Resort Reviews

Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village (#0247)" onclick="javascript:gaPageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/product/0247')"> Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village (#0247)

This resort contains four lakes on the property where small bass fishing boats are available. Challenge the golfer in you on the PGA-championship 18-hole golf course. The beach, picnic areas, playground, and two outdoor pools, including a kiddie pool, beckon on warm days. The full-service health and fitness center includes weight training and cardio equipment, racquetball courts, a sauna, whirlpool/hot tub, and a tanning bed. If you would like to have access to certain POA amenities including anything in the Thunderbird Recreation Center, Tennis Courts, Basketball Courts, and Putt Putt Golf, a $30 fee per week, per family of 6 or less will apply.
Average Member Rating:
3.238 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
13 of 21(62%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Review 1 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerugamike
Locationnorth augusta, s.c.
Member Since2000
nice place
Date:September 4, 2007
Best things about resortIt was on a golf course. A lake with a lot of activities for the kids was only 1-2 miles away.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNone really, except for the lake.
ReviewThe resort was a nice place. I thought a week though is only good if you play golf. We visited Chatanooga a couple times during our stay. A map of crossville would be very helpful next time. The rooms were clean and we had 3 televisions.
29 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerJeff
LocationNew Jersey
Member Since2005
Had a great time!
Date:September 6, 2007
Best things about resortI'm not a golfer, but the course appeared very nice. There are two lakes nearby with pools, boat rentals, beach area, fishing, etc.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyChattanooga, Nashville, Knoxville, Pigeon Forge, Dolly Wood, and Nashville falls are all two hours or less away. There were two restaurants on the grounds with very good food, especially the Forte. There are also several restaurants in town, 15 minutes away.
ReviewThe resort was a nice, roomy, had had 3 televisions, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Make sure to visit Chattanooga and see Rock City. It's incredible! Ruby Falls is also there and worth a visit, especially if you never been in caverns before. The incline railway did not impress me, but the view from its look out was awesome. You can go to the lookout without buying tickets for the incline railway. I'd also recommend horseback riding at Wildwood Stables near the resort. The trail was beautiful and it was a good value. We found them in the information packet the resort gave us. Finally, I recommend going to Fall Creek Falls, about 45 minutes from the resort. The views and the waterfalls are spectacular!
50 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerKenny
LocationVirginia Beach, VA
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2007
Member Since1988
Great Resort
Date:December 4, 2007
Best things about resortGolf, golf and golf
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyGolf course at resort and Forte Restraurant
ReviewMy wife and I took both of our grand children to this resort this past summer. The weather was great the golf course was excellent and very well maintained. It was just a very relaxing week.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerTheTruth
LocationGeorgia
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2007
Member Since2007
Peaceful and Quiet Resort
Date:April 15, 2008
Best things about resortThe best thing about this resort is the peace and quiet, the cleanliness, golf course, landscaping.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyBest attraction is the lake behind the resort.
ReviewThis resort was quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed our stay there. I would recommend this resort to couples only because there isn't much there to do for children. This is more of a place to relax and rest.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerrodetravllrs
LocationBarrie, Ontario, Canada
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2002
Relaxing, quiet, comfortable, central location
Date:July 14, 2008
Best things about resortPeaceful, country-like atmosphere with comfortable accommodations. Forte Restaurant has a good Thurs. nite Carver's Buffet for $11.95.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyCumberland Caverns enjoyable/interesting. Wear running shoes/jacket-be prepared to walk and climb stairs. Numerous restaurants a short drive in Crossville.
ReviewWant a relaxing vacation with the family this is a great place to make your own fun. Lake/pool areas are good with a few activities provided. Kitchen and bathroom need renovating but are passable. Marina is a few miles away and the golf course was always busy. Crossville has a Prime Outlet Mall, Super Walmart, etc. No tours are provided and most attractions are at least a 2 hr drive in any direction.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewergncmason
LocationValley, AL
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2006
A Relaxing Getaway
Date:September 15, 2008
Best things about resortResort is peaceful and in a beautiful setting on the Cumberland Plateau
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLots of typical chain restaurants and grocery stores in Crossville. No big attractions are nearby. You come for the golf. Lots of places to hike as well. Some interesting historical sites, too.
ReviewThe staff at the check in desk were terriffic, very friendly and helpful all week long.
We did not golf but lots of others were. The course appeared clean and well maintianed.
Our unit was clean and neat. Not luxurious but just fine for a last call. There is a patio in the back to have coffee in the morning and listen to the birds. They also have grills which we took advantage of as we do not like to eat out ALL the time. There are several pools that were nice and a nice playground.
The kitchen had everything needed to cook. Pots, pans utinsels, dishes all in fine shape.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerstamper
LocationClearwater, FL
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1981
Nice resort with great golfing.
Date:September 18, 2008
Best things about resortLocation staffed with very nice people..Excellent golf course with challenging holes..Close to Forte's which is a great place for fine dining.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyClose to an outlet mall...Dining out was done only at Forte's..
ReviewWhen we checked in we were assigned a 2 bedroom unit with upstairs bedrooms. Advised staff that my wife could not climb the steps due to replacement of both hips..They were very courteous and searched for a unit that would solve the problem and came up with a single story one in Hiawatha Manor next to Forte's..We had a great time at the resort and plan to visit this resort in the future!!!!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerJohnsburgBunch
LocationJohnsburg Illinois
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2008
Member Since2001
Great Relaxing vacation
Date:February 14, 2009
Best things about resortThe best thing about this resort was probably the golf.We used this resort as last min vacation to just go see some sites and lounge at the pool
ReviewVery Nice clean resort..Very quiet. We used this resort with our two kids 4 & 8. Nice pool areas and fishing docks. very nice community to just relax and take it easy. Nice for short family stay. its a little far to drive to all the activities in the smokey mnts area.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewerventureout
LocationCape Coral, FL
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1989
Great value for golf
Date:September 14, 2009
Best things about resortGolf course (great for the price) & assortment of amenities in a country setting - racquet ball, workout gym, video lounge, 2 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool, 2 onsite restaurants
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyClose to several golf courses in mountain settings & a state park so the best attractions are those offered by nature. Either Nashville or Knoxville is about 2 hours away.
ReviewUnits look like barracks outside & our 2-bdrm only had 1 bathroom, but the furnishings were acceptable and we had a lovely wooded view off the deck. Walls are like paper, so we could hear everything from next door, but fortunately, the unit became vacant after the weekend. The resort grounds are maintained beautifully and the onsite restaurants were good, and also cheap. Nice golf course with great, true greens.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerGRANNYOF9
LocationHILLSBORO, OHIO
Month of VisitSeptember
Year of Visit2009
Member Since2002
Nice place to relax
Date:September 18, 2009
Best things about resortSort of remote but plenty of places to eat if you dont want to cook.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyMitch's has lunch buffet every Sunday and a nice selection of food at a reasonable price. Also The 19th Hole is good. The people are friendly.
ReviewOur coffee pot did not work and I needed a bath mat and told Donald and they had them there the next morning.He went beyond my expectations and was very informative. The ice cube trays were cracked and new ones were ther in 15 minutes.
The beds were really hard but we got used to them after a couple nights. We were in Tansi East and it was very quiet and peaceful but just a few minutes to the lake and right beside Mitch's.
It rained for 3 days and we didnt get any fish but had a good time. Will go back again. met some very nice people there and made a friend that I will keep in touch .
Review 11 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerAnonymous
LocationToronto, Ontario
Month of VisitJune
Year of Visit2009
Member Since1974
Lots pf space in the 3 bedroom
Date:October 28, 2009
Best things about resortThere are no stairs to the unit. Lots of room. Larger than what looks like from the outside.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyIt's in between Nashville and Knoxville. There is a couple of outlet malls nearby. Didn't go to any restaurants to review. Did go to Chatanooga for the Aquarium and Ruby Falls, both were great attractions but are3 hours away
ReviewThere are only charcoal bbqs for each unit. One outdoor swimming pool close by that was without fees. There is an indoor community pool where there is a fee. Internet access only at the office which required a bit of a drive. A large golf course is right at the resort and a mini golf course, not very well maintained. Nice resort, but a little far for a lot of the attractions.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewerwontgoagain
Locationmaine
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2000
Dirty, dead bugs on floor.
Date:July 3, 2011
ReviewWould not reccomend to anyone. lock on door did not work, dead bugs on floor when we entered. Obviously had not been cleaned between users. trash under couch, dirty under bed. A sock from previous renter under bed. We complained to desk and was offered another unit that was no better. noted a list on desk that had condition rating for each unit. most were poor (as was ours) or fair. Spider web on kitchen light...... would not reccomend.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerHeart
LocationBradford, ON
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since2009
Resort set away from attractions, nice clean
Date:July 10, 2011
Best things about resortRoom was clean, pool outside and area clean, golf was close
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyVF Outlet in town was good, golf at Tansi was good.
ReviewIt is a fair size town but a little far away from big attractions - Nashville 2 hours, Knoxville 1 1/2 hours Chattanooga 1 1/2 hours. it is a nice resort and does allow swimming, hot tub etc but it is not a 5 star resort. The hot tub was way to hot. The attraactions were awesome! 4th of July fireworks in Nashville were amazing, Burgess Falls - God's wonder, Rock City all were great!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReviewerDoctorWho
LocationRichmond, VA
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1994
Not a 4 star location. Stay somewhere else!
Date:July 16, 2011
Best things about resortHad a restaurant next to the resort. The place was not fancy but the food was extremely good! Golf looked like it would be great!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyI think the restaurant next to the timeshare was named Mitchelll's. The food was great and the staff was friendly!
ReviewThis was only the second time in almost twenty years of timeshares that we walked in, looked the place over, and walked back out! There was dried mud all over the parking lot to our row of units from land clearing nearby. Inside, the patio doors had long-standing water stains on them that would not come off. The bathroom sink had dirt in-grained in the basin pattern, and everthing inside was so old we thought we were in a B-rated motel!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerskywater
LocationHill Country, TX
Month of VisitNovember
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1997
Nowhere-land
Date:July 28, 2011
Best things about resortquiet, peaceful, some of the condos are nicely updated
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNashville, an hour (?) away; we enjoyed the gentle rain and cool weather in late November (we're from Texas!)
ReviewWe stayed with a group in 2 condos. The decor of the condo we stayed in was out of date, but the condo my other family members stayed in was very well-appointed with fresh, updated furnishing. We visited in late November, so the kids really enjoyed the chance to swim in the indoor pool. We found several things to do in the area, but had to drive at least half an hour for everything.
We did NOT have a problem with hearing our neighbors. Always a plus in my book!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewervox303
LocationCape Coral, FL
Month of VisitOctober
Year of Visit2011
Member Since1989
Nice resort; dilapidated units
Date:October 30, 2011
Best things about resortGolf course & Lake Tansi, and close proximity to several nice golf courses
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyNature is its best attraction, with beautiful mtn views in the area. Mitchi's & 19th Hole onsite are only restaurants for several miles, but both are good. Golf course was in good shape & priced reasonably. Cumberland County Playhouse is about 10 miles away, if you like homespun theater or are lucky enough to visit when they're having a concert.
ReviewResort is fun and staff is nice, but units are old (about 40 yrs) and dilapidated. 2 bdrms have 1 bath that's barely large enough for 1 person with the smallest vanity ever seen. Floor had 6' x 1' area so termite damaged that we were careful to not step on it for fear it would collapse. Fireplace - yes, but no starter supply of wood & rain puddled in firebox. Adjacent ceiling had water damage. "Lock" bar on sliding door was held in place with a paper clip, so of course, fell out the first time we used the door. One mattress was a "bowl" and the sofa was worn out and extremely uncomfortable. The cookware was too nasty & worn out to use, but there's an ample supply if you don't mind flaking teflon & applying lots of elbow grease before you use it. In addition, walls between units are paper-thin & we could hear EVERYthing that happened next door.
Best advice: Forego the exchange & rent a lakefront cabin directly from the Property Owners Assn.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerHogMountainHunny
LocationGeorgia
Month of VisitApril
Year of Visit2013
Nice lakeview BUT.....
Date:April 12, 2013
Best things about resortIt was clean.& got a 2 BRM instead of 1. But very musty smelling Plenty of towels, comfy bed
Best attractions or restaurants nearbySpent all awake time with friends staying @ Fairfield Glade. Only Slept @ Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village. Next time I'll try to get in there
ReviewI didn't expect it to be 5 star but due to an emergency @ home my husband was unable to join me. Since we had been looking foreward to seeing family @ Fairfield I went w/o him.
It was really CREEPY coming back each nite. Poor outside lighting, only one other guest in this building. Couldn't see to put key into locks..Strange Brown Cloth thing Hanging off roof... The tiny ants that appeared in the bathroom were somewhat entertaining. What a waste of my vacation points
Review 18 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerSMAC
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2013
Not what we expected
Date:May 28, 2013
ReviewThis resort was not on par with other resorts we've stayed at. The website says a 2 bdrm unit has 2 bathrooms, however we only had 1 bathroom and the Queen size bed seemed more like a full size bed. The towels were very small and we could have used extras in our unit. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerParis52
LocationMemphis, TN
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1997
Not as Advertised
Date:June 2, 2013
Best things about resortIt was nice and quiet. The view of the lake outside of the unit we were assigned was great. However, the lake had a private entrance and we were not allowed.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyThe World's Largest Tree House - but it was closed
ReviewThis is not for kids. 2 1/2 hour drive to anything.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hiawatha Manor at Lake Tansi Village
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewerHuey72
LocationTaylor Mill, KY
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1996
Not a safe resort
Date:August 26, 2013
Best things about resortLake Tansi and the staff at the beach on lake tansi
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyLake Tansi, everything else at least a 20 minute drive
ReviewA large part of this resort is rented out to local residents as efficency apartments and the tenants do not have to pass a background check I am sure. I have a feeling that they charge by the day as people were coming and going at all hours. We had some unsavory characters around us to the point where I couldn't let my kids play outside. We were approached by people on a daily basis asking for cash, rides into town, and food. We were scheduled to be there for a week but decided to leave early because one young girl came up to our unit with a story of drugs and police and bad people chasing her. She told us she had to leave right away and needed a ride because some bad people were looking for her. I called the main desk during hours and they told me to call the resort security. When I called secruity, it was an answering machine and I was honestly scared but security never called back. I did let the young girl borrow my phone and she was texting some alarming messages with some one. We left that night. I will never go back here. The manager of the resort would never return by calls either and I tried to reach her for days to no avail.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.