Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

The Reef at Marathon Resort Club (#2100)

Your villa at The Reef at Marathon Resort Club is air-conditioned and has a washer/dryer, telephone, cable television and a microwave oven. All units are 2BR OCC: Max 6/Pri 6 and have 2 baths, 1 queen bed, 2 twin beds and1 sleep sofa. Occupancy limits are strictly enforced. A US$200 security deposit is required and taken by credit card imprint at check-in. If you anticipate a late arrival, please notify the resort in advance. Cribs are available upon request. No pets are allowed. Having a car is recommended to enjoy the area fully. No elevators. The resort is only able to accommodate oneboat and one boat trailer per unit. Please call ahead for dockage assignments. Nearby attractions are the Dolphin Research Center, the Sea Turtle Research Hospital, and Natural History Museum. Youcan spend the day in Key West which is only an hour drive away.
Average Member Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Review 1 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerfishinmoretimes
Locationst augustine, fl
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2007
Great location, great resort
Date:April 18, 2008
Best things about resortTravel all over the world, but always do at least one vacation in the FL Keys. PARADISE. Am a Yacht owner, Fisherman, Diver, water lover, and great food lover. The Marathon area is the best. As a diver, like it better than Hawaii, Abacos Islands, Carribean. Fishining is great, Seafood is great. The Reef is clean, comfortable, easy boat access, beautiful Pool, etc. etc.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAs with all my trips ANYWHERE, Research the Web! Love Sombrero Reef as a scuba, or snorkelor.
ReviewThis place has been constanty improved over the years and the resort is great.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerTTandMM
LocationBoston, MA
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1993
Best of the Keys
Date:December 20, 2009
Best things about resortThe location - right on the water, a short drive away from great beaches and state parks with amenities, and it is located on the best part of the Florida Keys. Also, this resort is by far the most generous RCI resort we have visited when it comes to allowing free access to paddle boats, sea kayaks, bicycles, tennis rackets, WiFi, etc.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Key Fisheries restaurant (ask reception staff for a menu) is a true gem for several reasons: they offer some of the freshest seafood anywhere (they actually operate a seafood store so boats come in with fresh catch several times a day), all of their tables are right on the water and there are underwater lights that let you see and feed huge tarpon and other fish right from your table, and finally, it's relatively inexpensive (no wait staff, cafeteria style). We loved their snow crab - unbelivably fresh!
ReviewThe villas offer a level of privacy similar to that of a single-family house - you really don't hear the neighbors. They offer everything you need, including your own washer and dryer that can be used free of charge (even a packet of detergent was left there for us to use). If you bring your own boat, you may even get a slip right in front of your villa!
We drove around the Keys a lot and decided that Marathon was the best place to stay, because it allows for easy trips to all the other keys, it was civilized enough to have its own Publix supermarket (one of 3 location in all of the Keys), yet it doesn't have any of the commercialism and tackiness of Key West. The beaches in Marathon were nice and well kept, and the water was warmer than in Key West or other keys we visited, and there are absolutely no waves because of the reef, which is about 3 miles off the coast. We saw huge manta ray and other fish from the walking part of the 7 Mile Bridge at the south end of the island. The most amazing and unexpected wild life we saw were the colorful iguanas that roam all over the Keys - including the lawn next to the resort. We had a very relaxing vacation at the Reef at Marathon and would recommend it to anyone who wants to take it slow for a few days. It offers the essence of the Keys and is at the more litteral end of the "wild" spectrum - opposite from the club life of Miami and Key West.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerseacapt3
Locationrichmond, VA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1997
R&R at MM50
Date:June 18, 2012
Best things about resortMarina slip included with advanced reservation, haven't found another that provides that in the keys, people have always been friendly both the guests and employees. Great location to get to just about everywhere.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyToo many to mention but particularly enjoy Herbies, Keys Fisheries, Sunset Grill and Lazy Days to name a few. Attractions: Pigeon Key, Sombrero Beach and many other places both in and around Marathon,
ReviewI've been going here for over 15 years. They have freshly renovated all the units with new beds and flooring along with upgrading the exterior with new paint, stairs and other items. The units look new again, they've done a great job. The pool deck and club house are great after the rebuild post hurricane a couple years back. I highly recommend this resort and truly enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, free marina clips and the friendly people that always visit the resort. I will be seeing them again next summer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewercava619
LocationPalm Coast, Fl
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1999
What a shame
Date:May 21, 2011
Best things about resortOn the water, boat dock free, close to everything, location, location, location! Washer and dryer's in unit. Potential to be a really nice place!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyYour in the keys - everywhere! Especially little restaurant off 35th street on Gulf side. Free canoes, kyacks, boat dock, bicycles.
ReviewDated, drabby and under construction - workers start very early in am. The pool cloudy every day. Dirty unit, uncomfortable beds, unclean in general. The location is awesome, everything else is rough at best. Staff friendly and helpful. This place needs a refurbish - they are working on it but has a very long way to go. If you want to enjoy the keys and not hangout in your unit this place is fine.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerbaricat
LocationSouth Florida
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1997
Peace and Quiet
Date:December 5, 2010
Best things about resortLovely, clean, super warm pool. Free use of bikes, canoes, kayaks.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBahia Honda, Looe Key scuba diving
ReviewThis is a great resort to go to for reconnecting with your family. The pool area, rebuilt since Hurricane Wilma, is just beautiful. The pool is spotless and kept wonderfully warm. This was especially appreciated, since the November ocean was too cold for me.
Units are 2 bedrooms. The decor is out of date, and could use some sprucing up. Several slats on the mini blinds were bent. The configuration of the units is in an octagon, and the ceiling is lined with braces. This cuts down on bedroom size. The bathrooms are cramped - only one person can fit at a time. There was always plenty of hot water, however. Places to hang items to dry is hard to come by. Hanging them on the balconies is forbidden, according to literature in the unit.
The ground level contains only a washer/dryer. Whereas having them was a plus, having to go outside the unit and up/down a flight of stairs to check on them or switch washed clothes to the dryer was not very convenient.
The kitchen had all items listed in the inventory, and most everything you'd need to cook meals. We told the front desk about the kitchen faucet leaking big time when turned on full cold. Whereas we indicated that we could avoid that position since we had identified it, they failed to repair it the whole week. We can only hope they did so after we left, because an unsuspecting guest could shower the counters in no time flat, since it was a BIG leak. They did, however, give us a new sink stopper as the one in the unit was broken.
The bed was quite comfortable. There's a queen in the master bedroom and two twins in the second bedroom. We did not use those, so can't speak to their comfort. The living room furniture is very tired, and the chair/sofa was soft and uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time.
Unit literature states that at check out, you are required to bring recycling and trash to their receptacles, strip beds and bring them down to the laundry room. Whereas I understand that it helps the housekeeping people if people do those tasks, it should not be required of guests. That's what housekeeping is paid for, and that's why maintenance fees are collected. It's a pet peeve of ours to have to do their job for them when we're trying to get packed up to leave by 10AM (and unit literature informs you that if you're even one minute later than that, you'll incur some harsh charges, and even delineates how much you'll be charged for how long after 10:00.)
Housekeeping could have been better. The floor of the unit was dirty, which we discovered after going barefoot the first night, to find our soles were black. No mid-week cleaning.
BTW, there are DVD players available at the office, so be sure to ask for one when you check in. There's a Redbox at the Winn-Dixie, about 1/2 mile away.
We were in unit 9, which is halfway into the resort, on the side that faces the coastal highway. Insulation in the units is not good, so be prepared for road noise.
We dove one morning with Ocean Divers in Key Largo, which we can recommend. Dove another day with Tilden's Scuba Center, which was just OK. Our favorite was the 3 dive package we did twice with Looe Key Dive. At $84 for a 3 dive package, it was a bargain. We saw lots of sharks, eagle rays, free swimming morays, and the usual small tropicals in abundance. Looe Key Reef is very healthy.
There were no planned activities that we were made aware of, but we were so busy with diving that it didn't matter. Check in and check out were both fast. Pleasant, helpful office staff. All in all, a nice vacation. We'd stay here again, given the opportunity.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerJoAnn
LocationGlasco, NY
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1989
Great Place in the Florida Keys
Date:April 13, 2009
Best things about resortThe grounds are beautifully landscaped and well kept and the pool and clubhouse are new and very nice. They have bicycles, canoes, kayaks for guests to use for free! Very nice addition since everything is a little expense down in the Keys. The units are unique , bulit in 1986..but very clean...a little outdated but we loved it and would like to go back there again. The laundry room underneath the unit with full size washer and dryer very clean. The inside of the units were a little dated but very clean and comfortable. No beach onsite but they had very nice marina area to dock a boat if you had one. Would definitely love to go back. The Manager Jim & Deanna are very friendly people. The office staff and maintenance people are very helpful and nice as well.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyKey West is not far away....it only takes about 1 hour to get there. We loved that this place was in the center of the Keys. We rode the bikes all over...to Sombero Beach about a 15 minute ride, to the 7 mile bridge, about 20 minutes. It is all flat land...We had a ball.
ReviewWe loved it here. Can't wait to go back. We did Easter Break, April 4 to 11, 2009. The weather was beautiful in the 80's everyday. The sun did bite so you need sunscreen on. We loved being able to be active...but if you are not that kind of person, you could sit by the pool. Lots of chairs and lounge chairs. It's a very quite setting. Little noice from the airport during the day and from the road. The staff here are very friendly. Hope to be back soon...either Christmas or Easter again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerKcook
LocationHoodsport, WA
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1979
Very relaxing in November
Date:November 30, 2009
Best things about resortThe pool and surrounding area are very nice. There is small boarts available for check out to explore the lagoon.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyKey's Fishery about 2 miles south is a fun and interesting place to have a good meal, coctails, and fantastic view. They offer a free toast at sunset almost every night in the elevated bar area. A must visit.
ReviewDuring the time we were there In November the atmosphere was very laid back, a great place and time to visit if you just want to be left alone to do whatever you please. No formal activities. We enjoyed the variety of restuaraunts, uncrowded parks, beautiful sunsets, and deep sea fishing.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKeysLover
LocationSatellite Beach FL
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2003
Wonderful vacation spot
Date:May 2, 2011
Best things about resortdirectly on the water with a marina, private accommodations
Best attractions or restaurants nearbylots of choices for restaurants in the area, plenty of shopping, best location in the Keys being right in the middle and Marathon has pretty much everything you could need
ReviewWe were in a villa on the water with a marina that provided dockage & boat ramp. It was very private and we loved being able to boat every day, much less that our boat was docked right in front of our unit. The fishing in the area was fantastic and we had fresh fish every night cooked right on the grill at our unit. We were surprised to find the grill cleaned out every day by the staff too! Not a lot of activities at the resort but they provide more than the usual equipment for water & sports activities that other resorts charge for. Great place for a fantastic vacation!
Review 9 for The Reef at Marathon Resort Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewertrc932
LocationJohnson City, TN
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2001
Beautiful
Date:March 22, 2009
Best things about resortThe location of Marathon and all the things to do nearby.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDeep sea fishing and Bahia Honda state park. Herbies restaurant is great local food within walking distance.
ReviewThe grounds are beautifully landscaped and well kept and the pool and clubhouse are new and very nice. They have bicycles, canoes, kayaks for guests to use for free! Very nice addition especially for teenagers. The units are unique with adequate living space and a great laundry room underneath the unit with full size washer and dryer. The only thing I disliked was that the 2 bathrooms were very small and dated. The inside of the units were a little dated but very clean and comfortable. No beach onsite but they had very nice marina area to dock a boat if you had one. Would definitely love to go back.