Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

Club Donatello (#1755)

All units at Club Donatello are air- conditioned and have a television with VCR. Rental video tapes are available in Club 1500 at no charge. All units are Hotel units OCC: Max 3/Pri 2 or Max 2/Pri 2 and have 1 bath. Bed structures may vary& No kitchen facilities are available. **If additional nights are needed, resort can assist with discounted rental.** No pets are allowed. The resort offers 24hr valet parking at US$31.92 per day. Thisincludes tax. This fee is subject to change. A car is not necessary to enjoy the area. Most units at Club Donatello arenon-smoking. If it is determined that smoking has occurred in a non-smoking unitthe minimum charges are as follows: Room fumigation, shampoo & cleaning services (fabrics/drapes/cloth furnishings, etc.) US$150. Loss of unit for each 24 hr periodnecessary to restore its use, US$200. San Francisco is a metropolitan area. Manyrestaurants and night spots require coat and tie for men and cocktail or dinner dress for women.
Average Member Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Club Donatello
Review 1 for Club Donatello
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerCher
LocationCarmel, California
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1993
Unbeatable Location in Union Square, San Francisco
Date:February 4, 2013
Best things about resortThis is a lovely property, within walking distance of restaurants, muni, Chinatown and more. Being able to store my car for a few weeks, then take public transportation everywhere was a great idea, since parking is either not available or very pricey. I was able to negotiate a rate with a local garage and paid under $20 a day. Otherwise, the hotel charges around $35, but with in and out privileges.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyChinatown is always interesting. Sunday services at the Grace Cathedral, whatever your affiliation is, proves to be an incredible experience because of the music and boys choir. You can sit behind the choir if you choose to not sit in the cathedral. Farralon is a close by and beautiful restaurant, as is the library restaurant at the Hotel Rex. The sushi bars are all good and have very fresh fish. The Palace on Market Street is worth a visit just to see the building's rotunda where you can have Sunday Brunch. In the Maxfields's Bar is an original Maxfield Parrish painting from the turn of the century.
ReviewJanuary is a great time to visit San Francisco, in spite of the possibility of rain. There is so much to see and do. We visited the Academy of Science and the De Young museum in Golden Gate Park. We loved the zoo, and the numerous giraffes. Walking from one end of the 7 mile city is fun, and the views from the tops of the hills to the San Francisco bay are rewarding. I recommend this resort without hesitation.
Review 2 for Club Donatello
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMetzie
LocationSt. Petersburg, FL
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1980
Great visit in San Francisco
Date:May 4, 2012
Best things about resortLocation. Able to get anywhere in the city via public transportation.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCable car to Fisherman's Whart. Had a great Italian lunch at Colosseo Ristorante & Bar (414 Columbus Ave.)Wonde4rful food court in basement of Westfield Mall located at Powell and Market Streets. Not your typical fast food restaurants.. Several different ethnic foods from local restaurants. The tri steak at Buckhorn Grill was really tasty.
ReviewOne of our best vacations ever. The weather was chilly in April, so a sweater and/or jacket was needed. And don't forget comfortable walking shoes. Buy the 7 day "MUNI" pass that gives you unlimited rides on local transportation (except BART). The tour of Alcatraz was really interesting, but book it online in advance as they often sell out.
Review 3 for Club Donatello
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerfunflowerlady
LocationBarre,VT
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2005
Perfect location for all activities!
Date:May 3, 2012
Best things about resortLocation! Big rooms and comfy beds. Unlimited beverages. Managers were aiming to please us with our complaints in a lovely way.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyClose to every single activity a tourist does. Eateries for all budgets. Handy for all transportation and walking.
ReviewWe stayed 6 nights in an alley-view room on the 14th floor. Unbearably noisy on thurs., fri. and sat. nights till dawn.
The unit had most furniture misssing for 4 of the days-no headboards, dresser, DVD or VCR, no foyer stand, desk or desk chair. Then magically one day while we were out, it all appeared! All our possessions were moved and rearranged w/out permission! The new construction of the 2 adjoining units went from 8-5 everyday-nonstop hammering and constant noise. We could never even manage a quick 10 minute nap.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Club Donatello
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLOR1G0LD
LocationCOUNCIL BLUFFS, IOWA
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1990
AWESOME RESORT IN BEAUTIFUL SAN FRANCISCO!!!
Date:December 30, 2011
Best things about resortLOCATION IS SO CONVENIENT, ONLY A SHORT BLOCK TO THE UNION SQUARE AND ALL THE WONDERFUL STORES LIKE MACY,NORDSTROM, BLOOMINGDALES AND ETC. THIS RESORT IS IN THE CENTER OF ALL THE FUN PLACES YOU WANT TO GO.WALKING DISTANCE TO CHINA TOWN AND ALL THE GOOD PLACES TO VISIT. THERE IS THE CABLE CARS AND BUSES TO TAKE YOU PLACES.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTOO MANY TO MENTION. ALL THE BIG TRENDY STORES AND RESTAURANTS.
ReviewTHIS RESORT IS WONDERFUL. THE CLUB HAS THE COFFEE, TEA AND CHOCOLATE DRINKS THAT YOU NEED.THE VIEW OF THE CITY ON THAT FLOOR IS JUST GREAT. THE PARKING HAS VALET AND YOU HAVE TO PAY A FEE BUT YOU ARE ABLE TO TAKE YOUR CAR IN AND OUT FOR THE SAME DAILY FEE.THERE ARE SOME OTHER PARKING AROUND THE RESORT BUT THE FEE IS ALMOST THE SAME. THE RESTAURANT IN THE RESORT HAS GOOD FOOD, THE HAPPY HOUR HAS AWESOME PRICES AND SOME MUSIC TOO. THE STUDIO ROOM IS FAIRLY SPACIOUS FOR 4 PEOPLE. THE ROOM'S AMENITIES ARE GREAT. I LIKE THE DAILY CLEANING AND TURN DOWN SERVICE. ALL IN ALL MY FAMILY WILL LIKE TO COME BACK HERE ANYTIME. WE ENJOYED THIS RESORT AND WE RECOMMEND HIGHLY.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Club Donatello
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewertravellust
LocationPA
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1996
Terrific
Date:August 5, 2011
Best things about resortThe rooms are huge for San Francisco. Maid service daily and turn down service at night. Staff very responsive to needs. Location was excellent. Short walk to bus, cable car or subway.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe did the "city pass" coupon book. Would highly recommend. We had no problem accessing transportation from this hotel. The cable cars are only a block away. We visited Uncle Vito's a few blocks up from the hotel. Excellent cheap italian food. The pesto sauce is awesome.
ReviewWe enjoyed our stay very much. Location terrific. Safe area. We were on the 10th floor. Very quiet during our stay. Would recommend.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Club Donatello
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerOnthegoMo
LocationNewport Beach, CA
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1991
Location, Location, Location
Date:August 9, 2010
Best things about resortGreat place in the city, one block from Union Square, terrific and friendly staff.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTake the time to drive to Muir Woods if you have a car. It's less than an hour from the city and you are in another world of the redwood trees. One young friend remarked that it was like being in the movie "Avatar".
ReviewThe room was large, a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Every member of the staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful. I drove from SoCal and the valet service was expensive but less than the major hotels in the area. There was no wait unlike the St. Francis where I passed people waiting in line for cars and cabs.The kitchen is tiny with a small fridge, microwave and mini-coffee maker. I would definietly return. The only negative was loud plumbing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Club Donatello
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerlilacrose
LocationFenton, Il
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1997
Great Hotel in San Francisco
Date:November 15, 2009
Best things about resortThe size of the rooms was a real plus in the big city. It was a studio and that is hard to find in San Francisco. The staff was exceptional. They went beyond what they had to do to help us with bus schedules and anything we needed.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAll of the ciy's attractions but the cable car is one block away as are many restaurants and shopping venues.
ReviewI would love to go back and stay at the Donatello. Everything about it was a positive experience. The rooms, staff, morning coffee, free USA Today, location,large rooms, and comfy bed. etc.made this is a delightful place to stay in an exciting city. Having a microwave and refrigerator is an added plus.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Club Donatello
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerSnowyOwl2
LocationWales, United Kingdom
Member Since1993
Great resort in a great city
Date:September 4, 2007
Best things about resortLocation and staff
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAlcatraz, San Francisco itself is just wonderful
ReviewWe had a wonderful vacation at this resort, which was located just steps from Union Square. We arrived late evening after a long and exhausting journey and were quickly installed in our room which was superb. We went upstairs to the bar where there was a jazz singer and jazz pianist - we instantly felt relaxed and enjoyed a glass of lovely wine with a very tasty bar snack before retiring to bed happy and ready to start our holiday. The staff were very helpful and the concierge recommended some superb restaurants, too many to list, and the best tours to take. We would definitely go back to this resort if we were visiting again.
65 of 70 people found this review helpful.