Resort Reviews

Royal Mayan (#2694)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/2694')"> Royal Mayan (#2694)

The Royal Mayan offers endless views of white sand and turquoise waters. Relax on the beach or by the pools or enjoy activities like tennis, volleyball and water aerobics. The resort’s gardens are lush with tropical shrubs and flowers. Inspired by ancient Mayan culture, the resort is actually the site of a small Mayan ruin. Guests are offered every amenity at The Royal Mayan: in addition to the beach, the resort includes two pools (including children’s pool), two restaurants and a snack bar, tennis, child care, laundry facilities, car rental, elevators, groceries and medical facilities.
Average Member Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Royal Mayan
Review 1 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTrader68
LocationIL
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2011
No Complaints about the Royal Mayan
Date:April 30, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Best things about resortLa Palapa restaurant, beach, staff, cleanliness, well maintained grounds.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLa Palapa ended up being our favorite restaurant. Food was very good, prices reasonable, service top notch. We liked it even better than Captains' Cove - but other than being more costly, we couldn't complain about it at all either. The 'La Palapa' was just very handy - and we weren't at all disappointed with anything we had there - we ate two breakfast buffets, two lunches and 2 dinners during our week. The rest we ate in our condo.
ReviewWe are in our 60's and this resort was perfect for our needs. We visited at a time when there were not a lot of children - mostly older kids or under 5 - since school was in session.
Check in was a breeze and even though we had a little glitch - it was handled admirably and all went well. We 'missed' the orientation but did meet with the 'concierge 'later and received a small token free gift - but they gave us no hassle about not going down to Playa del Carmen for the timeshare deal. We just said no and were not bothered about it again.
We did not use the pools or participate in any resort activities so cannot comment on activities. The pools looked lovely and were in use by many families who seemed to be having a great time. They were sparkling clean.
The whole resort was clean as a whistle and our unit was the same. Our housekeeper was VERY thorough - didn't half do anything! We were very happy with the cleanliness of the unit. If we hung the do not disturb sign out - they didn't bother us. We skipped the housekeeping a couple days - which was ok with us.
We loved the beach and took several very long walks. The surf and wind was high - but that is no fault of the resort. We still enjoyed lounging on the beach. Didn't get into water much - since red flags were out the whole week.
Service was good at restaurants and beach. If you said no to service on the beach, they didn't bother you after that - but would come if you waved at them going by. We usually took our water bottles with us and were fine.
We thoroughly enjoyed the Mexican Night at La Palapa - although the included margarita's were VERY weak - if not virgin. Entertainment was professional and well done and very enjoyable.
THERE IS NO NIGHT LIFE HERE - just the pool bar until about 11 p.m. That's ok with us - but could be a problem for others who don't hit the sack as early as we do. But, it is a family resort, so I don't think most minded. There is nightlife in Cancun. We loved the peace and quiet of the resort in the evenings - made for lovely strolls.
We also ate at La Palapa on BBQ night and the shrimp and grouper were EXCELLENT. We actually enjoyed it more than the grouper we had at Captain's Cove! Service at La Palapa was excellent. No Complaints.
We shopped at the markets at the Mayan, Islander and Caribbean. The Royal Caribbean mkt. is larger and worth the little walk. It isn't far - there is access between the bldgs. We thought the prices were 'ok' for a resort and since we had NO intention of spending one second of our vacation at Wal Mart - we just shopped at the resort and were happy.
I understand The Royal Mayan is to be sold - the concierge made certain we understood this when checking in - that all the Royals are going AI for anyone trading in - so that will change the dynamics of the Royal Resorts - the quiet family atmosphere will end I am afraid.
It was our first and probably our last visit to The Royal Mayan and possibly any other Royal resorts. I doubt we will try to trade in again if they go AI. I would give our week at the Royal Mayan an grade of 'A' - we were not disappointed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewersambo1986
LocationLeeds, UK
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2008
Excellent Resort in Great Location!!
Date:April 6, 2011
Best things about resortLarge and spacious apartments, cashless resort using room key to pay for goods & services during stay
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyVisit the Mayan ruins of Chichen Itza, Tulum & Coba. Dolphin Discovery on Isla Mujeres is a great day trip out! Lozenzillo's Restaurant nearby on the hotel zone strip is excellent!
ReviewThis was our first trip to Cancun when we stayed at the Royal Mayan in September 2010. Everything about the Royal Mayan was brilliant! We stayed in apartment E217 which is on the beach front with unobstructed sea views looking out acros the Carribean Sea. The 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious and could be locked off to create two seperate apartments. The master room had king size bed with its own balcony, the bathroom had two wash basins, bath & shower. The 2nd bedroom had two double beds in it and its own en suite area and its own balcony. The living and kitchen area had plenty of room in to sit and relax which lead out on to the main balcony overlooking the beach. The apartments were very clean and tidy i think the cleaner came very other day leaving fresh towels. The apartment had a TV in the living area and in each bedroom showing most American TV chanels, there was wireless internet free of charge in the apartment which worked perfect!
The resort is a cashless resort whereby you pay for all food, drinks and services during your stay with your room key and settle the balance when you check out. I much prefered this and we used the on site supermarket almost everyday, which was very convenient! Most RCI resorts in Cancun are mandatory All Inclusive resorts, whereas the Royal Mayan is not but it felt like it was been able to just use your room key and settle the balance on departure, this meant that we got the best of both worlds as we were not tied down to spending all of our time in the resort as we like to venture out to eat in different places and see the mayan arcaelogical site such as Chichen Itza, Tulum & Coba which are a must to visit when staying in Cancun.
We ate in the El Conquistador restaurant on site only once and it was excellent! La Palapa which is the pool snack bar had great food, as did the beack snack bar, there is a happy hour on drinks everyday between 3-5pm where drinks are half price, this was great as there was a swin up bar inside the pool.
The bus stop for the buses that run up and down the hotel zone strip is right outside the hotel and they come almost every 5 minutes all day long and it only cost 8 pesos to get anywhere on them, The best restaurant that we ate at outside the Royal Mayan was Lozenzillo's which is on the hotel zone strip looking out across the lagoon, the crocodiles would swim up to the restaurant which was brilliant!
Overall if I ever come back to Cancun I want to stay at the Royal Mayan, it was fantastic!!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerDeborah15
LocationPhiladelphia, PA
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1995
Nice resort in a Great Location
Date:December 21, 2010
Best things about resortThe resort is very nice and clean. The rooms are very nice and each room has easy access to the large patio/balcony.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe hotel is situated near downtown Cancun and is a short drive to the airport. Playa del Carmen and Riviera Maya are less than an hour away. Once in Riviera Maya, you can take the ferry over to Cozumel, about 35 to no more than 40 minutes on the ferry from Riviera Maya.
ReviewOverall, this is a nice resort and 2 of the sister resorts, The Royal Carribean and The Royal Islander are just steps away.
Review 4 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTS47
LocationMICH
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2002
EVERYTHING GOOD
Date:November 24, 2009
Best things about resortLOCATION MOST ROOMS OCEAN VIEW. USE OF AFFILIATED RESORTS WITH FREE SHUTTLES. VERY LARGE 2 BEDROOM SUITES WITH FULL KITCHEN. CASHLESS RESORT USING ROOM KEY FOR CHARGES. NUMEROUS RESTAURANTS WITHIN THEIR FAMILY AND VERY REASONABLY PRICED. AFFORDABLE MARKET ON SITE. FREE USE OF SAILBOATS, GOLF CLUBS AND SNORKEL EQUIPMENT. PRETTY BEACH BUT SOMEWHAT ROCKY. MY ROOM HAD WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS. 3 TV's AND DVD PLAYER.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyRESTAURANTS AT NEARBY ROYAL FACILITIES ARE GOOD AND AFFORDABLE. HILTON GOLF NEARBY. LA DOLCE VITA IS A GOOD RESTAURANT A MILE AWAY.
ReviewWas very pleased with room and resort. Plenty of space in room. Comfy beds plus 2 Murphy beds. Well worth the trade if you can get it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerluckywanderer
LocationWilliston,ND
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1995
The Best of the Best
Date:February 20, 2009
Best things about resortBeach, Beach Beach Unit itself. Staff.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMercado, bus trip to downtown. Chichen Itza. Exceret Dolphin swim.
ReviewThis was our first time to Cancun. This was an exchange and we were very happy with our trade. We had a 2bd lockout. Large very tasteful room with 3 sliding glass doors from both bedrooms and one from the living area to the balcony. We enjoyed listening to the music from the restaurant across from us and the waves of the ocean to the side of us. We were on the 3rd floor, room 312. Was concerned that we were not up higher and had a better view of the ocean but after the week was over, we were so glad where we were at. I would wake up at 6:30, get the coffee going and be on the beach within 30 seconds. The others in our party would gradually come down and our meeting place would be on the beach with our coffee to discussed our day.
We ate twice at the restaurant and both times it was very good. Entertainment every night which we would enjoy from the privacy of our balcony.
Chichen Itza was an education for our whole group. To understand the Mayan culture this is a must.
We took a guided trip to Exceret and did a dolphin swim there. Make sure that you reserve this before you go, we didn't almost get to do it because all the time slots taken. The grounds are beautiful. My husband, son and and a friend went snorkeling and enjoyed it but said the water was cold!! We stayed for the night show which was very energetic and entertaining. Because of us screwing up and not getting our dolphin swim reservation beforehand we wasted a lot of time and missed a lot of the park. We are very anxious to go back the next time we go to Cancun.
Taking the bus downtown was easier and safer that I had imagined. The drivers are crazy but as a group of 7 we never felt uncomfortable. Mercado is a great place for shopping. We did stop at a Wal-Mart on the way back to the condo for supplies. I felt the prices along with the carrying of the packages on the bus was not quite worth it compared to the prices at the Royal Mayan's convenience store, except maybe for beer and liquor. The convenience store always had a supply of fresh veggies, tomatoes, fruits and we could of just skipped the Wal-Mart trip. Apples to applies save yourself some time and buy at the resort.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerWWWWM
LocationWilliamsburg, VA
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1989
One of the Best in the Hotel Zone
Date:November 11, 2008
Best things about resortLocation, Unit Layout, Beach, Service, Pools, Grounds
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe on-site restaurants were good, as are those at the nearby sister resorts. However, the Captian's Deck across the street was better and the best are located in downtown Cancun. For kids, Wet and Wild is great, and it has a great dolphin swim for adults. Day trips to Tulum and Chicken Itza were very interesting.
ReviewThis is our second visit here, and it has not changed in 7 years. The 2BR units are well designed and everyone has a great view of the water (except for the F and H stacks). It is a great family resort and the complex is well respected among the locals. The maid service was really outstanding as well as assistance from the front desk. You will be very pleased and lucky if you can spend a vacation at the Royal Mayan, or its two adjacent sister resorts.
Review 7 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerWWWWM
LocationWilliamsburg, VA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1989
One of the Best in Cancun's Hotel Zone
Date:November 6, 2008
Best things about resortLocation, Views, Design and Quality of Unit, Grounds
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyToo many to mention! On-site restaurants were good; Captains Deck across the street was better. I suggest going downtown for really unique dining experiences. We really enjoyed nearby Wet and Wild, the Jungle Tour (two person 2-hr speed boat ride) and tours to Tulum and Chicken Itza.
ReviewThis was our second visit to the Royal Mayan, and it has not changed at all over the last 7 years! I agree with the other reviews listed here. The staff was outstanding and assigned us to the best, highest unit in the complex (I section - #1139). Try to get in the M section for closest to ocean locations. The H section only has views of the soundside, but they are still nice units. When we were out and about and were asked where we were staying, I could tell the local population respected the Royal Mayan (and its sister resorts) as outstanding properties. You will be lucky to get a match here and we will try again in 5 years!
Review 8 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerBrian
LocationLas Flores, CA
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Great Resort
Date:April 17, 2008
Best things about resortService and Friendly Personal
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe ocean and its views!
ReviewWith two kids (6yr and 12yr) this resort with two rooms was perfect.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjama
Locationupper saddle river, NJ
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2006
Member Since2002
Beautiful resort with 5 star amenities
Date:December 30, 2007
Best things about resortUnits are large, spacious and beautifully decorated with mayan influenced furnishings, granite and marble bathrooms and floors. Pools, restaurants and other amenities are outstanding. Far enough away from the center of Cancun to be relaxing and quiet, but close enough to take advantage of the restaurants and shopping.
ReviewLoved this resort! The only thing it lacks is an onsite spa and health club. The business center has numerous computers with internet access. Pools are beautiful, beach is breathtaking, onsite restaurants were good. Staff was very helpful and accommodating although there is some pressure to buy. Onsite travel agency and rental car agency is very convenient and tours are offered for those who want them. Overall, a wonderful resort!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Royal Mayan
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAnonymous
LocationSan Antonio, TX
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1995
Quiet Resort with a Beautiful View of the Beach
Date:November 7, 2007
Best things about resortThe Royal Mayan is right on the Beach. The Condos are efficiient, with nice size bedrooms and a living room and a full size kitchen, walk in closets, a safe, large bathroom, etc. The Palapa Restaurant is very good, with a view of the pool and the beach.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThis resort has sister resorts attached. The Royal Carribean and the Royal Islander. The Royal Sands is down the road. You can use any of these resort's faciilities. The Modero Restaurant in Cancun is fantastic. You will need reservations. The steak and the lobster and the shrimp were to die for there, The Parilla Restaurant downtown is also a favorite of mine. Excellent Mexican atmosphere, with live entertainment at night time. The grilled food is reasonably priced and tastes fantastic,.
ReviewWe own The Royal Islander, and have stayed in the Royal Mayan one time when we went to Cancun for two weeks. The condo we stayed in was a one bedroom. It is large, but not as large as the Royal Islander's rooms. This resort is large, but very quiet. Just a few early themed nights at the resort. This is not a place to go if you want a hopping resort. It does have its water aerobics, and a few activiities for the kids.
It has a Kareoke contest at its sister resorts. There are large pools to choose from, within the three sister
resorts. All in all, this is an older crowd that own at this resort.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.