Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

Cottages at Shipyard (#3298)

Your Cottages at Shipyard unit features a telephone, television with VC player, CDplayer, washer/dryer and full kitchen. 2BR units OCC: Max 6/Pri 4 have 2 baths, 1 king bed, 2 twin beds, and a sleep sofa.2BR units OCC: Max 6/Pri 6 have 2 baths, 1 king bed, 2 twin beds, and a sleep sofa.The townhouses have 2 floors-no elevators.3BR units OCC: Max 8/Pri 8 have 3 baths, 22 king beds, 2 twin beds and a sleep sofa. Check-in begins at 4pm; check-out is PRIORTO 10:00am each Saturday. Early check-in and late check-out are not available. If staying multiple weeks, please contact theresort prior to arrival. A US$150 securitydeposit is required at check-in. NO PETS, MOTORHOMES, CAMPERS, MOTORCYCLES,BOATS, OR TRAILERS ARE ALLOWED ON-SITE. Acar is necessary to fully enjoy the area. Unit assignments are final. All units havestairs; and no handicapped-accessible units are available at this resort.
Average Member Rating:
4.229 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
31 of 35(89%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Cottages at Shipyard
Review 21 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKnoxvilleron
LocationTennessee
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1998
Overall very nice
Date:July 24, 2011
Best things about resortLow traffic, easy access. Bicycling in Shipyard Plantation and on the beach is great.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyFavorite restaurants...Sea Shack, A Lowcountry Backyard, Skull Creek Boathouse. When it's just my wife and I dining out, we don't mind having a drink or two and waiting for a table. But if you have kids, be sure and go to dinner EARLY, or be prepared for a long wait just about anywhere on the island. Skull Creek Boathouse had some really nice choices for early-bird specials (till 5:45) that included soup or salad and a drink for $14.75.
ReviewThe only real problem we had was that our 2 BR unit had a king bed in both bedrooms. With a boy 14 and a girl 11, that was a bad arrangement. I don't think we have ever stayed in a unit that did not have 2 beds in one of the bedrooms. The sleeper sofa was unusable due to the wafer-thin mattress and the crossbar. The resort staff was incredibly nice and friendly, but they could not/would not do anything to help us out. Oh well, the kids managed to share the bed without killing each other.
The landscaping and grounds are beautiful. Be aware that there is a small pool specifically for The Cottages that is not shown on the resort map. The front desk at check-in directed us to the pool at neighboring Egret Point, but the pool for The Cottages is actually behind the buildings in the next-to-last cul-de-sac. We like to take our own steaks to grill for dinner one evening, and the grills at this pool are very good quality. We added some fresh local shrimp from Barnacle Bill's, and I was in heaven.
On the beach, we rented 2 chairs and an umbrella for the week for $120, plus tip. You can easily buy your own shelter for less, but it sure was nice to just walk out on the beach and have your stuff already set up and waiting for you.
I gave a low rating for Activities because we were not aware of any sponsored activities during the week. We rarely take advantage of them anyway, so that wasn't a problem.
Review 22 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerCherry187
LocationPennsylvania
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1997
Nice Resort Not Far from it all
Date:June 15, 2011
Best things about resortNearby beach; Close to shopping at Coligny Plaza; Peaceful, Quiet
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBeach is not far. Golf on site,if that's your pleasure. Horseback riding within 5 mi.
ReviewWe had a three bedroom unit, but fortunately there were only four of us staying there, as the unit's living room and kitchen were on the small side. Unit could use a little TLC as far as routine repairs, as that was what we seemed to notice. Little things were noticed but they added up. All in all a very pleasant week. Some tips for those who love the beach...be sure to rent some bicycles. During the summer season, there is only only one car pass given to park near the beach. This would be at the Crown Plaza Resort. A bike ride is within 5 minutes of the beach on average. Be sure to take the time to rent a beach locker under the clubhouse at the beach. For about $20 per week, you can store all your beach gear right at the beach so that you don't have to keep lugging it around. This was a really nice convenience. Shopping is also a 5 minute bike ride away. The resort is definitely within close proximity to just about anything you might need or want to do. Would definitely consider returning.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjolittlered
LocationBranson, MO
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1985
Lovely Resort Close to Everything
Date:September 19, 2010
Best things about resortLocation, location, location Did not have to drive far to anything on the Island or off. Clean, attractive, homey feel, yet safe. Pleasantly landscaped & decorated.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMany museums & tours available within a few miles of resort. Seafood restaurants & bakeries abound and all good and fun to dine in.
ReviewI would recommend for families or seniors. Easy to get around Hilton Head from the location. Lots to see for history buffs; great beaches and loads of them; lots for nature lovers; lots of shopping available; lots of great dining opps. Made for a full week or a laid back week, as desired. All the staff people at Cottages were friendly and helpful. Pools were well maintained. One hot tub was out a couple of days, but there was another nearby, and they worked on it until they got it running. Small alligator lived out back door but very safe; always in his lagoon. Cottages does their best to make a memorable vacation for you.
Review 24 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerscgator
LocationColumbia SC
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1996
Pleasantly surprised
Date:October 11, 2009
Best things about resortNew everything, stainless steel cooking utensils, back porch was fantastic place to take a break and watch golfers approach one of the greens.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBeach, lots of places right outside the resort to eat/drink.
ReviewI had read a review that said SMELLED MOLD as soon as I opened the door. Well, same thing happened to me BUT I opened the front and back doors and aired out the place while I unpacked. Closed it up and everything was FINE! Moldy smell was just due to high humidity of Hilton Head and closed up spaces.
Everything was brand new. The TV was big screen, HIGH DEF football games were great. The pool was right out the door and was in good shape. The hot tub was closed and obviously being reworked, I hated that! Swam in October several times, cool but refreshing. Brand new gas grilles were excellent!
The beach is NOT close, couple of miles, need a bike or drive. IF this was on the beach, then I'd go there every year. Nice porch facing one of the greens on the gold course, I watched several golfers play through, course seemed to be in great shape, it was not crowded.
I did not play golf, went there to work on my book for peace and quiet. I enjoyed several long bike rides around the island.
Excellent pl;ace for peace and quiet, great for golfers. You are not going to walk to anything, biking or car is your only choice. I saw bikes being delievered to other units but I brought my own.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerqueenmary2
LocationAlexandria, MN
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1980
Beautiful Resort close to seashore
Date:September 28, 2009
Best things about resortYou can have bikes delivered to right to your unit. There are so many great paths that you can go to the health club, grocery store, seashore and shops without breaking a sweat.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAn employee of the health club told us to go to the Sea Shack .It is a very casual restaurant with great food and close by. Go to the many antique shops and second hand stores. We all found high end clothes in all sizes. Biking on the Sea Shore is the best.
ReviewWe loved the washer/dryer in the spacious three bedroom/ three bath unit. The staff quickly brought us additional rockers for our porch. There was a small unheated pool near our unit, but we biked about 2 blocks to the larger pool/rec center to swim and play table tennis. We kept watch over the two large alligators on our golf course and all the white egrets. This resort respects nature and therefore keeps the outside lighting low, but you always feel safe as it is a gated community. You even have a code to enter on the bike path. If you go to see the Light House, there is a toll fee (about $5) that you pay to drive to the SW side of the island and another fee to climb up to the top of the Light House.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revieweraug31girlMetro
LocationMetro Atlanta, GA
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1984
Great location and beautiful unit
Date:March 24, 2009
Best things about resortThe Cottages are located within the spacious Shipyard Plantation. There are miles of bicycle paths and access to the beach
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBe sure to visit Sea Pines Plantation which includes Harboutown and South Beach. We climbed the lighthouse which is also a musuem. There are exhibits on each landing ($3.00 admission). We ate lunch at the Sea Pines bakery and cafe. A great place with a large menu of fresh fish is the Sea Shack located right outside Shipyard's Pope Ave. entrance at 6 Executive Park Rd. It's not fancy; you order at the counter and use plastic plates and utensils, but delicious fresh fish. Opens at 5 pm. and often there's a line waiting to get in as there are only 11 tables. I had grrilled mahi mahi, veggie of the day, yukon mashed potatoes, and hush puppies for $10.99
ReviewOveralll, this was a great vacation. We were blessed with warm temperatures the 2nd week of March. Our kids, spouses, and granddaughters joined us for 3 days as we had a 3 bedroom unit, and we went to the beach and biked every day. There are numerous alligators, turtles, and birds throughout the plantation.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerPTMar
LocationTampa, FL
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2004
Fantastic vacation experience!
Date:January 1, 2009
Best things about resortLocation, amenities, and friendliness of the staff. Being in the Cottages was like having my own personal home in a beautiful, relaxing setting. I loved the open setting. It had every amenity imaginable. There was a wide variety of activities available to participate in at the Activities Center.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWhile there is a large number of excellent restaurants availalbe, here are two we enjoyed for their great food and uniqueness: The Black Marlin Bayside Grill and Signe's Bakery & Cafe. Also, don't miss Harbour Town with the lighthouse and dolphin cruise.
ReviewAs recommended by others, we rented bikes for the week and enjoyed riding around the beautiful bike paths and along the beach. If you enjoy nature, this is a great place to be...sitting on the back porch in my rocking chair, I listened to birds chirping and watched an alligator and turtle swimming in the lagoon. There are tons of outstanding golf courses, tennis courts, swimming pools, and hot tubs available. For those who like to shop, there are many places to chieck out. So many things available to see and do! We enjoyed the area a lot and look forward to coming back again in the future.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerronjohn
LocationPataskala, OH
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1982
Bad Experience
Date:December 30, 2008
Best things about resortCan't think of one.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyColigny Square has several nice shops, a grocery store and restaurants.
ReviewAs soon as we walked in the door, you could smell mold. We found mold covered all over he kitchen cabinets and pretty thruout the condo. My father in law had respiratory problems all week due to the mold. We also found dirty plates suck together in our kitchen cabinets. Our AC condesor leaked water all over our carpet in the hallway, and maintenance got it partially dry but stayed wet all week. Maitenance told us all cottages have mold problems, and didn't offer to move us to another condo. We get calls every month from Spinaker offering us a discount room (which really isn't) in exchange for a timeshare presentation, and we've explained our our previous problem to them, and they could care less.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerdaye
LocationWinsted, CT
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2008
lovely setting/beautiful resort
Date:July 8, 2008
Best things about resortThe cottages are lovely in a beautiful quiet setting. They are not new, but I understand they are starting updating now. Still they are nicely decorated, very spacious in a wonderful gated environment. The bike paths and heated pools are great. Lots of fun watching birds and wildlife.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMany amazing golf opportunities and all kinds of restaurants. Dolphin excursions. Shops. Marinas.
ReviewWe had an amazing time. It is soothing to all your senses. The surroundings are spectacular. Hilton Head is an example of how a resort area should be designed.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewermickeybob
LocationKissimmee, FL
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1992
Great location near lots of golf, beach.
Date:May 25, 2008
Best things about resortRight on golf course with lots of trees, bike trails and close to great restaurants.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe found some good places to eat close to the resort. Try the Catch22, Cranes Tavern, Michael Anthonys and, for something different, It's Greek to Me (really good Greek deserts, not fancy or pricy). Savannah and Charlestown are close by.
ReviewAdequate accommodations but kind of tired and in need of some updating. Quite dark inside as there are a lot of trees surrounding the units but more inside lighting is needed especially in the bathrooms. Make sure you have bicycles. We did appreciate that this is a gated community as it kept traffic noise down. We would return.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerGordieH
LocationBrockville. On
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2007
Great Place
Date:March 24, 2008
Best things about resortQuiet; lots of wildlife; great golf and shopping; rented bikes for the week and rode all over the island; central to most attractions; we love Coligny Plaza, which is older but very quaint
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGolf, and shopping
Reviewgreat palce; have stayed at Gold crowns that were not as well kept as The Cottages; we will return
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerBluenoser
LocationNova Scotia Canada
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1981
Good Resort in unique Area
Date:February 21, 2008
Best things about resortGated community, bike trails everywhere, Quiet, and safe.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMany great restaurants near by. The beach is near. Very quite area.
ReviewThe units are very roomy and in good repair. We had a 3 bedroom unit with 3 baths. The heated pool was great. We sure will want to return to this place.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerWWWWM
LocationWilliamsburg, VA
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1989
Under Rated - Resort Beats Many Nearby Gold Crowns
Date:November 27, 2007
Best things about resortPrivate gated community, all units have great view of lagoon or golf course, nice private beach area, discounted golf package, good floor plans for 1-story cottages.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPrivate beach is 1.5 mile walk or drive, Shipyard golf course surrounds property, many restaurants within a few miles, trails everywhere for walking or biking.
ReviewWe were pleasantly surprised at the quality and location of the resort since it was rated only as a Silver Crown...........have been to many Gold Crown properties that are inferior to this one. Location, grounds, trails, privacy, unit layout, beach, lagoons with alligators, etc. This is an older property but one would never know it from it's current condition and level of maintenance.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerSweetfaceandSunshine
LocationMason, MI
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2005
Very nice resort in a beautiful setting
Date:October 24, 2007
Best things about resortBeautiful location. Units spaced out nicely with gorgeous landscaping. Wonderful bike paths; you can ride for miles. Gated resort for a real sense of safety and peace and quiet.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySavannah, GA and Charleston, SC are both reasonably close for day trips. We don't golf, but the courses looked fabulous. The island is covered with mature trees! The beach is typical South Carolina, lovely!
ReviewOur 3 bedroom was nice, but slightly "tired". One window had no screen, the twin beds in one bedroom were different heights, so pushing them together was a sad joke!
We prefer our own cooking to eating out; too bad the staff couldn't point us toward a "gourmet" grocery, only a choice of three discount/run-of-the-mill chain stores. With just two days left in our week, we found a fabulous gourmet grocer, within a mile of our unit!
We'll be back, smarter next time.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cottages at Shipyard
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerhighmatience
LocationNorth Canton Ohio
Member Since2000
Very Comfortable and relaxing
Date:September 11, 2007
Best things about resortspacious and kept up
ReviewWe only travel in the winter months,so we do miss out on the extra activities of the beach and crowds. We make sure to stop for a week on Hilton Head. It allows us opportunity to stay at any resort thru RCI and take advantage of the larger crown resorts. Shipyards is a very spread out community. Cottages is like a full size home away-from-home. Very nice.
31 of 37 people found this review helpful.
21-35 of 35