Resort Reviews

Moon Palace-All Inclusive (#4227)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/4227')"> Moon Palace-All Inclusive (#4227)

The Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort Experience starts with our incredible location on the beaches of Cancun, off the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea, just ten minutes from the Cancun International Airport. The Moon Palace in Cancun offers wonderful rooms in the extensive Sunrise section with fun activities and pools around every corner. Your room at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort will take your breath away. As if you had your own spa, you will be fascinated to enjoy a double Jacuzzi®, 24 hrs room service, the luxurious decor, including marble bathroom with glass shower area and the cool breeze on your private balcony.
Average Member Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
40 of 46(87%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Review 21 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjollyg
LocationAmesbury, MA
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2005
service is # 1
Date:February 22, 2009
Best things about resortthe friendlyness and service of the staff and the people here is by far the best. We also favored all the conecting pools and swim up bar.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyI was completly blown away by chitzen itza. My 13 year old son thought it was really cool too.
ReviewThis is a large resort that catered to every whim and fancy you could imagine. The main building wes spectacular, all the tour guides were well informed and down right funny, The only draw back is that every included tour also included a sales pitch of some sort. finally don't plan on swimming at this beach, however the pools make up for that loss.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer1266marie
LocationVancouver
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
A Grand Resort Indeed
Date:December 31, 2008
Best things about resortWe stayed at the Moon Grand section and it was oh so grand. The rooms are quite luxurious with comfortable beds on the balconies...imagine that!!! As usual with Palace Resorts, the staff are nothing short of amazing. The pools are fabulous and restaurants out of this world. Can you ask for anything more? We couldn't.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe took a taxi (shuttle reaches it's 25 person max quickly) to Cancun and did a little shopping and then walked over to the Beach Palace and then along the beach over to the Cancun Palace. Cool to check out the other resorts...stay at one and play at all of them!
ReviewOverall, another fantastic Christmas vacation with Palace Resorts as we stayed at Cozumel Palace for 2 weeks last Christmas (hard to beat). Our only criticism of Moon would be that we couldn't get away from the techno music they insist on blasting at all the pools and even on the speakers attached to the Grand building. This of course means that you can't lay in those amazing beds on the balconies without having to listen to techno...crazy!! So, either bring your ear plugs or have alot of golden margaritas and the techno seems to fade then. Otherwise, it's an awesome place and we highly recommend the Moon Palace.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerYeldur
LocationRensselaer, NY
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2004
OUTSTANDING!!!
Date:December 1, 2008
Best things about resortEverything - cleanliness, food, people, spa, activities, we take at least 4 weeks of vacation a year and this was by far the best vacation we have ever had
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere are 13 restaurants on site, our favorites were the Italian one at the Golf Club, the Mexican one in Nizuk and the Italian one in Nizuk. The activities offered were fun and there were many varieties - all ages were catered to.
ReviewOur rooms were in the Golf Club Villas. At first we thought that that would be too far away from everything, but it wasn't. They provided us with a golf cart and the rooms were absolutely wonderful, and nicely appointed. Our daily and evening chambermaids were absolutely wonderful. The rooms were always spotless and tidied up. Speaking of spotless, there were a lot of people at the resort but there was never a ladies room that I went into that either had a line or was not absolutely spotless and fresh smelling. You don't even find that at Disney.
Every single person that works there by the end of the week makes you feel like they belong in you family. They absolutely cater to your every need, without you asking. I never once heard a no - whether it be a special wine, liquor, drink food - all you heard was yes, we can do it!
There is absolutely NOTHING I could complain about. The pools were awesome and nicely placed - you could go and relax near quiet ones or be in the middle of the action. They encourage you to paricipate in many activities but you don't have to if you don't want to. We never had any down time because we chose not to. Transportation to and from was seamless. That also held true for any tours, you were informed as to what was going to happen, when you would be picked up etc., and you were.
For check out - they even take the initiative to call you - to make sure everything is all set, check-out, bellhop etc. They think of things before you do -
The food in each and every restaurant was great - you could have a simple hamburger or a gourmet Italian dinner - your choice - no reservations needed, no stress.
There was also a sense of family between the people that worked there - you constantly saw them helping eachother with the customers. At this resort - the customer was heads and tails at the top of the heap - they were number one.
I saw comments about the ocean - they had many opportunities to go out to the reef to go snorkeling - that's where the nice fish are anyways. They were constantly raking the beach of seaweed. There were many people swimming in the ocean while we were there. The resort can't help where the seaweed lands. It wasn't dirty as described in anoher review, it was merely seaweed. I found the location to actually be more attractive than up on the main drag where it was all concrete. This was paradise.
We look forward to many more visits to Palace properties if they are all like this one.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewersejsm
Locationcollegeville pa
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Loved our visit
Date:November 30, 2008
Best things about resortpools, tours, staff, entertainment,restaurant choices, water sports
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLoved The Jungle Tour and Paradise Snorkeling tours
ReviewOur family has visited Moon Palace the summer of 2007 as well as this past August. We have three teenagers 12-20 and all three love Moon Palace. The accommodations are wonderful - we stayed in the Presidential Suite this last year as we became members the previous summer. There are many tours to choose from and we loved taking the shuttle to Cancun Palace to visit their beach. Although the beach is not what I would consider usable at Moon, there is so much else to do and the pool are fabulous. There are many to choose from since the resort is so large. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and wanted to stay a second week!
Review 25 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerSweetlover
Locationlong island, ny
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1995
Amazing
Date:November 4, 2008
Best things about resortThis resort is truly amazing. It has everything that you would want for either a family or romantic vacation. Everyone is so nice and treats you with complete respect and wonderful service. The resort is huge and absolutely beautiful. I have been to many places before but never seen anything this good.
ReviewThe worst part about the resort is the ocean water. The water in the hotel zone is beautiful and crystal clear but by the moon palace it isn't that great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewersatisfied
LocationLondon, England
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1996
Best holiday we have ever had
Date:June 7, 2008
Best things about resortStaff were excellent, rooms were great, entertainment staff were very friendly and great at their job, food was superb
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWater sports on site, golf and spa was great, favourite restaurant on site was the italian at nizuc
ReviewAfter reading some of the reviews and comments from other guests who have visited the Moon Palace we did not know what to expect, we was somewhat surprised about previous comments as we could not fault this resort at all. When we arrived we had no trouble checking in, we were placed in the Moon Grand section of the resport and can only describe the units as pure luxury. We had a unit which slept 4 as we had our 2 children with us aged 14 and 10 who particularly enjoyed the giant jacuzzi in our room! The kids had a great time joining in all the activities with the excellent entertainment team who were very friendly, you didn't have to join in if you did'nt want to but as we are quite an active family we did join in everything! (had to do something to work off all those extra pounds from the great food on offer!) The choice of food and drink was excellent along with the service from the bar staff and restaurant waiters, nothing was too much trouble. The facilities at the resort were very clean and well maintained and the "buggy drivers" were great, always there waiting to drop you off where you wanted to go. This really is a 24hr all inclusive resort. We would definitely return to Moon Palace, we had a great time and the kids made lots of new friends from all over. I think the previous reviews made were by very unfortunate people as all the people we met were more than satisfied with Moon Palace.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerrtbabe26
LocationBellingham, WA
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2005
More than I expected!
Date:April 15, 2008
Best things about resortAll the many types of restaurants and excursions available. All you can drink!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWet n wild and being able to visit the other sister palace resorts on the main strip.
ReviewI was a little skeptical about going to Moon palace after reading some reviews about the beach and how far it is from the hotel zone. Boy was I wrong! It exceeded my expectations and was truly like a palace! It was so nice and paradise like. Sure the water wasn't like the hotel zone, but the beach was bigger and wider than theirs. The seaweed that washed up was quickly scooped up. I always saw them working on it. The sand is just as nice under your feet. Plus they had lots of lounge chairs and bars right on the sand. They provide a free shuttle into the hotel zone in about 15 minutes, twice a day & you can use the sister resorts all inclusive too! They own the Wet n Wild waterpark so you can visit that as much as you want as part of the all inclusive. Staff was awesome. Definitely would go back. My favorite was Cancun palace to visit just for the beach access. We stayed on the Grand Moon side (aka Nizuc side) which was recently built and the room was beyond gorgeous!! Marble everywhere, wet bar, hot tub in room, flat screen t.v. and a great balcony. I was so shocked at how grand this place was, lots of pools and a mini golf course (lots of fun). We didn't bring our kid but I noticed they had a kids place and a kid pool with a kids water park like area. This place is so big but so much to do and see I didn't miss not being in the hotel zone. They had golf carts running you around so you didn't have to walk everywhere. The entertainment was ok. We didn't take in as much during the day as we were out snorkeling a lot! The nightly entertainment was good, they also have a night club and a casino on site. They have 12 restaurants with so much to choose from. We ate at a different one every night and still didn't eat at them all! Since it is an all inclusive you can drink all you want (soda, water, juice, alcohol), well worth it and so convenient. Less hassle to find a place to eat. Just a great place to vacation with our without kids. We saw a lot of families there too. Cant say enough about the place and we are picky about our amenities.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerFreespirit
LocationSalisbury, MD
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2001
Nice Resort, Disappointing Rooms and Beach
Date:March 9, 2008
Best things about resortPool with Swim up Bar is Great!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyXel-ha
ReviewLet me start by saying the Pool and swim up bar is great! They actually have one of the pool side huts that serve lunch had great grouper, the guacamole was also great but other than that there food was mediocre at best, but more on the poor side, the drinks are all really watered down but they cool you off. When I think of Cancun I think of beautiful beaches, this is the worst beach I have ever seen! It is nothing but seaweed! Totally gross! There is no snorkeling possibilities here and no aquamarine water, more like nasty green till you get past the resorts water. Also DON'T waste your money on the Isla Marj.... tour, I think they take you to the worst part of the Isle so that you think all the beaches are nasty here, they take you to the seaweed side! I took this same tour with another resort and it was beautiful, not the same place the Moon Palace takes you.
The rooms are unbelievable and I don't mean that in a good way, we were there for a convention and we were dressing up a few times, well, I was on the first floor and it rained while we were there. The floors are marble and very slippy, because we drowned in the room! Our clothes got soaking wet because the water just poured into the closet! It also rolled in waves under the door! We couldn't keep dry, our shoes were ruined because the water was in deep pools in the room and on the walkway. Everything is a very long walk which was a problem because I had my mom with me and she couldn't walk far. The staff was GREAT! They through us loads of towels to try and soak up the flood in our room but it didn't help our soaked clothes. When we would call for a shuttle for my mom they took over a half an hour to get there so we would start walking and she would have to stop and rest frequently but if the staff saw her they always picked her up for me. It's a very large resort and everything is very spread out which means your walking miles a day! I would not recommend this for anyone with health problems or walking problems. We had asked for a closer room but the front desk didn't seem to care.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerSunshine1101
LocationHallandale Beach, FL
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1987
Nice Resort
Date:March 2, 2008
Best things about resortCaribbean restaurant and overall service.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyChichen Itza
ReviewMoon Palace Review:
Upon arrival at the airport, we were picked up as expected and transported to the hotel. The check in at Nizuc was a little confusing, we walked into the lobby and there were lines everywhere at the front desk. It wasn’t clear whether this was just check-out or also check-in. It turned out that check in was down the hall, so we wasted a little time there.
At the check-in area we were greeted with beverages and snacks, it went smoothly. Our rooms were not ready yet because it was still noon, so we went to have lunch.
Accomodations:
We were given rooms in the new section, Moon Grand. This section is still under construction. There are several finished building, 2 beautiful infinity pools with bars, and a Caribbean restaurant nearby. This area is more quiet and peaceful, we loved it. No activities at the pool just rest and relaxation. The pools in this area have extremely comfortable bed like lounges but not much shade in these areas. It was sunny and in the mid 80’s all week, a little hotter than I had anticipated.
Our room was brand new. It was huge with a big balcony (not much of a view). The room is very tastefully decorated, it had a great king size bed with big pillows, flat screen TV, (no DVD or CD player), mini bar, large Jacuzzi in a step down section, beautiful bathroom with double sinks. The toilet room which closes off from the main bath was too small, the door could barely close without hitting the toilet. The shower was very nice. The bathroom comes with toiletries, blow dryer, a round magnifying mirror on a swing arm. Iron and ironing board also included in room, as well as, a safe for valuables.
The Moon Grande section is off the beaten path, so we had to take golf cart shuttles to go everywhere, not too bad though. We liked being away from everything.
Amenities:
The beach had very nice palapas to escape the sun, but the beach itself was mediocre: it had a lot of seaweed and they can’t keep up with cleaning it. It was a long beach so we could walk a long way, it stretched the whole length of the resort which is extremely large. The resort has the Nizuc section, Sunrise section, Golf section, and the new Moon Grand section. The Nizuc and Sunrise sections are very lively, the pools are packed with people, activities all the time, and very noisy. I suppose kids would enjoy this area.
The resort has miniature golf, spa, gym with steam and sauna, several restaurants including some buffets and some ala carte. We tried the Trattoria restaurant at the golf resort part which was supposed to be good, we waited 2 hrs (none of the restaurants take reservations), the food was HORRIBLE. Don’t bother. We tried the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants (both a la carte), also a long wait to get in, they were OK. The best one with the best fish menu was the Caribbean restaurant which also happened to be closest to our units. So after a few tries at other places we just started eating all our meals at this one restaurant which had great food and great service. If you are a wine enthusiast, the selection is lame. We were never able to get 2 bottles of the same wine in one seating. The servers had no clue about the wines available, they would say it was Chilean wine and bring you Mexican?
The nightly entertainment could use a lot of improvement.
Useful Info:
We prepaid our all inclusive so we got the passport tour package. Note NOT to pay anything including your all inclusive fee with AMEX because AMEX requires the biller to charge in pesos and therefore will charge you a foreign exchange fee. I was told that if you pay with MC or Visa you get charged directly in dollars. I was annoyed I was not told this ahead of time and it cost me and extra $150 for 2 units.
Tours:
We went to Chichen Itza and Isla Mujeres. The first one was very good, the second was a waste of time. Both tours leave early 7AM, the Chichen Itza is good but exhausting: 2.5 hr ride each way, you stop at a Mayan village for some shopping then go to the ruins, on the way back you stop for lunch (beverages not included) at a Mexican restaurant for a buffet lunch. The Isla Mujeres tour was a waste, they take you by boat to the Isla Mujeres Palace for a few hours, the beach is lousy, food is mediocre, resort is small. Later you go to downtown for shopping, basically silver and other jewelry.
We wanted to do the snorkeling tour in the Passport but the water was rough most of the week since it was very windy. The Passport also includes a day at Wet & Wild, and a trip to the “jungle”. It was a good value for a freebie.
Overall the resort was very nice and the service was very good. We had a good time but I don’t need to run back anytime soon. I don’t think I would have liked being located in the Nizuc or Sunrise resorts, it would have been too loud and crowded for us. We were there President’s week, and it was probably their busiest week of the year but the service was still very good.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerStinky
LocationMilwaukee WI
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2007
Not the best week to go
Date:February 28, 2008
Best things about resortpool wait staff, bartenders and most waiters pools
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyStayed at resort and became lounge lizards for the week.
ReviewWe were here during President's week and found out that the East Coast schools were on break, so there were alot of families. The resort was 90% booked which left a few things to be desired. Twice we went to a steak resturant (pool and steak house) and they had run out of certain types of steaks. Had similiar issues thru out the week. I put the blame on management for not being prepared for the week and running out of things at the end of the week. Food was not up to their usual standards either.
The real kicker was when were were ready to leave. The bell captain called the night before to set up a time to come and get our luggage. We set a time, made sure we were in our room for the pick-up and waited 45 minutes and 2 phone calls later before we took the bags down ourselves, and checked out. My husband dealt with the bell captain, so I don't know if there was a reason, except that they were busy.
All in all, when the resort is not 90% filled the service can be exceptional. Last January my daughter was married at the resort and they did a wonderful job and it was her dream come true, but the resort was not as busy. We are owners and I guess it upset me more to have this type of service.
We will come back to the Moon again, but at a less busier time and when schools are in session.
Just a note...even though they says tips are included, tips are greatly appreciated!
The Spa and golf are great, try them both!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerIndianaHawkeye
LocationSouth Bend, Indiana
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2002
I Love this place
Date:February 25, 2008
Best things about resortThe best Ice cream in the whole world. Great food, wonderful pools, outstanding service.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAlthough there are lots of snorkling choices, I thought the Jungle Tour was the best.
ReviewThis was my 3rd stay here in less then 3 years time. First I would like to say that unlike the Timeshare sells in the United States, if you listen to sells pitch it is not a hard sell, they were very polite and did not try to force the sale. Food is outstanding, only bad thing is I find myself eating too much. The golf course is also very nice, but very tough. There is no comparison between the palace resorts and the resorts I have stayed at in the United States, you can not get this good of care in the United States. Last, they have a great spa and include massages in your stay !!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewertravelingqueen
LocationEscalon CA
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2003
Everything in one place
Date:February 14, 2008
Best things about resortservice and food
Best attractions or restaurants nearbythe pool
ReviewI've stayed here 6 different times. I've also stayed at the Sun Palace and Aventura Palace all of which are part of the Palace Resort chain. I can't say enough great things about these resorts. The Moon Palace was repaired in under 3 months after Wilma (10/05) went thru Cancun. I was there shortly before and again shortly after. The only obvious signs were newly planted palm trees and a lot of refurbished rooms (new bedding, furniture, TV's etc).
The food has always been fabulous, especially the grilled to order grouper. The service is spectacular. The tours have always been fun. The all inclusive is a bit pricey and you could probably eat for less on your own. However the food is of good quality and worth it since when you're out on the Mayan Riviera a cab ride can get expensive since everything is far away. The all inclusive is mandatory but includes more than just food.
The activities around the pool are fun and the entertainment is also excellent. Free WiFi available thru out the property makes doing business easy, also. I definately would recommend this property. We've travelled with family, friends, different ages, different occassions and different seasons. The service and food remains pretty much the same whether the hotel is at 50% or 100% occupancy.I've stayed here when the hotel has been at it's max (probably over 5000 people) I've never waited more than 10 minutes for a table. Thanks to the 10+ restaurants to pick from, plus 24 hour room service. This is a very large property and if what you like is quaint boutique style hotels this is definately not the place for you. But if you like upscale accomodations and everything in one place
you'll have a great time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerfisherman26
LocationEngland
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2006
Fantastic Resort
Date:February 6, 2008
Best things about resortAccommodation Friendly staff maid service Food
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDon't need to go anywhere else to eat. Best attractions swimming with the dolphins and historic sites
ReviewBooked this holiday to celebrate my wifes 50th birthday and it was more than we expected. Would highly recommend the Nizuc part of the resort especially the Grande accommodation which was exceptional and the maid service second to none. The staff were very polite and helpful - a big thanks to Dorothy on customer services who helped plan suprises for my wife. Jorges and Carlos from Chaza Travel made us feel very welcome. You will never get fed up with the food because there are so many restuarants to choose from and the food was always excellent. We will definately go back because we liked it so much we are now members! You must go you will not be disappointed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerGioMerc
LocationWaldorf MD
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2006
Excellent All Inclusive Resort
Date:January 8, 2008
Best things about resortToo many pools to count Too many restauraunts to visit in a week's stay Excellent service from the friendly staff Prefered accomadations for RCI members
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOn the resort, the Italian Restauraunt at the Golf Clubhouse was in a word...outstanding!!
ReviewWhen we arrived by private van from the airport (included with all inclusive package) we were wisked into a private sit down check-in with sanwiches and Champaign.
We were there over New Year's Eve...and attended a huge dinner for 2000 (yes 2000) guest in the hotels grand hall. It was Awesome...the food the entertainment...everything.
We also got free trips to Isla Mujhers and other locations...excellent bus transport and tour guides.
The RCI membership and reservation through RCI got us booked in a room in the Grand Moon (newest part of the resort). The room was great.
I played 18 of the 27 holes on a Jack Nicklus signature course and my wife enjoyed the SPA.
I loved this place and WILL go back again!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerStarDancer2012
LocationEngland, UK
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2000
Not all good!
Date:December 31, 2007
Best things about resortFood - lots of variety Friendliness of staff
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGood beach activites - although all at extra cost All restaurants onsite (5+) are excellent but unable to reseve dinner table yet have to wait up to 2 hours for a table
ReviewAs we checked in I handed over the RCI sheet which stated a room 4/2. When we arrived at the room, it was clear that myself and my partner and my son could not sleep in one bed!!! This was not a 4/2 room. They took about 2hrs to sort it out (at midnight!!)
We stayed in the newest part called the Moon Grand - gorgeous rooms: much bigger than in the original Moon Palace section. Distance to the main lobby and any sort of activity was about a 10 minute walk - there were insufficient golf carts (their internal transport system) for the amount of people there.
All staff were very friendly, but each section didn't know what the other section did - it took 5 phone calls to sort out some laundary and 3 days to get some soap!!
Although they offer free trips to the local attractions, the transportation is insufficient for the amount of people again. Waiting for a bus for an hour is nothing!!
The pools are gorgeous - yes, a little cold, depending on the weather. Service around the pool is excellent. The beach is not one to play on with little ones - so much seaweed and the sea is murky that I wouldn't want to swim in it.
We also got married there and the weddings department was wonderful. There are many optional extras which are expensive. Our photographer was inexperienced and it showed in the photos.
WARNING: THEY TRY TO TELL YOU THAT THE RCI SYSTEM IS NOT GOOD AND TRY ANYTHING TO SELL YOU THEIR OWN TIMESHARE.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTNTEKT
LocationKansas City, MO.
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1994
Great Resort in a nice quiet location
Date:December 6, 2007
Best things about resortThis is a resort with fantastic rooms. It is true luxury. It is located in a quiet, private area with miles of beach and no other resort around you at all. You can take a walk and still be on the resort property. There are plenty of activities to interest both adults and kids or you can just relax at the wonderful pool or under a cabana. There are many foods to choose from and 10 restaurants. There is also food at the pool and some restaurants you can go in in your swimsuit. There is also an unlimited supply of alcohol. The staff is awesome and they really try to make you feel like you are on vacation and they don't want you to do anything except be waited on. If you want to go to one of the other restaurants on the other side, you can take one of their wonderful shuttles.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe long stretch of beach is wonderful. The restaurants are everywhere and easy to access. There are plenty of places to visit on the tours but nothing close by. There is plenty to do on site, golf, volleyball, games with staff, water volleyball, water sports.
ReviewI love this resort. It is great family resort because there is plenty to do. The check in was slow and they didn't seem to care that they were slow. Make sure you wear or bring your swimsuit so you can go to the beach and don't bring valuables or you have to take them everywhere before you get your room. The rooms are large and spacious and the hot tub is nice in the evenings. Most of the restaurants are easy to get into except the asian restaurant which you need reservations for. The food could be little higher quality as you can get tired of the cuisine even with so many restaurants. With the increase in price on a yearly basis ( wehave been here several times) the food could definitely be better. It is fair. Otherwise we would come to this resort again. With the resort all inclusive price you do get some tours so that makes it all worth it. Make sure you go to both sides of the resort as the restaurants are different on different sides.
Review 37 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewertr2901
Locationbar harbor maine
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1988
did not like
Date:November 19, 2007
Best things about resortthe waitstaff were very nice
Best attractions or restaurants nearbywet and wild but food coupons they gave us were a joke hot dog was what they offered made about two hours before we thru it away.
Reviewno swimming for us it has a big pool but was the coldest pool I have every been in my grand son age 5
was in about twenty minutes and came out with lips just trembling freezeing cold water ocean is murky and full of seaweed do not go here if you are interested in swimming food was good rooms are old and have a lot of little bugs and centipeds grout in tile floors old and dirty looking and this resort is huge you have to walk alot to go anywhere dinner or pool hope this helps somebody
4 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerNannie
LocationPhiladelphia, PA
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2006
Resort fit for royality
Date:November 1, 2007
Best things about resortExceptional service with a genuine smile and attentive attitude. When the staff says "my pleasure" it not just words you see and feel it in the service.The staff made lasting memories during our vacation. There is pleanty to do without leaving the resort. Loved this place so much will be returning next year this time with my whole family of 13 guest.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyIsla of Mujeeras
ReviewVisited Cancun approx 3 weeks post a hurricane and in no way would you have thought that was the case. The Moon Palace is esquite in everyway. Fit for royality. The staff go out of there way to may you feel special. We ordered a wine which was out of stock in the dining area we chose to eat at one night, however that was ok with us since the choices are so vast we would just substitue our choice. No way the waiter would not hear of such. He stated it would be his pleasure to get our first request. He called another dining area and in no time we had wine in glass. Now that is service.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerDjlilmac
LocationBolingbrook
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2007
Amazing
Date:October 11, 2007
Best things about resortThe Service, pool, spa, maid service, food, big enoung were you will never be bored.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyXcaret is well worth the money.
ReviewMoon Palace right from the start was the best vacation spot we have been. Right when we got out of our taxi we were greeted with a cool towel, they took our bags, walked us in to were we needed to be, a glass of champagin for each of us, a rose for me and food waiting for us while we checked in. From start to finish we were treated like King and Queen. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. Our maid service was wonderful, the pools were clean, the swim up bar was perfect. The spa was amazing. Everything this resort has to offer is perfect. I would recommend this resort to everyone.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Moon Palace-All Inclusive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerBusylee
LocationMissouri
Member Since2002
Great Family Vacation
Date:September 26, 2007
Best things about resortLuxury Rooms, great restaurants (lots of them), incredible pool, and total seclusion...(when we were there, there were NO other hotels on either side of this huge resort. The biggest DRAWBACK of this resort is the ocean water. While the beach is wide and has white sand, the water here is murky and full of seaweed. You can't really swim at this resort, though they do a good job of cleaning the seaweed off the beach. However, many of the other Palace resorts have great water, if you like to swim. Plus, Moon has a wonderful pool. If you like walks on the beach, especially moonlit, secluded walks, this resort is FABULOUS!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySnorkeling, the Water Park near Cancun, Tulum, Isla Mujeres, etc. Although, you could stay at Moon Palace the whole time and not get bored. One neat thing is that Palace resorts shuttles you in luxury buses to several other of it's sister resorts on the Riviera and in Cancun, so you can enjoy the flavor of the different locations. (i.e. the beaches of the hotel zone, or the zoo and cenotes at the Xpuha Palace.)
ReviewOur family went to Moon Palace in 2002 and we really enjoyed it. We loved the all-inclusive concept, and the kids liked being able to get drinks (non-alcoholic) whenever they wanted.
The resort had drinks and water available everywhere, all the time, and our fridge was stocked daily in our room as well. Elaborate snacks were served every afternoon in the gorgeous lobby. Restaurants are plentiful and the food is wonderful! Also, the service is great. We love the breakfast buffet and the al a carte restaruants, especially the oriental one. Note: Some lines can be long at the al a carte restaurants, so consider going at off times to avoid crowds.
The unit is luxurious with marble bath, jacuzzi tub and fabulous balcony. BEDS WERE HARD, THOUGH. I do hear that Palace resorts has now replaced all their beds, and assume they are now more comfortable.
SERVICE WAS IMPECCABLE!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.