Resort Reviews

Sunny Coast Resort Club (#1201)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/1201')"> Sunny Coast Resort Club (#1201)

Situated right on Qawra Bay, with all the fun and sun the mighty Mediterranean has to offer, Sunny Coast Resort Club has something for every guest. There is a full roster of water sports in the sea, plus two pools and one for the kids, three outdoor Jacuzzis and all the activities you could want from squash to windsurfing. There is a pool-side bar/restaurant, an on-site mini-mart with fresh breads and vegetables, and modern conveniences like Internet and a fitness center. An additional restaurant is ready to serve a full menu of Mediterranean cuisine, and front desk service is 24 hours a day.
Average Member Rating:
2.7 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
11 of 20(55%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Review 1 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerseeingplaces
LocationKY
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1988
will stay again
Date:January 4, 2014
Best things about resortThe resort is on a public bus route which made it easier to get around the island.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyRestaurants were everywhere and the lack of people made moments enjoyable.
ReviewThe resort is located in a quiet area near the water and near public bus transportation but the street noise was bearable. The resort was clean and nice but could update the furnishings and have a better selection of TV channels.The use of minibuses instead of hop-on-hop-off buses made seeing the island a joy because the minibuses took you to the attractions. Visiting in the off season meant less people, less traffic and more enjoyment of the attractions. Mini-markets and restaurants were everywhere.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerHuwW
LocationTruro
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2003
Disappointing
Date:August 17, 2013
Best things about resortThe resort is located in a good position being next to a good swimming beach, bus stop, with nice pool area and plenty of restaurants around - especially the excellent Chaplin's right next door!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySee above - several reasonable restaurants, Chaplin's the best. Valetta a good visit, and Gozo.
ReviewHowever the holiday was spoilt by a horrible unit.
We were put in unit 210, a dreadfully dark appartment with no proper windows at all in the living space. The balcony was unusable since it was directly by a smelly & noisy road (we like our outdoor holidays abroad!). The air conditioning was very poor. We asked twice if we could be moved, and seemed to be treated by indifference by the two female reception staff, one who told us that RCI only allowed us to go into units of this quality ( the resort has a lot of much higher quality units that have been refurbished and have good sea views on the higher floors).
Up to now we have been used to good quality RCI resorts. Why were the best quality units not available to RCI members in this case? Nobody could possibly want to return to a stay in the unit we had!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerFairlight
LocationBudapest
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1995
positive surprise
Date:June 4, 2013
Best things about resortGreat view from balcony, nice pool and gym next to the hotel, helpful staff. We spent a memorable week there, I would be happy to go there again.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe hotel has a very good restaurant. Many nice sights, restaurants and programs in walking distance. Bus stops in front of the hotel, you can reach every other attractions of the island. Don't go to the "sandy beach" though, there is nothing there.
ReviewWe wanted to travel to Malta, but had only 2 hotels available. After I read the reviews here, I immediately discarded the possibility of coming here. But at the end, we were left with no choices, so said, well, it can't be that bad, after all....
It was an absolute positive surprise. The staff was kind and helpful all the time. The resort was comfortable, had everything we needed. The air-conditioning, not the best but we left the window open and had no problems in the evening. The beach - although stony - is right outside, we and the kids have enjoyed swimming there.
WiFi cost 2 EUR per hour but as I learned it was the same cost everywhere.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewergotthetravelbug
LocationStaffordshire, UK
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2004
Better that Expected. Good Location.
Date:May 11, 2013
Best things about resortThe bus stop right outside will take you on the major bus routes. About 5 mins walk is the main bus station in Buggiba where there is good information on routes and you can get timetables and a holiday bus map. Only 12 euro for a 7 day ticket - bargain! Some of the RCI places we have stayed in have been really isolated and you have to have a car, but Sunny Coast Resort is really convenient without being right in the City Centre. There are loads of good shops, mini markets, tour operators and restaurants in the area but in May it wasn't noisy or too busy and didn't feel too chaotic.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyA Jeep trek around the island is a good way to start out and work out where things are and what you want to see more of. We did a budget one with Sunscope for 35Euros because it takes you round the edge of the island to see some of the things like the Blue Grotto it would take a while to travel to. An absolute must has to be visiting Comino and the Blue Lagoon. We did a boat trip with Triton and for 20Euro got taken Swimming/snorkeling for 45 mins, 45mins in the Blue Lagoon and then to Gozo for 3 hrs. Was really well timed for us as the sea wasn't warm enough to swim for long and there isn't much else to do on Comino. Had a relaxed late lunch and a mooch round Victoria before heading back. You need a whole day in Gozo really as well. Got some surprisingly nice food up the road from the hotel at 'Quatro Fratelli'. The service was pretty bad - a waiter that didn't speak English, drinks spilled over customers and wrong orders turning up (twice), but they were so friendly and the food was really good so we ended up eating there twice.
ReviewMalta is a wonderful place to visit. It is not somewhere we would have thought of going but was well worth it. In a week you can visit pretty much all of the top sights if you plan it right. We did the jeep round the island, spent a day in Gozo - We got the bus up and then a ferry across (about 5 Euro) then had hop on hop off tickets to travel round the island (15 Euro I think) as normal bus tickets only cover Malta. Top of the list is the Azure Window and fungus rock. and Victoria, but there are plenty of stops on the route.
Valletta the capital is worth a day too. We went to the market at Marsakkslox on Sunday, but in he heinsight it would have been better just to do this during the jeep tour as Sunday just ended up being really busy, a long way to travel and any extra stalls were mostly knock off DVD's and house ware.
As for the hotel - I was pretty worried when I booked because of the poor reviews. It really seems to depend on what you expect. The rooms and facilities were nothing special - in need of an update really. Although they were spotless, pretty comfortable and had a good shower.
We had a 1 bed apartment (511) and were lucky to have a sea view. There was a building being renovated underneath, but noise wasn't a problem and you didn't really notice when you were sitting down anyway. It was a good job there were 2 of us though as it really wasn't big enough for 4 people.
My biggest complaint was the lack of things in the kitchen. It was very basic and I don't think it would be too much to have a spatula, more than 2 knives and maybe some washing up liquid.
So it isn't somewhere to stay for luxury, but we really liked the Sunny coast resort and found it more than adequate for our trip. Plus it is a really handy location and you can easily walk around or get buses further afield.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerHesselbaek
LocationKolding, Denmark
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2011
Nice Resort
Date:July 23, 2012
Best things about resortHotel staff was very helpful. Nice, spacious rooms. Bus stop right outside the hotel, busses stoped every 10 min. Lovely pool area. Nice restaurant. Convenience store in the hotel. Everyday cleaning
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMalta is small but full of history. We have 2 boys (5 and 8) so we had to adjust our activities but there is still many thing to do. Lot of possibilities to buy ready made trips and tours but we arranged our own trips and saved a lot of EUR. We went to Popeye Village. Little place (not crowded) but somehow we stayed there a whole day. Train tour around in Buggiba. Shorter boat trips. Try maltese rabbit, maltese pizza is worth trying. Blue Lagoon and Comino. Fish manicure w. doctor fish is cheap.
ReviewWe did read that rci members will get appartments with poor or no view. As we excpected, the view wasn't great at all - down to the road. Rooms were very spacious, nothing special, furniture bit worn out. Because my son has gluten intolerance I was cooking a lot and it was ok but obviously they didn't expect much in-dining, kitchen appliances were really from the last century.
Do yourself a favor and try fuits and wedges from Malta - we found an excellent fruit grocery not far from central bus station. Small fridge. TV - I don't want even comment it.
WiFi is only available in the reception. Pricey. 5 min. for 2,5 EUR.
First we wanted to rent a car but first of all they drive on the wrong side of the road :))), parking nightmare etc. We decided to by a 7 days bus ticket. 12 EUR for each of us, no reduction for children. We went everywhere, f.ex. busses to Valletta from the hotel in every 12 min. Main bus station app. 10 min from the hotel. Ask for a bus plan and Buggiba map from the reception.
We took to Zabbug to experience St. Felip's procession and fireworks. During the summer there will be processions in every weekend in different villages, just ask.
We prepaid taxi via RCI for 200 DKK but actually one can take a bus (X3 ) from the airport directly to the hotel. It will take app. 1 hr. and cost 3 EUR.
Me and my son got ill and the receptionist was very helpful and called to the doctor right away. Funny thing - the pharmacy are opened from 4 - 7 pm.
We visited Cozo, Mosta, Valletta, Rabat. We will definately visit Malta again. Great food, lot of historical places, everybody talked english, easy access everywhere
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerTheGoodGuy
LocationEdinburgh
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1990
This resort is largely refurbished, and is great!!
Date:June 29, 2012
Best things about resortLocation, good bus connections, lido and nice complex.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLa Stalla(a short walk) for steaks and seafood. Luzzo's very close excellent especially for Pizzas.
ReviewThis resort by Maltese standards is good to very good. It is a European resort and I do understand why some RCI visitors maynot consider it luxurious. Its own description is simply furnished, but is more than adequate for most peoples needs. You are on holiday, not living in an apartment. The staff we met were friendly and helpful.Lido is fantastic and a great place to sun yourself. Parking can be a slight pain as you have to use local roads.
Review 7 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerAnonymous
LocationUK
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2002
Not recommended
Date:June 14, 2012
Best things about resortVery nicely refurbished reception area, Good pool area.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyRocky coast. Good flat walk around point to Buggiba, (or more hilly route across)
ReviewOur room was dirty, dark and very poorly equipped; there was food debris around the hob and inside the oven. A pillow was stained and had hairs on it from a previous occupant. I complained and the following morning, the head housekeeper came to look at the room. We showed her the mess in the kitchen & she said, "People make mistakes". I showed her what I thought was dirt on a cushion on the sofa; she proudly told me that was not dirt, but rust from the metal frame of the folding bed! We were moved to a refurbished room, which was much brighter, but still not very clean.
In both rooms, the standard of equipment is very poor, and there are very few cooking utensils. There is a TV, but no DVD, though they did bill me E100 for renting one, which I had not done. Despite the lack of electrical equipment, there was a utility charge E59.40 for one week. You have to ask if you want an iron or a coffee machine. They refused to supply washing-up liquid, kitchen scissors, a non-slip bath mat or table mats (we had to fold towels to put under hot dishes on the plastic veneered dining table)..
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerMagdalenaSweden
LocationSweden
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2010
Nice place, unhelpful staff at the resort
Date:March 22, 2012
Best things about resortYou have a nice poolarea and the rooms are nice and tidy.
ReviewMy boyfriend and I went to this hotel in September 2011.
When we arrived we had to wait over 2 hours before we could check into the room.
The staff at the hotel were not helpful and we did not feel welcome at all.
Would staff be friendly and the rooms upgraded some (because the airconditioner was very loud), I would give this resort 3 of 4.
But we had a good holiday because everyone else in Malta was nice and helpful and the pool area was quite OK.
At the poolarea you have a nice pool with seawater, and some hot tubs around the area. You can also take a swim in the ocean from the poolarea. It's only up to you.
You can buy a nice cold beer or water here, and I fixed my nails for about 50 euro.
The room was tidy and clean but the balcony was very small and we had probably the worst balcony situation, our view was the hotel facade.
Bugibba is a quiet area and bus connections from there are great if you want to go to Valetta.
I would not recommend to book transfer from the airport to the resort if you want to save some money.
The bus stops in Bugibba busstation and from there it's a 15 minutes walk.
This July 2012 I would like to take my mother here, so I'm quit nervous for the rude staff at the resort. But this would be my last time. It's only because the woundeful trip to the blue lagon. Buy a ticket to get there, you are on a ship (like an old one) and you get a buffé and juice, wine and you also have a bar.
When you arrive to the blue lagon, you stay there for couple of hours, you have a turqoise water and like always in Malta; beautiful weather.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerMicapol
LocationGuernsey, CI
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1993
Not RCI standard
Date:September 27, 2011
Best things about resortOutside pool and sunbathing area Plenty of hot water Friendly night porter Reasonable rates at independent hair/beauty salon within complex across the road
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyPlenty of restaurants within walking distance Near bus stop
ReviewVery disappointed with accommodation, apartments are dark and need updating. Feet were filthy after walking bare foot on bedroom carpet. Balcony very small, only used for drying towels. Paid the utility charge of approx €60 applicable for RCI exchanges, air conditioning noisy and didn't work properly always too hot overnight. Key operates electric and therefore could not be used when out. Asked to be moved to another apartment on 2nd day but advised to return the next day as was public holiday (which we hadn't been advised of when we checked in). Next day told nothing was available by the same receptionist that checked us in, who I must say was the most miserable, unhelpful person I have ever come across on any exchange worldwide. Luckily we had good weather and didn't have to spend much time in the dismal apartment.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerGadgetmann
LocationHampshire,UK
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2003
Good Resort in a quiet location
Date:October 29, 2010
Best things about resort- Recent Health Spa addition,easy walking to shops and restuarants, but still in the quiet part of the town, all hotel entertainments do go quiet at midnight. .
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDo take a trip to Gozo, and if you have a car, it would be better to travel under your own steam, excusions arranged through the resort, do not usually involve luxury travel. With a car, some good eateries in Mdina, Sliema can be driven to.
ReviewThis is my first visit to Sunny Coast, as an owner, been only on exchanges previously, Resort has been through a series of refurbishments and my apartment seems to have been recently completed. Our apartment did have A/C which for August was a neccessity.
A couple of eateries to avoid, the pub just below, offered mouldy bread in a sandwich, and the chinese at the bottom of the hill - witnessed the owner being abusive to someone who complained about the service received.
The Lido appears to be the next part of the complex to receive a makeover, as it does look a little tired.
Word of caution, car parks are generally free, though they usually have an unofficial carpark attendant present, who will assist you in parking your car for a couple of euros.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerdeechh61
LocationBishop Auckland
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2003
BAD EXPERIENCE
Date:September 25, 2009
Best things about resortCant actually think of any
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNice little Pub two doors down with excellent food and wifi for the computer addict.
ReviewI have left it a month in the hope i would have found some fond memories of the resort.
We arrived at 10pmish at night and had to wait as there was only one person checking in. Half an hour later we had our apartment.....what a let down. The small living space had no windows and as we found out the next morning this meant no natural light whatsoever. The only windows were in the bedrooms but because the sun rose on that side of the building we had to keep the curtains and windows closed most of the day to combat the heat. The main bedroom which was very small had a tiny balcony off it which although there were 4 chairs and a table you could never put out as you couldnt open the door to get back into the room. It also meant sitting in a long line. The bed was not too comfortable but adequate whilst the living room furniture was ok but lacked any cushions so it was pillows for comfort. The bathroom whilst large had only a small window out onto a central shaft so lacked any airflow and steamed up really quickly when taking a shower meaning you came out of the shower and even after drying off you were wetter than when you got out. The kitchen was part of the living space and barely adequate with no instructions on using the cooker and despite being fairly intelligent could not get the cooker to work (the main switch was outside of the kitchen area in the entrance to the apt). There were a few ants which made an appearance so cleanliness in the kitchen area was essential. Whilst the Sunny Coast resort classes itself as a 4 star aparthotel, fully airconditioned I find it hard to give it 3 stars. The airconditioning is antiquated and what they fail to advertise is that it is run centrally and turned off several times a day, including 4am in the morning so you wake up wringing wet. To help out they give you a fan for the apartment which nicely circulated the hot air but did make sleeping bearable. We had to ask for a second fan for the childrens room though.
We were charged €56 on arrival for electricity usage and membership to the Lido (just across the road from the hotel). What they fail to tell you is that they own the lido leaving me wondering why as a guest we had to pay anything at all for its usage.
We had a late flight home and the hotel alloctated two bathrooms for our usage to shower and change after checkout. These are bathrooms which lead directly off the main corridors, each floor having one. Again this meant putting on clothes whilst still damp from the condensation in the bathroom as the only alternative was to get dried and dressed in public.
All in all I was extremely dissappointed with our accommodation and the lack of proper airconditioning (one of the reasons i chose this resort) and whilst the staff were helpful to the best of their abilities it in no way made up for the poor accomodation and basic services. The pictures on this site look fantastic shame the reality was not as fantastic.
Were we just unlucky? I have no intention of going back to find out!!!
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewernorthzinc
LocationUnited Kingdom
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2004
Fantastic Holiday
Date:August 21, 2008
Best things about resortFriendly and helpful staff. Clean and well maintained. Great seaside location.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe hotel is at the start of the lovely promenade of Qawra and Bugibba. Loads of great restaurants on the way. Sandy and Rocky beaches close by.
ReviewHad a fantastic holiday with the family. The service was excellent. The only glitch was a bulb which was changed within 10 mins of arrival. Other than that the accomodation was comfortable as was hoped for. The pool although shared with another hotel was large and enjoyable. The kids had a blast. Lots of entertainment in the area.
I was sceptical after reading the previous reviews but I guess it helped to enjoy this place beyond our expectations. This will definitely become a yearly destination. I truly recommend Sunny Coast and Malta in general to anyone.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerShels
LocationNottingham UK
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1996
A good place to get out of
Date:June 14, 2008
Best things about resortAttractive location (some other parts of Malta reminded me strongly of the road system round Stockport!) Good bus service to Valletta and other resorts Near the ferry to Gozo
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWe went there in 2000, so I don't really remember - but the best day on Malta was definitely spent in Medina and we did have a nice meal there high up on the walls overlooking the city The other brilliant thing was going across to Gozo and staying in a B&B there (just north of the ferry port) for 3 nights and then flying back to the airport on the helicopter service - which was really exciting!!!! We flew right down the west coast and the scenery there was amazing - so maybe staying near there would have something to offer? Otherwise, hold out for Gozo - a poper place!! There was some good food there too and the white churches were amazing.
ReviewPersonally I don't think I'd go to Malta again - except to get to Gozo where I'd happily spend a month or more.
Everywhere we walked in Qawra, we kept being accosted by people trying to sell us time-share - which was a bit redundant!
The resort wasn't as awful as some of these reviews make it sound - although the 10 years in between might have made it a bit tatty by now, I suppose - just a bit characterless and not a lot to do there. If you just want somewhere to sleep and a fridge for your breakfast commodities, it's fine. I wouldn't go back.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerTameside
LocationDenton, Tameside
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2008
Not recommended
Date:May 19, 2008
Best things about resortStaff are friendly and helpful. Linen changed midweek and towels changed on request. Bus stop outside hotel.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySome good restaurants nearby and the leisure centre is at the sea`s edge. Short walk to the tourist centres of Qawra and Bugibba.
ReviewOur unit, (306), was poorly designed, poorly finished and poorly equipped and was not large enough for the capacity shown. Very poor kitchen area and no usable working area. Balcony could only be reached by going into the second bedroom and though sea visible, so was the back of the adjacent building and the restaurant`s kitchen chimney.
Only the fact that it was Malta, which we like and have visited before, made the holiday enjoyable.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewerhumbleton
LocationEast Yorkshire
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1995
Dreadful resort
Date:December 23, 2007
Best things about resortWalk along the promenade away from the resort and going home at the end of the week! Resort organised taxi to collect us and return us to airport - reasonably priced 20 euro return for both (compared to comments we heard about taxi fares for same trip).
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyTa Fra' Ben (apologies for mis-spelling) - wonderful food and service; plenty of restaurants nearby, though not all open during our week's visit
ReviewRoom appalling - on 5th floor - requested a move to 7th floor - newly redecorated and much improved, however dreadful buzzing noise all afternoon/night - drove us to distraction; balcony was from the bedroom - so no use if 4 staying; balcony light controlled centrally so was on when we went to bed and curtains did not block it out!; had to pay deposit for tv remote and was not advised when checked in so first night no TV; very expensive service charge 21 euro for one week; refurbishment going on below us with no warning; leisure facilities poor - very little in use (no jacuzzi during our visit) - in need of decoration and updating!
Have complained to RCI. Would not recommend resort to anyone!
Did day trips round the island - Valletta wonderful and steeped in history (though if driving make sure you get clear directions to the park and ride as not easy to find). Reception staff couldn't give us any information about the island itself - surprising given they were locals! Malta itself was interesting though cold - very windy during our week (early November) but gather this is not the norm for the time of year.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerRONA
LocationLEEDS
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1985
could be better
Date:November 13, 2007
Best things about resortIt is close to all amenities The resorts saving grace was its proximity to resteraunts and supermarkets and also the bus station
ReviewVery noisey room overlooking the main road.
We booked a 1bed appartment which should have been suitable for 4 people.
Luckily there was only 2 of us
The appartment could have been cleaner and there was not enough seating for 4 people
The only bathroom was an ensuite shower room , the only access being via the bedroom. Not suitable for 4 adults sharing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerpickles
Locationderby
Member Since1989
good clean accomodation
Date:September 19, 2007
Best things about resorteverthing is close by and very safe for family both by night and day
Best attractions or restaurants nearbygood food and very friendly people
ReviewMalta changes very little over the years and i would Make it my home anytime
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerSuzy73
LocationLancashire
Member Since2000
Don't go there!
Date:September 18, 2007
Best things about resortErmmm.....I'll let you know if I ever think of one.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGood restaurants in Buggiba and we enjoyed the walk along the promenade in the evenings at sunset.
ReviewWhere to start?? As soon as we entered the apartment I rang RCI to see if there was any other accommodation in Malta that we could move to... unfortunately there wasn't. This hotel is dark and dismal from the reception area right through to the apartments. We had a two bedroomed apartment with a bathroom and kitchen/diner. Only one of the rooms had any natural light in it which came from the balcony that overlooked Qwara's main road. The remaining three rooms had no natural light as we were at the bottom of a shaft. We had to turn the lights on everytime we entered a room which probably accounted for the extortionate utility costs we had to pay (£80.00 for the fortnight). The unit was generally unclean and poorly maintained and the cleanliness was not helped by the dust from the busy main road. The room (and hotel in general) was in desperate need of refurbishment. You only had to look at our baby's hands and knees to see how dirty the floor was and he saved us from standing on bits of broken grout from the floor tiles by handing it to us each time he found some - at least he had the sense not to put it in his mouth. We had threadbare towels and torn bed sheets. The swimming pool area was in need of a good clean and the poor excuse for a children's play area was disgusting. I could go on forever but I think you'll probably have got the gist of it by now. I've complained to RCI and am waiting to hear from them. If you're reading this having already booked a holiday at the Sunny Coast, insist on having a room on the 7th floor which I believe have been refurbished or change your resort ASAP - it'll be worth any extra you have to pay. Don't let this put you off Malta - the island is lovely and the people very friendly.
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerDickie
LocationWest Midlands. England
Member Since1996
Worst exchange ever
Date:September 15, 2007
Best things about resortThe exit. If pushed for an answer I would say the pool area that was very small due to the fact it is shared with another hotel which already has its own pool that we were not allowed to use for reasons known only to the hotels involved.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAll the restaurants near by were very good.
ReviewThe island of Malta is very interesting and steeped in history. The capital of Valletta is particularly nice with its historic buildings and harbour with quite stunning arcitecture and a place that should be seen by anyone visiting the island. That said the resort was particularly disappointing with its 4 star rating being very misleading a 2 star would be more than generous. The staff were unhelpful the resort rep unavailable duing our week there, and with an extortionate 25 lira (£40) service charge per week not great. The room although spacious was very dark and dingy with all windows facing a 6x4 foot shaft that smelt of oil fumes. The patio door overlooked a very busy road which was very noisy at all times during the day this meant that all the windows in the apartment were closed for the entire week in 35 degree heat. The issue with the pool sharing facilities being one way in a different resorts favor also didnot help the fact that we feel that we have been short changed with this exchange. Please do not let this put you off visiting Malta but be careful when choosing the resort you wish to stay in.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sunny Coast Resort Club
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerInny
LocationLondon
Member Since1983
Worst ever resort
Date:September 14, 2007
Best things about resortThere were none!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNone
Review5 days prior to our holiday Sharon rang from Sunny Coast to say we couldn't stay there! They were moving us to a hotel at the far end of the island! RCI no help when I rang. Went to hotel for 8 days then moved back to Sunny Coast who denied all knowledge of us! Of course Sharon not there!We waited 3 hours until they found us an apartment looking out over busy road. Our apartment was supposed to have sea views!No proper aircon and couldn't keep windows open because of traffic. Nightmare! Pool area dirty. Sea filthy from fishing boats moored nearby who washed out their bilges.Worst ever holiday. Couldn't wait to get home! Don't touch this one with a barge pole!
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.