Resort Reviews

Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club (#1254)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/1254')"> Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club (#1254)

A golf paradise off the beaten path! You will not find a cozier setting for family or romantic vacation than the secluded Makai Club, sloped on a gentle hillside along the 27-hole Makai Golf Course in renowned Princeville. Find high-energy fun playing championship golf, splashing poolside, participating in organized resort events and exploring sightseeing pleasures. Or just bask in Kauai's breathtaking island beauty, completely shrouded from the outside world by towering Norfolk Pines and lush tropical foliage.
Average Member Rating:
3.441 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
25 of 34(74%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Review 21 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewermorsejh
LocationNorth Olmsted, OH
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1998
Newly renovated
Date:February 13, 2011
Best things about resortActivities staff are very responsive to requests Newly renovated
ReviewNewly renovated, I found my unit clean and everything in near perfect condition. I find this resort has somewhat limited green space on its grounds so everything is close. A minor point, in the case of the pool, with the entrace road running a few feet from the fence, I felt this was too public and I was more exposed than I wanted to be. It appears you may have lower priority when you timeshare in. I had a ground level unit (lowest level) that faced north, and I ended up feeling like the outside area (outside the patio door) was out of reach of morning coffee or lunch because of the bugs that go along with ground level in the shade.
I had read the other (mainly negative) reviews and was worried about the quality of the resort, but I really just wanted a condo in Kauai. They certainly fixed the units up. You can still hear people above you and when the toilet flushes, but otherwise the flat screens and new appliances are as much as someone could ask for (my only unmet wish: drink coasters).
A short comparison with other RCI resorst:
I have now stayed in about 2 dozen resorts around the world, including the nearby Cliffs. The cliffs units are far nicer; I think after the renovation, the units at this resort are about the average of what I have seen. I would rate the grounds near the bottom, not because they aren't maintained, but because of a lack of space. The hot tub is clean and hot, right beside the pool, which is right beside the entrance road. However, the activities offered are a bit above average if you include offerings at nearby affiliated resorts (most within 10 minutes of walking). The activities staff was somewhat more responsive than other resorts, to help me get on tours and outside adventures during my stay.
Summary: the unpleasant units are gone so I think it's OK to stay here, but if the opportunity presents itself, I would try to stay at a better resort
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerAnnie59
LocationKansas
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1980
Renovations on the way
Date:July 21, 2010
Best things about resortClose to Makai and Prince Golfing
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPrinceville area of the island.
ReviewResort needed repairs and updating - back door did not fit the frame so bugs were a problem, screen on bathroom window was loose and allowed bugs in etc. Owners were there and upgrades are scheduled to start this fall. It is a very quiet area and once the units are repaired it should be a pleasant place. Pool is small and on site amenities are few. Other related resorts are within driving distance and their amenities are available for Makai unit users.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerGopher
LocationOregon
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1992
Two Stars
Date:June 4, 2010
Best things about resortFair location, clean, nice landscaping, and it's in Hawaii.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBubba's Burgers, Hanalea Bay, Kiluaea Lighthouse, Beach at State Park north of Kapaa, golf
ReviewThe unit we stayed in was in need of repair. The furniture was okay, and everything was functional. I was impressed that they gave us choice of a few units. The unit was just unimpressive.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerSvenson
LocationSydney
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2010
Member Since1989
Tired but OK
Date:March 23, 2010
Best things about resortThat it's in Kauai
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWaimea Canyon - almost a 2hr drive, but worth it. Amazing hiking and views.
ReviewThis reosrt is old and tired and yes the kitchen is small, but it has an oven, microwave, full size fridge and a coffee machine. If you want to spend time in the resort, this isn't the place for you. They have 3 shiney new BBQ's in the pool area, but that was all I could see that has been updated for a very long time. Staff were helpful although pushy about the RCI presentation, and most activities are at other (sister) resorts, so we didn't bother with them. Kauai is beautiful, so we left the resort early each day for hiking and trips, returning to re-fuel and sleep. The TV in the main room has really bad reception, and the sofa lounge was uncomfortable, so we ended up watching TV in the bedroom - there were also more channels on the TV in the bedroom. The air-con was noisy, but we didn't need it, just used the louvres for the breeze. I suspect it would be pretty hot here in summer.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerMaller
LocationRockton, IL
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2003
Not Worthy of Wyndham or RCI
Date:July 11, 2009
Best things about resortIt's in Hawaii!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBubba Burger in Hanalei Lappert's Ice Cream Beautiful beaches and scenery
ReviewDo NOT stay here! This is not fit to be an RCI resort or a Wyndham property. Old, smelly carpet. Unusable (so tiny) ancient kitchen. Couldn't open dishwasher & door at the same time. Stains on the walls; furniture in need of replacement. Air conditioning so old it's useless & only in bedroom. Tub stained & chipped. Claims to be on a golf course. However, the golf course is closed & the clubhouse is literally falling apart. What an eyesore! Pool & whirlpool are tiny. Will call you constantly to take a sales tour. Have stayed at 50+ RCI resorts. This is BY FAR THE WORST!
52 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerhulagirl
LocationKaneohe, HI
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2009
Not a "resort"
Date:April 10, 2009
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPrinceville Ranch Zip and Dip tour, Anini Beach, CJs Steakhouse, kayak and hike to Secret Falls
ReviewThis place needs so much work, I am embarrassed for our state that mainlanders will come and expect a Hawaiian "resort". It is more like very outdated, and in some cases, delapidated, apartment units. There is virtually no soundproofing - we could hear conversations of our neighbors below and next door. Kitchen is a joke, TVs are tiny, a couple of the walls were rotting away (under the a/c unit and by another window), ceiling was stained with water spots from a leaky roof. Nowhere near the standard of the newer Bali Hai resort in Princeville, also a Pahio property. Use your week or points elsewhere.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerShells
LocationTexas
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2005
NOT A LUXURY RESORT
Date:March 11, 2009
Best things about resortThe only good thing about this resort is that it is in Kauai.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCalypso's in Hanalei, Anini beach, Botanical Gardens, kayak trip to the secret waterfall
ReviewWe checked in here very late on a Friday night and were ready to check out as soon as we walked in. We had to wait until the next morning to move to another property. This whole property is very outdated and in need of repair. Would definetly not stay here!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAlohaHawaii
LocationSFO
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1990
Excellent Relaxing
Date:March 2, 2009
Best things about resortThe serenity, peace and lush green. Relaxing and beautiful. The staff and the concierge is very friendly and helpful.
ReviewThe resort is great , I checked bali high as its was very close to makai club where I stayed. Bali high is still under construction, I think if you like nature and peace and romantic this is the place. The staff is very friendly and the service is awesome. Bubba burger and the surrounding shopping is cool. Try to shop at walmart save bugs ..
The only negative about staying in priceville, is its very far from all the attractions. You have to go to Lihue airport side which is 45 mins drive to do any thing. I had a one year old so it was difficult to travel that far in the evenings.
Resort wise this was awesome. Wish it was closer and more central to activities.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerAlberta
LocationOld Town, Maine
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2003
Peace and quiet
Date:April 6, 2008
Best things about resortIf you have a question, it gets answered, no one is in a big hurry If you want to be left alone that happens
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySmiths Luau
ReviewThe accommodations were very nice. The staff was most helpful in setting up reservations for things we wanted to see and do.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerBPatDyer07
Locationwest-central Indiana
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2000
Didn"t want to leave
Date:March 9, 2008
Best things about resortSenic views, flowers and mountains and the blue water,skies are outstanding
Best attractions or restaurants nearbywater tubing down the mountain and a catermaran trip around to the Napali Coastline is a must.Great restaurants up and down the coast. It only takes about one and a half hours to go from one end of the island to the other,must have a car!
ReviewRoom was fine, the resort didn"t have alot of activities,but they could set up anything you wanted to do with a discount. Snorkling at Turtle Bay was great, take water camera. Great golf courses, but exspensive it was worth every dime though. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Island was not crowded at all,seemed like nobody was there(early june)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerBobGed
LocationPhoenix, Az
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2000
Not a Gold Crown or Silver Crown, BUT--------
Date:February 22, 2008
Best things about resortLocation Friendly Staff Peaceful and Quiet
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Beaches! Bubba's Burgers in Hanalei
ReviewThe resort is not a Gold or Silver Crown resort, but you know that when making your reservation. It is, however, a comfortable and friendly place to stay.
I wouldn't recommend it for families with small children, as there would not appear to be many activities for them to participate in. In general, I don't believe the Princeville area to be overly kid friendly, but I may be wrong.
The Makai Club is an older resort, but is well maintained. The kitchen is small, but adequately supplied. I would recommend you shop at Costco in Lihue to get your food if you are going to cook,and get a styrofoam cooler. Princeville has only one supermarket, Foodland. Foodland does have a shopper's card, which you can sign up for and get some discounts, but food is expensive there! ( what isn't? )
We stayed in a one bedroom unit, #804, on the top floor, facing the mountains. The bedroom was air conditioned, but the living room area was not.
Even though it was mid February, the Living Room area heated up considerably in the afternoon. Some circulation of air was provided by a ceiling fan, but it really didn't cool down until after sunset. There was a pedestal fan as well in the unit, which could provide some additional relief, but it was still warm.
With a little forethought, if you have msn as a provider you can get internet service, albeit by slow dial-up. Bring a phone cord (modular plug-in). Get the local access number for Lihue before you leave home. The resort does not charge for local calls. There is only one phone in the unit. They use a wireless handset with base, in which the phone line permanently plugs into ( you can't remove it, which is why you need to bring your own cord). I just removed the mirror covering the phone jack, and plugged in my own line, as I wasn't expecting anyone to call me at the resort. It worked, and yes, was slow, but I was able to retrieve email.
If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs! Chickens and roosters are everywhere, and they don't care what time it is, as they crow at all hours.
There were high surf warnings the whole week we were there, which is not unusual for the area in the winter, which can limit the amount of swimming / snorkeling you can do. Drive to the south shore if you want to swim, or go to some of the protected bay areas.
The traffic from Lihue thru Kapaa can get quite slow, if possible, use the Wailua by-pass to go around most of Kapaa, unless going to the shops in Kapaa.
The bottom line is this - it is not a Gold Crown, nor Silver Crown resort. It is a very nice resort however, and a good deal for an exchange if you want to be in the Princeville area. Don't let the negative comments steer you away!
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerAkhank
LocationTKA, Alaska
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1995
Qiuet & Private
Date:December 8, 2007
Best things about resortQuiet, peaceful setting. Mountain views from most units. Private setting away from the condo concentration along Princeville's main drag.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWalking distance to Makai golf course. Hanalei resturants. North shore beaches.
ReviewThese units are older and in need of finish upgrades; hopefully now that they are affiliated with Wyndham this will happen soon. The units are clean and servicable, but the kitchens are indeed tiny. The development consists of 8 ea 5-plex units that are spaced a bit more apart than one would expect. We have twice experienced the one unit on the lower level as it is likely most available for exchange. The pool is small, but not used much at least in the shoulder seasons. The views from the lower unit are Ok from the 5 south facing units but the 3 north facing ones are likely obscurred by vegetation. Views from most upper level units are spectactular. The Makai club cottages (duplexes) are across the lane and share the pool
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerJohn21
LocationNorthern Indiana
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1991
A Bad Experience
Date:November 27, 2007
Best things about resortconvenient to supermarket and Hanalei.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbymany good restaurants in Hanalei nearby.
ReviewCheck in was handled at a different resort, but then you have to go to the activities center to get your parking pass, giving them the opportunity to sell you various tours of the island. I parked the car, and was dismayed that my room was two flights of stairs down from the parking lot, in the basement. The view was of a cutout in the landscape, looking up the hill at the real world. The kitchen was miniscule, and the unit was hot because there is no breeze in a basement. The final straw was that there is no Internet connection whatever. I phoned the front desk and they said I could drive to another resort in the area and use their common room. Not good enough. I stayed two nights, then bailed out and rented a unit at another resort. I would never, ever, go back to this place.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Grand Pacific Resorts at Makai Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerTraviln2
LocationOhio
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2006
Member Since2004
Great Resort in Beautiful Spot
Date:November 9, 2007
Best things about resortThis resort is located on a beautiful portion of the island. Every window had an amazing view of the mountains and the amazing greenery of Kawaii. The rooms are a good size and the kitchen is very nice to have. There is a grocery store right down the street so that you can take full advantage of the kitchen.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySecret Beach is about a 10-15 minute drive and it's amazing views every time you do it! There are lots of good restaurants north and in the Princeville resort, also near the grocery store. We did not have a bad meal the whole trip. Every beach that you can find is worth seeing and spending as much time as you have at...good luck getting to see all of the AMAZING things this place has to offer in your week!
ReviewThis resort offered exactly what you need for a week on this island. You have a great pool, a hot tub and amazing views in every direction. There were not a lot of people there when we visited which made it that much more romantic and exciting. We had a great time and will visit agian soon!
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
21-34 of 34