Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

Villas at Fortune Place (#3654)

Your air-conditioned townhouse at Villas at Fortune Place features a telephone, television, washer/dryer and a full kitchen. 2BR units Max 6/Pri 6 have 2 or 2.5 baths,1 queen bed, 1 double bed or 2 twin beds and 1 sleep sofa. 2BR units Max 8/Pri 6 with loft have 2 baths, 2 queen-size pull-out sofas, 1 queen bed and 2 twin beds. 3BR units Max 8/Pri 8 have either 2, 2.5 or 3 baths, 1 queen bed, 1 double bed, 2 twin beds and 1 sleep sofa. 4BR units Max 10/Pri 10 have either 3 baths, 1 queen bed, 1 double bed, 4 twin beds and 1 sleep sofa. A credit card imprint is required at check-in. No pets allowed. A car is recommended to fully enjoy the area. This resort is a "Non-Smoking facility"
Average Member Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
9
37 of 56(66%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Villas at Fortune Place
Review 21 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerBrooksie
LocationPickens, SC
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1995
Great Family Resort with a Great Location
Date:August 21, 2011
Best things about resortNice units very clean and everything you need. Great on site amenities two pools one heated, whirlpool and great childrens pool wtih fountain for splashing, tennis court very well maintained, basketball court, shuffle board, horse shoes, putting green, grills in many areas, small fishing lake, great area near office for family gatherings, playground all within walking distance of the units.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLots of restaurants in the area, attractions abound, we visited, Sea World, Harry P Leu Garden, and Holy Land. Also went to Universal City Walk one evening, would also highly recommend Old Town Kissimmee, carnival rides for both children and teens, shops of all kinds, restaurants, car show and live music two or three nighs a week. Great family fun no charge for music and car show. They do old cars one night with 50"s music and muscle cars on Friday nights, Saturday is suppose to be great as well but we did not get to attend.
ReviewThe Resort staff is great they are there from 8:00 am to 11:00 pm to check out all game equipment needed and to answer all questions. If they did not know the answer they were willing to take the time to get the answer. They also had games to check out and the nearest Grocery store was next door. Driving time to attractions is under 30 minutes for those in Kissimmee and less than 45 for those in Orlando. Check online for tickets to attractions almost all places offer discounts when tickets are purchaser online. Have a great time we sure did and would definately go again!!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewer1999vacationers
LocationToronto
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1999
Beware of bugs!
Date:August 3, 2011
Best things about resort3 Bedrooms unit is fully furnished! Enough dishes for 6 people. Very well designed. Washrooms are a bit tight.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyN/A. We're out all day at the theme parks or beach and had lunches and dinners where we were.
ReviewGood resort. But too far from all attractions. The unit we're in had a roach. They moved us to another unit and there's lot of other smalls bugs. Accommodation is quite adequate with furnishing and kitchen utensils.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerlbaker20
LocationWashington, WV
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2008
Nice Resort in Good Location to Theme Parks
Date:July 4, 2011
Best things about resortThis resort was a nice place to stay. It was very clean and well maintained. Service was great.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney theme parks, Universal Studios and Sea World are very close by and easy to get to. Chili's, Applebee's, Ihop, Denny's, Outback were on the way to Disney. A lot of local restaurants also.
ReviewWe picked this resort because we were able to upgrade to a 3 bedroom unit. We knew we would be at Disney all week, so, activities as the resort were not going to be important. A small pool was available, horsehoes and miniature golf, but our schedule did not allow us to use them. It appeared our unit had been remodeled, as eveything looked like new. They have a security guard for late at night access. This resort met our needs for the week.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewereaglefan0916
LocationHorseheads, New York
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2004
Nice Resort
Date:June 6, 2011
Best things about resortResort is close to all of the local psrks. There is a publix within walking distance, although they are very high on prices. There are 2 Super Wal-marts within a 3 mile radius however so shopping is close by. There are two pools on the property so there was ample space for swimming in the heat.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBest attarctions nearby were the theme parks. The driving time was about 1)2 an hour to Universal Studios and with the turnpike close by driving was very relaxed. Note: The tolls were reasonable and the turnpike driving kept us off of I-4 and out of the chaos, very nice. Only went to one restaurant while we were there. The Hard Rock Cafe at Universal Studios.. Nice ambiance and alot to see if your interested in music. Food was not that good and prices were high.
ReviewOverall our stay was very pleasent. Staff was helpful when we needed it. Unit was in good shape and furniture seemed up to date. The TV in the master bedroom was broken and we called maintenace to have it repaired. One of the staff showed up to fix the problem within ten minutes of the call. TV could not be fixed and the TV was replaced with in 30 minutes.When checking in we were told to wait at guest services for our parking permit while the unit was inspected. This was only a ploy to put you in the room with the pushy salesman who was trying to sell us a new unit and was not interested in hearing no. After reading some of the resort reviews we were concerned about staying at the resort. I was pleasently surprised. The staff were great when needed, there were concerns about the closeness of the county jail, this is not even an issue as it is at least a mile away and if we didn't pass it on the way in we wouldn't even have known it was there.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerJuls11
LocationSouth Jersey
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2002
Away from the "Disney" scene
Date:May 3, 2011
Best things about resortQuiet, clean and friendly. The pools were not crowded which made for a relaxing experience and they were kept in good condition.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere were strip malls and plenty of chain restaurants within a short distance. It was close to the airport and not too far from the Disney parks. There were other non-Disney activities nearby as well.
ReviewThere were no activites for the kids, which would have been nice for those "down-time" days. Overall it was a nice place to stay if you wanted peace and quiet from the Disney resort area and attractions. The drive to the Disney parks was about a half-hour, but not enough of a problem to want to be any closer to the parks.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerCarma
LocationLewiston, MI
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1998
Excellent Family Resort
Date:April 18, 2011
Best things about resortVery family friendly. Let me start by saying that we are NOT the snobby type looking for a New York City 5 star hotel. We are a normal family with 2 kids (ages 11 and 9) looking for some sun and fun!! The resort is small and very homey. I did not feel uncomfortable at all to have my kids walk to the activity area without an adult. The pool was never crowded and I did not have to fight for a lounge chair, yeh!!!! The resort doesn't have a lot of planned activities, but they really aren't necessary as most everyone visiting here is also going to the theme parks. There is way too much to do in the area already! The unit was a 3 bedroom townhouse with a separate laundry room (that was awesome, no appliance noise). The unit was large and very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The pools were great. The lounge chairs were awesome and I knew that no matter what time of day I went to the pool, I would always find a place to sit. This may sound like a crazy perk, but I've been to those resorts where you have to stake out your chair at 8 am or risk laying on the hard cement pool deck on a towel all day. I'll choose the small resorts any day!! There was a Walgreen's and a Publix grocery store right next door and in walking distance. Very convenient. Easy 1/2 hour drive to all the theme parks. Be prepared with change to pay the toll. My only complaint is that the water temperature of the kiddie pool/umbrella spray feature needed to be warmer. We had a toddler with us and she kept getting cold and choosing to go back to the big pools. The big pools were a perfect temperature.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe only nearby restaurant we ate at was Denny's because they were open late and we didn't want to miss any sun and pool time! We ate at Universal Citywalk 2 nights, Arabian Nights, and Abduelo's Mexican restaurant in The Loop (very good food and recommended by the resort staff).
ReviewGreat for families. We played tennis and basketball and used the playground and pools a lot. There was a putting range and shuffle board, but not enough time to play. BBQ were available at the pool area. There was also a covered shady spot to sit at the pool area too, for those not wanting so much sun but still wanting to be were the action is. This is our second time at this resort and the pool/playground area had doubled in size since our last visit!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerFamily1992
LocationCharleston, SC
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1992
Nice Resort if more space is needed.
Date:December 29, 2010
Best things about resortRoominess. Quiet. Heated pool. Hot Tub. Backetball and Tennis Court. WIFI in around the main office.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAll Major Attractions within 20-30 minute drive. Turnpike with access to everything is only 3-5 minutes from the resort.
ReviewI would have to say the staff was extremely helpful and accomodating during our entire stay. It started when they offered us a second 2BR unit with a loft because our reservation for a 3BR was not available at the time of our checkin. On two separate occassions they responded within a matter of minutes when our DVD and microwave stop working properly. I would recommend they do a better job of cleaning the carpets. Everyone's socks were pretty dirty after only a few trips across the carpets in the unit.
Although the resort was within a mile of the county detention center, we never felt less than safe during our stay. Overall, this was not comparable to the 5 STAR resorts we've stayed at before in Orlando, but definitely was nice to have plenty of space for our traveling party of 10. We would choose this resort again if extra space is a requirement.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewermaia1901
LocationKent, England
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1996
NICE RESORT AND HANDY FOR THE PARKS
Date:November 16, 2010
Best things about resortGood location, just on Kissimmee outer limits. Close enough to the parks. Good amenities. Nice pools.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLots of restaurants within a short drive away. Chinese takeaway/eat in just a short walk away. Sandwich Bar nearby. Both supermarkets serve food.
ReviewWe had a family holiday here and exchanged into two villas, one a four bedroomed and one a three bedroomed. The sofabeds in both villas were in desperate need of a good clean. However, the villas themselves were very clean (except the carpets) when we arrived but quickly got dirty with 16 of us trailing in and out. At the time of our visit, if you wanted a clean, the cost was $25 which we declined to pay. Therefore, we only got a "clean" at the end of the first week. They only cleaned one bathroom out of three and in the other house, the linen got left on the bed for the family to make their own beds. Clearly the cleaning staff either don't worry or they are overworked. The carpets only got swept on the stairs and in bedrooms, they did not seem to have vacuum cleaners. This made everyone in the family's feet very dirty. Overall, our experience was very good and we enjoyed staying at the resort. It is nowhere near 4 star standards. The staff were helpful but don't expect an early check in.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerShoequeen1957
LocationVirginia Beach, VA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1988
I had no problems
Date:August 29, 2010
Best things about resortIt's right on the highway and everything is a short distance away. Disney is 20-25 minutes away, but the drive getting there is beautiful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMy friends and I loved the wings at Wing Alley down the street on Boggy Creek Road. There was so much shopping available that I nearly OD'd.
ReviewYes, there was a prison down the street, as well as a school and a nice housing development. I think I heard a siren maybe once during my visit. We were there from Aug. 21st to Aug. 28th, 2010. I did not know what to expect after reading the reviews on line. Our place was well furnished, clean and there were enough cooking utensils and serviceware to accomodate our needs. Our towel exchange day was Wed. and we had towels to last until then. No, this is not a gold crown resort, but if you want piece and quiet this is the resort to book. I always check-in as early as possible so the staff will be available for question, problems and/or concerns. I love the fact that there is 24 hour security and no one has access to the villas without a parking pass.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerDorothyC
LocationNew Orleans, LA
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2000
Not a great Disney Experience
Date:August 8, 2010
Best things about resortin-room laundry pool & family bbq area proximity to grocery, gas, Walgreens & highway Ability to accomodate our request to be on the 1st floor 2 bathrooms
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney is 20-25 min away.
ReviewFirst the positives: the resort accommodated our request to be on the 1st floor. Having 4 children, it was important to not disturb others below us. Best yet is the security latches on the door were great and out of reach of little hands. Secondly, the pools are family friendly and they have a great mushroom water feature that the kids loved. This resort's proximity to Disney, Hwy 192 (toll-free passage to Orlando) and then the Osceola Hwy. is quick.
We've stayed at many resorts and are sorely disappointed with this resort. We stayed at this resort 7/31 - 8/6/10 and left one day early. It is a converted apartment complex and not a traditional resort. That aside, the finishes and furnishings are moderate to poor quality (we had broken fish statues all around the living area and many dirty dishes in the cabinets).
Now for the not-so-great!!!
Driving up to the resort, we were greeted with a very unexpected sight as we turned off of the highway. We drove past the county's correction facility, replete with barbed wire, police cars, and high fences. Worst yet is that it was a mere 1/2 mile down the road from the resort. It was not uncommon to hear sirens passing the resort during the late evening. This was not the serene enjoyable environment we had expected. This community is tucked into the community and you will miss it if you are not careful. Unlike this resort, when given the opportunity to take a complimentary tour of another resort (more in line with what we expected), the disparity between this "managed resort" and a traditional resort is very apparent.
We checked in on Saturday, and were called on Tuesday morning and offered a "complimentary towel exchange." We gladly accepted, however, when we got in from a long hot day, ready for showers, we found only bath towels and hand towels, no washcloths. Thinking a slight oversight had occurred, we called the front desk. We were shocked to learn that there were none available! None would be available until the following day. Next we had used all of the tissue on the roll and opened a new roll only to find that the outer layers were yellowed as though it had fallen into dirty water and left for us to use later. We had to call and request a new clean roll to which a new one was brought within a few hours (gladly there are 2 bathrooms). Also, not once during the entire week did we get linens changed or house keeping come to clean. This is unacceptable for any hotel/resort or even a low budget motel!
We also received an express mail package and never knew it until the sender called us and asked if we had received the express mail package. When we went to the front desk, the staff had marked the package with our room number, but failed to contact us.
If you are willing to drive about 25 minutes, there is a relatively inexpensive yet great tasting Cuban restaurant named, Padrinos located in Orlando. Also, if you don't want to spend the huge ticket price for theme parks, there are many services available that have reduced priced tickets. Our family enjoyed meeting all the Princesses', Mickey & Minnie and having fun at Magic Kingdom. For all the best adult rides, wait until close to the fireworks @ 10pm, the line wait times go from 60+min. to 10minutes! It's great.
Epcot is great for young kids and our family absolutely loved it. Blizzard Beach was a great and relaxing way to have family fun, with free parking, and cooling off with water.
Finally, in closing, we would definitely not suggest any member who is used to 3+ stars to stay at this resort. It will sour you on Orlando and not make you have as much fun as you could have.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerOldies
LocationNapanee, Ontario, Canada
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2003
Nice Resort ib Good Location
Date:July 10, 2010
Best things about resortSpacious-newly decorated
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney world, Animal Kingdom, Epcot, etc.. Many Good restaurants on I-190 nearby.
ReviewMy wife and I stayed at this resort from 27 Feb to 06 Mar. The temperature was a little cool for this time of year but we enjoyed Animal Kingdom (approx 45 mins away) for a whole day on a day that was comfortable to us Canadians. The unit was a two bedroom and very spacious and newly decorated with everything we needed. There are BBQ's nearby which we used quite often. The only drawback was that there was no wireless access in the unit but if you went near the reception building, it was available. There are three pools and a hot tub but not too many people used the pools because of the cool weather. There are grocery stores within walking distance. Reluctantly we attended a timeshare presentation but the experience wasn't as bad as we had expected and received a $80
Visa Gift card and a free breakfast. I would recommend this reort for families.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerFunlovingTraveller
LocationRed Deer, AB
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2000
Great resort for our Disney Vacation
Date:May 4, 2010
Best things about resortSwimming Pools Washer Dryer in Unit
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDIsney World SeaWorld
ReviewWe really enjoyed our 3 bed/2 1/2 bath condo. It had a master bed with ensuite, another bedroom with queen bed, full bathroom and third bedroom with twin beds in it. All bedrooms were located upstairs. 1/2 bath was downstairs next to laundry room, full kitchen, dining and living room. It was very spacious for our needs.
It was very easy to commute to Disney - turned right out of resort, turned left on 4th set of lights then straight to Disney on toll road. Toll was $1.75. There was lots of restaurants and shopping along the way. Our commute was 20-25 minutes.
We arrived at Disney at opening -stayed until 1pm then went back to condo for swimming and relaxing then headed back to Disney at 5pm for the evening. It was very nice to come back every day and enjoy the pools. The resort was very clean and quiet.
We felt very safe at the Villas - staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at Villas again.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerthedipman
Locationmethuen ma
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1983
a dimond in the rough
Date:April 13, 2010
Best things about resortwell maintained
Best attractions or restaurants nearbynear parks
Reviewcould not belive what a nice place this was,\had a 3 bed room could have keep an army in it,every one was so nice.very quiet and walked fo the food syore.free whfi a plus
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerdroc
LocationOshawa, Ontario
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2006
Good Resort For Young Family
Date:April 5, 2010
Best things about resortSplash pad, shallower pool and playground.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGrocery store within walking distance, close to airport, the Loop for shopping.
ReviewYes, this resort is not posh like some of the other ones in the Orlando/Kissimmee area, however it is very serviceable. For families with younger children it is perfect. Our childern (2 & 4) had great fun at the playground which is nice & sandy, at the splash pad and at the shallower pool (3 ft to 4.5 ft deep). They also have ice cream sundae making every week for a reasonable cost ($1) that the kids enjoyed. The lake has turtles, ducks, cranes, etc. that the kids liked to watch as well. The grocery store is within walking distance, the airport is 15 minutes away and the Houston Astros spring training facility is also walkable. The jail is down the street, but a non-issue and unless you turn left out of the resort and go that way you wouldn't even know it was there. Disney and the outlets are a good 25 minute drive, but if you are making a day of it - not a big deal. There are better shopping deals to be had at the Loop which is closer than the outlets. Another plus about this resort is that it is not huge so when you go to the pool area it is not an epic journey to go back to your unit if you forgot something. This is not the case with many resorts. The overall cleanliness of the unit could have been better, i.e.: cobwebs in the corners, but other than that no complaints about this resort and would stay again.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerncmoose
LocationCharlotte, NC
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1996
Comfortable/averag, out of the way, accommodations
Date:March 30, 2010
Best things about resortCleanliness & friendly staff
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney, Oulet Malls, Spring training baseball teams/parks
ReviewResort is not close to Disney and on far end of Kissimmee, not far from Houston Astros Baseball training facility, however, restaurants, Disney, etc., easily accessible from Turnpike and Expressways. Resort is comfortable but not outstanding and in need of updating/refurbishing. Stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath that was comfortable/average for 6 - 5 adults, 1 child. Mattresses need replacing, especially on pull-out. Furniture a bit worn, second bedroom had TV but no cable – staff said it was next upgrade project… nice pool area. Jail is close by but not a threat as Community College and High School across the street - was a non issue for us. This is not a luxury resort such as Orange Lake or other Gold Crown resorts in surrounding area but okay/average – could be improved with updating and refurbishing. They should take some of the money being used on expanding resort on tour at this resort instead, or at least include it as a refurbishing/upgrade project. Staff was friendly and helpful doing best with what they have.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewer80014
LocationPensacola, FL
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2009
Bad Resort in Bad Location
Date:February 17, 2010
Best things about resortCan't think of any.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNone
ReviewWe gave up a 3 BR unit in this resort 1 week because we were staying 2 weeks and the 2nd week we only had a 2 BR. Made prior arrangements with management to give up 3 BR unit for a 2 BR unit so we wouldn't have to move while we were there. And believe me with 6 people we could have used the 3 BR very easily. When we checked in we even asked to make sure that we would not have to move. When we went to our unit I opened the refrigerator and there was uncovered food from the previous tenants in it. I called and they came and cleaned it out. Well guess what. The day after Christmas we received a call about 11 AM saying we had to move to a different unit. When talking with the person at the front desk she insisted we had to move, she said she couldn't help that we gave up a 3 BR unit to move to a 2 BR unit. In the mean time we had reserved a 3rd week there and was assured by the person at the front desk when we did it that we would not have to move the whole time we were there. So that meant that we would have to move 3 times in 3 weeks. When we moved to the second unit it was dirty. The ceiling fan in the master bedroom had not had the center of it cleaned in months. Webs everywhere. The bed in the master bedroom had so much dust on the wooden part on the bottom of the headboard that it had not seen a dust cloth for months. The remote control in the living room would hardly work. This timeshare is not convenient to anything and there is really nothing to do there. I would not recommend this place to my worse enemy. Be aware if you are going to stay here especially if you are staying more than 1 week because you will probably have a real problem and your vacation plans ruined. I know our Epcot Candlelight Procession reservations were ruined because we had to move. Needless to say, we did not stay a 3rd week. RCI rebooked us to a 3 BR unit at Orange Lake which is a fantastic place and the people there are so nice. They were going to change us the 2nd week we were there but since it was Christmas week, there was nothing available. I would not recommend this dump to anyone.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerVacation4Fun
LocationLouisville, KY
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1985
No thank you
Date:June 29, 2009
Best things about resortPublix is within walking distance. A night guard was on duty (and needed).
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyArabian Nights isn't too far.
ReviewStay at this resort if you love shopping at dozens of thrift shops, need to visit a friend in the local prison (conveniently a mile or so down the road), or want to drive 20-30 minutes to a restaurant (besides Wendy’s or Subway), outlets, Disney, or Sea World.
Our original unit was very nice and on a fenced lake; however, that unit had a leak in the ceiling of the living room and we were moved to a really bad unit. I was surprised how very different the two units were. The first 2BR unit was very nice, clean, and comfortable with lots of closets. The living room area was large with plenty of room to relax and room for young kids to play. The second unit was in serious need of repairs (TV in living room didn't work and neither did the replacement TV, some lights didn't work even after changing the light bulbs, shower curtain was very short and so water leaked out onto the floor, etc.) and updates.
Employees were unapologetic and didn't seem to care that the second unit was a dump compared to the first unit. Sales team was very pushy - don't take their offers for free stuff because it wasn't worth it and they wasted nearly 4 hours of our day.
Swimming pool was very small and was over capacity when we tried to swim. No other activities or amenities.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerUNCFan
LocationNC
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2009
Clean, well-maintained facility
Date:June 21, 2009
Best things about resortCleanliness Well-mainted units and grounds Quiet and relaxingFriendly, helpful staff
ReviewI just got back today after spending a week at the Villas at Fortune Place. I wasn't sure what to expect after having read the reviews. We needed a 3 BR and this was the only one available for the time period we had available. Is this facility the ultimate in luxury? No. Is it a run-down, poorly maintained facility. Another no. Is it a place that is adequate for a family/friends who are involved with the Disney World, Sea World, etc. activities. A definite yes. There is nothing wrong with the facility itself. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, it is about a 30 minute drive from DW. If you are one who would go out earlier in the day for a few hours, come back to the condo in mid-day for the kids to take a nap, and then go back to DW, etc. later, this might not be the place for you. However a drive out in the morning and then back in late afternoon or evening is not a big deal.
There is no shuttle service available so a car is an absolute necessity.
I would not hesitate to return to this facility.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTissie
LocationBirmingham, AL
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1975
Nice Quiet Resort
Date:June 12, 2009
Best things about resortQuiet, relaxing location after busy day at area parks
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDisney, Seaworld
ReviewOur main reason for this area is Disney. This resort is probably 20 - 30 mts from the parks but the drive was not that bad. The parkway you drive back and forth on is loaded with lots of choices of restaurants and shopping if you wished to stop.
We had a 3 bedroom unit which was very nice and roomy for my husband, myself, our daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandchildren. It included 2 full baths upstairs and a half bath downstairs along with a laundry room with full size washer and dryer. The unit was clean and in good repair. Not alot of sitting area in the living room but then we were not there that much to watch TV.
Another nice convenience was a Publix's grocery store next door, in fact there was a gate in the resort's fence to get to the store. Also, located in the shopping strip was a ice cream palor which we visited one night.
The only draw back was the neighborhood. It appeared to have been a good neighborhood at one time but seemed to be in a decline. We did not feel unsafe as there was a guard at the gate all night.
Review 40 for Villas at Fortune Place
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerFloridanativefamily
LocationTampa, FL
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1987
Apartment Swap - quiet, nice, nothing fancy
Date:April 12, 2009
Best things about resortquiet, spacious, not crowded or busy
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPublix just around the corner worked well with full kitchen. Many resturants of all kinds and levels within 15 minutes drive. Half hour to Disney and other attractions even closer.
ReviewMore like a converted condo/apartment complex than a resort. Villas had three small pools - one for laps, one for play and a children's zero-entry slash pool - in addition to a good size hot tub. Exercise room had a multi-gym weight machine, treadmill and eliptical machine. Unit was worn and dated. First one assigned was dirty and needed repair to a ceiling fan and bathroom backsplash had a big hole. The staff was apologetic and helpful when I requested a different unit. They let me check it out to ensure it was acceptable before reassigning us and issuing the new keys. All was handled promptly and politely.
Best part of the resort was the staff.
Internet access was available at the office patio area, but hard to read the screens in the daylight outside so we limited our use to checking for directions and attractions.
We had three bedroom unit that was of good size. It only had a sofa and one chair in the living room which limited our TV viewing comfort, but the dining table had six chairs. Furniture was comfortable, though nothing fancy.
If you are looking for the dream Florida/Disney vacation of a life time this place is not for you. If you just want a quiet escape that is convenient to the attractions it is a better fit. Some updating and repairs would help make it a better experience.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.