Resort Reviews

Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi (#2132)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/2132')"> Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi (#2132)

Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi offers both beautiful surroundings and a wealth of recreation and is a terrific vacation retreat. Splash away in any of our four lakes located on property a mile from your unit. Tansi Marina is open May through September. Small bass fishing boats are available for rental, for fishing only. Other recreation facilities include two outdoor pools, one indoor pool and a sandy beach. A mile from your unit, a playground, a health spa with indoor racquetball courts, whirlpool and saunas. Tee off on our 18-hole PGA championship golf course.
Average Member Rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
16 of 33(48%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Review 1 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewer7910
LocationKissimmee, FL
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2012
Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Date:July 27, 2013
Best things about resortResort is located in a relatively quiet area in central Tennessee.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyKroger grocery store was well equipped and courteous.
ReviewThe resort did not have our reservations and gave us a condo of someone who was coming in later that night.
Entrance to condo was covered in spiders and webs, it was obvious no one had enter that condo in some time. Upon entering the condo smelled of mold, mildew and old food. The kitchen counters, table , dishes and high chair were covered in dried or sticky food. There was mouse feces in the drawer in the bottom of the stove where the oven pans are stored.
2 bedroom / 1 3/4 bath condo
Bathroom were not cleaned and there was hair all over the floor. Did not have any washcloths or hand towels in bathrooms.
Bedroom sheet were worn, balled and the elastic was non existent to keep the sheets on the beds. Comforters were stained.
Floors had not been mopped or vacuumed.
Went back to office, they stated 'sorry' and that they were full but could move us to a 1br/1bath. We went back to the condo and called RCI who began looking for another resort close by. The closest one was 3 hours away and we had already drove 9 hours. We decided to stay the night and leave the next morning.
Day 2: That morning we went to the office to see the manager and left a message that we wanted to see/speak with her. Was told she would be back within 90 mins.
2 hours went back to office and manager was still not there but she would call me.
Another 2 hours later she called, we described and offered to show her pictures of what we dealt with the night before. We told her we were in contact with RCI and she immediately offered another condo 2 doors down. That condo was clean, no odor and had recently been remodeled.
The entire facility was worn looking. The laundry facility only worked part of the time because the machines were full of change and could not accept anymore quarters. The arcade was powered down most of the time. The hot tub was not working and had green water in the bottom of it. The saunas were kept closed and built up a very strong mold and mildew odor.
The resort is a very low cost timeshare for people to purchase with below adequate amenities.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerTravelerDH
LocationDiamondhead, MS
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1997
Crossville- "Golf Capital of Tennessee"
Date:October 11, 2010
Best things about resortALL of staff was VERY friendly, & helpful. Linen exchange 2 days. Well-stocked with supplies, including paper supplies - didn't run out of anything all week.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyHiking at Burgess Falls(don't miss), Ozone falls, Fall Creek Falls, "Largest treehouse in the world", Forte's Restaurant (in town - Excellent food, very reasonably priced, friendly, great service), Italian Ice (in town- homemade, family owned converted gas station, outdoor seating only)
ReviewBalcony AND porch had nice views of golf course. Unit was outdated, but was large & clean (except for a strong mold smell in downstairs bathroom, and even the clean pillow cases smelled of perspiration -glad we brought our own). In 2-bdr, the upstairs bath had only one sink - other full bath was downstairs. Since both bedrooms were upstairs, this wasn't the most convenient layout.
Amenities- we called prior to reservation, & were told that 3 pools would be open, as well as beach & paddle boats. The large outdoor pool was closed. The indoor pool was only open 8a-noon & 3-6p. VERY limited area was cordoned off for paddle boats, & water was too shallow to use them in that area. The beach was covered with dog feces, and the very SMALL swim area was too shallow to swim. OK for wading/small children, except no one seems to clean the garbage & feces off of the beach.
Main bldg is open until 9p. Very nice Gym in the main building. Internet in main bldg with slow connection. 2 coin-washers & 2 dryers were in main bldg & the desk staff let us stay about 5 minutes past closing to finish our laundry. He kept telling us not to worry, not to rush. We really missed having internet in our unit to help us look up activities/restaurants in the area (we had searched a little prior to the trip). We didn't take advantage of planned resort activities.
Lots of golf courses in the area (we were told that Crossville is the "golf capital of TN") so, if you golf, it is probably a great place to be. The resort driving range closed when we went (3 hr-for maint. middle of afternoon). We did play mini-golf (two areas - plain, but OK. Wanted to kayak, but couldn't find anywhere to do it. The last day we found out there was kayaking at Cookeville - no one at the resort knew about it. On-site restaurants were OK, but limited. Many of Crossville stores were closed on Mondays (town is 20-30 minutes away).
We probably would not return to this resort. The resort is remote - even to hiking - and, unfortunately, we don't golf. It would probably be a good place for golfers.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerRedcard
LocationIndianapolis, IN
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2001
Disappointing for non-golfers
Date:December 15, 2008
Best things about resortResort office staff very friendly and fixed problems promptly. Resort office, golf course, minigolf, pro shop & snack bar within easy walking distance.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCumberland Mountain State Park great for hiking Adjacent golf course One nearby restaurant
ReviewThe resort is several miles south of Crossville near a small lake. Most stores, restaurants and churches (a good variety) are back in Crossville. Note police radar traps on the slow road in between.
The resort units show signs of age and are across the street from a cattle farm. Immediately south is a nice golf course surrounded by subdivisions of single-family homes. The rest of the resort is lakeside about 3/4 mile south of the golf course on the other side of the houses. The amenities within walking distance are minigolf, weight room, hot tub and golf course. For everything else you need a car. The wife and kids were disappointed that the swimming pools were too troublesome to get to.
Upon arrival we discovered that our assigned unit's range was inoperable, so within 10 minutes management moved us into another unit. Because of the distress caused, management provided us complimentary T-shirts and adequate pizzas from the snack bar. Furniture and appointments were dated, but clean and reasonably comfortable. Charcoal grills were just outside the units.
The resort is at the eastern edge of Central Time Zone, so expect a time change if you go sightseeing to the east. We did that a lot as none of us golf; teenagers were bored quickly. There are several nice state parks and rec areas in the area; 2 hour drive to Gatlinburg and Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Several liveries for white water rafting within 2 hours to north, east and southeast.
Overall, the resort was too spread out to be family friendly and was too ordinary to be worthwhile for non-golfers. Although all the people there are great, we won't go back--too many other resorts to try.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerindiansfans
LocationFishers, Indiana
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1982
Resort needs major updating
Date:January 3, 2010
Best things about resortGolf course views from the unit Very large deck and patio
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyForte's Restaurant on site was very good and reasonably priced
ReviewThe units at this resort were fairly comfortable and spacious enough. However, they have not been maintained or updated nearly enough. The kitchen and bathrooms were most neglected - very poor quality appliances, cabinets, counter tops and even the pots and pans provided were very poor quality. I noticed some minor issues with housekeeping such as dust on the mini-blinds and a few stray hairs from the previous guests; but nothing major. The unit we stayed in had lovely views of the golf course with a very large deck/patio. A car is a necessity at this resort as even the office was quite a distance from our unit. One of the major issues we had was that there was no internet access in the units, only in the office. The problem with that was not only did we have to drive to the office, but once we were there, we rarely found any seats in the office. There wasn't a lot of seating available. They did have a lot of games, etc. to check-out, but as so often happens, most of the games had missing pieces and were for the most part, unusable. While I have experienced lesser quality resorts, I probably would not recommend this resort as there are too many other resorts (even in this area) that are kept up much better.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerG055940
LocationClearwater, Florida
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1982
Quiet, Remote Resort in a Great Location
Date:October 23, 2013
Best things about resortWell maintained resort complex. Office and Maintenance Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Quiet and Remote location makes it perfect for those who wants to get away from it all. Within 30 - 60 minutes to many attractions.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere are many state parks conveniently located. Each park offers a variety of activities, e.g., hiking. Chattanooga attractions, Nashville attractions and Knoxville attractions. The town of Crossville offers a wide variety of restaurants for the palate desires.
ReviewMy two week visit at the Hiawatha Manor West resort started off with friendly smiles and greetings from the office staff.
Minutes after the check-in and brief orientation, I walked into the door of a well maintained, well appointed and well equipped townhouse condo. The condo was exceptionally clean, all linens in both bathrooms and bedrooms were fresh and ready-to-use. The kitchen appliances, air conditioner/heater, and fireplace function properly.
Two minor issues regarding broken lightbulbs and my absentmindedness on how to operate the living area ceiling fan; both were resolved within the first hour after check-in. Kudos to the maintenance staff.
The only experience that I had during the two weeks with bugs in the condo was the result of me leaving the living area deck door open. The bugs met their demise via the provided fly swatter.
The resort is located in a very quiet, remote area. If this is not what you are looking for, you need to change your travel plans.
Check out the attractions rack located in the check-in area for the many things to do within a reasonable distance from the resort.
Another note: this was my fourth visit to this resort. This visit was just as good as the last.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerAnonymous
LocationToronto, Ontario
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1974
Very roomy 3 bedroom
Date:August 10, 2009
Best things about resortThe unit was really big for the 3 bedroom. A lot of resort activities. Check-in very easy, didn't even ask for deposit. Check-out, just leave keys and wrist IDs at the desk and you're out.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCrossville has a lot of fast food and regular restaurants. A factory outlet mall and other large name stores, but no mall type stores. Ruby Falls and the Tennessee Aquarium in Chatanooga about 1 1/2 hours away. Nashville and Knoxville about 2 hours. Gatlinburg about 2 1/2, total tourist area, shops and amusement rides galore. Smokey Mountains National Park just after Gatlinburg.
ReviewStayed here in beginning of August and it was hot and mostly sunny. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath ranch style unit with 2 entrances. 3 TV's, 2 with DVD/VCR players. We stayed in the East Manor area were there was a small lake, not the large one. There is a small outdoor swimming pool, but someone broke the lighting inside the pool after the first 2 days, so the rest of the week, it was closed. Had a choice of using the Community indoor pools for a $1-$2 fee per person, per day or the community outdoor pool a short drive away near Lake Tansi. There seemed to be a lot of activities available at the check-in area, but was too busy touring to take advantage of them, so I don't know if there was a fee associated with them. We had charcoal bbq stands at the back of each unit, so we had our own. Internet access only available at the check-in. Mitches restaurant just a minute away, but never got a chance to go. No laundry in the unit. Pay versions at the check-in office, but only during open hours 7AM-9PM. They provided enough paper products, but if you need more, there is a fee. Local and 1-800 calls were no charge. Check-out, you do have to strip the beds etc. and wash the dishes.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerStaps
LocationDeltona, FL
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2002
Disappointing
Date:January 3, 2009
Best things about resortLocation....maybe if you are an avid golfer and want to be away from most conveniences
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyEverything worthwhile was in Cookeville or Knoxville. although we did drive to Lynchburg and Sevierville on a couple of days.
ReviewThe units are old, outdated and run down. Not the type of resort I would associate with RCI. Although this is not a RCI property, they should be careful who they partner with in the future.
We were there over the Christmas holiday and basically nothing was going on. the staff was friendly but not helpful and the few times I went to the front I had to wait for them to get off their personal cell phone (4 different people) and put down their cigarettes (3 different people) before they spoke to me. Minimal information was provided at check in and there was no alternative contact for problems for the two days they were closed for Christmas.
Maybe the staff and location is better in the main seasons for golf and other amenities; but the run down, outdated condition of this resort will not change anytime soon. I overheard the staff moving people who checked into units with a collapsed ceiling (OK so when was the unit cleaned and prepped if it wasn't noticed until the client checked in?) and our unit had stained ceilings, funiture, floors, warped countertops, and an unknown stain on a comforter that my wife discovered (Gross!).
Definitely not what we are used to with RCI.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerVacationsRAblessing
LocationOhio
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2014
Member Since2012
Decent Resort Beautiful location
Date:March 16, 2014
Best things about resortThe Resort is in a very nice area with a beautiful lake, and the units are built along a very nice golf course.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere are many State Park areas with outstanding views of waterfalls and rivers within a short drive of this resort.
ReviewOur unit was not one of the redone units in this resort. Old appliances and stained carpet. But we have four children(2 under 2) so we were fine with that. The units were small overall, but they have 2 good sized bedrooms in them. The rooms were not lighted very well. All in all with a little work our unit could have been a lot better. We had a great view of a golf green in the back and a natural view in the front. Our deck was rotting away, but the view was nice. It cost $30 to use the indoor pool because the resort does not own this property. And kids could only swim from 10:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. so this was a real let down. The arcade looks nice but most games did not work correctly and our children were a little bummed. The staff was very friendly and helpful when ever we stopped in or called. The location is great the Resort is a nice place to hang out if you have plans in the area, but it is not a vacation in its self. Many of the units were being worked on (some were being redone) so It would seem the resort is putting serious money into up keeping the units. All in all we had a great vacation.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerncline8
LocationHarrison AR
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1998
Nice Resort somewhat remote location
Date:January 6, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Best things about resortWe stayed in a two bedroom unit and it appeared to have been recently redone with stainless appliances and nice flooring and recent paint. Nice view of the golf course behind the resort with patios on both floors. Nice fireplace in our unit as well. The resort, although small appeared to have many health areas like pool and racquetball courts.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThere are many state parks in the area. We went to Cumberland Mountain state park and Fall Creek Falls State park. The latter has the tallest waterfall east of the Rocky Mountains. Many nice day hikes in both of those as well as at least two other parks we didn't get a chance to get to all within an hours drive from the resort. Lefty's BBQ was pretty good but has moved to a new location by the freeway so make sure before you verify locations before going or you will spend an extra 20 minutes traveling. The old location had a large billboard indicating the new location so I wasn't to upset. Another good place although kind of pricey was a place right across the street from Lefty's called Halcyon Days. Looks like a lot of locals frequent this place and they make a caesar salad with dressing (yes they make the dressing while you watch) from scratch at your table.
ReviewWe were pretty cautious after reading all of the negative reviews. We would definitely come here again. We were very pleased with the condition of the resort and especially our unit. I wish I had taken more pictures to share.
It is a small resort on a golf course in a residential area near a small lake. I read reviews from people who were concerned about the neighborhood?? We live in a small town in Arkansas and this neighborhood appeared as nice or nicer than ours is. Seemed like mainly retirees and all the properties seemed kept up nicely. My wife and I walked the area multiple times and really enjoyed the area. But then we would prefer to be some place like this over Orlando and Disney world any day of the week (except for when we plan to take the grand kids, then we will have worked up our nerves to take it).
With all of the State Parks around with the day hiking and waterfall viewing (At Fall Creek Falls state park, we saw 5 different significant waterfalls in one two hour hike), we will definitely be back.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerMarypr
LocationAtlanta, GA
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1987
Nice Resort for Access to other Places
Date:July 23, 2009
Best things about resortGreat location for accessing Knoxville, Chattanooga and Nashville....all within a couple of hours. The drive to any of these places is picturesque.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe went to a winery in Crossville that offered wine tasting and very good wine. We did not eat out much during our stay. Lots of shopping and restraurants in Crossville, a few mile's drive away from the resort.
ReviewIt really depends on what you are looking for in your vacation. We do not play golf, but we appreciated the view of the golf course from our condo. We enjoyed having our coffee on the porch and listening to the birds.
The units are comfortable, yet dated as many have said. We have used the indoor pool, the tennis courts, the work out room and the mini golf courses. The indoor pool is a little funky. The hot tub is not available to little kids with or without an adult.
We have gone to this resort twice because it is located centrally to other things we want to do. We travel to Knoxville and Nashville. En route to Crossville we go to Chattanooga. Knoxville Zoo is nice, and the city boasts outdoor concerts and other activities. In Nashville we have gone to Grand Ole Opry, the Rainforest Cafe, Historic museums and the Blue Bird Cafe (a must if you ask me, especially if you love live music). We also went to Lost Sea one day, and that was fun.
The staff at the resort is friendly and accomodating.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewercjlamb
LocationLake Geneva, WI
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1999
Needs Major Updating!
Date:March 20, 2011
Best things about resortCrossville is a cute little town. There isn't much else we can say about this place.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCumberland County Playhouse. Bean Pot Restaurant. Jack Daniels Distillery. Cumberland Caverns. Nashville. Gatlinburg.
ReviewWe actually had to sleep in the basement? Cold. 2 Bdrm sleeps 6 but not enough hot water for 2. Unit was very very very out dated. No washer & dryer in Unit and our daughter got car sick and we really needed to clean her clothes when we got back but the office & laundry area were closed. We had to spend 2 hours the next day doing laundry instead of just washing it in our room. Fireplaces but they do not even sell wood or matches? They really don't have an indoor pool- it is actually a community pool that you have to pay $1 per person to use per visit and the hours are not good. Open swim is 10am-12 & 3pm - 6pm? Silly....No Internet in room which we heard but really missed considering we wanted to research things to do. No alarm clock in the bedrooms-or clock. This is probably one of the least desireable places we have stayed! We really tried not to spend much time at our resort since there was nothing to do and it wasn't very nice at all.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revieweryvonnebr
Locationhilton head, NC
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2004
Relaxing family friendly resort with helpful staff
Date:April 18, 2010
Best things about resortThe willingness of the staff to rectify or make better any concern far exceded anywhere we have ever stayed. They treated us like family.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe primarily cooked all our own meals. Pizza Hut and Dominoes will deliver onsite. Ruby Tuesdays in Crossville was only other meal out.
ReviewThis resort is perfect for the low key family traveler. We had a great time and found all the staff very receptive to even our slightest whim/concern. We recommend the west side if you have a family but be sure to venture to the eastside daily for amenities (indoor pool, lakes, playgrounds, free mini golf, marina). Call and befriend a staffer - they will remember you and make things easier. Ask for a unit already connected to the municipal sewage system so you do not have to deal with all the workers in the back. Ask for a new refurbished unit, some are very old and outdated, others very modern. The biggest drawback we felt was the lack of washers/dryers in the units. Coin ops are available during working hours in the welcome center but we did not want to bother. Daily linen exchanges were a hassle as a result.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKenneth
LocationVirginia Beach, VA
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1988
Great Resort
Date:January 9, 2008
Best things about resortGolf
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyForte's
ReviewThis was a great getaway for my wife, two grandchildren and me. We had a great two bedroom unit right on the first green. I could have walked to the club house if I had to. Best to call ahead to arrange T times. I had a little problem getting the times I wanted. Some of the members did not want outsiders playing along with them. Resort personnel were very friendly and helpful. The town of Crossville wasn't too far away which made it nice for the grandkids to go to a fast food restaurant. The food at the clubhouse was very good and reasonably priced. Very family oriented crafts were available at the outdoor pool. A free minature golf course was right beside the unit. Nice sany beach near the outdoor pool with shelters and picnic table. We have already booked a unit there for 2008.
42 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewergolfweekender
LocationGeorgetown, IN
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2001
This place is scary
Date:March 4, 2009
Best things about resortgolfers can walk out your back door to play a relatively easy course
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe cow pasture with a rather large bull and the farmer who liked to play golf in his pasture were the finest entertainment here!
ReviewThe registration area was dirty and the staff was rude.
Our condo entrance was broken-down with broken lighting, overgrown bushes, and broken concrete steps. The unit was large, but outdated. The carpet was filthy. Kitchen was poorly stocked and I had to wash everything before we could use it. As I walked into the bathroom on lower level, I switched on the light. It didn't work, so I looked up. A pair of dirty men's boxer shorts was shoved in the light. I called the front desk and no one answered. We tried to go to sleep, thinking we could get moved the next day to a better unit. No luck sleeping and no luck the next morning. I finally got an RCI representative and we were moved to another nearby resort.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerAnonymous
LocationBburlington KY
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2013
Horrible resort
Date:October 15, 2013
Best things about resortThere isn't anything good about this resort!!! why do I have to waste time when there isn't anything good to say
ReviewArrived 30 minutes after office closed. Got the keys out of box went to room Keys did not work!!! Called the emergency contact number 3 times no answer left message still waiting on a return call!!! was traveling with a baby couldn't get in unit didn't know what to do then a off duty policeman came and talked with us and he broke into the unit for us.... one of the bed linens were soiled, missing objects from kitchen couldn't even make breakfast when we woke up. I will never stay at this resort again!!! I read other reviews on how bad this place was and seen some good reviews and thought I would try it but NEVER again!!! DO yourself a FAVOR save your money and DON'T STAY here motel 6 is better..
Review 16 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerWatersedge
LocationCincinnati, OH
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1995
Great golf resort
Date:May 26, 2008
Best things about resortSuperbly maintained golf course Friendly personnel Close proximity to town
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOn-site golf course 19th Hole Restaurant Forte's Restaurant
ReviewThis was one of the best golf vacations we have ever taken. The unit was right on the golf course overlooking the 2nd green, Furnishings in the unit were comfortable. However, the kitchen and bathrooms were very dated and need updating. The resort is about 30 yrs. old so it is showing its wear, the decks especially. The interior of the units was very clean.
Lake Tansi was a 1 mi. drive from our unit, where the Thunderbird Lodge was located and held bingo 2 nights. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this place to anyone.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerGeorgiaTraveler
LocationNortheast, Ga
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2002
Set your calendar back in time 25 years
Date:July 27, 2008
Best things about resortIt is in a beautiful location, wonderful people, and slower pace of life. Very tranquil.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyFall Creek Falls State Park is a MUST SEE. Forte's is the on site restaurant and comes highly recommended, not a typical "resort" eatery.
ReviewThe unit we stayed in was very very dated. It was clean but needs a serious preventative maintenance program started immediately or the condition will start to slip away very quickly. The week we were there the resort appeared surprisingly empty for July. The closest town is Crossville and has almost any type store you could need during your visit. If some capital expense money were to be pumped into the entire facility, not just the golf course, this could be a GOLD CROWN resort. We will return !
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewermarcham24
LocationHalifax, Nova Scotia
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2006
Very peaceful and great location for us
Date:August 19, 2010
Best things about resortTwo stories with the bedrooms separately in the basement.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGolf course restaurant was very close and very reasonable. Good food.
ReviewThis was a very nice, clean unit. We had a 2 bedroom with a balcony on the golf course. As it was July, the air conditioning was greatly appreciated. We were there for a family get-together so did not use the amenities available. Missed having a laundry in the unit and definitely missed no computer access from the unit. It was available at the office but inconvienient for just checking emails. Crossville is not far from here and has most of the major chains for shopping. Would return.
Review 19 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewerwhat
Locationmichigan
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Should not be a Resort
Date:September 24, 2010
Best things about resortLake Tansi was very nice. But far away from unit.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyEverything away from unit was great.
ReviewWe have never stayed where they rent 80% of units to the town. We shared pool with local residents. Water Treatment Plant behind unit 100 ft away. Unkept grounds, very dirty units.This should not be labeled as a vacation spot to exchange. They need to change this resort status as soon as possible. I would not recommend this to anyone who owns a Timeshare. This vacation is making us decide if we should keep RCI as our exchange sponsor.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hiawatha Manor West at Lake Tansi
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerKFaucho
LocationPhiladelphia, PA
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2008
Less than stellar
Date:October 19, 2010
Best things about resortThe check in/out process was very efficient and the employees were nice.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGolf, pretty location, theater, lake - no restaurants we could recommend.
ReviewThe place was a nice size, but there were skunk smells permeating the first floor and wasp/hornet nests on the patio, so we could not sit out there.
The part that most upset us was the $50 extra fee that was charged for the two days we stayed there. This is in addition to the RCI exchange fee. We left the place cleaner than when we arrived and still had to pay this outrageous fee.
Not many restaurants of interest nearby.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.