Resort Reviews

Hacienda del Mar Resort (#3622)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/3622')"> Hacienda del Mar Resort (#3622)

Hacienda del Mar Resort is located in the mystical desert landscape of the Baja California Peninsula on the Sea of Cortez. You will love the world class facilities which will make your stay unforgettable. It also offers excellent world renowned dining options. Hacienda del Mar is located just a few minutes from the shopping, dining and exceptional nightlife of Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. The resort has a 3-level pool, gardens, private beach, and is adjacent to the Jack Nicklaus Championship Golf Course. At the Hacienda del Mar guests are offered special rates at the Cabo del Sol and Palmilla Golf Courses.
Average Member Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
92 of 98(94%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Review 21 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerfunkw
LocationLos Angeles, CA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2005
Excellent Resort with Everything in One Place!
Date:January 9, 2009
Best things about resortThe pools, activities, happy hour, location on the beach, wow!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCabo is about 10 or 15 minutes away. We rented a car - it was relatively inexpensive for the week. If you're a lounger, I would avoid the car, as the resort is nice and relaxing. But if you're one of those that needs to get out and explore, rent a car. We took a nice sunset cruise out of cabo, as well as a snorkeling trip, parasailing, and just excursions in the evening.
ReviewThis was our first RCI vacation and a very memorable one for us. We went in June 2005 - and the weather was hot but very pleasant.
My wife works in the hotel business (Westin), so I'll have to say that we've confessed to becoming hotel snobs. Our expectations were low. Needless to say, this resort greatly exceeded our expectations!
We were expecting the standard "floral comforter" type of room, but the room was really exquisite. We had an incredible ocean view, a jacuzzi tub, a nice comfortable bed, and a very reasonable kitchen.
The resort itselt is also fantastic. It shares grounds with a Sheraton - which I think gives the resort some accountability to keep in shape.
If you like activities, they have bingo by the pool and tequilla pool volleyball - miss the ball and take a shot! don't worry - it's watered down ;) They also had a happy hour with 1/2 off margaritias from 11am to 12pm. Again, this was back in 2005, so I'm not sure if they still have that.
The infinity pool is awesome - looks right out at the beach. There's not much swimming on the beach though - shorebreak is very heavy, fun to watch though :)
Staff was very helpful - this was really a great vacation - and you know it means a lot if a hotel snob recommends it!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerMuskoka687
LocationGravenhurst, Ontario
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2014
Member Since2008
They Don't Like RCI Members
Date:March 7, 2014
Best things about resortPools and ocean front. Beds and rooms are a decent size for the Jrs. Grounds are beautiful and well maintained unlike the housekeeping staff who may show up by 4 pm. They even call and ask if we wanted the room cleaned up!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe view at the beach is beautiful. Never used the pools but they look nice and grounds. Restaurants very pricey!
ReviewWe were told inhouse and by someone who used to work there they don't like RCI members. They put you in the worst building going...#35/36. If you have a medical condition lots of hills to negotiate so you would need to keep asking for a golf cart so they can run you back and forth. When reserving MAKE SURE you add on reservation want ocean view or ask for building 7-6-5 They are reasonably close. You will get ground floor as only their members get the upper floors for the ocean view. Food is very pricey. $40. US for a club sandwich and hamburger and 1 water and soda. Its a great place if you are ok with staying further out and you have a car. If you want to cook meals in or go to town to eat its a great place. Shuttle many times a day to Cabo $10.00pp return. Housekeeping shows up when they want to maybe by 4:00 pm.. We came in one night at 8:00 pm and were startled as someone was in the room. It was housekeeping turning the bed down and leaving a chocolate. This was the 3rd night there. Kinda creepy and weird. They charge $4.00 day for gratuities whether you leave a tip or not? They say its for the grounds people? They have 30 minutes free WiFi per day per room and they have computers available. No activities except water aerobics, bingo. If you are looking for the typical party atmosphere resort this is not for you. Very quiet. Much prefer Villa Del Palmar or Bonito Rose in Cabo for location and food and they have all inclusive if that is what you want. Same type of rooms but lots more going on and much friendler staff!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewermouse678
LocationLancaster, Pa
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1994
Great place to unwind!
Date:March 17, 2013
Best things about resortThis place was amazing. It was very relaxing. There was 6 of us and we each had a one bedroom unit and although it did not have an ocean view we were pleased. The accomodations were quite good. It took a while to figure out the coffee pot and we never cooked in the unit but all the essentials were there. Best thing was whale watching from the beach. Had my binoculars so we could see many. The sun was hot and not a cloud in the sky.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe ate at Tomatoes, de Cortez, and Girasoles. Did not get to Pitahayas. All the food we had was excellent. We went to the Marina and ate at Alexander's, and Jack's (Sparrow). Also excellent. Took a taxi to San Jose and the Art Walk. Wonderful!. Just never expected to see the art galleries and the people. Was recommended to LaDolche for Italian. Absolutely flawless. Enjoyed a lot.
ReviewSince there was 6 of us we chose to use the taxi system. The taxi ride to town to $5.00 US each person and to San Jose $7.00 US. We did some golfing at the driving range. Did not get to play, too expensive, but the driving range was $11.00 per hour. Meals at the resort were on the pricey side but they delivered the best food we could have wanted. All the food was excellent, even the pastries at breakfast and the butter which usually has no flavor at all in Mexico. We exchanged here from the Mayan Palace in Puerto Vallarta and wish we could come back next year but there is a 1 in 4 year policy. We were very pleasantly surprised by Hacienda del Mar. The only bad part about our stay here, there was a convention being held here and they roped off a pool and pool area just for them for 3 days. We did not think this was fair to the other paying guests, especially one day they weren't even there. The massages were way too expensive also. We were used to getting one in PV for anywhere from $35-$50. Here they were $140.00. But the resort was so relaxing that we really didn't need a massage. We had a marvelous time!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerBluesman
LocationGlenview, IL
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2002
Hacienda Del Mar
Date:March 15, 2013
Best things about resortThis large resort is spectacular. Beautifully kept grounds. We stayed in a 3 bedroom and it was immaculate and well stocked.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMaros! Go into town - Cabo San Lucas - and seek our Maros. Not much atmosphere, but the food is great at good prices. We had steak and lobster - both big portions, for $16. And be sure to order a Bulldog there!
ReviewThis was our second trip to Cabo in 2 years. Obviously, we liked the area. No crime at all, you can walk the streets at night without fear. The Hacienda Del Mar is located about 5 miles east of Cabo and nothing is really next door to the hotel. This means that you must use the kitchens in the room or eat at the restaurants at the hotel. The restaurants are very good, but a bit pricey. We ate breakfast and most lunches in the room, and went out for dinner. We bought our food and drinks at the Wal-Mart which is about 3 miles away. My biggest advice is to rent a car. You cannot walk to Cabo, and there is a shuttle and taxis, but a car is best. (Do an internet search for Dominc in Cabo – he has excellent rental car service) In Cabo, you can park in the mall at the marina for less than 2 bucks. There, you have tons of great restaurants, bars and shopping. We went there every night as the hotel was completely quiet. I gave the Hacienda 5 stars since it is immaculate with great service. However, it is away from the action of Cabo, making it a quiet place to relax, if that is what you want to do. Last year, we stayed at the Bonita, which is a short walk to Cabo, yet far enough away from the action to be relaxing. The Bonita is not as pretty as the Hacienda, but close to the action that a car is not necessary there. Our room in the Hacienda was a big 3 bedroom with 4 baths and full kitchen. Excellent place. Our complaint was that the resort is huge and most rooms do not overlook the ocean. Seems that only owners there get the few rooms that have an ocean view. Although there were 7 nice pools, they are spread out and smaller than expected. The beach is good, but you cannot go in the water due to the rocks and waves. We had no trouble getting chairs on the beach. Getting pool chairs was a bit difficult even though the hotel places signs everywhere warning not to “reserve” chairs.
I would highly recommend this hotel for those that come to relax. If you want more action, look for a place close, or in, town. The Bonita was perfect for this.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerStarwalker
LocationDetroit, MI
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2002
Lovely place and lots of Whale watching!
Date:February 25, 2013
Best things about resortWhale watching, almost private beach, gorgeous grounds, good food, great service.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe enjoyed the tour by Rancho Tours to Todos Santos. We also went to Cabo for the day- took the hotel shuttle. Worth the visits but very touristy and pressure to buy stuff. Otherwise, fun places to eat.
ReviewMy only warning is that when you get off the plane, do not tell anyone you are an RCI member, unless you want to sign up for the timeshare pressure tour. Ther is a $16 shuttle from the airport, so ask for that. Keep walking almost outside. Even after we bought the shuttle ticket, the timeshare people still tried to hard sell us. They were very obnoxious and rude and almost threatening. No need for all the 'discounts' because the shuttles are reasonable. We plan to go back and next time will rent a car to see more of the wonderful beaches.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerDrDAR
LocationEllicotville, NY
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2010
Gorgeous Facility
Date:November 9, 2012
Best things about resortPrivacy, views, availability of larger units, low pressure presentation offers.
ReviewIf you're looking to stay at a quiet, beautiful resort, with incredible views and gorgeous facilities, choose this one. The smaller units are older, however, the 3 bedroom, 4 bath unit we had was new and provided our all-adult family ample room and privacy within the unit, as well as modern amenities. We enjoy nightlife and dining out, and although the restaurants on-site are excellent, the action is in the marina area and on Medano Beach, which requires expensive cab rides back and forth. We were hoping to golf the ocean course surrounding the resort, but the green fees were extremely high, and even when the course had no players on it, they were not interested in offering a better rate. Didn't really make sense to us, so we simply golfed elsewhere. The resort has numerous pools, most of which are lined along and over-looking the beach and waterfront, but like most resorts, if you don't have your towels on your lounge chairs by 5am, the majority of them are taken. Lots going on during the day, but once the sun went down, it was like everyone disappeared. Stay here for relaxation and quiet nights. Consider closer to town for a more lively action-filled vacation. My wife and I would return here for sure, when traveling by ourselves, but with a group of relatives and friends as we were, we were constantly heading in and out of town for excitement.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerHappyNAZ
LocationArizona
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2006
Paradise in Mexico
Date:October 21, 2012
Best things about resortBeauty of the resort, Simple design/layout (easy to locate all amenities/activities), close proximity to downtown/marina area (10 min. drive), variety of restaurants on property (all pretty good, not great), location, location, location! Beautiful private beach on property (Sea of Cortez), Well maintained property/landscaping, no hassle timeshare presentation (it was great).
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMi Casa restaurant ( authentic Mexican), Water Taxi to see the Arch, La Casa Country (great steaks and tacos), many affordable excursions (dolphins, zip lining, boat cruises, etc...)
ReviewWe had the best vacation we've ever had since joining RCI. Hacienda del Mar is a vacation paradise! It's definitley a 5 star property that is beyond beautiful. The spanish style architecture is breathtaking, along with the 7 pools, and jaw dropping ocean view of the Sea of Cortez with a private beach. The pictures just don't do the resort justice. You have to see it first-hand to believe it.
The 1 bedroom master rooms are great - sleeps 4 comfortably, not 6 (couch is like a brick). We moved from an older unit to a newer one, so we could be next to my sister, and the new unit was fabulous. Granite counters in the kitchen with 4 burner stove and full size refrigerator (no ovens), 2 beautiful bathrooms w/showers, 2 queen beds (heavenly mattresses), spacious family room and an unbelievalbly huge patio/balcony that had 2 sliding doors that opened to a brand new kids pool area for infants/young children. Sliding doors opened completely so you felt like you were outdoors AND they include a large jacuzzi tub on balcony. Wow, Wow, Wow! This place was almost too good to be true for the price. In Hawaii this place would have cost us $400-500 per night, but since it was not Cabo's high season of Dec. thur Mar. we got the room for an amazing deal thru an online sale that RCI offers several times a year.
There were a few negatives: unpublished maid service fee of $4/day, $13.90/day internet fee. You only get 10min. of free wi-fi per day, otherwise you can choose to pay $13.90/day for wi-fi access. Didn't mind paying, just should have been noted on RCI's website. HDM also needs to add add'l activities for youth. No video arcade on property and most channels only had spanish programs. Kids activities were mostly for infants/toddlers. Also, the concierge staff wasn't friendly and not very willing to help with info./directions/boarding passes. Some locals in Cabo seemed irritated with Americans, but my husband thought most locals were friendly. Overall great stay, I would highly recommend HDM. It is fabulous!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerScubabumm
LocationAlaska
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1992
Gorgeous property
Date:March 28, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Best things about resortBeautiful resort with several pools and nice landscaping and curving pathways. It has the feel of an old world town with beautiful Spanish architechture. The resort is in the corridor away from Cabo which makes it a nice, quiet respite.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere are several very nice golf courses nearby. There area also several good restaurants nearby, but you do need a car to get anywhere due to the distances.
ReviewThe resort employees were friendly and helpful on all fronts, from the check in - front desk, concierge, waiters, bell boys and maids - to the check out. The resort is lushly landscaped, with 5 beautiful pools. The ocean was swimmable but use caution and watch the flags.
The restaurant Pittihayas had excellent, inventive but expensive food. The Sports Bar was very busy and service was extremely slow but the food was good and worth the wait.
The rooms were nicely done in dark woods with a white on white, plush and comfy bed with four down pillows and two foam pillows. The bathroom was large with a nice sized jacuzzi, separate shower and a lighted makeup mirror. The A/C didn't work in our room or in the entire main building when we first arrived and after a bit of telephone tag we were moved to a timeshare suite at no extra cost.
We had a rental car and were able to get into Cabo which is about 15 minutes away by car. The taxis can be quite expensive, so if you stay for any length a rental car is a good idea.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerFlooger76
LocationGeneseo, IL
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1998
Worth the visit!
Date:June 17, 2011
Best things about resortMy wife and I traveled here with no kids looking for a relaxing vaction and that is just what we recieved. Since it was their slow season in June there were plenty of lounge chairs and the pools and nothing was every crowded. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and so is Cabo!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe enjoyed visiting San Jose for a day of shopping and also made many visits to downtown Cabo for "Street Tacos" which I highly recommend finding a small shop selling tacos they are the best! We also did a sunset cruise and a camel excursion both were alot of fun.
ReviewWe would definetly return to Cabo and this resort. I don't think I would bring my kids here as the ocean is too rough for swimming and other than the resort activities I think they would get board and the pools are just pools, no slides or kiddie areas. This is a great place for a special anniversary or honeymoon! We did rent a car for the week which is needed to really enjoy the area. We hit Walmart to stock up for breakfast and lunch and usualy went into town for dinner. We never ate at the resort as the prices were way more than we were willing to pay. You can find great meals a block or two off the main drag in Cabo for half the price. We recommend the Crazy Lobster! Excellent meal for about $50 for the two of us. Book this resort and you won't be disappointed!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerCaliTraveler
LocationSunnyvale, CA
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2011
Nice Resort. Bad Internet. Average Massages.
Date:May 31, 2011
Best things about resortSeveral Great Pools Located Right on the Water Friendly Staff Plenty of Lounge Chairs Great Gym
ReviewThis is a very nice resort in a gorgeous location. Great pools, plenty of lounge chairs, a decent gym (surprisingly good for a resort -- there were 6 treadmills, 6 ellipticals, 4 bikes, plenty of weight machines & free weights, and a small aerobics room).
They do have happy hours starting at 11am, lasting 1 hour at each of the pools/bars. 2 for 1 drinks, things like that. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Bring your own sunblock. My friend paid $20 USD for 1 bottle of sunblock. What a rip off.
Cons:
You only get 30 minutes of free internet access per day. The internet didn't work in the timeshare unit. We had to go to the common area to access the WiFi, which was extremely slow. And if you need internet help, then you're out of luck. Because when I called the front desk for help, they didn't know anything.
Now, I appreciate a really good massage. But Don't bother getting a massage here. I got a Swedish Massage. They had 50% off 50 minute massages on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but that doesn't include taxes, and it was pretty much just as expensive (if not more expensive) than getting a 50-minute massage in San Francisco. OH, and the table squeaked, the lighting was too bright, and the clock ticked really loud in teh room. So it was not relaxing at all. Also, when I asked the masseuse to put use more pressure, she didn't really change anything (so it felt more like a gentle back rub rather than a Swedish massage). It was a waste of money. With tip, it was $95 for 50 minutes...and that was with a 50% discount. Youza!
Meals are extremely expensive...$22 USD for quesadillas or fajitas. Its really not worth it. And that was at the cheap restaurant. After eating 1 meal at the Tomatoes restaurant, we went to the on-site grocery store and bought food to cook for the rest of the week. I didn't spend more then $40 cooking for the rest of the week after that.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLAINE
LocationBend, OR
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2002
Abosolutely Gorgeous
Date:May 6, 2011
Best things about resortEverything!! Pool, ocean, manicured grounds. Entrance to the property is gated and well landscaped.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySnorkling at nearby Chileano Bay and Santa Maria Bay, the Cabo marina, old town San Jose Del Cabo. Beach at resort is NOT swimable.
ReviewAfter a week there we didn't want to leave. The resort was first class and offered something for everyone. 8 pools, 3 hot tubs, plenty of on site (expensive) restaraunts, swim up pool bars and a relaxing enviroment away from the fast pace world in Cabo.
The property is split with half being timeshare, the other have Sheraton. It's all combined and is owned by the same person I'm told.
We took a Gray Line shuttle ($36 r/t) which worked out well. Transcabo does a shuttle also ($32 r/t) however we stayed at the Hilton first (fantastic) then transfered to the HDM. Transcabo wouldn't provide the r/t due to taxi regs they said. Speaking of taxis, they, like alot of things in Cabo are expensive, readily available and clean. The resort provides a r/t shuttle on a regular basis for $10 r/t to downtown Cabo. They can also drop you off at Walmart or Costco, but you need a taxi to get back. We shared one with another couple and it worked out well.
We were given a 1 bedroom "luxury" unit. It only had a very small refrig and minimal counter space in the kitchen. We later found out that the 1 bedroom "Master" has a full size refrig and more kitchen space. Had we known earlier in our stay, we would have asked for a different unit. All sized units only have a "toaster" oven. Even the 3 bdrm ones.
Did the sales presentation. Low key, low pressure and some free food vouchers,spa and snorkling. Don't buy new if interested. Resales on the market for pennies on the dollar through tug and redweek.
We took a tour of the new adjacent property Hacienda Encantada. Very impressive views and pools. They gave us a day pass to use the facilities. It's still being built out.
At HDM, there was ongoing construction of the final 3 buildings. Not too much noise noted.
Some slight defered maintenance on the property, but that was minimal. Overall, it was the best RCI trade ever. We want to go back NOW.............Do it if you have the choice.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerJDSDO
LocationChicago, Il
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2010
Outstanding scenery, weary rooms
Date:December 5, 2010
Best things about resortThe view from the hotel and the friendly pool waiters!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyVilla Serena (off property), San Jose Cabo, Cabo Pulmo
ReviewThis hotel is not in Cabo San Lucas, which is a plus. It is in Cabo Del Sol, which is between San Jose and Cabo San Lucas. You cannot walk to any town. That being said, it is a gorgeous, non tourist location. You will get some rest, as long as the Americanos don't bring their own ipod docks, smoke cigarettes cigars and come in at 4 a.m. doors slamming. (Sad, but true)
Rent a car for the week, parking is free. Drive off the beaten path to Cabo Pulmo, the only coral reef in western North America. Snorkel and chill in Pulmo or Los Frailes. Bring your own groceries.
Skip Costco and Walmart and try the MEGA grocery store in San Jose. A great variety of groceries, some you will recognize, others unique to mexico.
The rooms have a decent studio kitchen, but the bathroom is a bit of a wreck. Broken handles, clogged drains, mildewy grout. Overall, a good home base, but plan on getting out and about! These pictures are not of the RCI studio room you will get if that is your exchange.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerchrizNYC
LocationNew York, NY
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2005
Great service-Expensive food-Clean and Beautiful!
Date:November 3, 2010
ReviewI just came back from one week vacation in Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar with husband and 2 year old son. We booked this resort as extra vacation, as our home timeshare resort didn't have room during that week. Coming from NYC, I was really impressed by their service and food. First, let me start with the hotel itself. As you can see from their pictures, the buildings are all spanish style with beautiful water fountains and landscape everywhere. The rooms are decent size but definitely need some renovation. We stayed at a junior suite which is a studio with a small kitchen. The oven and blender were broken when we arrived. They replaced the blender right away. I didn't need the oven anyway so didn't ask for replacement.
The restaurant on site Pitahaya was fantastic! Food was so good that we went back again and again. It was expensive though, dinner for 2 (no wine or alcohol drink) came out to be $160.
The pools and hot tubs were clean. You can always find an empty chair by the pool or beach and ask for the staff to bring you the umbrella. The beach is beautiful to look at, but not swimmable. The waves were too rough, I was knocked down by the wave several times and the water was only to my thigh.
I enjoyed their free internet daily (30 min everyday). I didn't need more than that, why should I sit behind a computer when there's so much more I could do. I would stay there again, consider I paid only half of the maintenance fee compare to our home timeshare resort.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerRedsR
LocationEdison,NJ
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1974
A Magnificent Resort!
Date:December 11, 2009
Best things about resortBeautiful complex, beachfront, on-site golf course, hospitable staff and convenient location are sure to please the most discriminating traveler.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWhile very expensive, Pitahayas is an excellent on site restaurant to enjoy a meal. In Cabo, Capo San Govanni, Maro's Shrimp House and Soloman's Landing at the Marina are sure to please with great food and local flavor. A day trip to Todas Santos,an evening visit to San Jose del Cabo on Thursday night (Art Walk) and taking snorkeling and sunset cruises are great ways to experience just a few area attactions/diversions.
ReviewWhat a beautiful resort! The staff were both attentive and hospitable, and went out of their way to please. The units were well appointed, comfortable and furnished in a style one would expect to find at a "hacienda." We had a 2BR unit with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Walmart and Costco were about a 10 minute drive, halfway between the resort and town. We saved a substantial amount of money on our food by eating our breakfast and lunch in. While the resort has a shuttle service to the marina running every 1& 1/2 hours, a car is really convenient and allows you to explore the entire area on your own. The weather couldn't have been better. We loved the resort so much that we became members of the vacation club! The Hacienda Del Mar is a first class luxury resort that won't disappoint!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAZRetirees
LocationArizona
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2003
Excellent Resort
Date:April 15, 2009
Best things about resortAlthough we own a timeshare here, we hadn't been back in 5 years. We were pleasantly surprised to see all the improvements that were done. Our Junior Suite was perfect. Having coffee on our balcony overlooking the Sea of Cortez. The kitchen is small but does have a refrig, microwave, 2 burners, coffee maker, & toaster oven.It has silverware, dishes, pots and pans. The bathroom has a jacuzzi.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe took a tour bus to Todos Santos. That was a wonderful trip. Eat at Tequila Sunrise & get the shrimp rellanos. They are delicious. In Cabo San Lucas, we ate at retaurant Maztalan. That was good, also. I recommend eating off the compound as the restaurants are quite expensive. We brought food items from home (coffee, oatmeal, cereal, sugar, bread, etc). We bought milk, juice, etc. from the small shopette on the compound. There is a Wal-Mart and Costco you can go to. Check the rates for a taxi first. Bring pesos as the exchange rate here is not as good as what you can get in USA.
ReviewBeautiful resort with helpful and friendly staff. They will help you book tours, etc. We did not go to the pushy timeshare presentations although we were asked to go and called in our room to go. Just kept sayiing no. Otherwise, we had a great time and will return.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerdancourtney
Locationnew jersey
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2005
Paradise Found
Date:September 8, 2008
Best things about resortMy wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We had high expectations after reading all the reviews. We were not disappointed. This place is amazing. Close enough to downtown Cabo to enjoy all excitement, far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet. The grounds are immaculate. Workers are out before 6:00 am and still cleaning after 11:00 pm. Our room was the 2 bedroom, 3 bath, presidential. Amazingly clean and large. Everything we needed and more. Oceanview and a view of the Cabo Del Sol golf course. Absolutely beautiful!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThis resort has 7 pools and 5 restaurants to meet your every need. Pitahayas is one of the finest restaurants anywhere in the world (and we consider ourselves restaurant snobs)! If you want a real local feel, try heading downtown to Mazatlan Restaurant for the freshest seafood anywhere (not too many tourists here).
ReviewCabo San Lucas is fabulous and Hacienda Del Mar is one of the finest resorts anywhere in the world. I would recommend this resort to anyone wishing to travel to Cabo. It is only a short 10 minute ride to downtown Cabo and is a very quiet and relaxed resort to stay at. Everything about Hacienda Del Mar is exceptional. The service, the food, the rooms, the grounds. We attended 3 timeshare presentations at other resorts and none compared. You can work the timeshare folks pretty well in Cabo. We received a one week car rental for free, free fishing trip, bottle of tequila, bottle of kaluha, mexican blankets, free dinner at the mango deck, sunset cruise, $100 cash (US currency), $50.00 gift coupon to Pitahayas, and 3 all you can eat breakfasts with the presentations. By the time the week was ending, folks were offering us $300.00 (US) just to see another resort. Each presentation was about 2hrs and we made out very well. Car is recommended. We traveled up the pacific one day and had a beautiful drive. Stopped off at the Hotel California and then worked our way back. We are going back to Cabo soon!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerShamrocky
LocationWaseca, MN
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2014
Member Since1990
Excellent
Date:March 16, 2014
Best things about resortTotal class. This is what 5 Stars looks like. Staff was great.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyIt was all great. Food was excellent in all restraunts. The bar areas had happy hour specials almost all the time.
ReviewThe unit and grounds were fabulous. Yes, the daily maid service charge was about $6 usd. They did such a great job we left at least $5 usd daily. We were totally wow'd everyday by the resort.. The whales were active as were the sea rays. Could watch them from shore. Infinity pool, was great. Linens, beds, and towels were over the top. The pictures were not hype. The resort is nicer than the photos.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revieweraala0004
LocationFargo, ND
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2014
Member Since1989
Nice beach, Quiet
Date:March 6, 2014
Best things about resortGirasoles all you can eat breakfast; Beach chairs and umbrellas available each morning for a small tip to the staff. Short distance to town and Walmart if needed. Internet was available in our room
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGirasoles for breakfast otherwise we went to Walmart to purchase groceries for some lunch and dinner meals as restaurants were expensive with not the greatest meals.
ReviewWe stayed in January 2013. We enjoyed our time however per the staff owners get first selection of the rooms. We were about 4 buildings back from the water. The staff was nice and friendly. Internet for two devices were provided. The hotel is next door but we hardly ever saw or heard anyone from over there unless going to eat at one of the restaurants. Felt very safe. We were in a one bedroom room with two full size beds. We had a kitchen however the fridge was musty smelling on arrival but the staff immediately took care of it. Calm and relaxing vacation but not a great place for kids. I would return in the future.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerRVers
LocationSouth New Berlin, NY
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2014
Member Since2011
Disappointed based upon others' experience
Date:March 5, 2014
Best things about resortThe grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Great selection of pools, daily activities, and clean beach. Conveniently located about 8 mi. from Cabo San Lucas while still being in a quiet location. Meal quality for breakfast is very good (Girasoles).
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGirasoles, where we ate breakfast every day, has an excellent selection with great quality of food. Dinner however was underwhelming; lacking in taste and over priced. In San Jose del Cabo we found Rock and Brews to be good a place to eat (had a lunch and dinner there).
ReviewThis is how a 5 star resort gets a 3 star rating. We booked a one bedroom unit in June 2013 for a February 2014 vacation. We arrived over an hour before check-in and were told the unit wasn't ready yet, which we expected, so they had a staff member give us a resort "orientation". This ended up being simply a timeshare sales presentation. We were also told that if we wanted to attend the fiesta Tuesday night that it would be $30 without agreeing to attend a more formal timeshare presentation on Thursday morning. We didn't commit to Thursday but they scheduled us anyways.
Now thinking we still had some time before the 4 p.m. check-in we went to the local WalMart and picked up some groceries for the unit, fortunately we didn't buy any perishables. When we returned we were told there weren't any one bedroom units available, or any units available for that matter, and we'd have to stay in the hotel side of the resort. So...we went over to the hotel side of the operation. After talking with management there we negotiated free breakfast for the week and free admittance to the fiesta (remember the $30?). We also requested we be moved if any units did open up during the week. They said there wouldn't be any. On our way out of the hotel lobby we're jumped on by another timeshare sales staff who insists on signing us up for the Thursday presentation even though we told him we already went through this during check-in on the condo side of the operation and showed him our paperwork that they'd given us previously.
When we go to pick up our vouchers for breakfast we find they've only written them out for two of the three members in our family. Again we have to negotiate for addition of the missing family member. When we attend the fiesta we find that there is no fee; the $30 appears to be only to put your card in a basket for gift drawings.
We were called at 9:30 p.m. on the night we checked-in to confirm our attendance at the Thursday timeshare presentation. We were called at least six times during the following day for the same thing. I finally told them after what we'd been through we just weren't interested.
On another note, the WiFi is not available from your room as implied. You have to go down to the lobby. Also, the "cooler" in the hotel unit didn't work when we got there and we had to call maintenance. It's only a cooler, not a refrigerator. You can't store perishables of any kind in it. It's designed only for wine. Glad we didn't stock up for the unit more than we did as they ended up getting packed for the trip home!
On Saturday no one came to clean the room, change the towels, etc. We were thinking maybe they didn't do this on weekends except on request. What we found was that they'd switched us to a condo unit starting Sat. evening. Mind you we're checking out Monday morning; thanks for nothing. We told them we'd just stay put.
So, our experience was high pressure timeshare sales and having our reserved unit stolen from us. I am glad many others haven't had to share in this, but that's what happended to us. We'd never return.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hacienda del Mar Resort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLake
LocationCanada
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2014
Member Since2006
Lovely resort
Date:February 6, 2014
Best things about resortGrounds are beautiful and restaurants are excellent. It was always easy to get a chair on the beach though the Sea of Cortez is not swimmable at this location.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTodos Santos is lovely. San José del Cabo art walk on Thursday evening is not to be missed.
ReviewWe really liked this resort and had a limited but pleasant ocean view. The shuttle to Cabo San Lucas was fine. Book your car rental online in advance for a better price. The worst feature was almost useless wi-fi.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.