Resort Reviews

Nostos Village (#2822)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/2822')"> Nostos Village (#2822)

Deep blue waters, pale blue skies and beautiful stone paths are only the beginning of your vacation at Nostos Village. Take a dip in an outdoor swimming pool that offers a striking view of the Gulf of Skiathos or grab a racquet and head to the tennis courts located right next to the beach. Munch on a snack at the pool’s snack bar or relax at the beach tavern while taking in the fragrant smell of the surrounding pine trees. Maximize your vacation by spending an afternoon at the on-site waterskiing and scuba-diving schools and celebrate by dining at the restaurant or having a cocktail at the bar. In just 250 steps, you will arrive at the sun-kissed sandy beach where you can enjoy a much-needed siesta.
Average Member Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
9 of 13(69%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Nostos Village
Review 1 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerkpam14
Locationlos angeles
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2009
Nostos Should be given More Credit....
Date:October 1, 2010
Best things about resortFood size View private Beach
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOwn beach Own restaurant (exellent food)
ReviewWhen I booked my bonus week and was left with only Skiathos as an option due to last minute booking , I was a bit skeptical since I read very bad reviews about the resort. Let me just say that, the moment Nostos came to sight I was instantly pleased. The resort has history, its been around for quite some time, and I kind of like the old, ancient look it has. Yes, some of the units can have a bit of remodeling, but look around you, we are not in a luxorous country, everything around has the same old look and feel. Nostos is trying though and has remodeled some rooms. The remodeled rooms are so spacious and have everything you can think of! Kitchen, dining table/area/, plenty of extra pillows and towels, iron and ironing board, a balcony with lounge chairs, drying racks, refrigerator, air conditioning, etc. I was completely taken back. I got really lucky and got upgraded to the room right above the reception desk, so I didn't have to climb the steps up and down all the time. I wouldn't have cared however, I think the steps were helpful in burning off all the calories we were eating during breakfast and dinner. The food at the tavern is AMAZING! We payed $25/day for both dinner and breakfast and believe me, it is well worth it! They feed you until you can't fit any more food! If you go to town, you'll end up paying a bit more, and its just dinner. The food is traditional food too, so you are really getting a taste of Greece. The staff is amazing also. The view is to die for. They even have wifi available (best connection is in the lobby)
Overall, I loved my experience, and I already booked my stay next year when its peak season so I can expirience Skiathos to the fullest. Even if I come back and stay at one of the other villas, I won't mind, I am not high maintance, and the steps will keep me in shape while there!
Also, if you go and complain about the steps, keep in mind that they do warn you before you book your trip, so I don't think its right when people complain about how many steps there are if they were warned from the beginning.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerjanog
LocationKent, UK.
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2011
Poor resort
Date:September 20, 2011
Best things about resortThe swimming pool is lovely and big, lots of places to sit or sunbathe. At the time we were there the pool bar was not open which was a shame as there were a few people at the pool who required a drink etc and had to walk up a flight of stairs to the bar in the lounge. Even though it was near the end of the season, why couldn't someone have been in the pool bar just for the afternoon when most people arrived? The lounge areas were vast and pleasant. The bar in the lounge was very small and would imagine when it is the height of the season it would be hard to buy a drink easily. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe views from the hotel were very good. We were on half board and ate at the taverna on the beach for some of our weeks' stay. We also ate in Jimmy's taverna and would recommend the Kapenistra taverna too, both within walking distance but as the funicular railway was not working, a car was provided by the hotel (with a driver) to collect you. Although the bus service is good, every 20 minutes, we hired a jeep for 4 days to see more of the island. Koukinaris being the best in our opinion. Troulos beach was good also with about 4 tavernas on the beach
ReviewThis is our first exchange week with RCI and we were disappointed with the studio offered, no.33. We complained at reception and were offered a room in the hotel without hesitation. This was much better although the bathroom was very small. Everything in the room looked tired, although the aircon and fridge were in good working order. A splash of paint might improve the look of it. The wardrobe could have looked better, tatty is a good word.
The entire complex is very tired and will need a lot of work and money to remedy this. We know that Greek holidays are mostly relaxed and accommodation is not always as expected. In this case we were appalled at the state of the studio offered. There was no view at all, just another rooftop. In the bathroom, the lights were held up by a wooden plank with the wires exposed etc. Kitchen facilities we knew would be basic, but not acceptable in our view, very old, rustic was a word we heard often from other people, but not that rustic. There was no one we spoke to who had a good word to say about their accommodation whether it be on the complex or hotel rooms. To be fair we understand there were suites available with a kitchen, but as we did not see these, we are unable to comment on such.
As for the funicular railway, we knew it was not working as RCI had emailed us to inform us of this and a car would be available from reception (with a driver), to take us to the taverna, supermakret, bus stop when requested which was fine. However, a couple we met who had stayed here 2 years ago said the railway was not working then. So much so that weeds, branches from trees were shown growing through the tracks. So RCI MUST have known the funicular railway had not been working for some time. As a reasonably new member to timeshare (ours is Sirenis) we expected like for like with our home resort, which this certainly was not.
One other thing to mention is the mandatory half board we had to pay upon arrival. We knew this upon booking, but was told by others in the resort this was not necessary. When we enquired at reception, we were told we could use the a'la carte menu at the taverna paying anything else over the 17 euros it cost for the evening meal. This did not seem fair to us, some having the choice and others not.
We will probably visit Skiathos again but not at Nostos Village unless vast improvements have been made.
We know there have been many negative comments about Nostos Village, so if it is as bad as people say, why are RCI still advertising it when it doesn't appear to be that popular with people? Having said that on Trip Advisor and RCI reviews, some comments are complimentary, so if you are prepared to give it a try, the decision is yours!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAK907
LocationEagle River, AK
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2008
Character and People Make up for Accommodations
Date:August 9, 2011
Best things about resortCentral location for activities both east and west of resort. Staff is very friendly. Nice pool area.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBeaches, especially Koukounaries. Many, many excellent tavernas nearby.
ReviewAfter reading many of the reviews of the resort we felt like we had a good idea of what to expect and we were not let down. At least not in most respects.
Are the rooms a bit aged and rundown? Yes. But knowing that going in we weren't disappointed. It's not like we were in Greece to stay in our room, we were there to experience all Greece has to offer so we really spent very little time in our room. It could have used a more comfortable bed though.
Are there lots of stairs? YES. We were there early in the season and they had people to shuttle people down to the taverna for dinner or beach so it wasn't a problem. In high season it might be an issue and I'd recommend a flashlight or headlamp if you have to walk the stairs at night. I don't think the tram will be working any time in the near future.
Our stay was in early May which is just the right time. Tourist season was just starting to gear up so it felt like we had the island to ourselves. Another couple weeks and I think the island would start getting too crowded. The year round population of the island is 5,000 but can climb to 80,000 at the height of the season. They estimated that there was about 8,000 when we visited.
The only thing at the resort that I would recommend against, is the half-board plan. Based on previous reviews we elected to get it as well. We found the food to be very bland and the options too limited; your choice of two meals. When we saw how they put the tab together and what the meal costs were we were a bit upset. You can eat MUCH better for less if you go to some of the many other nearby tavernas. Look for the locals or go to the out of the way ones. As you get closer to Koukounaries beach the food becomes more British. Not a bad thing but we were looking for authentic Greek food. I should say that the location and view at the hotel taverna are absolutely outstanding! The place has an obscene amount of potential to be outstanding, they just need a better chef. Oh yeah, don't bother with the complimentary wine. It's really, really bad. I mean really bad. Awful.
One great thing about all the tavernas we visited is that there is no rush. We never had a waiter bringing us our tab as soon as we were done so they can turn over the table for the next person. You can sit and talk for hours afterward and not be bothered except maybe for more drinks. We always had to ask for the tab no matter where we went. The lack of any rush whatsoever was amazing.
The island was absolutely wonderful! All the people we met were very friendly and there are so many beautiful places to visit. I haven't felt so relaxed in many, many years. I absolutely LOVED Skiathos and could easily see myself living there. We will definitely be back.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerYork
LocationHong Kong
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2004
Refurbishment/Renovation Desperately Needed
Date:April 23, 2009
Best things about resortA small beach is near by with a diving school. I enjoy diving, so that's quite convenient. Water is really clear though the variety of creatures definitely can't be compared to the tropics. The resort is at the hill side and away from city centre, so it's nice and quiet.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAs expalined above, the resort isn't close to the city centre, so it's best to rent a car to get around the island. We rented a mini jeep and it was fun hopping from one beach to another as well as going round the island. Restaurants at the port are generally alright with a nice view during sunset.
ReviewThe resort seriously needs some refurbishment/renovation. That's the main reason why I am not recommending this resort as I believe you most likely can find better ones in Skiathos. Given that it's on hill side, the stairs are also not too friendly especially for big lugguages. If you take the cable tram/escalator, whatever you want to call it, you usually have to wait for quite a while. The resort environment is quite pleasant if you don't mind having to drive a bit to the city centre. I quite enjoy Skiathos compared to other Greek islands as it's relatively not as commercialized than say Santorini or Mykonos.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerNorasil
LocationPortland, OR
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2006
a self contained retreat
Date:August 16, 2010
Best things about resortThe food location pine trees
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTaverna with the Half board option A family friendly full service beach The resort is within easy access of a super market and the bus that runs the length of the island. You can get a good massage on the beach for under 20 euro
ReviewOur little stone floored cabin opened with wooden blue shutters to a view of the Aegean Sea below. There was always a fresh salt and pine scented breeze blowing from the sea, which gentled the warm August weather. We slept very well. Although the cabin appliances should be updated, we were comfortable and cool and everything worked. I loved the extra long bathtub. The Nostos stairs are remarkable...long and steep. We had 170 steps to the beach below and about 200 steps to breakfast above. My heart rate had noticeably improved by the end of the week. The best decision we made was to purchase the half board option. The Taverna near the beach is wonderful, and included appetizers, salad, a main dish and desert. We experienced excellent greek cooking and earned back all the calories we lost going up and down the stairs!
We would come back again because we found a great night's sleep, a full service beach, good food and effective exercise all without leaving the resort site.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerJody22
LocationNorth Yorkshire, UK
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2001
Don’t judge a book by its cover.
Date:April 24, 2010
Best things about resortBest nights sleep in years – we could not believe how well we all slept! Peaceful location, friendly staff, lovely views and beaches.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWonderful beaches Skiathos Town & harbour Exploring the country lanes
ReviewIt’s been a while since our visit but on coming across the reviews I felt I wanted to retrace our steps by adding to the reviews. Our visit was at the end of the season being October school half term it was wonderful weather and all the beaches were so quiet. More than enough restaurants still open to go somewhere different everyday.
We hired a car as we love exploring and with the island being quieter than usual it was bliss driving around discovering so many beautiful beaches and hidden countryside gems. The road up to the resort was interesting! First appearances are good, check in friendly – but then you are faced with getting your luggage to your accommodation – Nostos village is not the same as Nostos Suitesl. All the stairs down were hard work and the first impression of our 1 bed apartment had us groaning – our daughter was not thrilled at the prospect of sleeping on the sofa bed. To sum it up: primitive, dated, cosy, clean, kitchen well passed its best, nice bathroom, bit of a damp feel to it. Lovely views. We didn’t like previous reviewers, leave however, we had no where else to go. By the end of our holiday I can honestly say we were all delighted we had given the place a chance. The points value was very low so this was never going to be 5* plus.
The Taverna on the beach below was where we headed for dinner, loved it and the staff, ate here for either lunch or dinner several times. We used the very slow funicular to and from the beach which our daughter loved and it saved walking! She also loved the many cats and kittens on the island and we took to feeding many that we met on beaches.
One restaurant we ate in down by the harbour didn’t take credit cards – we hadn’t known this so the owner just told us to come by the next day and pay then – we couldn’t get over this generous, kind, trusting people – everyone we met on the island was so friendly.
Skiathos - both town and island are beautiful. As we were gone most of the days exploring the resort was a place to sleep and boy did we. The maids came in everyday and all the bedding and towels were changed – I think this was more to do with the damp feeling in the apartment but there was no mould or anything that concerned us health wise.
We had one dinner in the hotel which was also really lovely. The pool was nice too. A week was long enough to fully explore, there were no water sports as such at this time of year unless you had your own equipment and we are unlikely to return but only as there are so many other places we want to visit.
Go with a simple heart, slightly out of season, with good company and enjoy.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerJohnandMoira
LocationThurnham Hall, Lancaster
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1998
Has RCI ever inspected this place?
Date:September 17, 2011
Best things about resortThe location.The setting is glorious, on a hillside amongst pine trees and overlooking the sea. The main building and pool area are superb, if a little dated. The staff here are excellent and clearly take a great deal of pride in the place and being part of it. Poppy, the customer manager when we were here, was a real asset to the place, always on hand to help and advise. We had inadvertently booked half board, not sure how as it didn't appear to indicate that on the webpage we used (via RCI) when booking, but we were very pleased with the quality of the food and service. There was limited choice for the evening meals, taken at a local taverna on the beach in a wonderful setting, but the quality was top class. Breakfast was also very good, on the main building veranda with excellent 360 degree views of the local scenery and the sea. There was a choice of buffet style food, including freshly fried eggs, bacon and sausages, and very important for us, unlimited coffee
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMost tavernas are of a good quality and worth trying (provided you don't commit yourself to the half board deal which we found out after we arrived is NOT mandatory and is certainly not good value for money). Skiathos Town is also worth a visit.
ReviewWhere to start? There is so much to say about Nostos. Perhaps, having read what follows, we should come back to the beginning to say that we really enjoyed our stay here in spite of the poor quality of the resort (which RCI ought to take an interest in but appear not to!). Nostos is unique and has much to commend it - however it could be so much better!
The accommodation we were given was disappointing and of a poor standard compared to the Gold week we had exchanged via RCI. It seems that Nostos recognised this discrepancy as, in order to compensate (we think) they allocated us TWO apartments, with a connecting door, rather than one we were expecting. Whilst this was a thoughtful gesture by the hotel, as there were only two of us it didn't really help. But now we had two of everything so no point complaining. We were told by the manager during our stay that better quality accomodation was available if we booked direct with the resort in future (disgracefull!!) is RCI aware of this?
Neither of the two (very noisy) air-conditioning units was effective at cooling the air. The circulating units worked giving the impression that all was well, but after a time it was clear that the air coming out was the same temperature as the air going in. A brief inspection of the cooling units on the balconies outside revealed that they were not actually working (or possibly even connected?). Some relief could be obtained from the heat by getting into the fairly weak airstream coming out of the fan unit in the room but to get the maximum effect we had to stand on a chair on tiptoe in the middle of the room. After a couple of turns each at this we recognised that it was not going to be a sustainable solution and a higher wind chill would be needed. So, encouraged by our limited success, we bought a small fan with an extension lead for a few euros and this proved to be a very effective and quieter method of keeping comfortable. We were also able to use it in the balcony so that was a bonus and it followed us round the apartment for the rest of the week.
We had no intention of watching much TV whilst here but it was interesting to note that neither TV stood any chance of getting a decent signal. Each was supplied with a cheap internal aerial perched on top neither of which, no matter how it was manipulated, had any effect on the constant snow storm showing on the screen. Anybody with a slight knowledge of TV reception will know that portable aerials like this work best in a tent and are completely useless in a concrete walled building. Nostos would have been better advised to divert the large investment which will have been needed to supply so many TV receivers into better kitchen equipment and routine maintenance. The kitchens were sparsely supplied with the minimum of equipment, there was no kettle, no microwave, no mugs, a selection of non matching different sized glasses and crockery. There was no ice making tray and worse, no corkscrew! For the four sinks and two baths which we now had access to there was only one plug. Several of the light bulbs needed replacement.
However we found a very good supermarket next door selling a wide range of food and almost every household item you could want. But the lady in charge was not able to sell us an ice making tray preferring instead to target her marketing into reasonable sized bags of ice cubes for €5, the corkscrews were €15. She knows!!
The furniture in our two apartments was extremely substandard (even by Greek standards) and seemed to be the original from when the hotel was built (30 years ago?). The metal legs on the balcony table we used most were so rusted that one was an half an inch shorter than the others. The doors and windows also had the original paint work and were badly in need of a refresh. The pristine photos supplied for this RCI webpage do not represent actual fact.The bed mattresses were not particularly comfortable but looked clean.
Whilst all this does not amount to a disaster, and it would never have spoilt our stay, it is indicative of the poor attention to detail given by the management at Nostos. The over-riding impression given is that they are struggling to maintain the resort to a good standard and it is evident that maintenance inspections and repairs are not high on the management's list of things to do. However, the rooms were serviced daily and clean towels provided mid week.
In conclusion we would say that Nostos does not deliver what we have come to expect of an RCI resort, but surprisingly we would like to return. The positives and our adaptability (always an asset in Greece) slightly outweighing the negatives. It would be a bonus if some of the issues here are addressed and we will be looking at future reviews to monitor progress. The reputation that Nostsos had as a top class resort has gradually been eroded over the years and, judging by the very expensive looking competition already built nearby, it will not survive unless it's current shortcomings are dealt with.
On a final note, we could only get an exchange at Nostos with a changeover day of Saturday. The one aircraft flying into Skiathos on a Saturday is from Austria. There are 9 from the UK on a Friday! In order to exchange our week we had to travel out on the previous Tuesday, book an extra 4 nights elsewhere and then leave a day early - not good RCI - get your act togther!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerFagavo
LocationChicago, USA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1995
Peaceful, Beautiful Resort
Date:July 12, 2010
Best things about resortThe Taverna where you eat with the included Boarding. Diving School/Boat Rent/Water activities Peaceful, Private Beach
ReviewThe staff was very friendly. The unit needs some work but its simplicity is charming. Do not expect luxury because it is just a double bed that sounds everytime you move, and the shower is very small. Besides the unit, the stairs can be a hassle on the way up to the room (especially after a big dinner!). The cable car was broken and I believe it has been for over a year. In the morning breakfast is on the very top of the hill so depending on where your room is, you are looking at a 10-15 min stair climbing, and dinner is on the very bottom. We are a young couple who enjoy the exercise so it wasn't a problem for us, but maybe would be for others.
The beach is very special! private, peaceful, a true vacation. I highly recommend the month of June to visit.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerGord
LocationToronto, Canada
Member Since1980
Nice Resort, lots of stairs
Date:October 3, 2007
Best things about resortFriendly staff, great view from your balcony.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyResort Restaurant on the beach (bend over backwards for you) George the restaurant manager is a true professional, and will do all he can to make your meal enjoyable. Great Greek dance show on the tues night!
ReviewWe stayed at this resort Sept 22-29 2007 , the staff were very helpful, everyone on the island speaks English and were very friendly. This resort is situated on a hill overlooking the Agean Sea, great view from your balcony. However unless you rent a car for the week you will have to climb up and down the resorts 600 stairs to get to the beach, restaurants, bus stops, boat taxi, etc. Not reccommended unless you like a lot of uneven stair climbing. The resort has a little tram car that will take you up and down however, it's very slow and only holds 8 people. The resort is looking a little tired and needs a good paint job.
We rented a car and drove to all the sights on the island, lots of Monistaries to visit, a must see is Kastro. We also went to a different beach every day, lots to choose from. Best time to visit this island is when school is still in as we were told summers are very busy with college kids. Do not go to this island before May or after Oct 15 as the majority of restaurants and shops close for the winter. The resort had no activities running for the week and we had to plan our own activities to do for the week. This resort has no Internet access for its guests, which I believe in this day and age should be mandatory. I needed to stay in contact with my office and check email messages and could not, they need to get there act together in this respect. There are a few internet cafe's in Skiathos town. Overall we enjoyed ourselves however ran out of things to do by mid week. Unless you like laying on the beach all day.
To get to Skiathos town you have to take a bus (15 min ride) or take the water taxi, 20 min ride. (much more comfortable) We found the car rental the best choice. 30 Euro a day.
156 of 157 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewergizgogs
LocationYorkshire, UK
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1992
Very poor accommodation
Date:March 6, 2008
Best things about resortThe views from the top of the resort are superb.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAmbrosia and Nectar is a great place for dinner (in Troulos). Many excellent restaurants in Skiathos Town. Don't miss cocktails on the steps near the harbour in town, looks fab all lit up with lots of candles and soft cushions to sit on. Many, many quiet beaches - hire a car to explore the island.
ReviewThis is without doubt the poorest accommodation I've ever booked through RCI. The units desparately need a refurb. Bathrooms ok but kitchen equipment rusted and grubby. Room generally very basic. Balcony in especially poor state and though this resort has great views from the top, you don't get this in the lower units. As described, very hilly and necessary to take the very very slow funicular on site. A car would be very useful as this resort is not in easy walking distance to anywhere. We didn't stay after being offered an alternative unit, as this was just as poor. Prospective Timeshare clients are shown the Nostos Suites, not the village, so I presume these are in better condition!
80 of 82 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revieweryorkieman
LocationYork
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2002
A holiday in paradise
Date:June 9, 2009
Best things about resortThe atmosphere in and around the resort is peaceful and quiet in the ealy part of the season when us of a certain age go to Skiathos. Fabulous views, excellent friendly service from staff.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Taverna on the beach for dinner is excellent with a wide choice of menu served by friendly polite staff.
ReviewAlthough the units are located on the hillside they are roomy and adequately equiped. Any requests or problems can be addressed to the reception staff and would be corrected immediately. The location is perfect for a cool and comfortable sit on the balcony to relax with a glass of wine and survey the wonderful scenery. Although a car maybe required to visit the few accessable beaches on the island there is an adequate, reasonably priced bus and ferry service near at hand. A boat trip around the Island to visit the more inaccessable beaches is recommended. If you go at the start of the season (May) then the island is more peaceful and quiet.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerWendyandTony
LocationSherwood Park, AB
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2009
1st RCI Vacation
Date:October 27, 2009
Best things about resortThis was our very 1st excursion using RCI. Though this was near the end of the season, we found the resort staff very receptive and helpful - even delivering our bags direct to the room - for those that have been to the resort you know this is a big thing due to the stairs. Lovely views over-looking multiple directions to the island and the sea. The food was extraordinary - as we bought the 1/2 board (buffet for breakfast and a la carte for supper), Wendy and I actually joked that we believe they have the stairs to work off the amount of food that we were eating there. The location for supper was the Taverna at the beach - lovely views.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe island as a whole is a wondeful attraction - with our scooters we ventured over approx 75% of the island. Some beaches were easily accessible by the paths, where some we had to walk too. Furthest distance to walk from a parking spot was maybe 1km (0.6miles). Most beaches were pristine, had a taverna, and quite clean. The Skiathos Dog Shelter was a unique place where you could visit, take a dog or two for a walk, and see some of the lovely beaches overlooking the Aselinos area. The Kastro area (old Skiathos) was a unique and very old world site. A bit of a walk - up and down - but well worth it. We found a lovely Internet cafe at the north end of town, which became a daily occurance to visit - not really to check emails, but for the fantastic cappuccinos - big and good. As we had the 1/2 board, we mainly ate at the resort. There was the initial outlay of money, but it was worry free eating after that. And as there was an abundance of food, this would enable us to pack a lunch for the next day.
ReviewYes, a lot of stairs. But, when booking we were asked multiple times if we wanted to stay because of the stairs - so we were well aware. The lift had broken on the last few days, but we were not bothered by the inconvience - others mentioned it but did not leave the resort. We rented scooters in town so access to the majority of the island was never a problem. The free 3D map that you can find almost anywhere - was quite helpful. There is also a book that focusses on hiking/walking - trails were well signed for those that like to indulge. The availability of TV service was limited to mainly Greek, but one channel had English movies almost every night. Internet was not available on wide distribution (modem or wireless), but we were able to access a wireless feed at the resort - if you know the right spot. We found the scooters much better than cars - cheap on gas and easier to park downtown - plentiful spots for scooters. As we were gone most of the day venturing around the island, the resort was a place to eat and sleep. The island (and the resort) is quite green - we had visited other islands and found them more barren. Overall, we were quite satisfied with the resort and would return.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nostos Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKarinAharon
LocationISRAEL
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1985
A part of Paradies
Date:May 1, 2011
Best things about resortThe view from the resort room and the hospitality of all the staff.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe arrive at Skiathos in late April 2011 , without knowing it is not the season and most of the activities on the Island are closed. In spite of it, it was one of our best vacations in the last 25 years of our RCI membership. This was due to the beauty of the nature on Island,the beaches ,the food at the Tavernas and the warmth of the Resort staff which gave us the best services. The warm atmosphere is everywhere and we felt Immediately like part of this loving family thanks to the PR Manager Miss Poppy. We will return to this beautyfull Island and excelent resort.
ReviewWe arrive at Skiathos in late April 2011 , without knowing
it is not the season and most of the activities on the Island are closed. In spite of it, it was one of our best vacations in the last 25 years of our RCI membership.
This was due to the beauty of the nature on Island,the beaches ,the food at the Tavernas and the warmth of the Resort staff which gave us the best services.
The warm atmosphere is everywhere and we felt Immediately like part of this loving family thanks to the PR Manager Miss Poppy. We will return to this beautyfull Island and excelent resort.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.