close to 1000 sq ft) with very spacious bathrooms and bedrooms. The living, dining, kitchenette is open and well equipped. Our unit showed some age with older furniture, cabinets and carpet but the resort is rumoured to be getting a facelift one floor at a time. While the kitchenettes lack any kind of stove or oven, the gas grills by the beach provide a pleasant social atmosphere. This resort is more than adequate now and I imagine it will be top shelf if the renovations turn out.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerroguetucker1
LocationWilmington, MA
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2004
Magical Resort
Date:April 11, 2010
Best things about resortLandscaping and fish ponds were outstanding. Unique building design. Large unit. Love the exotic birds.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDay at the island of Lanai, Day at the island of Molokai, macadamian nut tour on the island of Molokai, the amazing native island woman, Auntie Snooky, on Molokai who wrote a short story in a book and signed my copy, the history of the island of Lanai from a wonderful native woman named Mapuana, the catamaran sail, the aquarium (outstanding), the luau, the play on the history of the hawaiian culture, the sunsets, the resort's pool and beach. The best moment was a piece of dead reef weighing about 3 pounds jumping at the shore trying to get our attention on the last night of our stay. Not being able to ignore it anymore, we retrieved it to discover that it was shaped like a baby seal sleeping. We, as well as some locals, interpreted it as a gift from the islands.
ReviewThis resort is very tastefully decorated. The resort truly tries to accommodate you at every turn. We ate at both the lunch bar and the restaurant. The food was fine. We loved the tent and chairs you can rent on the beach. The lighting of the tiki lights at night is a great touch to the flavor of the islands. We enjoyed the open-air movie and the live entertainment on the weekend at the outdoor restaurant. I liked the safe in the room. The bathroom was amazing. It was large, had two sinks, large shower area and a separate area for the toilet with a door. The kitchen was fine but would have preferred a stove. You are provided with a bagel toaster and other small appliances. The lanai is large enough. We were on the 12th floor with a partial view of the ocean. It was windy at times, but quite nice. A great place to see paradise.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewersnowdr
LocationNorth Dakota
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2002
Awesome Family Trip
Date:December 5, 2007
Best things about resortClean, family oriented resort. Friendly, helpful and a safe environment. Underground parking free to owners - $12 otherwise. Onsite restaurant and BBQ's available.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyExpensive but yummy breakfast buffet, Warren and Annabelle magic Show a must (over 21 though), hard Rock Cafe, Bubba Gumps, and some really upscale places to eat as well. Great shopping.
ReviewThis was our thrid trip back to this resort since 2001. Once as a couple, once with 2 kids (2003) and now this time with all 4 kids and my mom. We had two rooms next to each other on the 8th floor. Awesome views of the ocean. Free scuba lessons in the pool, large 1 acre pool due to be remodeled in the near future. After our initial stay we became owners. The name has changed as well as some things have changed - some better - some not. The only complaints I have are the steep breakfast prices, no washer/dryer handy (every other floor as well as Ice every other floor) and lastly units do not have full kitchens. With 4 kids - that would have been a better option than spending $72 a day for us to eat breakfast. Overall a very nice place - granite, marble, tile, huge rooms with king beds. Kids didn't mind sleeping on the sofa sleepers. HUGE bathroom - two sinks, seperate toilet closet. Right next to the beach.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerDragonfly54
LocationCranbrook, B.C.
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2014
Member Since1999
Beautiful resort
Date:March 28, 2014
Best things about resortWe loved the excellent service from check in to valet service. These people work really hard and love their jobs! The beach was spectacular and the views from the lanai were awesome! The Wednesday night Seafood Buffet is worth the price. It was nice to have the choice to cook or eat at the lounge/restaurant. The pool was very spacious and we even enjoyed the hot tub when the rain came.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWhaler's Village is great for shopping and there are great restaurants right on Ka'anapali Beach. Lahaina is another great place to visit, factory outlets if you like shopping, the Banyan Tree, and great restaurants.
ReviewThe only negative thing was the timeshare presentation. Only attend if you really are interested in purchasing as it is high pressure and not worth the perks they offer. They will not take no for an answer and will offer you many incentives. I can find more interesting things that I could be doing than wasting 3 hours sitting. We were called the week before we left to come to Maui by a woman who said she was with pre-check in. As it turned out she just wanted us to book a time-share presentation. I found this high pressure. That was the only thing that was negative. The resort is beautiful and we would stay there again. The staff is excellent, it is great for families, couples, and anyone who wants to spent a little bit of time in paradise!
The rooms are spacious, lovely king beds, large bathrooms, only recommendation is hot plates as the cooking is limited in your room. We would recommend this resort to our family and friends.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerAnonymous
LocationIndianapolis, IN
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1997
Loved it here - best vacation!
Date:January 29, 2012
Best things about resortThe location-conveniently located, on the beach, the resort amenities, the large rooms, nice staff, everything!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMaui Adventures whale watching, this has only 30 people on a pontoon raft, very smooth ride - up close view of the whales was awesome - they're very concerned with everyone getting to see the whales and having a good experience. Duke's restaurant. Ohana bar and grill - very good and so convenient. Maui Pizza - extremely good pizza!
ReviewWe commented to each other several times that this was our best vacation yet (over 20 years). We loved the relaxed atmosphere - sitting on the lounges watching whales - it doesn't get any better.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The concierge was extremely helpful setting up our activities, all very good and at a discounted price. We were too busy with outside activities to participate in the resort activities, the dive in movie at the pool looked fun, we may try that out next time.
The unit is very beautiful and spacious. The location is very convenient to Lahaina.
It was just my husband and I, so we can't really comment as to the family friendliness, although we did see the several activities for children.
The $25 per day room charge for the internet and parking was a surprise. The internet service was rather slow, but ok. Another surprise was the internet/printing fee to print our boarding passes.
Overall, loved it and will be coming back - bought a unit here!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewernelsenxc
LocationRedmond, WA
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2005
Great Resort on the beach...sound proofing?
Date:June 7, 2008
Best things about resortIts right on the beach, great pool/sun bathing area.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWhalers Village/Downtown Lahaina
ReviewGreat view of the ocean.
The fridge while not quite full sized is larger than your standard mini-fridge, with separate fridge and freezer.
The $13/day parking was a bit of a surprise, but that's probably my fault for not reading the resort info completely. While I wasn't thrilled paying for parking this is not out of line for the area as you will likely pay for parking everywhere you go.
The units are not particularly sound proof, and with tile hallways outside you can hear service carts and luggage being rolled at all hours of the day. As long as other guest are respectful and not making noise during sleeping hours this is not a deal breaker, however excited kids running around in the halls and on the floor above at early morning hours can easily wake those that have already adjusted to island time.
Pool side drink service was very friendly, however not as many waiters around as often as I would have liked. Pool side bar had mediocre food and service was slow and unfriendly.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerPAJFamily
LocationAtlanta
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2010
Good resort
Date:September 20, 2012
Best things about resortSpacious, resort is on the beach, kiddie pool with small slide
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWhalers Village (shopping mall) with 3 great restaurants Grocery store in walking distance about 2 blocks Black Rock Cliff Diving Ceremony
ReviewAll in all, KBC was great. Our room was a 1bed room suite. Both rooms had large TVs with HDMI connections. The living room had a stereo and DVD player. The Kitchen have fridge, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee pot, BUT doesn't have a stove, but they provided an electric griddle.
We stayed for a week and KBC only cleans once for a week stay. There was a $25 per day fee that covered parking and a few other things that we didn't use.
The one complaint that I had was that the carpet and couch looked a little worn and could go for replacing.
I gave the resort 3 ratings because I could not really comment on those, we didn't take advantage of them.
If you are like us, our check out was early and our flight was late in the day. Consider going to Paia, it is a great little town 15 minutes away from the Kahului airport. It is filled with great restaurants, artisan and clothing stores. The majority of the clothes, artwork and jewelry were all made by the locals. We racked up on really great items.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerMomsy11
LocationPrince Edward Island, Canada
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2009
Great resort in nice location
Date:April 22, 2012
Best things about resortThere is ample underground parking, large pool and a really big unit with livingroom, small kitchen, bedroom and large bathroom with two sinks. Building is pink so easy to spot. We were in ocean and pool view unit 702. Furniture and carpet need to be replaced. Rent a car. We used Alamo - easy pickup. Did not ask for upgrade but we got one.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBlue Hawaiian Helicopter , Valley Isle Excursions Road to Hana, Maui Princess Sunset Cruise, Kula Botanical Gardens, Cool Cats, Hula Grill, Plantation Golf Course Restaurant, Sea House, Bubba Gump, Azise Day Spa at resort, Ulalena Hawaiian Show, Maui Ocean Centre Aquarium, Lahaina Banyan Tree
ReviewMaui has much to offer. Be sure and take the timeshare presentation 90 minutes at the resort. You will be entitled to purchase excursions with deep discounts. Be sure and take parking slip to be validated by stores in Lahina. There is a $25 per day parking and internet charge at the resort. There is a washer and dryer on the floor. You can take an hr ukulele lesson at the resort for $5. There is mini putt. DO NOT take your rental car on Road to Hana - many sharp turns and crazy drivers. Upcountry is a beautiful drive. Stop at Maui Tropical Plantation tram ride $15, They have great sticky bbq ribs! Walk through a lava tube. Walk around Lahaina. Get a box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts. Kupanaha Magic show and dinner. Visit Whalers Village. Pick up brochures for discount coupons.
The highlight of our trip was the one hr flight over Maui in a Blue Hawaiian Eco-Star helicopter. They produce a DVD of your actual flight including pilot and passenger conversations. Cost $25. The flowering shrubs along the highway are breathtaking.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewermana
LocationSeattle
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Well Maintained Property
Date:October 13, 2008
Best things about resortCleanliness and spacious rooms. Nice pool and grounds. Responsive staff.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe did a couple commercial type excursions which were okay but on our second trip to Maui we'll be more selective. We liked Lahaina which had many restaurants and shops. We also enjoyed driving NE on Hwy 30 past Kaanapali to Napili Bay where we had a delish affordable breakfast at the Sea House Restaurant. The restaurant was on the beach which was nestled within a cove and provided a tranquil atmosphere. A little farther NE on Hwy 30 we relaxed at DT Flemming Beach which was rated one of the best beaches in 2006 . We continued our trek NE to Honolua Bay (a marine life conservation area) where we spent a fun couple hours snorkeling with an array of tropical fish and turtles. It took about 25 minutes to get there from the resort. Another drive we enjoyed was the Road to Hana. For us, it was worth the 8 hours of twists and turns (roundtrip which included many stops) because of the lush tropical feel and stunning scenery. The waterfalls and foliage is beautiful and the black sand beach with sea caves and lava tubes at Wainapanapa State Park is amazing. On our way back from Hana we stopped for dinner at Mama's Fish House Restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed a gourmet meal, however it was pricey.
ReviewWe liked the open air design of this resort and its well maintained grounds and waterfalls. The pool was large and the kid’s pool had a nice slide. The beach area was also nice but the surf (in Oct) may be too much for children.
Our room had a wrap-around lanai so we had spectacular ocean, shoreline, and mountain views. The room was spacious, very clean, nicely furnished, and the bed was very comfortable . The kitchen was a bit small with granite counters. It had a small refrigerator/freezer (but big enough), a dishwasher and microwave, and was equipped with all the essentials needed except for a stove. The bathroom was quite large with a separate tub, shower, and lavatory.
The resort's breakfast buffet was good but expensive. The outdoor bar/restaurant's food was mediocre. It had a nice view of the ocean and pool but the server's lacked polish. We also wish the resort had more evening music (maybe because it was October).
Our closing opinion...we enjoyed the spacious room, comfort, and cleanliness of this resort . We would definitely return.
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewercruiser9999
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Resort has seen better days
Date:February 10, 2012
Best things about resortResort is on the beach and within walking distance to Whaler's Village along the board walk.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWhaler's Village shopping centre as well as old Lahaina (lots to see and do).
ReviewAs RCI exchangers we had a low level unit looking out onto the road and distant sewage treatment plant (which could be smelled some days). We were told that RCI exchangers only get these type units - the ocean view and ocean front are given to Diamond Club Members.
Our unit was in dire need of renovation - the carpet was filthy (you didn't want to walk on it barefoot) and the living room couch was old, lumpy and not inviting to sit on. The shower had black mold around the edges where the wall met the shower floor. I don't think that it had ever been renovated. On the positive side the bedding and towels were first rate as were the dishes and cuttlery.
There is a $25/day resort fee (parking and in-room wired internet which is incredibly slow). The ceiling in the public areas is in dire need of washing and cleaning (it is literally black in spots where it used to be white). The pool chairs are old and the cushions very faded. I don't think that they have been replaced for many years. The pool itself was nice as was the poolside barservice and the onsite bar / restaurant. All staff were friendly and helpful.
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewershakeandbake
LocationDayton, OH
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2010
Nice resort in a great location
Date:July 28, 2011
Best things about resortRight on the beach. Very close to the ocean. The pools are great! Dive-in movies (Outdoor movies for kids at the pool). Friday BBQ at the pool. Luau on the property. Whale watching from your lanai. Salon and massages on property.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyZiplining within 20 minutes of property. Scuba training and diving right on the property. 10 min from Lahaina - where you can catch all types of excursions, restaurants & shopping. Great golf courses close by, including Kapalua.
ReviewThis is a great place to stay! The complex is very open and inviting. The staff is very attentive and strive to make sure you have a great time. The pools are great! They have a huge main pool, a kid's pool with a slide and a waterfall pool. Also a nice hot tub.
Beginner scuba class, where you train in the pool then go straight out into the ocean for a dive with giant sea turtles and other marine life! Did my first dive here. This time we ziplined on the Kaanapali zipline, which was great! And, we didn't have to spend all day because it was close to the resort. They have Dive-in movie nights where they show outdoor family movies at the pool. Their kid's activity center has bowling, ping pong, WII, mini-golf and all kinds of board games you can take to your room, lei making, face painting, etc. The kid's won't be bored!
They have grills where you don't have to eat out every night. They have a pizza shop on property. We ate at Duke's a few times, a restaurant you can walk to down the beach. It was great! Had dinner and breakfast there.
Also, a great Friday BBQ lunch party with discounted food and games for adults and kids. Also, have a Luau on the property if you've never attended one. Very clean! You are always seeing someone cleaning or trimming, etc. Durng whale season, you can see the whales from your lanai!! Overall, a great place to enjoy Maui!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewer2snowbirdwannabes
LocationBattleford Saskatchewan Canada
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2014
Member Since2007
Pros outweigh cons
Date:February 4, 2014
Best things about resortLocation, location, location..extremely friendly and accommodating staff..beach is beautiful although not ideal unless you're an advanced swimmer it's great forwave and whale watching..there's a dangerous riptide at this location but the pool and grounds are well designed and maintained..BBQ area is very accessible and meticulously maintained..a real social centre at times too
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAll you need..lots of eating options and a full service ( reasonably priced grocery store in easy walking distance ..they offer a wide range of prepared deli meals too but its agood idea to have or buy carry bags cause paper bags don't hold up for long especially if Its raining..it's close to but not directly connected to the lovely kaanapali beachwalk so access can be awkward if you have any mobility issues..
ReviewThis is an old converted hotel so we really missed not having a stove and/or even a cooktop and oot or kettle...not everyone drinks coffee and something as simple as boiling water for tea or pasta was really missed..shared laundry is available but only one washer per floor in this large facility meant you had to get creative or competitive to access it..apparently units are being refurbished starting on the top floors and down but trading in almost guarantees you their least preferred rooms..ours was old very damp and musty smelling and facing the parking entrance and bus stop..disappointing because we requested and expected better but so does everyone, someone's getting the dud..we did but didn't let it define our experience...it's dark early so no one has a view for long anyway...however, the units are large with nice big bath and showers and a comfy bed in a quiet area so really? we didnt come with plans to sit in a suite anyway..wedid use a lot of febreeze and open doors when in the unit tho..consignieur services are onsite but they will really push certain companies ( which aren't always the best tour options so do your homework)and instantky oush discounts by agreeing to meet with their sales reps ( pretty aggressiveactually) so be ready or go elsewhere..nice big decks, well furnished but with a corner unit we shared space with a neighbour.tthis would be great if they were friends or friendly but ours were neither so it could be awkward..overall, the public areas are really nice and tho the units did come up short we wouldn't hesitate to return (just bring a small hotplate and pot)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerhookedonholidays
LocationLethbridge, Ab.
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1993
Definately Gold Crown
Date:February 12, 2011
Best things about resortAwesome grounds and pool area, right on the beach. Large rooms, especially the bathroom that allows you both to get ready at the same time. Ohana Bar & Grill. We were fortunate to be upgraded to an Ocean View but I would guess that 80 % ot the rooms have Ocean View. Friendly staff but we never had a problem so really didn't test them ...
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyKa'anapali Beach, Whalers Village, Front Street in Lahaina, Duke's Restaurant at Honua Kai practically next door. ( we walked ). At Front Street in Lahaina ( about 5 miles ) we also like Kimo's and Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Also a Hard Rock Cafe there.
ReviewThis is a great place to relax. Usually I like to get out and explore on vacation, but I was so comfortable here that I didn't want to leave. Buffet breakfast was open until 10:00 AM at $15.00 each for all you could eat, but some days we just went down to the little cafe by the pool and had coffee & pastries ( huge & delicious ) for $ 7.00 total. We also found the Ohana Bar & Grill by the pool quite reasonable, especially if you were eating off the lunch time menu. Parking was $ 16.00/day but very accessible underground parking & we didn't mind a bit. We used the valet on check-in but just parked ourselves after that. Very easy. Our 1 bedroom unit was beautiful with full bath including two sinks, Large bedroom and 2 large flat screen TV sets. The full kitchen didn't include a stove but we don't like to cook at home so do even less on vacation. They do have pretty much anything else you need to have meals in the room though. We waited until the next week when we were in Kihei to explore. If you're in to that then Ha'leakala Crater is well worth the drive but take gravol if you're sensitive to winding roads. Also the Hana highway but that pretty much requires a full day. We also took the ferry to Lana'i. If you're going to beach it on Lana'i take everything you need with you. Hulopo'e Beach is beautiful ( about a 10 minute walk from the ferry ) but they don't provide chairs, umbrella's or anything unless you're staying at the Four Season's resort right there. Check it out though, it's a beautiful resort. We took the shuttle up to Lana'i City. Kind of an interesting place. They'll drop you off and pick you up at the town square which is a touristy place with lots of shops and 2 or 3 restaurants.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerVACATIONHAPPYFAMILY
LocationSan Diego, CA
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2009
Best Choice For RCI Exchange
Date:November 2, 2013
Best things about resortThe BEST resort as far as things to do for families. The check in staff was very helpful and i even had to use maintenance and housekeeping and were treated as if we were owners and not just RCI exchange owners. Beach, Pools, Shopping!!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe resort is a good 45 minutes from the airport. I suggest getting all of your groceries at the Times market across the street. Delicious Pizza/Italian/Gelato restaurant worth every penny! There is also a subway and a very "interesting" restaurant called Slappy Cakes where you cook your own pancakes at your table! Front Street Lahaina just a short drive and Kapalua golf resort is also home to the best brunch on the island at Pineapple Grill.
ReviewI have so much to say but want to let you know that we definitely didn't get to pack this trip so we plan to make a vacation to Maui at least every other year!!!
We were lucky enough to be able to use all our points and got 5 one bedrooms units on the 12th floor. I am a platinum points member and were were able to get all ocean view units.
We had 10 adults and 8 children ages 2-15! First "full family" vacation.
All of the units were updated. All had air-conditioning and ceiling fans and gorgeous views. The kitchens were fully stock. The unit did not have a stove or oven but it did come with an electric skillet. (note to self, the microwave has a fan so turn it one when cooking) i found out the hard way. i was cooking on the counter instead of under the microwave and had all the windows closed and made the smoke detectors go off!! maintenance was there immediately to assist! we opened all the doors and fans and was able to clear the smoke:) That week we were there they made it a point to do small fire drills per floor to make sure smoke detectors worked:) I love how they cared for our safety. The daily resort fee of $25 included parking, valet, wifi, and laundry detergent.
The pools were always clean and so relaxing. We always had a spot to sit. We were able to watch football downstairs at the bar and it was really nice to go there and have a drink during happy hour. The grill was open and had decent food.
The beach had a lot of rocks... It was nice but there are so many other beaches that won't cut your feet:)
Boogie Boarding (for the strong swimmers) at DT Fleming Beach - they have lifeguards but the kids LOVED it.
Wailea Beach - White Sandy Soft Beach
Front Street Lahaina really good shopping:)
Enjoy! I can't wait to come back
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerFlyingKangaroo
LocationSydney
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1988
A Great Family Holiday
Date:February 3, 2010
Best things about resortBeautiful grounds, right on the beach, Humpback whales dancing just offshore
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLahaina for Museums and shopping. Snorkelling at Ahihi Bay, Hana, biking down from the summit of Haleakala
ReviewMy family stayed here on our way back to Australia after a year's teacher exchange in central Canada. This was our first time at a beach for more than a year (a very long time for most Aussies). We happened to be in Maui in January when Humpback whales are frolicking just offshore. The sight of these giants breaching was what greeted us when we stepped off the little turboprop that dropped us at Kapalua (the small airport only a short distance from the resort).
This is an interesting resort. The rooms are all located on the outside, with a big hollow atrium in the middle. You get used to the dusty pink colour scheme very quickly. The day we arrived, the bellhops just stood around and watched as we unloaded, checked in and took our bags up to our room. Likewise, the check-in staff were pretty average. Not rude, but not friendly or helpful. By the end of the week, there were different staff, and they were great.
The room itself was beautifully fitted out., and with the balcony doors open very light and airy. We were in a single bedroom apartment, so the boys had to sleep on a fold-out sofa, but it was large and comfortable.
Restaurant was great for a full cooked breakfast. For dinner we ate out or cooked for ourselves. There is supermarket (and some non-resort restaurants within easy walking distance) A free happy hour is put on by the resort with MaiTais and nibbles for the adults, and soft drink for the kids.
There are open air markets and museums in Lahaina that are worth a look. Scuba and snorkelling gear is available for rental from here as well. You can rent for a hours or days and take it anywhere on the island.
If you have a rental car think about a trip to Hana. The road is fairly narrow and twisty with a lot of single lane bridges. The American tourists we met seemed to think we were very brave for attempting such a trip. We even saw "I survived the Road to Hana" tee-shirts!. I only wish all Australian roads were as good as that one... Hana itself is a pleasant little spot with an amazing red and black sand beach. You reach it by going to the end of Uakea rd, walking through the grounds of the Hana Youth Center and Luana Spa Retreat, then following the cliff around to the left. After 5 minutes walk you’ll find yourself in a small sheltered cove with a line of jagged lava teeth across it's mouth. The swell and currents are pretty strong, so it's not for the faint hearted. It also appears that clothing may be optional at this beach. (also not for the faint-hearted)
Our other major activity while in Maui was a trip to the top of Haleakala. This involved getting up at 2 AM to drive to the other end of the island, then being taken by bus to the summit of the volcano. After watching the sun rise, you are given a bike for an unguided ride to the sea. You drop 10,000 feet in 27 miles, through spectacular scenery, and the bikes are well equipped. You can (and we did) stop at a restaurant half way down for breakfast.
I highly recommend this activity, this resort, and the island of Maui as a holiday destination.
Note to Aussies: Generally, Hawaiian beaches are not comparable to Australian beaches. Do not come here expecting miles of fine white sand, or you will be disappointed. These are very young volcanic islands, and the sand hasn't really had a chance to be ground down yet. On Maui it was about the size of rock salt or coffee sugar. Buried in the sand you will often find sharp volcanic rock, so be very careful body-surfing or you'll tear yourself to shreds. Come here expecting a young rugged island with a friendly laid-back lifestyle and you'll have a ball. We did.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Ka'anapali Beach Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTexasBunch
LocationCypress, Texas
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2001
Top Notch Resort in Excellent Location
Date:July 10, 2011
Best things about resortSpacious rooms, beautiful huge pool with waterfall slide, great beach with equipment rental, convenient to shopping and restaurants, very family friendly, comprehensive breakfast, lunch and dinner menus
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyFull grocery store right across the street, many restaurants and shops within walking distance or a short drive, close to Whaler's Village (5 minutes), Lahaina town ( 10 minutes) and Maleaa harbor (30 minutes)- where most snorkel tours leave from.
ReviewWe just returned from a wonderful week in Maui at the Kaanapali Beach Club. Our family of 4 really enjoyed ourselves and took full advantage of everything Maui has to offer. The resort is absolutely beautiful, with an open air lobby with colorful foliage, koi pond and waterfalls. It is located right on Kaanapali beach, and the water and sand are absolutely gorgeous! The staff are very helpful and welcoming. Check-in and check-out were very quick and easy. Beach towel cards are provided for each person and just have to be turned in at check out. Parking is $16/day, but it is nice to have the valet get your car and park it for you whenever you leave the resort. There are ice and vending machines on each floor and washers/dryers on every other floor- bring quarters! Gift shop is also nice and has pretty much everything if you are in a pinch. There are many daily activities planned out for younger kids, such as koi (fish) feeding, lei making, craft/art time as well as a mini golf course, mini bowling lanes and XBox/Wii, ping pong and air hockey, for a small fee. The schedule is given out for the week when you check in. There is live Hawaiian music every night at the outside bar/grille restaurant. Rooms are huge, especially the bathroom- 2 sinks, a bathtub and a shower. Plentiful supply of towels, with maid service mid-week. One pouch of coffee, as well as several dishwasher detergents and liquid soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower get and lotion are provided. The bed is very comfortable- the sleeper sofa, not so bad- you can request a foam mattress for no charge that helps. Two large flat panel TV's and two balcony sliding doors- one in the living room area and the other from the bedroom. Two large dressers with 6 drawers each and a large closet with sliding doors that open from both the bedroom and bathroom. There is a small safe in the room. No oven, but microwave, dishwasher, electric skillet, dishes and full fridge. Grocery store (Times) across the street has everything you might need for drinks, snacks, etc. The poolside bar/restaurant is good as is the little deli area that has coffee, pastries, smoothies, etc. There is Maui Pizza there also that makes homemade oven-style pizza that is very good. Breakfast buffet is open until 10 each morning for $15 per person. The onsite "nice" restaurant- Kahani Grill- is only open Sat, Sun and Mon and is fairly expensive. Be prepared for the food/drinks to be pricey, but it is Hawaii. Happy hour is every day from 3-6 and island drinks are $5 ( regular $9) and appetizers are $2.50 ( wings, slice of pizza, chips and salsa, etc.). Plenty of chairs and umbrellas around pool. You can rent 2-person cabanas or 4-person gazebos all day on the edge of the pool/overlooking the beach for $60. We did this on our last full day and just relaxed. The beach is beautiful, and it is fun to rent boogie boards as the waves are pretty good size there. We did several tours while on Maui- Road to Hana with a custom guide- saw 4 waterfalls, bamboo forest, black sand beach- it was awesome but is a full day. Quicksilver snorkeling tour to Molokini and Turtle Town was excellent- wonderful, helpful crew for those both experienced and first-time snorkelers. Boat was very clean, continental breakfast and nice lunch provided. We saw many colorful fish and 9-10 sea turtles up close! We went to the luau that is put on by the resort on Wednesday nights only- Feast by the Sea. Very good performance and food was good- it is right on the beach which is beautiful at sunset. We also went to the dinner/magic show Kupehana at the nearby Kaanapali Beach Hotel in Whaler's Village. We won one free ticket at the island orientation raffle, so we decided to go. Dinner was pretty good and the magic show was very entertaining. Go to the island orientation that first morning you are there- they give away raffle prizes and since there were only two families there, we each one one- the dinner/magic show and a dinner cruise. They also offer discounts on many tours/excursions and book them for you. We did not do the tour/drive to Haleakala crater, but heard positive reviews from others- another full day. We also didn't do the timeshare presentation- they wanted to know why and I simply told them we already owned two and didn't want to waste our vacation time. I didn't hear from them again. However, if you do go, you get half price off luau tickets that is worth about $140. The short drive to Whaler's Village and Lahaina town is worth it- there are many quaint shops/boutiques as well as a variety of restaurants- Duke's, Leilana's on the Beach, Hula Grill, Kimo's are all very good. Surfing lessons are also available in Lahaina. It takes about an hour to get to the airport and the drive along the coast line is absolutely breathtaking. Overall, we had a wonderful time. Maui is a beautiful island with very friendly people. This is a high quality resort, and one of the best I have stayed at with RCI and I am rather picky when it comes to accomodations! I would definitely return here if we are lucky enough to get an exchange again. Aloha!
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
21-39 of 39