Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

Sunrise Cove at Village West (#2101)

Your vacation condominium at Sunrise Cove at Village West is air-conditioned, with atelephone, television with VCR, dishwasherand microwave oven. ** RESORT REQUIRES CREDIT CARD AT CK-IN **Studio units OCC: Max 2/Pri 2 have 1 bath and 1 sleep sofa. Studio units OCC: Max 4/Pri 2 have 1 bath, 1 queen bed and 1 sleep sofa. 1BR units OCC: Max 4/Pri 4 have 1 or 2 baths, 1 king or queen bed and1 sleep sofa. 2BR units OCC: Max 6/Pri 6 have 2 baths,1 king bed,2 twins or 1 queen1 sleep sofa. 2BR and 3BR units also havea washer/dryer, full kitchen and a gas fireplace. The resort has 3 floors. Some units have access to an elevator. The resort cannot upgrade you to a larger unit at checkin. No pets allowed. Other Village West ameneties include mini-ature golf, organized activities for all ages, and a small cinema. Rentals may be obtained for a fee. A car is recommended to fully enjoy the surrounding area.
Average Member Rating:
2.933 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
12
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
8
26 of 45(58%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Review 1 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerunhappy
LocationVillage West Sunrise Cove
Member Since2004
Disappointing Resort
Date:August 28, 2007
Best things about resortThe beach.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyArnolds Park
ReviewThis resort was so disappointing. The only nice thing is the beach! The units are so old and run down. They are not clean either.
The staff needs a course on how to treat guests and what service is all about. It's clear that very few of the workers take pride in there job.
42 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerbetsy2
LocationMpls, MN
Member Since1994
Quiet & satisfying vacation
Date:August 31, 2007
Best things about resortI like the separate cabins for each person/family. Also there was a restaurant right in the main building. Only a few miles from nearest town.
ReviewI enjoyed my vacation here. I loved the separate units.
I was looking for a quiet, peaceful get-away & that is what I got. The unit I stayed in was a 2 bedroom & I liked the unit very much. The staff was friendly & helpful. There was a restaurant right there, also a couple shops, so I had all I needed.
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerrainy312
LocationRamsey, MN
Member Since2004
Iowa--Not just a farm state
Date:September 20, 2007
Best things about resortLake
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyArnolds Park
ReviewWe went on Memorial Weekend, it was a little cool most of the time, but both pools were open. The resort had a lot of family friendly activities including a in-house movie theatre, a restaurant and bar, a gift shop, an exercise facility and indoor pool and play room for the kids--all connected in the main building. They also had mini-golf for the kids outside. My kids thought it was great. The unit I stayed in was a converted hotel unit, so it was kind of disappointing, with not a lot of light. However, it was clean, but no hairdryer. The washer/dryer was available for a fee down the hall. Otherwise, they had towel/sheet exchange during the week. There was a small library where you could pick a book to read and the game room had games available for rent as well as videos for a small fee. (I thought games should be free, but whatever...) They had boat slips available, but to rent a boatlift was kind of expensive. We went to Arnold's Park on 2 days and I was impressed with the quaint 50's style amusement park. It was small, but had a lot of good rides for kids of all ages. We explored a little downtown and found the area restaurants ran from cheap to mildly expensive. There were lots of boat rentals available as well, but didn't have a sailboat rental that I could find, so I was somewhat disappointed. The local movie theatre is cash only, so be prepared! It did have 1st run movies, however. All and all this was a great mini-vaction for me and my family.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerrockahula1
LocationWpg., MB
Member Since2003
Had a Good Time
Date:September 24, 2007
Best things about resortGood location, just a few minutes to all the communities around the lakes, easy access to the main roads or scenic drives.
Best attractions or restaurants nearby8 golf courses close by, Brrooks National Golf Course is the best & most reasonably priced. Quaint gift shops in Arnolds Park.
ReviewWe were in the larger A side one bedroom of a lockoff unit. It was very spacious with full kitchen, fireplace, washer & dryer, king size bed & double sinks in the bathroom. The unit had lots of windows and a balcony overlooking the Iowa cornfields. Convenient to all activites in the main building - swimming pool, theatre, gift shop, 2 restaurants, games room, mini golf, beach & piers. We were there mid Sept., some shops & restaurants were beginning to operate limited hours. Their busy season is summer but we were there to golf the extended season and were pleased. The courses were in excellent condition. A relaxing place to visit.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerChip
LocationIA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1999
Everything you Need
Date:April 1, 2008
Best things about resort2 restaurants , movies, rec. room, arcade room, table tennis, pool, Jacuzzi and a well-stocked shop right in the resort. Also, a beach, miniature golf, golf, tennis, boat tours, antique store, boating, fishing right on the premises.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyArnolds Park amusement park is only a short distance with a restaurant that sells the famous "nutty bars" we love so well, along with their specialty shops and amusement rides. Several towns and lakes in very close proximity with numerous other things to do.
ReviewBig disappointment-limit stays to one every 4 years.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerIowaGirl
LocationDes Moines IA
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1998
Kid Friendly resort
Date:May 7, 2008
Best things about resortActivities for kids (crafts, contests), indoor pool, nice common areas outside, lovely view of lake, many things to do in area of Arnold's Park and Spirit Lake, especially fishing.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTweeters and Knox Cafe in Arnold's Park, Bird House Cafe in Milford, all good food and reasonably priced for a family. Tour the fish hatchery which is directly between Spirit and East Okoboji, see the huge carp in the canal that links the two lakes. 3 huge flea markets in area over Memorial Day, July 4th weekend, and Labor Day.
ReviewWe have taken our grandkids up to this resort for about 3 years, either over spring break or Memorial Day, before it's really warm enough to do things around the lake except maybe fish, and we've always found plenty of things to do. There's a new water park (Boji Bay) on East Okoboji now, and that fills up one day. Our only complaint is that the motel units are really small and somewhat shabby. The newer units are a ways away from the lake, so you trade upgraded digs for a lake view. Wish they would redecorate the old units, including the A frames. Exercise room the last time we were there had ONE piece of equipment in working order...the others were all missing parts or were broken. And the exercise room is very warm, so even walking on the one treadmill that was working was almost impossible.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerKentbert
LocationEagan, MN
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2007
Beautiful Lake Resort
Date:June 9, 2008
Best things about resortThe sunrises over the lake were beautiful and lended themselves to some great early morning photography. We enjoyed our time sitting on the beach and soaking up the sunshine
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe went in to town, but Arnolds Park had already closed for the summer.
ReviewWe reserved our unit late in the year and were assigned a basement room in the building that resembles a hotel. Our egress window looked out to the feet of other guests as they walked by outside. The units across the hall had nice walkouts to a grassy area near the beach. When I requested to be moved, they said they were full, but noticed many units on other levels that were obviously empty all week. Our friends had their own entire building with three bedrooms, living room, kitchen, dining area and a nice deck. Needless to say, we hung out at their unit more than ours. Since they couldn't stay the entire week, we moved in to their unit when they left so we didn't have to feel like we were in the basement any longer.
We bought groceries in town, so never ate at the resort.
We didn't participate in any of the organized resort activities, if there were any?
The boat tour around the lake was well worth the price of admission. Okoboji is a beautiful lake with some very nice and expensive "cabins" along the shore.
I would go back only if we could rent one of the buildings which are pictured in their RCI description. If you get assigned an efficiency, make sure its not on the parking lot side or you WILL be disappointed.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerDTDT
LocationMpls, MN
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2000
Nice Lake poor accomidations
Date:July 2, 2008
Best things about resortVery nice lake with nice homes around the lake.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyArnolds Park is really made for younger kids under 12 years old. Would like to see more shops and restaurants. 5 or 6 very nice golf courses and Brooks was the best.
ReviewThe lake was very nice and we had a boat so we took advantage of it and went tubing and site seeing. We had a one bedroom unit which appeared to be a converted hotel where they put two rooms together. We ask to be moved but they said they were full but it appeared to us they were not. They did very little costruction on these units to convert from hotel to one bedroom units. The shower heads were still set at 5'10" to 6 feet high. I'm 6'4" tall so that doesn't work very well and my kids are 5'10" tall. They did very little upkeep to the grounds. I would say they should show just a little effort on taking care of their resort and it would go along way.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewervowels
LocationCalifornia, KY
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1996
Before floods
Date:July 4, 2008
Best things about resortThe individual A-frames for privacy. The indoor activities for the kids. The area.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyArnold's Park amusement park, Mama's Mexican Restaurant, The Wharf, Minerals Grill?
ReviewThe resort had an indoor and outdoor pool, a mini golf indoor and outdoor, an arcade with ping pong tables and pool tables. The weather was not the best, so the indoor activities were great. The only bad thing about the accommodations was the narrow stairs to the second floor of the A-frame. Arnold's Park is where everything to do in the area. It is a short drive away from the resort. Near the resort is a bike trail, if you bring bikes or you can rent them at the resort. The resort staff was friendly and kept out of the way unless needed. Over all, a very relaxing vacation. If the weather had been better the lake also looked very inviting. I hope the flooding didn't effect the resort; it would be a great place to revisit.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewernopto
LocationGull Lake, MN
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2002
Nice place with no crowds
Date:January 14, 2009
Best things about resortThree and half hours from the Twin Cities. Great indoor pool. Nice and cheap cafe on site. Large indoor pool, mostly with adults. Lots and lots of water. Great canals and state parks to Kayak in, or hike in, or just to explore. Plus they are FREE. Large lakes, little wavy if you want to kayak in (too much for me).
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLot of seasonal places closed. Great place to eat is the Arrowpoint Resort (?). It is a hotel directly across the lake. A drive of 15 minutes or so. All you can eat stir fry or pasta nights. It's packed. It's were the locals go, and it is so fun and good. Very quiet this time of the year, but the museum at Arnold park is interesting if you grew up with a cabin. I thought it was great.
ReviewMost things are closed in late sept. Resort was quiet, with mostly adults there for R/R. Lounge & rest. open only on weekend. Lg indoor pool and hot tub were operating. Stayed in the newer Quad plex. It was in a corner unit. Nice spacious unit but a little walk to lobby, beach, restaurant and pool. Walls are a little thin. I heard my neighbor talking, moving and burning toast. The burnt toast swiftly moved under the lockout door. Nice they were there only 2 nights. Unit overlooked a cornfield. Couch and chairs were terrible. But I saw workers replacing lower units.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerQwacks
LocationWoodbury, MN
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1998
Quiet family fun in the winter
Date:January 30, 2009
Best things about resortWe went for Thanksgiving. We stayed with extra family members in two rooms. It was quiet and my kids(3) had the run of the place. Big pool, great hot tub (older kids and adults only). Small movie theater. Indoor mini golf
Best attractions or restaurants nearby24 hour Wal-mart (open on Thanksgiving) is convienent. Skatepark in Spencer ( 20 min. drive)for the kids.
ReviewWe go to Village west almost every year and have never had a bad experience. Staff is usually young kids and work ethic is not always up to par. Kitchen in rooms saves $$$
Review 12 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewermarzeedoats
LocationMedina, MN
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Noisy doors/squeeky floors
Date:February 15, 2009
Best things about resortThe indoor pool, outdoor pool, beach
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWalmart
ReviewWe are grandparents who take their granddaughters on a vacation every August. This was our first trip to Sunrise Cove at Village West. Don't drive into Spirit Lake because the resort is not there!. Upon arriving, the staff was friendly and helpful. The outdoor surroundings are attractive and well kept. We had to park a short distance away from our unit. We were very disappointed in our unit. The door almost touched the sofa as we entered the unit. The living room was very small. If we'd have needed the sofa bed for sleeping, we'd have had to move all the living room furniture in order to open it. The television was old and didn't work very well. The bedrooms were both upstairs and both the doors stuck very badly and were extremely difficult and noisy to open or close. Seven days of struggling with and listening to those doors was a real aggravation. The kitchen was not equiped with enough bowls or pans to make it user friendly. We drove over to Arnold's Park hoping to spend the day on rides and amusements, but that place was so old and all the rides were ancient too. We left within the hour. There was no shopping areas to speak of, other than Walmart. I think we went to Walmart every day just for something to do between swimming and miniature golf. Eventually we drove 90 miles to Sioux Falls, South Dakota to a great shopping mall. The indoor pool was the best thing this resort had to offer. We all used it daily along with the miniature golf. The miniature golf was lame, but at least it gave us an activity for 30 minutes. Instruction for the unit also said we were required to vacuum ALL the floors, or we would be charged for it. This was shocking. My husband, a grandpa, had to haul the vacuum up the stairs to vacuum the bedroom floors! We will not ever be going back to this resort.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerfatalbert
LocationMinnesota
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1998
Great Resort on a Beautiful Lake
Date:July 17, 2009
Best things about resortThe sandy beach was wonderful. The family enjoyed this every day. There were also two outdoor pools and an indoor pool for those who enjoy pools more than lakes.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyArnold's Park was a great place for our children. We went there two times and enjoyed our time both times. There are also a number of quality golf courses close to the resort.
ReviewThis was a great resort for our family. We enjoyed all the lake had to offer. The service was fantastic (we were called two times during our stay to make sure we were satisfied). We were never called to attend a sales tour during our stay. The check-in and check-out process was very fast and easy.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewermgdavis
LocationSt. Louis Park, MN
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1999
Worst Resort I've Been to So Far!
Date:October 1, 2009
Best things about resortAccess to Lake Okoboji; indoor swimming.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyArnolds Park; Spencer
ReviewThis was the worst resort I've stayed in in all my years as an RCI timeshare owner. The staff was horrible!! I asked for a non-smoking room when I set this up with RCI and received 2 1-bedroom lockouts. Don't even think you'll get one of the units pictured on the resort directory. When I arrived and checked out the room, it smelled like cigarette smoke. When I asked to change rooms the desk staff said they had no control over who stays in the rooms and wouldn't be able to change our rooms. This was mid September after the close of most amenities in the area and the resort was not full.
Also, there was a major detour on the road the resort is on and found out when we got there. This led to driving several miles out of our way. There was no call beforehand to let us know about the detour.
The carpets are well worn and the large lounge chairs need to be replaced. Also, be prepared to sweep floors after your stay. Are you kidding me? That's why I go on vacation and why there's a housekeeping staff.
There are plenty of other resorts in the area. I would stay at one of those if you want to enjoy beautiful Lake Okoboji.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewercdoclynch
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1977
Nice pool area for kids
Date:April 1, 2010
Best things about resortPool area
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLots of places to eat in the area. New resort called Bridges Bay with a indoor waterpark.
ReviewThis resort is in need of updating. All areas of this resort are very run down.
Check in went smoothly. We were given unit H2 which is a 2 bedroom, full kitchen stand alone unit. We were right next to the lake which in the summer time would have been beautiful. The main level of the unit consists of a small living room with a gas fireplace, couch, chair and small tv. Next to the living area there is a small kitchen table with 4 chairs. Then there is the kitchen with everything you'd excpect in a regular kitchen. There is a full bathroom off the kitchen which is where the stacked washer and dryer are found. This bathroom is one of two in the unit and is the largest. Up the stairs you will find 2 bedrooms, a nice sized master bedroom with a king bed and a small, small bedroom with 2 single sized beds. Although they seemed even smaller than a single if possible. Between the 2 bedrooms there is a very small bathroom with a tiny shower, sink and toilet. The shower head had black mold on it.
In the main building you will find the pool area which is a nice size. Along with the pool there is a game room with a pool table, ping pong tables, skeet ball among other video games. Next to the game room there is a indoor mini golf area. It was just ok. Lots of updating needed.
We did not eat at either of the restaurants. Most things in the area were closed for the season. In the summer this would be a very nice area to visit with lots of things to do.
While we were there we visited a newer resort called Bridges Bay where they had an indoor waterpark. We were able to buy a day ticket to the waterpark and that turned out to be the best part of the vacation.
I would not stay here again as there are so many other nicer resorts in the area.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerShhhellleeee
LocationWisconsin
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1998
Great Family Fun and Relaxing Time
Date:June 29, 2010
Best things about resortPool - really large, Arcade/Video Area - love the table tennis tables, and Mini-Cinema - great movies shown
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyKing's Point Water Park in Storm Lake, IA ... about an hour south of the resort. Great for teeanager fun...no complaints and only smiles after a day at the water park. Highly recommend to go there. Arnold's Park Amusement Park is a small but fun. Great rides. Pirate's Cove mini golf is nice too....not as challenging as the one at Wisconsin Dells.
ReviewIt was a relaxing week. Our condo was right next to the lake. It was quiet & you could hear the lapping of the water in the evening. One night we had noisy neighbors but all settled down at the appropriate time. The condo is smaller compared to some other places we have been, but it was clean & served our purpose. I didn't like the turn in the stairway to get up to the bedrooms. It is difficult to carry things up safely. Friendly staff and helpful. The town is easy to get around in and very pretty. You have small town atmosphere w/ many amenities. The Maritime Museum is nice to go through and look at. We ate at Table 316, and the steaks were very good. We took the Queen II boat ride, and that was nice. The resort's boat was running the day we had other plans so we did not get to go on that boat which we wanted too. The resort's boat only runs M/T/W so make sure you get on it. The lake is gorgeous and windy....bring a jacket along for any boating adventures on the lake. We bought some veggies at a fruit / veggie stand, and the items were awesome with flavor and taste. A bit pricey but worth it. No hair dryer in the condos so bring that along. The hot tub is small. You get 4 adults in there, and I felt it was invading space when more folks joined in. The deck of the hot tub is LARGE...I wish the hot tub was much bigger. The TV in the condo was very SMALL in size. We have an old TV at home and it is much larger than what was in the condo...that needs to be updated.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerSGC777
LocationChicago, IL
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2007
Nice Resort
Date:August 1, 2010
Best things about resortThe lake was beautiful. We brought our pontoon boat and had a good time. I do have to say that we may not have had much to do if we did not have our boat. The 2 bedroom lock-out was also very spacious and nice. The only things missing were a hair dryer and wireless internet service.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyEl Puerto Mexican restaurant, Barefoot Beach, Spirit Lake Massacre Monument and Arnold's Park for docking, shopping and dining.
ReviewI would suggest bringing your own beach chairs if you want to use the small beach area on the resort. There are not many chairs and they are usually reserved very early in the morning.
Overall, it is a nice resort and we would go again in the future.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewergeiser01
LocationSioux Falls, SD
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1988
Good lake location
Date:September 4, 2010
Best things about resortbeach area
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyKazaralli's - great Italian
ReviewVery dated resort - needs major upkeep done on the outside of the units as well as the interiors - we were in a studio in the main area - very noisy - old furnishings/appliances - no wi fi access - told we needed to vacuum and furnish our own toilet tissue - seriously???
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerpolly23
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2010
Not a great place to stay
Date:September 5, 2010
Best things about resortlake and boat ride on Village Princess
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGreat golf courses Great bike trails
ReviewOur studio unit was on the basement level and had an egress window. We were not expecting a lot from a studio unit, but this unit was dismal. The AC was not working when we checked in. Maintenance came quickly and fixed it. We discovered the toilet seat covered in black mold when we lifted the lid. Another trip by maintenance guy who thought it was too bad to clean and brought us a new seat. AC quit working again on day 3 - maintenance fixed it. On last night the AC unit started squealing nonstop at 4:00am. Finally we just shut it off and left. There was mold in many places including a 12" area on the ceiling where water had apparently leaked from above, around the top of the tub and the ice machine. These folks should become acquainted with bleach. Maintenance guy was great and seemed nearly as upset about the condition of the unit as we were. Front desk would not move us to another unit even though there were many unoccupied units available. We were required to strip the bed and vacuum unit at checkout. The Okoboji area is delightful and we would like to return but we would not stay in a studio unit at this resort again.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sunrise Cove at Village West
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerhutch
Locationst louis, mo
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2009
it was ok
Date:September 24, 2010
Best attractions or restaurants nearbypizza ranch had good pizza
Reviewit was ok but most things in the area were closed for the season
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.