Resort Reviews

Lake Placid Club Lodges (#0326)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/0326')"> Lake Placid Club Lodges (#0326)

Guests at the Lodges enjoy access to Lake Placid Resort Beach on Mirror Lake Drive, a private beach, adjacent to the Lodges. Guests also get discounts for Mountain Course golfing as well as horseback riding at Emerald Springs Ranch and tickets for Whiteface Mountain, free use of the Lake Placid Resort Tennis Complex, and access to the Cross-Country Ski Center and Lake Placid Health and Fitness Center at no extra charge. The fitness center also has a cozy lounge with fireplace, and pro shop.
Average Member Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Review 1 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerFunTripper
LocationBoston, MA
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2014
Member Since2012
A Vacation to Remember
Date:March 19, 2014
Best things about resortLocation, Location, Location! Not only that, this was one of the cleanest units I have ever been in.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAll the Olympics venues are so close to the resort. You can walk to most things and if not, the town's free shuttle system is so convenient.
ReviewWhat a fabulous vacation we had at the Lake Placid Lodges. The resort is located in the heart of Lake Placid and being there the week the winter Olympics was going on was pretty cool. The unit was incredibly clean and there was nothing we needed that wasn't supplied. Everything was top shelf and other than buying food, all appliances, cookingware and utensils were in the unt. The layout of the unit was great with a large jacuzzi for 2 (maybe 3 if smaller folks) and a private sauna that held all three of us. The bedrooms aupstairs were spacious as were the bathrooms on each floor. There was so much room! It was busy the week we were there but we were never disturbed by others nor could we hear anyone. the fireplace was delightful and the flat screen tv in the living room was perfect for tv watching pretty much from anywhere on the first floor. it snowed a bit and as other reviewers have pointed out, the walkways were kept clear. What a really fun spot. Shopping is so close by and there are tons of restaurants and a few large grocery stores. We skied at Whiteface a few days and did almost all the Olympic venue events you could. Don't miss the bobsled run! We are already planning to return again, maybe in the summer this time to the Lake Placid Lodges. If you are expecting to have beautiful mountain views, you may have some but a good number of the units face parking lots or into each other. It didn't really bother us since we were out all day and came home after dark.
Review 2 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKathyQ
LocationNew Jersey
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2014
Member Since2004
Awesome place to stay
Date:February 2, 2014
Best things about resortSpacious, VERY clean condo (which is always a plus for me). Friendly and helpful staff. Has games and puzzles you can use for free and a full kitchen with everything you need...even a pie plate and a baking sheet which most RCI places do not have. You can even rent a movie (DVD) for only $2.00 each
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNice cross country skiing trails and the Olympic sites. Really enjoyed the Lake Placid Pub and Brewery restaurant which was close to our villa we could walk to it. Also enjoyed High Falls Gorge with it views of cool frozen waterfalls (This is also right below Whiteface Ski area). I don't downhill ski but my husband and I were able to ride the gondola up to Whiteface Mtn to take in the views and then ride it down (the ride is free with purchase of the Olympic Passport).Nice to know if you are not a downhill skier!
ReviewMy husband and I loved Lake Placid. This was our first time there and we would definitely come back. We loved the spaciousness of the condo and all amenities it offered. Also loved the shops in town and the Restaurants. Suggest getting the Olympic Passport through the Lodge since it is cheaper than buying at one of the venues. It was a great buy since you can use it to get into all Olympic sites. We rented cross country skis at Cunningham's Ski barn on Main Street and they were wonderful. Rented our cross country skis for 4 days and it cost us $32.00. We got our money's worth out of them too! The staff at Cunningham's are also friendly and helpful!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewerels123
Locationvermont
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1982
$20 fee
Date:November 25, 2013
Best things about resortlarge, scenic central located comfortable right on the golf course....... ......................................................................................................... ...................................................................................................... *************************************************************** *************************************************************
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOlympic venues nice tour guide.............................................. ...................................................................................................... ................................................................................................... .................************************************************** ***************************************************************
ReviewVery disappointed in having to pay the $20 electric fee. This should be an owners obligation and not a users obligation. I pay the fee at my home resort.. Electric heat is not an excuse.
This was a last minute visit due to trading power expiration so really had no choice. The resort BOD should reassess the $20 fee.
BTW... all of the lilght bulbs were the low energy type!
The check out person was not especially friendly. Are users burdens???
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerLittleTiger
LocationBernalillo, NM
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1996
Wonderful Base for Adirondack Adventures
Date:September 5, 2013
Best things about resortSize of units (1,400 SF!), Number of guests accommodated, Location in one of only two towns to host two Winter Olympic Games, proximity to six million acres of public/private wilderness territory, proximity to golf, tennis, skiing, swimming, ice skating and hockey, bobsledding, luge, cross-country skiing, hiking, walking, cycling, boating,, canoeing, kayaking, and on and on.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLake Placid Pub & Brewery (50 yards), award-winning beer for nearly 20 years. Lake Placid Olympic Complex, site of 1980's "Miracle on Ice" (300 yards), Whiteface Mountain Ski Area (9 miles), Ausable Chasm (35 miles)
ReviewIntroduction
Full disclosure: Lake Placid is my home town. We own 8 intervals at this resort, and have since the mid-1990s. My amenities rating concerns the resort by itself. There are a large number of amenities right nearby, just not on-site. This review concerns our Christmas-season weeks (we have three). The major attractions for this resort are the sheer size of each unit and the number of people it can accommodate, plus the attractions and activities available in and around Lake Placid, New York. The Olympic Village, one of only two spots in the world to host two Winter Olympic Games (1932 and 1980), is situated in the heart of the Adirondack Park, one of America’s greatest wilderness treasures.
Unit Features
Each unit features two large bedrooms, a loft and two pull-out sofabeds, for a total capacity of eight guests per unit. Each unit has a wood-burning fireplace, two outdoor decks (one on each floor level), a 3-person whirlpool tub AND a Finnish sauna, one full tub bath and one shower bath, HDTV in the living room and master bedroom, and a wi-fi router.
Size of Unit
This is a small resort with only 35 units. However, each individual unit makes up in size what the overall resort lacks in numbers. All units are 1,400 square feet, with lots of room to spread out in the living, dining and loft areas. In good weather, the fun can spill out onto either or both of the two outdoor decks. The main floor bath offers enough space for privacy in changing for the hot tub (or just disrobing for the sauna – same room). We have seen only one other resort with units this large, and that was in northern England.
Condition of Unit and Property
Each unit we’ve stayed in has been extremely clean and very up to date. The resort is actively managed by its Board through an agreement with Vacation Resorts International (VRI). A recently-updated reserve study and well-funded reserve fund ensure that a proper replacement/repainting/redecorating cycle is in place. The contemporary exterior lines of the buildings are tempered by the warm rock face of the fireplace and the traditional colors of siding and interiors. The mountain/forest décor theme further helps foster the Adirondack feeling of the place.
Kitchen Features
This is a BIG kitchen, with full-size appliances and plenty of cabinets to store groceries and gear for a crowd. Although the kitchen knives are only so-so (I’m a cook, and bring my own) a full set of them and other kitchen utensils is provided. Crockery, glassware and flatware for eight are provided, along with a wide selection of serving bowls and platters.
Any problems encountered such as check-in problems, room changes, etc.
Never. The resort goes out of its way to welcome owners and guests alike.
Planned Resort Activities such as welcome parties, barbecues, kid programs, and outings
As a very small resort, no on-site activities are offered. A Monday morning coffee is offered at which guests can get information about all the nearby Adirondack attractions available.
Resort Amenities
Charcoal grills and picnic tables are located behind and around each building. A lounge in the check-in lodge offers books, computer access, and a selection of movies to watch on a large-screen TV. Otherwise, all amenities are located outside the resort.
“Outside” is a relative term, however. Four tennis courts available to guests for free are located across the street from the resort on one side. Right against the back side of the resort sits the Lake Placid Club Golf Courses, 45 holes of historic, challenging PGA-quality golf. Across the street in front of the resort is the Lake Placid Municipal Beach, featuring a swimming pier, baby wading area, rafts and a 100-yard race course, plus three more municipal tennis courts. Guests also have use of many of the facilities owned by the Crowne Plaza Resort, including the Boathouse Beach, an easy, quarter-mile walk along Mirror Lake’s shore. Winter guests have access to a swimming pool located a few miles away.
Staff Friendliness and Responsiveness
We have always found the staff at LPCL to be not only friendly and welcoming, but also willing to go the “extra mile” to make a vacation extra special. As owners, we’ve been able to engineer internal “swaps” of weeks and units to meet our sometimes-challenging schedule, and we’ve seen the staff do similar things for non-owner guests as well. There is a true dedication to service on the part of all staff, and it shows every day. It should be noted that such maneuvering is easier to do early in the winter or in the fall/spring period, rather than during the resort’s busiest seasons, January-March and June-August.
Convenience to Area Attractions
Just a few feet away from the resort boundary is the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, an award-winning microbrew enterprise now celebrating nearly 20 years of great beer and pub food. Lake Placid’s Olympic Center, where the U.S. upset the powerful Russian hockey juggernaut in 1980s “Miracle on Ice”, is about a 10-minute walk. Main Street, with a wide array of shops from rustic to cosmopolitan is similarly close.
Other Olympic attractions are a short drive away, including the Intervales Ski Jump Complex, the Mt. Van Hovenberg luge/bobsled/cross-country ski venue, and Whiteface Mountain Ski Area. Scenic gondola rides are offered in season at Whiteface Mountain, where guests get stunning views of the Adirondack High Peaks from the top of Little Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympic Alpine events were held. Skiers can make tracks on the same downhill, slalom, and giant slalom runs made famous in 1980 by the Mahre brothers and Ingmar Stenmark.
Aside from Lake Placid, the resort offers a great base for day hiking trips in the nearby High Peaks. Fit hikers can climb Mt. Marcy, highest point in New York State, in a vigorous summer day. (It’s a 14-mile round trip from the trailhead parking lot.) Numerous other peaks are also similarly accessible. Lake Placid Lake offers scenic and historic tours, as well as sail and power boat rentals. For golfers, the Adirondacks have many historic courses not far from Lake Placid. Summer visitors can drive up the Whiteface Mountain Memorial Highway, finishing their trip to the summit of Whiteface via a 25-story elevator, or a half-mile scramble up a very scenic trial from the parking lot.
Additional fees assessed
A $20 energy surcharge applies. In the winter, firewood is available for $7 a bundle, delivered to the door.
Suitability of Resort for couples, families, relaxing, partying, etc.
In our years of ownership at LPCL, we have often entertained family and friends, sometimes more than a dozen at a time. Our annual Christmas-season festivities include a cocktail party for numerous local friends (it’s my home town, remember) that never feels crowded no matter how many guests show up. We have even, in 2010, swapped to get two units at once to hold everyone for a family wedding event in the fall. It’s safe to say that we’ve done it all at Lake Placid Club Lodges, and found all our recent visits relaxing, enjoyable and highly satisfying.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewertimthetoolman
LocationMassachusetts
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2007
great resort, no service
Date:July 10, 2013
Best things about resortThe lodges were outstanding, very spacious. eveything you could want in a room
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyZip lines and opstacle course, boat ride around lake
ReviewThe lodge was everything you would want in a room, problem is, no one to make up beds. if you want more towels after one extra set, you have to pay for it. They even leave you a tip envelope in room, and for what, its your responsibility to do everything, so what would I leave a tip for, a compliment of my service. The exercise place is not in the resort you have to drive to it. No place to eat at resort, other than a bar and grill. you have to drive to everything else. Everything around resort was expensive. Ended leaving two days early, because everthing I could do there, I could do at home; and for a lot less. everyone at resort was very nice, except large Blond lady; she needs to learn some people skills. They really need to get more amenities at the resort.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerWPT1
LocationMississauga, On
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2001
Beautiful Resort and Location
Date:March 17, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Best things about resortThe unit was big and spacious, very clean and comfortable , nothing fancy but everything needed was there. The view of the mountains covered in snow was awesome.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySkiing was awesome! We were there March break week 10, and plenty of runs still opened at whiteface, one day it was warm with spring like conditions, another was colder more winter like. There are free local shuttles or you can drive there, it is a 15 minute drive. We had dinner at the Great Adirondack steak and seafood restaurant and it was excellent. We also had pizza at Bazzis pizza, also ver good. The wife liked strolling thru the small town of lake placid, checking out all the quaint shops.
ReviewAll in all an excellent ski vacation. We are from Ont so anything over 700 feet vertical is good, Whiteface is the largest east of the Rockies and only a 6 hour drive from home. We were also were surprised by the natural beauty of the Adirondack area, just as nice as northern Ontario! This was our first time to the area, I think it would be a nice summer trip too!
As mentioned above the resort was very comfortable and roomy with nice amenities. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful and we were able to purchase discounted lift tickets. It rained one day and snowed another, typical as the seasons change over, but there was still decent skiing. We shopped in Plattsburgh on the rainy day.
All in all very pleased! We hope to go back for another ski trip!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerindianfan
LocationChatham, ON, Canada
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1980
Excellent resort
Date:February 13, 2013
Best things about resort15 minutes from the ski hill, Whiteface. In walking distance of Main Street. Excellent snow clearance of parking lots. Lots of room. We put seven men into a two bedroom unit. We used two cots to get 'separation'. Two TVs. Full kitchen, fully stocked.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWhiteface mountain, Olympic ski jump area, bobsled area, Olympic Museum and three ice rinks. The Olympic Ice Skating Oval. We ate at the Dancing Bears and Lisa G's and liked them both. Lake Placid has a movie theatre. Nice walk around Mirror Lake. Lots of downtown stores and restaurants.
ReviewEach unit has a sauna and whirlpool which we used apres ski. This is our second trip to the Lake Placid Club Lodges. The front office has a computer that we used to print off Liftopia ski lift tickets. The office also sells lift tickets. From the unit one can walk from one end of Lake Placid to the other. We saw ski jumpers practice and compete and could have watched the luge athletes. There was a synchronized skating competition while we were in town. The front office staff were extremely helpful. We were given a free pass to a local fitness club which is excellent. I would like the units to have outdoor whirlpools.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerivoryandebony
LocationMizner, Weston, FL
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2007
Nice place for friends to get together
Date:June 16, 2012
Best things about resortNice quiet resorts to be able to relax and get together with friends
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyDowntown Lake Placid - lot of little shops and boutiques
ReviewThis is the second year in a row that we booked a weekend in June to get together with 3 other couples.
We were 4 couples in all, who ride motorcycles, and meet in Lake Placid to ride in the Adirondacks and go to Lake George for Americade. We were gone all day and only came back to the unit at night to relax and rest. We very much enjoy the sauna and jacuzzi after a long day of riding.
We love the full kitchen and bought our groceries at Hannaford’s for our breakfast and supper. There are Bar-B-Q's that we use for grilling steaks and chicken.
The first year our unit backed onto the golf course. What a beautiful view in the morning. We had our own Bar-B-Q right outside our patio door. This time, we were in a different unit, backing on to other units with the Bar-B-Q across the parking lot.
All in all, it’s a nice quiet resorts to be able to relax and get together with friends.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerWaterlover2
LocationBoston Area
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1981
A Relaxing Getaway
Date:April 14, 2012
Best things about resortEveryone must see the High Peaks of the Adirondacks and the home of the 1980 Winter Olympics. A handful of units are situated directly facing the beautiful Mirror Lake within the town of Lake Placid. It couldn't be more perfectly located.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Olympic Complex - take the tour Whiteface Mountain All the beautiful lakes within driving distance Natural beauty surrounding you to enjoy the great outdoors
ReviewO.K. We're a fairly active couple in our mid 60's to early 70's. It was early April, cold, rainy, even a bit of snow. Most everything was closed. We had Lake Placid to ourselves. We loved it. I can't remember a time when we spent as much time, relaxing in a timeshare that faced such a beautiful spot, Mirror Lake in the heart of Lake Placid. There is a lovely bricked walkway, a gently 3 mile walk around the lake just awaiting you. I loved the fact that Lake Placid presents as a real community. There is nothing boarded up, even though we were definitely there in low season. There were enough shops open to keep up interested. A number of restaurants were open, our favorite - Cafe Rustico - just outside of town in the Price Chopper (supermarket) outside shopping complex.
We spent time in the unit, reading, watching T.V., enjoying a nice fire, cooking, doing a puzzle,and soaking in the jacuzzi. The view is breathtaking. My husband said we could have been in one of those small villages overlooking the hills in Italy.
It may have felt quite different in another unit. There were a number of units facing what looked to be a golf course.
Everything, including the Olympic Village, eating, shopping and walking around Mirror Lake, were very close.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerZuzanecka
LocationTinton Falls, NJ
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2007
Not one bad thing to say... AWESOME stay!!
Date:March 19, 2012
Best things about resortEverything is the best thing about this resort. The location is perfect, and the units are amazing!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLots to do in and around Lake Placid! Of course after hosting the Olympics you can visit all of the competition venues, such as ski jumps, Whiteface Mountain, bobsled run, and the Olympic Village. Being in the heart of the mountains, there are endless outdoorsy things to do as well.
ReviewI have been vising Lake Placid since I was a child. I have been there in all seasons. After becoming a timeshare owner and member of RCI, the Lake Placid Club Lodges is the first place I ever stayed. I literally have nothing bad to say about them. They are set right on a golf course, in a very quiet and relaxing spot. You can walk to the Olympic Village, shops, restaurants and attractions in less than a 10 minutes. Mirror Lake is right across the street and Whiteface Mountain is minutes away.
My husband and I stayed in a two-bedroom unit with a loft that also had a pull-out couch. There were 2 bathrooms (one having a whirpool tub), full kitchen, balcony, and wood burning fireplace. The kitchen was stocked with basic cooking essentials, and the unit was unbelievably clean with amazing views of the mountains. I would return in a heartbeat, and probably will very soon! I would highly recomend these lodges to anyone!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerpahermits
Locationsouthwestern PA
Month of VisitFebruary
Year of Visit2012
Pleasant Surprise
Date:February 21, 2012
Best things about resortjust few blocks to downtown Lake Placid; spacious clean units; unit #65 has marvelous view of Mirror Lake; very quiet
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOlympic sites; walk around Mirror Lake; beautiful scenic drives
ReviewThough Lake Placid does not have its normal snowfall, skiing at Whiteface was still awesome. The drive from town to the ski area is scenic. The free shuttle service from downtown to Whiteface was punctual.
Our view from unit #65 was so picturesque. We watched people ice skating, playing hockey, cross country skiing, taking dog sled rides, riding toboggans, etc.
We enjoyed watching practice runs for a bobsled competition and going to the top of the ski jump. (After visiting the Olympic sites, we truly appreciate the dedication and courage of our athletes!)
Our unit was very spacious, well-stocked, clean, and quiet. It was nice having the jacuzzi and sauna in the bathroom.
The only complaint is the lack of a washer and dryer in the unit. There is sufficient space.
We have already recommended Lake Placid Club Lodges to friends and relatives.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerdeladaff
LocationDelaware
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2005
Fall Colors Vacation in a Beautiful Setting
Date:October 10, 2011
Best things about resortLocation--within walking distance of the village of Lake Placid, Size of units--plenty of room for two couples or a family of 4-6
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyOlympic venues, Lots of hiking trails, The walk around Mirror Lake, Ausable Chasm near Keeseville, Adirondack Museum-Blue Mountain Lake, For restaurants, try Chair 6 and The Cellar Bistro.
ReviewHaving lived in the north country for many years, I knew the first week of October would be peak leaf season, and we were not disappointed. We invited another couple who had never been to northern NY to join us. Despite the first 3 days of misty rain, we had a wonderful time, mostly due to the fact that our accommodations at the Lake Placid Lodges were so comfortable.
Check-in went very smoothly once we found the office. We forgot to check the directions on our confirmation sheet and wandered around a bit on top of the hill. At least we found the office and were able to check in before dark.
Our unit number 36 was close to the office, and we were able to park almost next to it on the gravel rather than parking in the lot below and hiking up to the door. There is a charcoal grill outside the front door for guest use.
Each building has 4 two story units, and they are accurately described on the RCI website, so I won't go into great detail except for what really stood out. The kitchen is quite large with lots of counter space so that two women can prepare meals without stepping on one another. (Put a husband in there, and it's a little more difficult to do the dance-around, but that's a different story) All the kitchen appliances and cookware you could need to prepare simple meals are available (blender, hand-mixer, toaster, coffeepot). The cookware is good quality, but not non-stick. If you have a favorite frying pan with a lid and have room to pack it, I'd advise bringing it as the big frying pan has no lid. There is a lot of cupboard space so don't be afraid to stock up on your groceries for your stay. The refrigerator is full-size and comes with an ice-maker. The coffeepot takes Mr. Coffee type (not cone) filters. The kitchen starter pack provides an initial supply of paper towels, coffee filters, brillo pad, dishwasher detergent and dish washing liquid. If you run out, you can get more at no charge at the office. Pot holders, dish towels and cloths, and placemats are tucked away in the drawers.
Lake Placid has two major supermarkets, Price Chopper and Hannaford, both at the other end of town. (no Wal-Mart or Target) Sign up for a Price Chopper card to get the sale prices. Beer is sold in NY supermarkets, but not wine. For wine you'll need to shop the wine and spirit shops, of which there are many.
The living room is quite spacious with a loveseat, sofa, and easy chair with ottoman. The fireplace is a working wood-burning fireplace. You can buy wood at the office or bring dura-flame logs to burn. Just don't forget to open the damper! We spent many a cozy evening in front of the fireplace with popcorn and hot chocolate. Television is hd and satellite, I think, because the Weather Channel didn't give local info on the 8s, but there are many, many channels to choose from. Wifi in the unit is free and easy to connect with a password from the office on check-in.
The dining room table easily seats 6 people. 3 more can sit at stools along the counter between the kitchen and dining room.
There are two outside sitting areas with some plastic chairs: one downstairs at floor level, and the other one upstairs off the loft.
Bathrooms: The downstairs bathroom has the sauna, a jacuzzi, and a shower. Upstairs bathroom is the standard bathtub/shower combo and is shared by the two bedrooms and the loft.
Bedrooms: Master bedroom has a queen bed, large dresser with 6 large drawers, a closet, tv, and suitcase stand. The second bedroom has two twins, a dresser, and closet and no tv. Mattresses are a little soft, but comfortable, and linens are good quality. Master bed has a down comforter/duvet and 4 big pillows.
Loft: Futon type sofa, a desk, end tables, and lamp. While sitting on the sofa, you can look down and see the tv.
All in all we were pleased with our stay. The only inconvenience was that there were no washer/dryers in the units. The only laundry facility was located in the check-in building. There were just two washers and dryers. The dryers needed two cycles to really dry the clothes. Both appliances were 1$ per load. The office has lots of quarters in case you need chance. There is also a detergent vending machine.
Each unit is furnished 4 sets of towels. If you want clean ones, it will cost $3 per bundle.
There is so much to see and do in the area, that you have to come back. We would not hesitate to book a future week at the LPL.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerBluepepper
LocationFort Lauderdale, FL
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1983
Great once we got settled
Date:August 29, 2011
Best things about resortBeautiful location, condo grounds and town are clean, great access to things to do...
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWhiteface Mountain, gondola, Lake Placid boat tour, Keene, Farmers Market in Keene, Temptations, walking around Mirror Lake, close to downtown and shopping, High Falls Gorge.....easy drive to other parts of the Adirondacks…….
ReviewWe had requested two different timeshares in Lake George, so at first I was really disappointed that our request was accepted at Lake Placid. Later on during the week we went to Lake George and after seeing it I was completely overjoyed that we ended up staying at Lake Placid Club Lodges.
That being said, unit 33 was hideous. As soon as we opened the door, it smelled bad. The floor was slippery as if it had not been rinsed well enough with water. The carpet was an absolute disaster. It was worn, the color had faded and you could see at least four split seams. The dishes were white but that being said they had been used by so many people over the years that the middle part of the dishes were no longer purely white - they had streaks of gray running through them. The entire unit looked old and dirty – so much so that I put towels on a couch and slept on them because there was no question in my mind that the towels were clean.
We have been using timeshares since the 80s and we have been in many old units before but this time it was different. This unit was completely unacceptable. I called the front desk immediately and asked for a different unit and I was told that it could not be changed. Due to the fact that we would be spending approximately $2,500 on our trip and due to the economy being in such terrible shape, we had no idea when we would be able to take another vacation so I HAD to find a better place to stay. I have *never* burst into tears over a timeshare before and this is the first time that I was so utterly upset that I called RCI to report a problem. Somehow we were fortunate that another (beautiful) unit became available and we moved. This situation has never happened to us before, so I just do not know what we would have done had we been unable to change units because there was no way that we were going to stay in 33 for the entire week. The new unit was perfect and we had a view of the lake. Bonny (the manager) was completely professional and wanted me to provide her with a list of things that were wrong. While speaking with her I realized that none of the issues I had with the condo were her fault (it’s the owner’s and/or condo board’s fault).
The natural scenic beauty of this area is utterly incredible. There are beautiful mountains, rivers, streams, lakes... We drove all over the area and much of it was stunning. It was exhilarating to get out of Florida to enjoy a completely different landscape and climate. In terms of Olympic venues, we were only able to visit Whiteface and take the gondola, but they were both great.
We visited Montreal for a day - we would have stayed overnight, but we decided to skip it because we were not sure if we would be impacted by Hurricane Irene. If we had stayed overnight, the concierge would have helped us tremendously because we found it difficult to do on our own. I loved it, but I didn’t plan well enough. We had an excellent lunch at Marche de la Villette on 324 Rue St Paul.
This was a great vacation once we got the condo issue straightened out.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKateEllen7
LocationFlorence, MA
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1988
4th of July Weekend '11
Date:July 26, 2011
Best things about resortThe resort is spacious and tastefully decorated with 2 bedrooms on the second floor and a futon on the 2nd floor loft. The only problem on 2nd floor, especially if you have young children is that it is very dark once the 1st floor, stairway, bedroom lights and TV's are shut off; I would recommend bringing a couple of nightlights for the bedrooms, bathroom and loft. The only other oddity is that the master bath with the jacuzzi bath is on the 1st floor. The unit is well supplied with dishes, towels etc. Our unit had a patio overlooking the golf course. It was a picturesque and quiet area.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe best attractions were the venues from the 1980 Olympics; the hockey and figure skating rinks, the luge track, as well as the ski jump training camp and the ski jumps and gondola. There was a barbeque and music festival that weekend as well. The resort has a lake with a beach for their guests for swimming and for kids to play in the sand. The shops in the downtown area. There are several restaurants; Jimmy;s 211 Italian, The Dancing Bear, The Blueberry Muffin are just a few. There is a Cupcake place which is excellent and Ellie's Soft Ice Cream.
ReviewWe had a great time at the resort and in Lake Placid. It is definitely a resort that we would not hesitate to revisit. My granddaughters, who is almost 4 and my granddaughter who is 9 months old both had a good time. The unit we were in was spacious enough for them to play before we went out and there was plenty to do even for young children
Review 15 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerMegandGus
LocationCleveland, Ohio
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2008
Great Winter Getaway!
Date:December 28, 2010
Best things about resortJust about everything!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyRestaurants: Milano North, The Brown Dog Cafe and Wine Bar, Lake Placid Pub and Brewery and The Steak and Seafood place in the middle of town. Attractions: The tour of the Olympic Hockey/Indoor Skating Facility... Make sure to do the tour with Howard Riley. He has the BEST stories and knows SO much of the history!
ReviewWe arrived late on Friday and had to follow the alternate check in procedures which were a breeze. The units were clean, well stocked and extremely spacious. The first day we took to get the layout of the town, ski slopes and Olympic facilities. The next couple of days we spent skiing Whitehead and was awesome. The week we were there was before the kids got out of school for the holidays so we had the slopes to ourselves. Not many of the lifts or slopes were open but this didn't bother us since there were not many people. We took advantage of the majority of the Olympic activities minus the Biathlon and Bobsled experience. We were too early in the season for Biathlon and the Bobsled experience was closed due to the World Cup events (which we got to see and were amazing.) All in all this resort is close to town and will keep you busy the entire week. We had a great time and will definitely be back!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerjccjoin
LocationNew Jersey
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2000
Stay in the New Section
Date:August 31, 2010
Best things about resortThe Lake Placid town is within walking distance as is the Golf Course (across the street). Of course, the scenic Adirondack Mountains are breathtaking.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMilano North.
ReviewWhile the resort is spacious, the older section is a bit rundown. Try to stay in the new section if possible. I received a confirmation letter months prior to my visit that stated I was in a nice location in the newer section. However, upon check-in, I discovered they gave my lodge to another family and was unable to get into the newer section. I was told they give first preference to owners, not RCI members who trade. Aside from this, the region is naturally gorgeous with lots and lots of activities and fresh air to keep anyone happy and healthy. One additional caution if you dine at Steak & Seafood restaurant in town. While the food is very good, if anyone in your party has a food allergy - beware. I cleared the dishes we intended on ordering with the waitress and chef before my son took his first bite and on two separate instances, the wait staff ran to our table breathless to say the food may be contaminated with peanuts. As you would imagine, this is not cool. While my son did not have any reaction, it did put a damper on our confidence level.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerladymlee
LocationCascade, Maryland
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2007
A Quiet, Beautiful, Pre-Season Trip
Date:April 17, 2010
Best things about resortThe High Peaks region of the Adirondaks are simply spectacular. Lake Placid and Mirror Lake are beautiful. There is so much natural beauty here, it is like walking into an Ansel Adams picture. The resort is situated in the heart of all of this natural beauty, including gorges, mountains, lakes, rivers, forests, streams- I could just go on and on!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBizzi's Pizza is really good. There are many shops and restaurants downtown. The Inn at Lake Placid is a 4 star, world renown restaurant, though we didn't eat there because it wasn't in our budget. White Face Mountain is nearby, as are spectacular gorges, hiking trails, and other mountains. The local American Legion is super friendly. There are a lot of Olympic venues and history sites to visit. John Brown's farm is also nearby.
ReviewThe resort is very clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. The resort is located in a beautiful area, close to many attractions including Olympic attractions, natural attractions, and John Brown's farm. Everywhere you go, it is scenic beyond belief. You can walk into town and/or around mirror lake. The locals are friendly, too.
The down side is that all of the attractions, such as the Adirondak Wildlife Museum, and several gorges, are closed during the entire month of April, as are some businesses, but most shops and restaurants in Lake Placid were open most of the week. White Face Mountain was also open for skiing, but due to an unusually warm spring, ski conditions weren't that great, according to my husband. Call ahead to Whiteface-- they usually close sometime in April. Be sure to ride the gondola at White Face for spectacular views.
The only issue with our unit was a minor inconvenience for us, but could be a problem for others. This affects units 5-9. (Iriqous Lodges). We were in unit 7. We had to park in a parking lot, walk down a concrete path, down 13 steps, and continue on the concrete path to reach unit 7 with our luggage. Going in wasn't difficult, but it was a pain to carry all that luggage back uphill when we left. If you have trouble walking or with stairs, request a unit that is next to the parking lot. We weren't told ahead of time that we had no easy car access to unload.
We were told by a guide that we hired that summer is the busiest season at this resort. The town population goes from 2,000 to 30,000 from Spring through summer. January and February are also supposed to be busy, as is the Christmas holiday. My husband and I don't have children, so I don't know what families would like, but I think nature lovers would be extremely happy. Pack plenty of clothes, and don't forget the hiking boots. The weather in April is crazy. We had 70 degree days, and we had days that were 30 degrees and snowy. The locals say, "if you don't like the weather, wait 10 minutes, and it will change." That was very true. Autumn in the High Peaks starts in mid-August and goes to about the end of October, and then winter sets in and lasts through most of April, per the locals.
The resort was beautiful, the area is spectacular, and my husband and I plan to go back again in the winter for the height of ski season and to visit attractions that were closed. This is a very romantic place, and it would be perfect even in April for couples who want to get away, enjoy each other's company and nature, and enjoy some nice meals and shopping. It is also a very adventurous place, and you can always find something to do outside no matter the season. I'm normally a southern beach person, and I initially could not understand why my husband wanted to go here for a vacation. Now I know. I will definitely return to this resort, even if I have to give up a trip to the beach.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerNYC10024
LocationNew York, NY
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2000
Highly recommended
Date:December 8, 2009
Best things about resortThe resort is in excellent condition and the units are very nice. Huge 2 bedrooms, 2 stories, fireplace, excellent amenities.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyAll of the Olympic venues are worth visiting. The town is picturesque and within easy walking distance to the resort (however a car is necessary to truly enjoy the area).
ReviewI highly recommend this resort. We have been in both high season and off season and have loved it both times.
It is very well worth the value of your trade / membership fees.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerFred
LocationMaine
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2000
Gorgeous Location
Date:September 28, 2009
Best things about resortThe views of the mountains from our unit were spectacular. A short walk to the town of Lake Placid, all the 1980 Olympic venues, and the views. Laura, the front desk person was VERY helpful with places to eat, things to do and places to see. She answered all our questions and quick to hand out discount vouchers for local restaurants and attractions.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe Cottage at the north end of Mirror Lake has the best lunch and if the weather is warm enough you can have lunch on the deck overlooking the lake. We had a "gourmet" pizza at Milano's. The atmosphere was great, the pizza wasn't. Be sure to check out all the Olympic venues and buy the Passport, you'll save plenty of money. If you're an adrenaline junky, you must take the Bob Sled Ride. WOW. The Adirondak Museum in Blue Lake was very interesting, the booklet says to allow 3 hours, my suggestions is to allow at least 4 hours.
ReviewWhen we made the exchange we weren't sure what we were getting into. A ski resort area during the off season can be incredibly boring. The Lake Placid Club Lodges was a big surprise. As I said above the town is in walking distance and quite quaint, lot's of shopping, eateries, great views of Mirror Lake and the mountains. A must do is the walk around the lake (2.7 miles) and check out all the beautiful houses on it. Our unit overlooked the golf course and to the south of it was the Olympic Ski Jumps poking out of the trees.
Whiteface ski resort is a 20 minute drive from LPCL and taking the gondola ride to the top is well worth the time to take it. If you've purchased the Passport, the ride is included as well as the drive to the top of Whiteface Moundain where, on a clear day you can see at least 100 miles off into the distance. We were told you could see Montreal from the top.
Speaking of Montreal, it's only a two hour drive from Lake Placid and worth the trip. We took the Gray Line bus tour and really enjoyed it. If you're into modern architecture, you'll love the Montreal Olympic Stadium. Be sure to go to the Montreal Botanical Gardens. We really enjoyed dinner at the Biftheque Steakhouse on 998 Blvd de Maisonneuve Ouest. The Filet is to die for. Remember, you'll need your passport to get into and out of Canada.
There turned out to be so much to do that we ran out of time and to go on and on about all the things we missed, would take up too much space.
Would we go back to LPCL? Definately!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lake Placid Club Lodges
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerhejsan
Locationgrand rapids, mn
Month of VisitAugust
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2007
Great resort - great vacation
Date:August 15, 2009
Best things about resortThis resort offers great, clean, well equipped lodges in a fantastic location. Everything in town is within easy walking distance. The setting is lovely with the high peaks and Mirror Lake offering stunning views.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGet the Olympic Passport ($29) and this will enable you to visit 5 different Olympic venues and drive up Whiteface Mountain (Summer). Many great restauarants within a brief walking distance. Take the scenic boat ride around Lake Placid ($15 for adults) for a beautiful excursion and to view some of the histroic Adirondack camps that surround the lake. If you enjoy hiking head over to the Adirondack Loj for trailheads for hikes short and long into the High Peaks wilderness.
ReviewThis is a lovely resort with great units that are large, well equipped, and very clean. This is a great resort for families as the Lake Placid area has a ton of activities. The resort is located between a very nice golf club with 45 holes of scenic and good quality golf and Mirror Lake. While the resort dfoesn't have amenities like a pool there is really so much to do in Lake Placid that this wasn't necessary. The public beach on Mirror Lake is right next to the resort and a brief walk down the lake takes you to the Boathouse which has a private beach and complimentary paddleboats and rowboats (You are given a card for access when you check in at the resort). The swimming in the Lake is great! The resort is also right next to the Lake Placid Brewery and Pub which makes great brews and serves wonderful food in a hopping atmosphere. There are lots of restaurants within a short walk and Lake Placid has free trolleys that run all day and evening throughout the village.
The units at the resort are large, comfortable, and certainly offer plenty of space for 6 - 8 people. They even have saunas in each unit. They are well equipped for cooking and eating and are bright and open. They have good large screen tvs with dvd players and cable and they also have good complimentary wifi in the units. The staff at the resort is very helpful and courteous. We had a great vacation in Lake Placid and the resort certainly was a pleasure.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.