Resort Reviews
This resort is no longer available. Continue browsing at RCI.com.

Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki (#0082)

Units at Waikiki Skytower or Aloha Tower offer air-conditioning, television and a washer/dryer. 1BR units OCC: Max 4/Pri 4 have 1 bath and varying bed structures. 2BR units OCC: Max 6/Pri 6 have 2 baths and varying bed structures. Accommodations are located in Aloha Towers@ 430 Lewers OR Skytower @ 2410 Cleghorn. If checking in after 6pm, notify the resort in advance at 1-800-367-5212, or 808-847-8040. Guests should hold their taxi until the check-in processes/unit assignments are complete. No pets allowed. The island provides excellent public transportation. Advanced reservations for car rentals recommended. Parking is available for a US$35 weekly rate, or US$5 per day. All Hawaii resorts will collect a Transient Accommodation Tax(from US$20 - US $35 per room confirmed).
Average Member Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
4 of 8(50%)members would recommend this resort to a friend.
Member Reviews for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Review 1 for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReviewerJunP
LocationVancouver, BC, Canada
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2013
Member Since2011
Well maintained Resort
Date:July 20, 2013
Best things about resortVery close to everything. The resort is excellent for people with not so big of a budget. The kitchen is equip like a home away frm home and so you can cook food thus saving it for shopping (better)
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyVery close proximity to the main shopping areas, food, market, stores (ABC a lot).
ReviewThe resort for me is an old well maintained building with very friendly staff.
A definite recommendation to others.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ReviewerCogie
LocationChino Hills, Ca
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2013
Member Since1996
Downtown location
Date:May 14, 2013
Best things about resortClose to restaurants, shops, and beaches. Fairly low parking fee for the week. Free guest parking for up to 6 hours.
ReviewThe check in office is located in a liquor store/shop, not in the actual building we were staying in. We drove by it twice because I was convinced that it couldn't be in there. Kind of sketchy.
We stayed in the Diamond head bldg. and had to park across the street in the Ewa bldg. Not the most convenient especially with kids. Our two bedroom was very roomy, almost more room then we needed. The beds were not very comfortable and the pillows were flat, it would have been nice to have a king size bed instead of a queen. The kitchen was fine, they provided was paper towels, dish soap, dish wash soap, and salt/pepper packets. Would have been nice to at least have some sugar. One of the AC units in the room was leaking when we arrived(carpet wet) so we were unable to use it, making it hot in the second bedroom. Maintenance came in several times and were unable to fix while we were there. The lady at the front desk made it very clear that they recycled and that there would be two trashcans in the room....there was not, and that the maids would come in on Thur. to bring new towels....they did not. I ended up washing them myself.
The pool/BBQ area in our building was very nice, but the pool was ice cold. I could not get in and the kids only last a little while. The spa was ok but the jets were so loud you could not hold a conversation.
The building is downtown and VERY noisy! We were awakened almost every night with sirens, trash trucks, and screaming people.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Friendliness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewerbrendev
LocationDevon Ab
Month of VisitMarch
Year of Visit2013
Location is good Resort not good
Date:April 13, 2013
Best things about resortThe rooms were okay. The building and rooms were clean. But there were a few little details that could have been taken care of a bit better.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWaikiki Beach, International Marketplace, great restaurants,
ReviewThe living room, kitchen and bathroom were all a nice size. The bedroom size was okay but the bed was small. The room can handle having a king size bed. The check in was very quick but it was also like the lady just wanted us out of there. So it was here's your key give me the money you need to and go. I have a real issue with paying for parking. That should be part of the exchange fee that I paid. Not only did we have to pay for parking we had to park a half block away for the building. Coming back to the suite late at night was a little unnerving. We don't know the area and who know what is around the corner. Checking out was about the same as checking in. Thank you and now get out.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Friendliness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewerdms666
LocationOttawa, Ontario, Canada
Month of VisitDecember
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2011
Adequate accomodations, good location
Date:January 10, 2013
Best things about resortThe best thing about this place is the location. It's a half block from the canal (great for morning runs with the sun coming up) and about a 5-10 minute to the main drag (Kalakaua) and the beach. There are ABC stores on every block. A Safeway is a 10-minute drive away. The "resort" office is a couple of buildings away. They can provide free towels, beach accessories, directions, etc. The pool area is nice, with a warm hot and sauna.
ReviewI stayed with my wife and kids (age 6 and 8) for a week in December 2012. First off, this is not a hotel or a resort. This is a timeshare apartment building. And not a luxury one at that. As such, do not expect much in the way of activities or amenities.
The building looks well-maintained and everything in our unit functioned properly. We had a 1-bedroom on the 9th floor (no 2-bedrooms were available at the time we booked). Our parking spot (on the 3rd floor) was the worst possible spot - right between two cement pillars. It took 5 minutes just to get the (full-size) rental car into it with all manner of backups, turns etc. I believe it was spot E300 (be warned). The elevators also service the parking levels.
Our unit appeared clean and was well-stocked. The in-room washer/dryers worked just fine. In-room WI-FI is available for a price per day or week.
The pull-out couch was adequate and the master bedroom bed was comfortable. There are lots of windows and the 1-bedroom corner unit has two lanais. Although, the bedroom lanai door refused to slide and had to be manhandled open and close.
The TVs in both the living room and bedroom were modern flat-screen and there were lots of channels, although we didn't spend that much time in the room, but it did help to have cartoons available for the kids.
The pool area on the 5th floor also had a hot tub, sauna, and mini tennis court. The pool was crystal clear but as cold as ice. The kids didn't seem to mind though. The hot tub was quite hot but also relatively small and the jets sucked in air making them very loud and annoying, making conversations in the hot tub difficult.
Our unit was in the back corner near the pool and there was lots of noise from the pool deck in the evenings - particularly on Friday and Saturday night when the "quiet hours" are extended. The windows and glass doors are not adequate for insulating against exterior noises.
There is NO maid service - so you'll be reusing your towels and cleaning up after yourself all week.
Also, there is another timeshare apartment building next door - so close you could almost touch it (ok, not quite), but it provided a really ugly view into dingy bedrooms. If you get a unit above floor 12 or so, you'd be ok. But we were basically looking into people's bedrooms.
There is a small grocery store (and ABC knock-off called 123 Store) just outside the lobby - very convenient, but the Safeway is just 10 minutes away.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewertexastravelguy
LocationDallas, TX
Month of VisitJuly
Year of Visit2012
Member Since2009
Great Base to Explore Waikiki from
Date:July 26, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Best things about resortLocation, security, comfort, the views, pool and sauna.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyKing's Court 1 block, can walk to Duke statue onWaikiki Beach in 5 minutes.
ReviewWe are an over 50 couple and stayed in a one bedroom in the Waikiki Skytower, which we chose because it is closer to the beach than the other locations. There are just 4 units per floor, and most of the building is made up of full time residents, so it is more like an apartment than a hotel. The kitchen was well equiped, the bed was comfy, and the TVs and ACs worked. The W/D let us pack light and wash & wear again. The pool is big, and the sauna was a nice touch. The first 4 floors are a parking lot, pool/sauna on 5, and everything else is up. We had views of the ocean, Dianmondhead, & the canal. It was cozy, clean, and a great place to explore from.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Activities
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amenities
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Friendliness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewerkeystone
LocationEstero, FL
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2012
Member Since1992
Nice Resort in a great location
Date:June 21, 2012
Best things about resortNewly renovated units with many new furniture items. Very clean. Staff were very friendly, and very accomodating.
Best attractions or restaurants nearby3 blocks to Waikiki beach. 1 block to restaurants and shopping.
ReviewExcellent location, with very nice rooms. Enjoyed the welcome reception and orientation on Tuesday AM, which has to be one of the best I've attended at a timeshare resort. In addition, they have a free Mai Tai happy hour on Thursday evening for guests. I would definitely recommend this resort.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amenities
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerGuss
LocationVictoria, BC
Month of VisitMay
Year of Visit2010
Member Since2006
Dated and in need of cleaning but good location
Date:June 5, 2010
Best things about resortClose to everything, beach and shopping within 10 minute walk. Large two-bedroom unit with pull-out good for 6 adults. Pay parking available in the building. everything needed to prepare all meals. In unit washer-dryer, altough it took nearly 3 hours to dry one load.
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyWaikiki beach, shopping within walking distance. All tour operators have pick-up points within 5 minutes walk from the resort. ABC stores every corners for beer,soda lunch stuff, however a proper grocery store is not within walking distance, the closest Safeway is about a 10 minute drive, prices are high, but everything is expensive.
ReviewWe had a two-bedroom unit for 6 adults. We had been to Hawaii on previous occasions but this time we took our two sons and their girlfriends. The unit was large enough to accommodate all of us. One couple slept on the pull-out couch which was well beyond repair, the mattress was paper-thin, dirty and was only barely useable when a foam pad was added. The other beds in the two bedroom were ok. The unit had everything needed to prepare all meals in house, plenty of storage space for food, good size fridge, gas stove and microwave with plenty of plates and utensils. Three BBq were available on the pool floor, but only one worked properly, the other two lacked igniters and were never fixed during out two week stay.The unit has a washer-dryer unit which was also way past its prime, it took on average 3 hours to dry a load of clothes.The unit is in need of a deep cleaning, if you walked barefoot on the carpet your feet would turn black. For those who can't live without their computer, this resort doesn't have in-room wifi or any other means to connect to the internet, the resort provides a wifi hotspot in one of the two buildings by the pool. Before paying for internet access through one of the local wifi provider you should check the signal, wifi reception is extremely poor and you could end up wasting money. Despite the fact that this resort is dated, not really clean and in need of upgrading we had an excellent vacation, the weather was awsome, the beach, shopping, excursions are all within walking distance to the resort. We had a rental car and we went all over the island, We toured Pearl Harbor, climbed Diamond Head, took surfing lessons, visited the Dole Pineapple plantation and the Polynesian cultural centre, played some awsome golf for only $125.00 per round transportation, cart, green fee all included through an outfit called "Aloha Golf". Overall it was a great vacation, we knew before we left that the resort wouldn't be a gold star resort and it doesn't pretend to be, it's a good place for a fun family vacation, one has to remember that they're in Hawaii and not worry about the small stuff.
47 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Royal Aloha Vacation Club/Waikiki
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Amenities
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Friendliness
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ReviewerVideoSportsNetwork
LocationSan Diego, CA.
Month of VisitJanuary
Year of Visit2008
Member Since1974
Great weather & location...
Date:January 25, 2008
Best things about resortGreat location...weather was outstanding...unit balconies were great & units were spacious!
Best attractions or restaurants nearbyABC stores (mini markets) on every block! Many restaurants with friendly & helpful employees! Many historic & cultural sites to visit...
ReviewCheck site & clerk were Poor!!! Pool & Jacuzzi needed a acid bath, & were very small! Unit needed a good professional paint job. Air ducts were filthly...
107 of 112 people found this review helpful.